Alexandria, OH 
Lobdell Reserve DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
5 / 384ft.   5 / 798ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Short Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 

5+    8/4/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: discgboxer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 24.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent course to work on distance driving. Nice use of elevation though little in Ohio offers true elevation.
Other Thoughts: I play this course often. Having played over 130 courses with 18+ holes, I'd say the average rating for this course is about right, but the low ratings seem to be based on the wrong reasons. I'm old but don't have any problems with the length. I've played rounds from the front tees in 65-70 minutes. The walk, if you throw reasonably straight, is about 3 miles. There are only 7 flat holes and 17, though listed as flat, slopes markedly from right to left with a nice ravine on the low side. If you want short and busy, go play Hoover.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    8/8/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: lildragon
Played: 40  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 19.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of long holes for big arms
- Beautiful scenery
- Wide open fairways for the most part, quite forgiving
- Good use of terrain
- Good hike, course will work you out
- Nice variety of shots needed
- Never crowded
Cons: - Shares use with some equestrian groups, so beware for errant horses.
- Some thick rough in areas
- Easy to lose a disc
- Trash overflowing the few trash cans there are

Other Thoughts: One of my preferred courses to play as its relatively close and challenges me, and is never too crowded.

Bring lots of water though, can be scorching in the summer.

I much prefer when the just mow everything, the summer they tried to mow and define fairways was too brutal when you missed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  My Favorite

5+    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: Ang_moore
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quiet
Nice Scenery
Not Crowded
Good Hike
Cons: Sinage not the greatest
Tee 4 is kinda hard to find unless you know where you are going.
Not Maintained very well
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course. It's local for me, not crowded, and a nice hike. This is the first course I ever played so it tends to be the one that I compare all others to.
I wish it was maintained better. Definately bring bug spray and if you go during the summer bring lots of water and sunscreen. It's a nice place to go just to hike too. A great place to bring pets.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/27/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 61  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - a good ace run course
- good shot variety
- Holes from 440 to 158
- not to hard to find your way
-a beautiful layout.
Cons: -needs more signs to next tee pads.
-a whole lot of walking between holes.
- wooded holes are all short ones
Other Thoughts: This course is defiantly worth playing if your in the area. The few wooded holes are really short nothing over 200'. It a beautiful place though, makes for a great walk

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 LOBDEL RIVALS HAMBRICK FOR BEST IN CENTRAL OHIO

5+    6/25/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: HIGHFLYER
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: * Has it all! Length, obstacles, elevation, pro and am tees, and no wait like at the Hambrick.

* Hole #1 comes to mind with the 150ft. rock-face that sits behind the basket.

* There are a few ace runs mixed in

* Good mix of left and righty holes

* Length really makes it challenging
Cons: * It is a really long course, and not just the length of holes but the traveling between them as well...

* Not close enough!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lobdell

5+    7/20/2009   3/2/2010
Review By: kyle420420
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Scenic
-Secluded
-Hugh fairways
-Not crowded
-On site bathroom
Cons: -Not a great mix of open to wooded holes
-Some repetitive hole design
-Terrible signs
-Navigating between a couple of the holes can be tough
- No pro shop on site
Other Thoughts: I love this course one of my favorits in the area. it is a long course but i dont mind. it is a great course to bring your dogs and let them run around without worrying about them bothering other people. the course is usaly empty. the parking lot is small but there is never more then 4 cars in it at a time and thats when it is busy. i would recomend this course to people that have a little time and want to play a great course. it is in the middle of nowhere.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Relaxing Course

5+    10/8/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 140  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Out of the way/Quiet
Scenic Location
Good mix of long/short shots
Great use of available land
Lots of Elevation Changes
Cons: Not a great mix of open to wooded holes. Most hole are open and kinda the same.
If your not in shape (like me) this course can wear you out
Other Thoughts: I was surprised to see that this course is only 6000+ feet. It feels alot bigger. Be ready for a hike. Lots of big open fairways good for just letting rip. This course is about 45 minutes from where I live, it's not a bad drive but if it was a little closer I would hit it alot more. I definitely recommend this course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Out of the way, great course

5+    7/5/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: th1sjust1n
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Quiet and out of the way course.
-Long course.
-Elevation changes on many holes.
-In and out of woods throws.
-Quality tees and pins.
-Scenic location on nature reserve.
-Low traffic makes for a relaxing round.
-Long open holes as well as shorter wooded holes.
-On site bathroom
Cons: -Some repetitive hole design.
-Not much diversity among open holes.
-Terrible signs.
-Navigating between a couple of the holes can be tough.
-Treelines/woods can be unforgiving because of overgrowth.
-Parking lot is a bit small.
Other Thoughts: As others have stated this course is GREAT for some 'grip and rip' power throws. Many of the holes on the course can support the best toss you can muster. Open fairways on several holes give you some breathing room to really crank on your drive.

Some of the cons that you will find on this course are merely a product of the location. It is remote and in a nature preserve area. This means that you get all the pieces of nature, including the bugs. :) The non-fairway areas can be pretty harsh. Again, nature preserve. People don't just go in and mow and spray everything to death just so you can find your disc when you shank it. Be aware and be ready especially once spring passes. I've personally lost 3 discs there.

The course has defintiely improved year over year. There are all concrete pads now both am and pro. Fairways are better kept and are becoming more grass than weeds now after several years of mowing consistently. Paths between holes and through the woods are better now and easier to travel.

If you play in central Ohio and have not been here yet, just go. Its a great course that you will certainly enjoy.

Update : There are now pamphlets available at the entrance with basic DG info and a score card. Pencils also avaialbe at the entrance. I enjoy this course the more I play it but also find that the (at times) terrible signage is one thing keeping this course from being even better.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Taking the Scenic Route from Cbus

2-4    5/31/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + location is very scenic and relaxing
+ Pin placement milked every bit of challenge possible on each hole.
+ Cement tee boxes seemed new and were very nice
+ Not a crowded course by any means
+ Close to Columbus but feels far removed
+ Fairways were well groomed and pretty darn open on most holes
+ Distances from tees felt well thought out
+ Scorecards and Maps at course entrance sign.
Cons: - The rough was ROUGH
- Not all transitions between holes were easy to find if you don't have a map or someone to show you.
- Tee signs were just OK when they weren't damaged
Other Thoughts: This course is becoming one of my favorite get-aways. Its just such an aesthetically pleasing place.

Where I think this course succeeds most in its design is the use of the available land. It is true that a good chunk of it feels a tad repetitive. But all the holes are fun and have some kind of challenge to them. I find the pin placements to be well thought out and in a way that makes good usage of the terrain and trees.

I especially appreciate playing on the rolling hills and the few holes that weave through the woods. When I'm there I honestly stop every so often to just admire my surroundings. But much of that natural beauty sucks up discs and when you venture off the fairways the rough gets heavy. Knowing you have to go look for your lost disc here is groan worthy.

I play from the short tees but even those require plenty distance throughout the course. I like that it tests my arm and that the fairways are by and large wide enough to allow for error.

Overall this course is definitely the most relaxing and scenic to play in the Columbus area. Most importantly I have a lot of fun playing here.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Quiet course

5+    5/19/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: mpython77
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course with concrete pads on all tees including pro tees. Very quiet course and I have not once had to worry about people ahead or behind me.
Cons: Not an intensely technical course, there are a couple of tough-ish holes, but playing the first few holes kinda sets the tone for all 18.
Other Thoughts: Don't be surprised if you find one or two cars in the parking lot. There is a porta-john there now which is new this season. There is a donation box, make sure you toss something in there. I mostly like this course because I can take my time and find it very relaxing to play a round. If you find yourself in the area it is worth the stop.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center