Alexandria, OH 
Lobdell Reserve DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 196ft.   3 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Short Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Variety East of Columbus

2-4    9/7/2013   9/8/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 176  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Having been here for two different tournament setups, I must say that Lobdell has a great deal of variety in terms of shot selection and distance options. There are woods holes like #7 that require a precise short anny (rhbh) and a controlled putt, or you're 80' away down the ravine. There are open bombs that still require hitting a line, like #17, where the long tee is almost 800', and even the short tee, at half that distance, offers risk/reward with the rollaway in the woods left.

The course design uses the terraced fields and tree lines to tremendous effect, offering a balance of tee shots wending their way left and right, with risks like the beautiful creek behind the blind pin on hole 1, all the way to the tricky, falling "S" or thumber needed to drop down onto the 18th basket. In all, it's a long, beautiful walk in a rural park where disc golf is the only activity you'll see (no other park activities appear to come into conflict).

There are very nice dga baskets that catch well, and spectacular concrete tees, with grip lines etched at the front and the back (and usually there are long and short tees to boot!). Almost every tee has a bench (and you'll need it: the loop out to 12 & back is nearly three miles altogether). The course map(s) posted here are excellent, and advised if you're heading out there alone for the first time (see below).

In all, Lobdell will pose a significant challenge to the Recreational player who hopes to score well, but is manageable for the Intermediate level player from the short tees. From the longs, I think the same ratio would hold for Advanced versus Open players. It certainly plays differently, and adds a great deal of replay variety.
Cons: The course design forced a bit of an out and back layout that does not allow for 9 & 9 loops, so it tends to be a hike out & back in tourneys where you might have to start more than a mile away from the parking lot.

There are a couple of places where the hill paths get extremely muddy, especially in the spring (up from 2 to 3, down 7 to 8, up 8's fairway, down 16 to 17, and down 18's fairway). There are some long walks between holes (like from 16's basket to 17's short tee), and some that are barely visible (like up from 3 to 4), so you might need a map the first time.
Other Thoughts: The marshes on 10/11/12 have some really noisy frog mating activity in the spring! And when Paul challenged us with the 'lake' on the otherwise wide open hole 4 for the Lobdell Open this spring, some of us struggled…just the way he intended!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/4/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: discgboxer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 24.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent course to work on distance driving. Nice use of elevation though little in Ohio offers true elevation.
Other Thoughts: I play this course often. Having played over 130 courses with 18+ holes, I'd say the average rating for this course is about right, but the low ratings seem to be based on the wrong reasons. I'm old but don't have any problems with the length. I've played rounds from the front tees in 65-70 minutes. The walk, if you throw reasonably straight, is about 3˝ miles. There are only 7 flat holes and 17, though listed as flat, slopes markedly from right to left with a nice ravine on the low side. If you want short and busy, go play Hoover.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Don't believe the hype

5+    8/4/2012   6/12/2013
Review By: Nasty Nate
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Offers various challenges and also wide open areas to rip drives
-Not usually crowded
Cons: - This course is HUGE. The last hole is over 800 feet and many other holes are 400-500+. Shots become huge drive after huge drive.
- The OB areas are overgrown so if you go into the woods it can be a problem
- Confusing flow of course that involves lots of hiking
- Trash cans are often overflowed
- Wide open expanses to drive and pin placement is right next to the woods
- This course is too big to be hiking around on a hot summer day with all of its lengthy open fields.
-It would be nicer if there was a good variety of shot types but it's mostly distance
Other Thoughts: Never again.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

2-4    12/8/2012   12/8/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 175  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most holes are not repetitive. Plenty of opportunities to rip some full drives without too much danger. Try and 2 hole 13 which is a little over 500. There are two sets of concrete tees here. Only a few holes only have 1 tee. Hole 7 is a really cool short wooded hole. There is a giant drop off behind the basket or you will find yourself in a world of trouble! Hole 17 from the long is a very tough 3 to get and from the short is a very tough 2 to get with the basket being on the right side of a downhill to the left fairway.
Cons: Only repetitive holes are the long wide open ones.
The signage is not the best. Hole 14's distance from the long pad is off by about 200 feet. Hole 17 says 320 from the long but it is actually a par 4 800 foot hole. There are some lackluster holes here. The first two holes are just boring open hyzers. Hole 3 is a short open hill that finishes right. I don't really like the design of 9 from the long as the angle is weird making it an unfun short par 4. 10 from the short is a boring short hole. 11 is wide open from the single tee for that hole. 12 from the long is another weird angle. 13 is wide open as is 16. If you have a decent arm there is a cheater hyzer route over the treeline on 18.

The trash cans were all overfull.
Other Thoughts: I would say I enjoy Pickerington and Hoover more than here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    8/8/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: lildragon
Played: 40  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 19.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of long holes for big arms
- Beautiful scenery
- Wide open fairways for the most part, quite forgiving
- Good use of terrain
- Good hike, course will work you out
- Nice variety of shots needed
- Never crowded
Cons: - Shares use with some equestrian groups, so beware for errant horses.
- Some thick rough in areas
- Easy to lose a disc
- Trash overflowing the few trash cans there are

Other Thoughts: One of my preferred courses to play as its relatively close and challenges me, and is never too crowded.

Bring lots of water though, can be scorching in the summer.

I much prefer when the just mow everything, the summer they tried to mow and define fairways was too brutal when you missed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  My Favorite

5+    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: Ang_moore
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quiet
Nice Scenery
Not Crowded
Good Hike
Cons: Sinage not the greatest
Tee 4 is kinda hard to find unless you know where you are going.
Not Maintained very well
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course. It's local for me, not crowded, and a nice hike. This is the first course I ever played so it tends to be the one that I compare all others to.
I wish it was maintained better. Definately bring bug spray and if you go during the summer bring lots of water and sunscreen. It's a nice place to go just to hike too. A great place to bring pets.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/27/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 61  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - a good ace run course
- good shot variety
- Holes from 440 to 158
- not to hard to find your way
-a beautiful layout.
Cons: -needs more signs to next tee pads.
-a whole lot of walking between holes.
- wooded holes are all short ones
Other Thoughts: This course is defiantly worth playing if your in the area. The few wooded holes are really short nothing over 200'. It a beautiful place though, makes for a great walk

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

1    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: jtiedemann6
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety of shots
Long and short tees
Fairway was mowed
Cons: No tee signs
No course map
Other Thoughts: The course was ok. I wouldn't play it again unless I was in the area. Nothing spectacular, and the lack of signs makes this course's rating drop. Definitely bring bug spray.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Amazing course, though closed

2-4    3/12/2011   3/16/2011
Review By: milesd37
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout, beautiful to walk through...
Cons: Like was said before, could have done more in woods... but I only docked em .5 for that!
Other Thoughts: It's currently closed, due to levy not passing, the Columbus Flyers Disc Golf Club is trying to get it open, we'll see if that will work out

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Gem!

2-4    3/12/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -All teepads in good condition.
-Calls for many different shots, even one hole that calls for a thumber/spike hyzer.
-Some long distance holes, as well as short technical holes.
-Most holes have pro teepads.
-Baskets are solid.
-Locals are great.
-Water in play.
Cons: -Could've made more use out of the woods, although there are 3 wooded holes.
-The rough is very thick.
Other Thoughts: I only got to play Lobdell twice for the Lobdell Open. The course was well maintained and I look forward to getting another shot at it.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.