Disc Golf Center
Edinburg, TX 
Freddy Gonzalez Park Share
Uploaded By: Keith Gartrell Hole #4
3 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4: 348 ft - dog leg right.



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Only game in town!

1    2/16/2012   2/17/2012
Review By: MikoDisc
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First basket is a good warm-up followed by three interesting baskets hidden from view requiring creative throws. Elevation changes keeps things interesting, too.
Cons: After basket #4, the rest are pretty straight-forward 200-325ft shots across mostly flat grass. Not too challenging but still makes for a nice relaxed walk with the occasional disc throw. Some baskets play close to the walking path making for a danger of a bad throw hitting a pedestrian, especially on windy days.
Other Thoughts: Nice little community park dedicated to a local war hero, Freddy Gonzalez, who received the Congressional Medal of Honor posthumously for his actions in Vietnam. Be sure to visit the memorial between baskets 2 and 3.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course with plenty of Ace Runs and Tricky Basket Locations!

5+    1/7/2011   1/11/2011
Review By: chamillionaire
Played: 57  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great course with plenty of Ace Runs and tricky basket locations that make for an interesting selection of mid range/putting shots! Grip It and Rip It!
Cons: It gets windy until just before night and if you make only one mistake, your disc is gone in the lake due to a large amount of reeds that are 8 feet tall and surround the lake.
Other Thoughts: I will play this course every time I come home to the valley! I loved it! Contact me if you ever wanna meet up for a round sometime.
-Mike aka "Chamillionaire" DGCR# 15331
Just message me on here. Happy New Year and Happy Discin!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  The answers my friend, are blowing in the wind

5+    8/15/2005   7/1/2009
Review By: Lubes
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's there! Great to run to and play a quick round after work. Parking no problem. Rarely anyone else on the course. Holes 2 and 3 have some great obstacles to deal with, and hole 4 is a classic risk/reward with the swamp.
Cons: So much wind. The swamp in the middle is actually sewage overflow, so that's rather fragrant and gross. And there's a ton of wind. Holes 5-9 don't have the same swamp risk level as the first 4 and are rather boring. Did I mention the wind?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Short and easy.

1    12/6/2008   12/14/2008
Review By: Keith Gartrell
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: No real obstacles to worry about. Great beginner course.
Cons: Toss one in those reeds and swamp and forget about it - you won't find it.
Other Thoughts: Had fun. Was heading to McAllen to run a marathon that weekend and took a few discs just to check it out. Worth the stop. #2 is different with the big table top area. Had to walk 300ft to find out where the basket was placed.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.