Course Extinct
Silver Lake, WI 
Fox River Park - Red Fox - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Unsourced Hole #4 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Holr #4 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

2-4    8/21/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: mikeb23
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well maintained
Beautiful Park
Cons: Very short
Other Thoughts: You need to take this course for what it is. It's a very short pitch and putt type course that serves as an excellent warm up for the 18 hole course in the park. This course would also be very good for children or beginners.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Red Fox Niner

1    8/20/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 194  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Red Fox is a small pitch and putt style course located adjacent to the more challenging Grey Fox 18-holer. Mostly grassy, with scattered trees and bushes for occasional obstacles. Flow between holes is straightforward and obvious.
- The designer used what little elevation was available to decent effect on a handful of holes. One hole throws down a small slope to a blind pin placement, while another forces an anhyzer back up the slope with trees to both sides.
- Very well manicured and maintained. Located in a park with the full amenities: bathrooms, water fountains, picnic shelters, playground equipment, volleyball courts, sledding hills, tennis courts, baseball diamonds, boat launch and grass "labyrinth."
- Plenty of ace opportunities without being boring or unfun. Not the most challenging of courses, but not so simple or repetitive as to be unplayable.
- Great for beginners, families, or as a quick warm-up for the Grey Fox course.
- Wood chip tees in decent shape.
Cons: - Rudimentary yet sufficent signage shows only the hole number (although not much else is needed, really).
- No real risk/reward opportunities. Most intermediate players could easily play this course with a putter or mid-range only. Leave your drivers in the car (but be sure to bring them for Grey Fox).
- Mulch tees, albeit in good shape and sufficent for this course.
- A few scattered grills in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: - Disc shop nearby (you'll pass it on the way if you come from 94). It was not open when we stopped by, so I'm uncertain as to selection, prices, etc.
- The mosquitoes by the woods were rabid. Although they've been bad everywhere in the region this year, this course had the worst I've ever experienced. Clouds (literally) of the little devils swarmed through multiple layers of 100% Deet to make the round really miserable. I can't list this as a con, but be aware that the nearby Fox River probably contributes to an insect problem on a yearly basis. Bring spray and still expect to be chewed on!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great beginner course

5+    7/2/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: markfrolfs
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very well maintained beginner course with mostly short holes, but 2 or 3 long challenging holes. many holes are great for aces. part has unique setup and convience score cards available at hole 1
Cons: bugs can get bad, and extremely easy for advanced players. some disc eating rough and water

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short n sweet

2-4    6/14/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a small course in one part of a large park. There are rolling hills, and stands of mature trees. There is some tall grass in play on a few of the holes, and dense brush on a couple others, making for punishing rough on especially errant shots.

Though the course is very short, it at least had a little variety to the holes. Elevation was used well, with 4 of the 9 holes playing up or down hills. The mature trees in play made it so there were preferred routes to many of the holes, but left the possibility of getting to the hole with just about any type of shot.

The tees were large areas of wood chips, that seemed to offer fine footing even on the one tee pad that was wet when I played. There are tall posts with the hole number for each tee, and all the baskets but one are visible from the tees. The course is very easy to navigate, with no real possibility of getting lost or losing a disc. The fairways were well mowed, and there was no trash or loose brush on the course.
Cons: The course is very short, without any holes over 300'. Combine this with the fact that you can throw straight at every hole, and the course gets a little boring. No matter how you throw, you'll be able to get it to just about every hole on your drive, and errant shots are rarely harmful to your score (just to the time you spend looking for them).

I always like to see distance marked for holes, and unfortunately that wasn't done here. There was a box for scorecards, and those might satisfy this, but the box was empty both times I played here.

The park is huge, and had a lot of space that seemed unused and perfect for disc golf. It's really a shame that the course was crammed into such a tight little area where you're throwing on top of other holes and tees on holes 4 through 8.
Other Thoughts: This course is very beginner friendly, but won't provide any kind of challenge for more advanced players. If you're in the area, it's a place to play a quick round and get some putt/approach practice, or teach someone new how to play the sport, but don't drive out of your way to get here.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 B- = Bery Bery Nice 9-Holer

2-4    10/23/2008   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great park, awesome property avaerage disc golf course

5+    11/20/2011   4/5/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice baskets and a #'d post at each tee for easy navigation.

2) This park looks like it is extremely well maintained. It has all sorts of facilities, lots of open land, and this nice 9 hole disc golf course.

3) Tees and fairway are in average to good condition. There is grass on most of them and not a whole lot of exposed dirt around, probably from minimal use.

4) They use the rolling terrain well with a couple shots over crests of hills, up one hole and downhill on two holes.

5) Very beginner friendly, but with a little challenge to keep the beginner learning. It isn't just get up and throw 2's on every holes, but the openness allows for some errant shots without punishing shule (hey I think thats the first time I used the word SHULE in one of my reviews).

5) Course was very dry which is a little surprising because of being along the Fox River as well as the lower 5 holes being dead flat, and being below a fairly big slope.
Cons: 1) Too easy and too short course. Don't pay attention to the 420 on the 4th tee post, its only 280. you should not make a bogey unless you have an errant tee shot on #9. I happened to make a double on one of my rounds because i got stuck in the woods on #9.

2) The potential for the course is there, but they just didn't use the property to its fullest capacity. There is so much potential for better basket locations. I would love to set up a temp course here finding better spots for temp baskets because the property is awesome.

3) Stagnant Fox River water on the lower portion of the course (Holes 4-9 teebox) could be disastrously buggy. I was there before the bugs have come out, but it looks like it could be irritating.



Other Thoughts: I think the property has so much more potential for disc golf too. It looks like they could run some more holes ont he property and they could also tuck some of these basket closer to woods or let the rough grow up in season to have another hazard. All of the holes are fairly wide open, allowing for just about any type of shot you want to throw. I think they could find some tougher locations for some of the baskets.

I would say this course is worth a trip if you aren't too far to the area. It was the 2nd course on my 3rd 5 course trip, and although it is in the middle of nowhere, you can make a day out of it with other courses within 20-15 miles.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Sweet

3/11/2008   3/11/2008
Review By: wdb4th
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A great little pitch and putt. Good use of elevation.
Cons: Gets a little congested through the middle.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray in the summer

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center