Logansport, IN 
France Park Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #5
3 / 346ft.   3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
great course with nice variety

5+    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: bradtollefson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice variety of holes starting with some open field shots to get warmed up. The wooded holes are phenomal with some great shots off hill tops. Fairways are mostly open but enough trees to keep you honest. Last few holes in the open again so you can work out any frustrations you may have gained in the woods. This is our favorite course in the state. It's fun to play and if your game is off, it's a lovely walk in the woods.
Cons: can't think of anything.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun old school course

1    4/29/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly wooded park away from other users, there's a nice vibe of seclusion and wilderness on many of the wooded holes. There are several open holes mixed in with a little more length and some chances to air out longer drives.

The rest of the holes play through tight woods with dense trees and plenty of brush off the fairways to punish errant shots. Elevation comes into play on many of the holes, with some steep hills and tricky basket placements. The hills add challenge and variety on drives, and are used well to make some cool roll away greens. There is a great mix of hole shapes, calling for a good balance of line shaping skills and a balanced set of left and right turning holes.
Cons: The open holes for the most part don't offer too much challenge other than a couple with some woods along one side. Overall the wooded holes are very short, leading to a little bit of a repetitive feeling despite the good variety of hole shape. You won't need more than a mid and putter to score well on this section of the course.

The signage is old, and in pretty poor shape, many of the signs are rusted and unreadable. Navigation is a little tricky in a few spots, and it can be a little difficult to find both tees on some holes. The natural tees can be rutted and slanted at times, not always providing a good tee surface.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will have a great time here, the woods and elevation keep things difficult, but the lengths are reasonable and the rough isn't thick enough to eat discs. More experienced players will have a fun relaxed round here, there's lots of variety but not a ton of challenge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

2-4    9/3/2011   9/8/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a generous portion of this campground, and is well separated from any other activities. A bike trail runs along a few holes, but that's about it.
- Majority of the holes are set in an extremely hilly forested area, that makes great use of the elevation changes. There are multiple downhill rips through tight lines, including a blind RHBH hyzer. A few of these have very fast greens at the end to take into account as well. Handful of shots go up and down some hills, with one tough anny and one steep up and over. Another sharp incline as well; the elevation changes have both quality and quantity throughout.
- Lines themselves can be tricky as well. Plenty of blind pins off of the tee, due to both elevation changes and left and right curves. Good balance in both directions, and some holes provide the choice of going around either way. Wide range of difficulty is nice too.
- Holes out in the open range from brainless to interesting. A couple have a forest border on the right, taking away a wide RHBH hyzer. #2 has a cool setup, with a straight/hyzer tunnel shot OR a tall anny line to the basket. The rest of them, about 5 holes, are more or less wide open with one or two obstacle trees.
- Great variety in hole length, although the longer holes are the most open. Still, some good opportunities to let the drivers out in contrast to the tighter forest holes. Definitely some ace runs as well, though line shaping and/or accuracy is needed to get it there.
- Natural tees are decent, baskets are getting old but catch fine, signage is a little rough in spots. There are some directional signs to help out, but the first time through could be a bit tricky. Check out the map!
Cons: - Almost all of the holes in the forest provide some cool looks and tricky lines, but the very short lengths hurt. There are 8 holes under 250', even from the long tees, so accuracy trumps distance big time. Lots of putter/mid shots in here.
- The treacherous terrain is awesome for the discing itself, but getting around can be tricky. Getting down to the basket from the tee can be an adventure in itself, even when dry.
- Most of the open holes are pretty bland, with some taller grass and maybe a tree to contend with. With the last six falling under this category, the round ends with a whimper.
Other Thoughts: - This course is a blast to play, without a doubt. The great variety in the forest makes each hole pretty darn unique, with the ups and downs and lefts and rights, treacherous greens and tight lines. Though the hole lengths are short, the fun factor is there. The longer open holes complement these well, too. Might be a bit much for real beginners, and maybe too short for an experienced player, but just about everyone should find challenge and enjoyment here.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Could be better...if someone cared for this place

1    5/21/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fundamentally speaking, there is a lot to like about France park. There would be even more to like if someone actually gave a crap about this place. It's like someone using a treasure chest of gold bars for a cat box really. Yeah, it's gold and stuff, but who wants to dig through all of that cat crap to get to it?

Anyway, on we go.

Variety - The first thing that jumped out at me about this course was the sheer variety of shots you had to make. Very, very wide open short holes, all the way down to incredibly tight, technical wooded shots that demanded accuracy and precision. You'll be throwing very few long shots though, so make sure that your bag is loaded out with mids and putters. My drivers got sit in the car and drink a beer during my rounds. It was nice to play a few rounds with smashing them into trees.

two sets of tees - this course is drastically different from the two different tees. The shorts are pretty short and beginner friendly. The longs (when there is a long alternate) make for much harder shots and a MUCH longer course. As mentioned, not every hole has an alternate, but most do.

Scenery - the course is located in a wonderful park that is just flat out beautiful. a huge rock quarry sits nearby and the bridge to get to the course goes over a waterfall type thing. Very nice! (read in borat's voice)

elevation change - really cool use of the terrain in france park. the wooded holes sir on the back of a big hill and weave themselves through, up, down and all around this thing. #4 was the best use of this elevation change in my opinion, as you throw off of a gigantic, wood screened hill, down to a basket through the trees and brush. There are others like this with blind tee shots that go either up or down the elevation. there are also lots and lots of drop offs, so this can be treacherous. watch yourself.

24 holes - more disc golf almost always equals a more better score IMHO. even if I have to wander around in the woods and guess where in the hell I am going.
Cons: There are no tee pads to speak of. You generally tee off between two markers in the ground and go from there. While I wouldn't generally have a problem with this, this course has gigantic ruts in the boxes in a lot of the tees. If there aren't ruts, then you are teeing off of a gravel road. yes...a gravel road.

the signs at this place are pretty much useless. if there is a sign, it almost never gives you the distance. if it does give the distance, it's rarely accurate. one of the few signs that had distance on it said that the hole was 400 ft away. If that hole was 270 feet away, I would be shocked to know it. Some of the signs were hand "drawn" and a lot of them were flat out rusted through.

the course layout isn't logical at all. you play 1, then 2...and then hope you find the tee for 3 which sits across the road, in the woods, with no signs, arrows or anything to get you there. Some of the holes in the woods literally back track on top of one another and you could literally be walking into the face of someone on their drive as you leave a basket without knowing it. and as someone who doesn't like picking up my broken teeth, I wasn't a huge fan of this.

the mosquitoes in france park were like wolves. I mean that literally. they hunted in packs, they bit me hard and often and no amount of screaming or cursing would make them go away. and yeah, this wouldn't normally count against the course, but in this case I think that problem could be less if someone had mowed the course more than 12 hours before I played there. the rough was waist deep (not a problem. I actually liked the obstacle of this), but apparently the whole course was like this.

the baskets were ok. sort of a con. most of them were in good shape, but a couple of them were rusty and did not catch well at all. I swear I got tetanus from one of them.
Other Thoughts: As mentioned previously, this course could be great. But someone is going to have to step up and take better care of this place. It needs mowed more often, the signs need updating and/or replacing, the tee pads needs incredible amounts of work, some of the baskets need replacing and the layout could use a revamping.

I would play this place again in the fall when the mosquitoes all died a terrible death. but until then, it's just not worth tolerating the other things for an "OK" round of disc golf.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Like a fine Wine,it gets better with age!

5+    9/5/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 170  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2013
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: NEW, MUCH needed, tee Signs!! Expanded to 24 holes using Alan Pier "Spiderweb" baskets. I believe all but the 6 "lettered" holes have Alt. Pin Placements. Most holes also now have "Pro tees" (red) keeping the open holes up to date with disc technology, at least for the beginner/Intermediate. The wooded holes,starting at #3 use's a dirt access road as a fairway. Then playing the topography; Baskets behind hills, in valleys, ridge to ridge, along the sides of hills, uphill, downhill, along the ridge line and lastly over the hill! #4 from BOTH tees,#8,#9 & #10 from the PRO tees, have tight wooded fairways. #3,#7 have the most open fairways. #5, #8 have open drives with tight putts. Then finish with open "rip-it" holes! #14 thru #18 and the "F" hole. All had grass cut, ball golf green short, around the tees and baskets with a "preferred flight path"? Mowed from each tee to basket. Or was this done so I knew what target to thrown to? Either way nice touch! Plenty of benches & trash cans.
Cons: All tees are either gravel or dirt. I really don't see concrete getting done in the woods. Some areas it would be a pain to get that done.
Other Thoughts: This is the course that started my addiction on DG! As a beginner I've never played a course with so much terrain changes. I updated the best I could,under "Hole Info." the distance of each hole. I hope to get the pictures I took up soon. Make sure you print a map under "Links/Files". You'll need it the first time out or if you want to play the lettered holes. Pro's will find the wooded holes short. So, here is a Safari course I made up; #1 tee to #2 basket. #3 tee to basket "A". #4 tee to #5 basket. #6 to #7. #8 to #9. #10 to #11. #12 to "E". Play 13 as designed. Then play the open holes. Hope you enjoy the Safari!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential

1    8/7/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: bigronbowski
Played: 39  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Scenic campground. Old Stone Quarry with swimming, hiking, great bike paths, scuba diving. Real estate has great potential.
Cons: bathrooms: lack of one on course, lack of a remotely clean one anywhere.
Other Thoughts: What potential! Lacking maintenance and local interest keeps this course from being the most interesting in northern Indiana. The layout of the course is great.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Overgrown,Outdated in need of maintenance

2-4    6/19/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: Emoney
Played: 57  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2011
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a prime example of a great piece of land but not enough care to make it a great course. It has just about everything a disc golf course needs,long/short/up/down/tight/open holes. Will make for some entertaining shots and some ace runs.
*Has more than just disc golf(swimming,fishing,camping,ect...)
*Has more than 18 holes
*Has trash cans throughout course
*Bathrooms near course
Cons: *Course is VERY VERY overgrown,no trimming,and not enough traffic to create natural fairways
*Course is very dated,lots of short holes even from pro tees(average 200ft in woods)
*Course is not beginner friendly, even though its short, because the gaps and lines are overgrown and too tight for a beginner to enjoy(in woods)
*Tee pads not concrete and very narrow and short(in woods)
*Paths through woods are narrow and rough terrain, very easy to fall or sprain something
*The open holes are OK,but pretty unimaginitive
*Not all tee signs were up and the ones that were are pretty ruff
*Even with course map it was very hard to navigate
Other Thoughts: This is my first review.I was a little disappointed with the way this course was maintained, i felt like i was in a rainforest jungle on the holes in the woods. Iam an am2 player and i also had a beginner and a pro with me and we all had similar comments.The course has potential but needs alot of help and upkeep.I wont come back to this course unless i want to camp,fish,swim,disc golf all in a weekend, but not just for disc golf .

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding Elevation/Design

5+    6/11/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/17/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located in a spacious park. Pass over the bridge spanning the waterfall and proceed to the open field. The first two (as well as the last several) holes are located in this mostly flat, grassy space. Cross the road for hole 3, and let the real fun begin as you enter the section of course that is built on a sort of wooded ridge.
- Solid design maximizes the many drastic elevation changes throughout the wooded section of the course. Play only the "numbered" holes for an 18 holer, or also play the 6 "lettered" holes expertly interspersed along the way to stretch the course out to 24. The way the course naturally flows even after so many optional holes and twists and turns and ups and downs is nothing short of amazing.
- Several technical holes requiring precision and several longer open holes for big arms.
-Long (orange) and short (white) tees. Long tees can be brutal but are outstandingly fun. Dual pin positions on most holes add to the fun and replayability. Pin positions often create great risk/reward opportunities, as rollaway chances abound in the wooded section.
- Signage really aides in the proper navigation of this course. Keep your eyes peeled for where to go next, depending on which holes you've chosen to play.
-Camping available on site. Camping areas near waterfall and 1st teebox. This course would be the IDEAL course to stop at if roadtripping through the area and looking to camp.
- $2 for a completely deserted course. Where are the locals?
Cons: -The lack of proper concrete tees really detracts from this otherwise quite fine course. The natural/gravel tees are actually in pretty good condition (as it appears that NOBODY plays this course) but are short in some places, not really allowing a run up or even sure footing.
-Really could use another couple of trash cans along the course. Additional foot traffic would clear up most of the minor shule blanketing the fairways in places.
-Hole F's basket is missing.
Other Thoughts: -Overall the flow is very seemless and astounding in the manner that the "lettered" holes are optionally interspersed between the 18 "numbered" holes. Super surrealistic signage art adds to the charm of this kinda rough but outstandingly cool course.
-Despite being fairly well upkept, this course otherwise appeared abandoned on a beautiful sunny friday afternoon in June. It is truly a shame that such a magnificently challenging and interesting course doesn't see much more play.
- I came away with a really high regard and respect for France Park. Although it is well over an hour's drive away, I envision several future trips to further explore the intricacies of this solid but tragically flawed* course.
*see comments re: lack of better tees.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/11/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: discpicable
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation changes; gorgeous scenery; great baskests; holes A-F interspersed with the original 18
Cons: No tee pads; a couple of holes with basically no obstacles
Other Thoughts: This course is in the middle of nowhere. I played 2 rounds of 24 and came across zero other golfers. Which is tough to understand because this is a very good course. It really is the best course for elevation changes I've ever played in my short disc golf career. My advice is to not only play this course, but to bring a camera with you as well. Great scenery. I will make it a point to revisit this France Park in the future.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  My NEW Favorite Course!!

1    4/20/2010   4/22/2010
Review By: JenniferB
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery including a waterfall on the way to Hole #1. Awesome elevation changes, including uphill and downhill drives. Pro and Am Tees available, completely different shots on most holes. Nice baskets clearly marked. Extra 6 holes easy to play (no extra walking).
Cons: None that I seen.. as long as you don't mind the elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: This is my NEW favorite course!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.