Alexandria, OH 
Lobdell Reserve DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 196ft.   3 / 196ft.   3 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Long Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Lobdell Head

1    5/28/2016   5/30/2016
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 141  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of hole length
Four multi-shot holes (3 Par 4s and 1 Par 5)
Open and wooded holes
Good use of elevation changes
Long and short concrete tees
Cons: Hole 18 (forced tomahawk)
Navigation (first timers should print the map linked on this site)
Basic signage (Hole # and distance only)
A few very open holes
Other Thoughts: Tees Played: Long
I really enjoyed our round at Lobdell Reserve. The course was very challenging without crossing over into frustrating. The course feels very secluded due to its rural location, lack of interference from other park activities and forest bordering the fairways. There are reachable field holes, technical wooded holes, several multi shot holes and mostly open holes that force a specific line of reach the circle. The majority of the course plays in grassy fairways bordered by woods with moderate levels of brush. There is plenty of room for error, but truly off line shots are punished. While the majority of the course is made up of this hole type, distances and slopes vary enough to keep it from becoming too repetitive. A slice of a different style of course is inserted at the end of the front 9.

Holes 7, 8 and 9 are a welcome break from the prevailing hole type. Hole 7 is a downhill 160ish footer that curves from left to right through the woods with a steep slope down to a creek behind the basket. Hole 8 is a slight right to left curving shot to a basket elevated on a steep ridge (20ish foot elevation gain). Hole 9 is a 360' woods shot that plays along a ridgeline hiking trail. After this the course returns to the grassy fairways bordered by woods that defined holes 1-6.

Lobdell has one of the best penultimate finishing holes I've ever played followed by one of the silliest. Hole 17 from the longs is an 800+ foot beast made up of a grassy fairway with woods lining the edges. It tempts you to throw a driver to try to get as close as possible to the short tee (straight shot ~400' from the pin). The fairway is narrow enough that a controlled drive is a much better play than a grip and rip. Unlike many of the par 5s that I've played, 17 at Lobdell rewards accuracy over raw power. This excellent hole is followed by a very disappointing finish. Hole 18 is a downhill hole that forces you to throw over a wooded area that starts about 170' from the tee. The basket is 271' from the tee and about 60' from the far edge of the wooded area. The only reasonable route is a tomahawk (if you have one). The trees to the right and left of the overhand flight path are much taller; preventing spike hyzers from either direction. I am not a fan of forced overhand shots. It's a shame for such a solid course to finish on such a down note.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Under-rated and underplayed? Perfect! Don't believe the hate.

2-4    6/15/2015   6/18/2015
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 15.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 sets of concrete tees for most holes

Forces lines, but also provides options as far as WHICH line you take. The course was fair and balanced for both righties and lefties or backhanders/forehanders.

Beautiful scenery, and unusually hilly for central Ohio.

Minimal water risk, but several holes play along ravines. Bad shots have the possibility of rolling away.

Remote location means lots of seclusion and no waiting.

Port-a-potty in parking lot
Cons: Remote location. Bring plenty of food/water/etc for tournaments or extended play.

Minimal traffic means the rough is thicker than usual.
Other Thoughts: Lobdell Reserve has been peaceful with minimal traffic on every occasion I've played it, which continues to surprise me. The course is uniquely beautiful and hilly for central Ohio, and this alone makes it worth the drive. If you demand a short, tightly wooded course, Lobdell is not for you. If you demand a long, wide open course, Lobdell is not for you. If you desire a balanced test of skill, Lobdell is a great place to play as it has long, open holes, short, tight, wooded holes, and holes that are open, but with punishing rough around pins tucked into the woods.

Despite the fact that there are only a handful of tightly wooded holes, Lobdell still requires a certain amount of precision. Thick rough and hidden ravines punish errant shots, while creative pin placements force players to hit lines, especially from the long tees.

Holes 7, 8, 12, 17 and 18 are particularly nice. Hole 18 will be an easy shot for anyone with a good tomahawk, but backhanders/sidearmers should prepare for a challenge. The trees have grown significantly from what is shown on this site, and a RHBH player will have a difficult, blind, downhill flex shot to throw. Throw it perfectly and you'll be parked, otherwise the thick rough and a long search awaits.

I understand why players rate this course lower than me, but anything below a three is absurd and unfair. Multiple concrete tees, a variety of hole types, beautiful scenery, and peaceful play far outweigh the courses minor disadvantages. Take a friend to help you search for potentially lost discs, as the rough can be difficult to search alone.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/4/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: discgboxer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 26.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent course to work on distance driving. Nice use of elevation though little in Ohio offers true elevation.
Other Thoughts: I play this course often. Having played over 130 courses with 18+ holes, I'd say the average rating for this course is about right, but the low ratings seem to be based on the wrong reasons. I'm old but don't have any problems with the length. I've played rounds from the front tees in 65-70 minutes. The walk, if you throw reasonably straight, is about 3 miles. There are only 7 flat holes and 17, though listed as flat, slopes markedly from right to left with a nice ravine on the low side. If you want short and busy, go play Hoover.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    8/8/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: lildragon
Played: 44  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 21.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of long holes for big arms
- Beautiful scenery
- Wide open fairways for the most part, quite forgiving
- Good use of terrain
- Good hike, course will work you out
- Nice variety of shots needed
- Never crowded
Cons: - Shares use with some equestrian groups, so beware for errant horses.
- Some thick rough in areas
- Easy to lose a disc
- Trash overflowing the few trash cans there are

Other Thoughts: One of my preferred courses to play as its relatively close and challenges me, and is never too crowded.

Bring lots of water though, can be scorching in the summer.

I much prefer when the just mow everything, the summer they tried to mow and define fairways was too brutal when you missed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  My Favorite

5+    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: Ang_moore
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quiet
Nice Scenery
Not Crowded
Good Hike
Cons: Sinage not the greatest
Tee 4 is kinda hard to find unless you know where you are going.
Not Maintained very well
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course. It's local for me, not crowded, and a nice hike. This is the first course I ever played so it tends to be the one that I compare all others to.
I wish it was maintained better. Definately bring bug spray and if you go during the summer bring lots of water and sunscreen. It's a nice place to go just to hike too. A great place to bring pets.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/27/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 100  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - a good ace run course
- good shot variety
- Holes from 440 to 158
- not to hard to find your way
-a beautiful layout.
Cons: -needs more signs to next tee pads.
-a whole lot of walking between holes.
- wooded holes are all short ones
Other Thoughts: This course is defiantly worth playing if your in the area. The few wooded holes are really short nothing over 200'. It a beautiful place though, makes for a great walk

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 LOBDEL RIVALS HAMBRICK FOR BEST IN CENTRAL OHIO

5+    6/25/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: HIGHFLYER
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: * Has it all! Length, obstacles, elevation, pro and am tees, and no wait like at the Hambrick.

* Hole #1 comes to mind with the 150ft. rock-face that sits behind the basket.

* There are a few ace runs mixed in

* Good mix of left and righty holes

* Length really makes it challenging
Cons: * It is a really long course, and not just the length of holes but the traveling between them as well...

* Not close enough!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lobdell

5+    7/20/2009   3/2/2010
Review By: kyle420420
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Scenic
-Secluded
-Hugh fairways
-Not crowded
-On site bathroom
Cons: -Not a great mix of open to wooded holes
-Some repetitive hole design
-Terrible signs
-Navigating between a couple of the holes can be tough
- No pro shop on site
Other Thoughts: I love this course one of my favorits in the area. it is a long course but i dont mind. it is a great course to bring your dogs and let them run around without worrying about them bothering other people. the course is usaly empty. the parking lot is small but there is never more then 4 cars in it at a time and thats when it is busy. i would recomend this course to people that have a little time and want to play a great course. it is in the middle of nowhere.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Relaxing Course

5+    10/8/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 152  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 14 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Out of the way/Quiet
Scenic Location
Good mix of long/short shots
Great use of available land
Lots of Elevation Changes
Cons: Not a great mix of open to wooded holes. Most hole are open and kinda the same.
If your not in shape (like me) this course can wear you out
Other Thoughts: I was surprised to see that this course is only 6000+ feet. It feels alot bigger. Be ready for a hike. Lots of big open fairways good for just letting rip. This course is about 45 minutes from where I live, it's not a bad drive but if it was a little closer I would hit it alot more. I definitely recommend this course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Out of the way, great course

5+    7/5/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: th1sjust1n
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Quiet and out of the way course.
-Long course.
-Elevation changes on many holes.
-In and out of woods throws.
-Quality tees and pins.
-Scenic location on nature reserve.
-Low traffic makes for a relaxing round.
-Long open holes as well as shorter wooded holes.
-On site bathroom
Cons: -Some repetitive hole design.
-Not much diversity among open holes.
-Terrible signs.
-Navigating between a couple of the holes can be tough.
-Treelines/woods can be unforgiving because of overgrowth.
-Parking lot is a bit small.
Other Thoughts: As others have stated this course is GREAT for some 'grip and rip' power throws. Many of the holes on the course can support the best toss you can muster. Open fairways on several holes give you some breathing room to really crank on your drive.

Some of the cons that you will find on this course are merely a product of the location. It is remote and in a nature preserve area. This means that you get all the pieces of nature, including the bugs. :) The non-fairway areas can be pretty harsh. Again, nature preserve. People don't just go in and mow and spray everything to death just so you can find your disc when you shank it. Be aware and be ready especially once spring passes. I've personally lost 3 discs there.

The course has defintiely improved year over year. There are all concrete pads now both am and pro. Fairways are better kept and are becoming more grass than weeds now after several years of mowing consistently. Paths between holes and through the woods are better now and easier to travel.

If you play in central Ohio and have not been here yet, just go. Its a great course that you will certainly enjoy.

Update : There are now pamphlets available at the entrance with basic DG info and a score card. Pencils also avaialbe at the entrance. I enjoy this course the more I play it but also find that the (at times) terrible signage is one thing keeping this course from being even better.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.