Alexandria, OH 
Lobdell Reserve DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
4 / 274ft.   3 / 274ft.   3 / 414ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Long Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Repetitive

2-4    7/21/2016   7/21/2016
Review By: Xelto
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Will appeal to distance throwers.
Cons: Repetitive.
Other Thoughts: I'm going to mostly skip the usual pros and cons section, as the course really needs explaining. This course looked to me and my wife like a regular ball golf course that got converted to disc golf, and we came to this decision independent of each other. I don't know if it's true, but that's what it felt like: long bands of open field in between long bands of trees.

Unfortunately, it looked like someone decided that they weren't going to do much tree removal, so a large number of holes are simply throw down the fairway to a basket either by the trees on the opposite side, or by the trees on your side.

Once you get past the first half or so of the course, it does change up a bit--a bit less of the side-to-side throwing, but still a lot of mostly open holes, with obstacles clumped together instead of being spaced out. Finesse holes were in short supply, though there were a few that would count.

None of the holes were terrible individually. The problem was that none of them were particularly fun, either. I may have enjoyed the course more if I enjoyed grip-it-and-rip-it holes more, but... too much "eh" for me, especially the repetitive early set of holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lobdell Head

1    5/28/2016   5/30/2016
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 145  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of hole length
Four multi-shot holes (3 Par 4s and 1 Par 5)
Open and wooded holes
Good use of elevation changes
Long and short concrete tees
Cons: Hole 18 (forced tomahawk)
Navigation (first timers should print the map linked on this site)
Basic signage (Hole # and distance only)
A few very open holes
Other Thoughts: Tees Played: Long
I really enjoyed our round at Lobdell Reserve. The course was very challenging without crossing over into frustrating. The course feels very secluded due to its rural location, lack of interference from other park activities and forest bordering the fairways. There are reachable field holes, technical wooded holes, several multi shot holes and mostly open holes that force a specific line of reach the circle. The majority of the course plays in grassy fairways bordered by woods with moderate levels of brush. There is plenty of room for error, but truly off line shots are punished. While the majority of the course is made up of this hole type, distances and slopes vary enough to keep it from becoming too repetitive. A slice of a different style of course is inserted at the end of the front 9.

Holes 7, 8 and 9 are a welcome break from the prevailing hole type. Hole 7 is a downhill 160ish footer that curves from left to right through the woods with a steep slope down to a creek behind the basket. Hole 8 is a slight right to left curving shot to a basket elevated on a steep ridge (20ish foot elevation gain). Hole 9 is a 360' woods shot that plays along a ridgeline hiking trail. After this the course returns to the grassy fairways bordered by woods that defined holes 1-6.

Lobdell has one of the best penultimate finishing holes I've ever played followed by one of the silliest. Hole 17 from the longs is an 800+ foot beast made up of a grassy fairway with woods lining the edges. It tempts you to throw a driver to try to get as close as possible to the short tee (straight shot ~400' from the pin). The fairway is narrow enough that a controlled drive is a much better play than a grip and rip. Unlike many of the par 5s that I've played, 17 at Lobdell rewards accuracy over raw power. This excellent hole is followed by a very disappointing finish. Hole 18 is a downhill hole that forces you to throw over a wooded area that starts about 170' from the tee. The basket is 271' from the tee and about 60' from the far edge of the wooded area. The only reasonable route is a tomahawk (if you have one). The trees to the right and left of the overhand flight path are much taller; preventing spike hyzers from either direction. I am not a fan of forced overhand shots. It's a shame for such a solid course to finish on such a down note.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Under-rated and underplayed? Perfect! Don't believe the hate.

2-4    6/15/2015   6/18/2015
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 15.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 sets of concrete tees for most holes

Forces lines, but also provides options as far as WHICH line you take. The course was fair and balanced for both righties and lefties or backhanders/forehanders.

Beautiful scenery, and unusually hilly for central Ohio.

Minimal water risk, but several holes play along ravines. Bad shots have the possibility of rolling away.

Remote location means lots of seclusion and no waiting.

Port-a-potty in parking lot
Cons: Remote location. Bring plenty of food/water/etc for tournaments or extended play.

Minimal traffic means the rough is thicker than usual.
Other Thoughts: Lobdell Reserve has been peaceful with minimal traffic on every occasion I've played it, which continues to surprise me. The course is uniquely beautiful and hilly for central Ohio, and this alone makes it worth the drive. If you demand a short, tightly wooded course, Lobdell is not for you. If you demand a long, wide open course, Lobdell is not for you. If you desire a balanced test of skill, Lobdell is a great place to play as it has long, open holes, short, tight, wooded holes, and holes that are open, but with punishing rough around pins tucked into the woods.

Despite the fact that there are only a handful of tightly wooded holes, Lobdell still requires a certain amount of precision. Thick rough and hidden ravines punish errant shots, while creative pin placements force players to hit lines, especially from the long tees.

Holes 7, 8, 12, 17 and 18 are particularly nice. Hole 18 will be an easy shot for anyone with a good tomahawk, but backhanders/sidearmers should prepare for a challenge. The trees have grown significantly from what is shown on this site, and a RHBH player will have a difficult, blind, downhill flex shot to throw. Throw it perfectly and you'll be parked, otherwise the thick rough and a long search awaits.

I understand why players rate this course lower than me, but anything below a three is absurd and unfair. Multiple concrete tees, a variety of hole types, beautiful scenery, and peaceful play far outweigh the courses minor disadvantages. Take a friend to help you search for potentially lost discs, as the rough can be difficult to search alone.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ball Golf Reserve

5+    12/30/2014   1/22/2015
Review By: Derek B
Played: 150  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2015
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Short and long tees
2) Concrete tees
3) Serene and scenic
4) Generous sized tees
5) Can air out some big drives
6) Long tees are sweet
7) Highlight holes: 1 short and long, 9 long, 17 short and long (approx. 900' from long tee)
Cons: 1) Too open with few obstacles
2) Very remote location
Other Thoughts: Lobdell Reserve is located on some beautiful property in Licking County. The land has gentle slopes for the most part. There are a few holes that have a lot of elevation change, such as 8 and 18. There are 3 1/2 wooded holes (7-9, 12 partially) and all of the rest are in the wide open. The wide open holes look very reminiscent of a ball golf course.

This course is fun to play. Although many of the holes are in the open, the sloping land adds some difficulty and some challenge. The property is very scenic and there isn't much traffic to contend with as the course is so remote. Hole 1 looks stunning by the target, as there is a creek and a natural rock wall that rises up 80-100' high, right behind the creek. Holes 7-9 are in mature woods and contain elevation and slopes that make them fun to shoot.

The tees are huge, which is appropriate considering you'll want a full run up on many of the holes, as you can really air out a drive.

The short tees are fun to play from, and there are at least a half dozen ace runs out there, if not more. The thing is, these are "cool" aces...not some 180' hole with the basket straight on from the tee with no obstacles or elevation changes kind of ace. The long tees are challenging, and as much as like to play from the shorts, I like playing from the longs even better because you have to work to score even...a mark of a good course in my book.

By far, the hardest holes from the longs are holes 9 and 17. Hole 9's fairway is the width of a walking path, with trees and such lining the fairway on both sides, and a steep downhill on the left side of the fairway. The fairway winds a little left and then a little right before you get to the target. Hole 17 is a monstrous 800-900' hole and the fairway has a 10 degree slope from right to left pretty much the whole length of the fairway.The right to left slope really messes with your drives...if you go left at all, there's a very steep hill to the left of the fairway that is wooded and to the right are thick woods. If you go to either place, it's as if you went out of bounds. I feel good if I get 17 long in 5 throws, if that tells you anything.

Even though Lobdell is a great course to play, it has its drawbacks. 15 holes are in the wide open. There are very few obstacles that come into play on top of it. It really does look like a ball golf course for the most part. Second, the course is very remote for most people to play, as it is in the middle of nowhere in Licking County. This place is so remote that I could see the mafia disposing of bodies here lol.

Lobdell Reserve is a great destination for disc golf, either from the shorts or the longs. Lobdell favors big arms so keep that in mind too. Have fun on the links!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Variety East of Columbus

2-4    9/7/2013   9/8/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 281  Reviewed: 265  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Having been here for two different tournament setups, I must say that Lobdell has a great deal of variety in terms of shot selection and distance options. There are woods holes like #7 that require a precise short anny (rhbh) and a controlled putt, or you're 80' away down the ravine. There are open bombs that still require hitting a line, like #17, where the long tee is almost 800', and even the short tee, at half that distance, offers risk/reward with the rollaway in the woods left.

The course design uses the terraced fields and tree lines to tremendous effect, offering a balance of tee shots wending their way left and right, with risks like the beautiful creek behind the blind pin on hole 1, all the way to the tricky, falling "S" or thumber needed to drop down onto the 18th basket. In all, it's a long, beautiful walk in a rural park where disc golf is the only activity you'll see (no other park activities appear to come into conflict).

There are very nice dga baskets that catch well, and spectacular concrete tees, with grip lines etched at the front and the back (and usually there are long and short tees to boot!). Almost every tee has a bench (and you'll need it: the loop out to 12 & back is nearly three miles altogether). The course map(s) posted here are excellent, and advised if you're heading out there alone for the first time (see below).

In all, Lobdell will pose a significant challenge to the Recreational player who hopes to score well, but is manageable for the Intermediate level player from the short tees. From the longs, I think the same ratio would hold for Advanced versus Open players. It certainly plays differently, and adds a great deal of replay variety.
Cons: The course design forced a bit of an out and back layout that does not allow for 9 & 9 loops, so it tends to be a hike out & back in tourneys where you might have to start more than a mile away from the parking lot.

There are a couple of places where the hill paths get extremely muddy, especially in the spring (up from 2 to 3, down 7 to 8, up 8's fairway, down 16 to 17, and down 18's fairway). There are some long walks between holes (like from 16's basket to 17's short tee), and some that are barely visible (like up from 3 to 4), so you might need a map the first time.
Other Thoughts: The marshes on 10/11/12 have some really noisy frog mating activity in the spring! And when Paul challenged us with the 'lake' on the otherwise wide open hole 4 for the Lobdell Open this spring, some of us struggled...just the way he intended!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/4/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: discgboxer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 26.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent course to work on distance driving. Nice use of elevation though little in Ohio offers true elevation.
Other Thoughts: I play this course often. Having played over 130 courses with 18+ holes, I'd say the average rating for this course is about right, but the low ratings seem to be based on the wrong reasons. I'm old but don't have any problems with the length. I've played rounds from the front tees in 65-70 minutes. The walk, if you throw reasonably straight, is about 3 miles. There are only 7 flat holes and 17, though listed as flat, slopes markedly from right to left with a nice ravine on the low side. If you want short and busy, go play Hoover.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don't believe the hype

5+    8/4/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: Nasty Nate
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2015
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Offers various challenges and also wide open areas to rip drives
-Not usually crowded
Cons: - This course is HUGE. The last hole is over 800 feet and many other holes are 400-500+. Shots become huge drive after huge drive.
- The OB areas are overgrown so if you go into the woods it can be a problem
- Confusing flow of course that involves lots of hiking
- Trash cans are often overflowed
- Wide open expanses to drive and pin placement is right next to the woods
-It would be nicer if there was a good variety of shot types but it's mostly distance
Other Thoughts: I don't like this course. Other people love it, apparently. I actually haven't played it incredibly recently so perhaps it has changed, but pretty much every round was a grueling experience. It's easy to lose your disc in the woods and the flow of the course is confusing at points. If you can rip 500' drives then you will probably love Lobdell. Otherwise, there's not much going on.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

2-4    12/8/2012   12/8/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 220  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most holes are not repetitive. Plenty of opportunities to rip some full drives without too much danger. Try and 2 hole 13 which is a little over 500. There are two sets of concrete tees here. Only a few holes only have 1 tee. Hole 7 is a really cool short wooded hole. There is a giant drop off behind the basket or you will find yourself in a world of trouble! Hole 17 from the long is a very tough 3 to get and from the short is a very tough 2 to get with the basket being on the right side of a downhill to the left fairway.
Cons: Only repetitive holes are the long wide open ones.
The signage is not the best. Hole 14's distance from the long pad is off by about 200 feet. Hole 17 says 320 from the long but it is actually a par 4 800 foot hole. There are some lackluster holes here. The first two holes are just boring open hyzers. Hole 3 is a short open hill that finishes right. I don't really like the design of 9 from the long as the angle is weird making it an unfun short par 4. 10 from the short is a boring short hole. 11 is wide open from the single tee for that hole. 12 from the long is another weird angle. 13 is wide open as is 16. If you have a decent arm there is a cheater hyzer route over the treeline on 18.

The trash cans were all overfull.
Other Thoughts: I would say I enjoy Pickerington and Hoover more than here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    8/8/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: lildragon
Played: 44  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 21.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of long holes for big arms
- Beautiful scenery
- Wide open fairways for the most part, quite forgiving
- Good use of terrain
- Good hike, course will work you out
- Nice variety of shots needed
- Never crowded
Cons: - Shares use with some equestrian groups, so beware for errant horses.
- Some thick rough in areas
- Easy to lose a disc
- Trash overflowing the few trash cans there are

Other Thoughts: One of my preferred courses to play as its relatively close and challenges me, and is never too crowded.

Bring lots of water though, can be scorching in the summer.

I much prefer when the just mow everything, the summer they tried to mow and define fairways was too brutal when you missed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  My Favorite

5+    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: Ang_moore
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quiet
Nice Scenery
Not Crowded
Good Hike
Cons: Sinage not the greatest
Tee 4 is kinda hard to find unless you know where you are going.
Not Maintained very well
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course. It's local for me, not crowded, and a nice hike. This is the first course I ever played so it tends to be the one that I compare all others to.
I wish it was maintained better. Definately bring bug spray and if you go during the summer bring lots of water and sunscreen. It's a nice place to go just to hike too. A great place to bring pets.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.