Alexandria, OH 
Lobdell Reserve DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 271ft.   3 / 271ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Short/Long Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beautiful and Never Crowded

5+    9/4/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 110  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Huge Concrete Pro and Am Tees
Baskets are in Great Shape
Benches and Trash Cans Throughout Course
Signs w/Maps at Most Holes
Variety (Hyzer, Anhyzer, and Straight)
Nice Use of Elevation
Never Crowded
Quiet
Clean
Clean Portable Toilet at Start of Course
Cons:
Not a lot of Technical Shots
Could Have Made More Use of the Woods
Some Tee Signs Missing
Some Benches Broken
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice solid course located on a nature reserve outside the small town of Alexandria. Upon arrival you will find plenty of parking in the gravel lot dedicated to the disc golf course and a clean portable toilet. Be sure to stop and read the signs, check out the sponsors, and leave a donation for upkeep.

From the entrance you can easily spot both the long and short tees for hole one. Most holes throughout the course have both a pro and am tee, as well as signs with the number and distance marked, many of them also have a map of the hole. Some tees signs have been broken or are fading so printing a scorecard with the distances and a course map might be a good idea. There are couple spots on the course that can be tough to navigate, but the map is easy to read and you should have no problems if you have it.

The course itself plays quite nicely, with the lengths and shot type varying. The designers also made good use of the elevation changes requiring both uphill and downhill shots. The course overall is pretty open, but they also used bushes and small patches of trees to create obstacles and provide three pretty tightly wooded holes to add some technical aspects. My only real knock on the course is I feel the could have used the wooded areas to balance out the course a bit more.

Overall this is a pretty nice course, clean, quiet, and never crowded, it's one of my favorites to hit when the courses in Columbus are packed. Both the pro and am concrete tee pads are huge and a great feature of the course. With the huge tees, nice baskets, and beautiful scenery I would definitely recommend this course if you are in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 LOBDEL RIVALS HAMBRICK FOR BEST IN CENTRAL OHIO

5+    6/25/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: HIGHFLYER
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: * Has it all! Length, obstacles, elevation, pro and am tees, and no wait like at the Hambrick.

* Hole #1 comes to mind with the 150ft. rock-face that sits behind the basket.

* There are a few ace runs mixed in

* Good mix of left and righty holes

* Length really makes it challenging
Cons: * It is a really long course, and not just the length of holes but the traveling between them as well...

* Not close enough!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lobdell

5+    7/20/2009   3/2/2010
Review By: kyle420420
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Scenic
-Secluded
-Hugh fairways
-Not crowded
-On site bathroom
Cons: -Not a great mix of open to wooded holes
-Some repetitive hole design
-Terrible signs
-Navigating between a couple of the holes can be tough
- No pro shop on site
Other Thoughts: I love this course one of my favorits in the area. it is a long course but i dont mind. it is a great course to bring your dogs and let them run around without worrying about them bothering other people. the course is usaly empty. the parking lot is small but there is never more then 4 cars in it at a time and thats when it is busy. i would recomend this course to people that have a little time and want to play a great course. it is in the middle of nowhere.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sexy course

5+    10/10/2009   10/24/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 169  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of space to air it out, yet still enough thick rough to make you cautious.

Beautiful land

Secluded, and often quiet. On nice days, there are usually only about a half dozen cars in the lot.

Mild elevation changes, not too extreme - not too flat. Steady rolling fairways throughout.

Nice concrete pads

Long, but still some ace opportunities
Cons: Some signage and bench damage

A bit low on the "technical" scale. In other words, you don't have to shape many different lines, as long as you stay in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course. There are plenty of holes to throw wide open distance shots. There are just enough righty and lefty shots to keep you honest. The holes in the middle that take you through the woods are nice and diverse. They contain the most elevation changes and some tight fairways.

The nature reserve this course is on is absolutely gorgeous. There is actually a numbered audio tour that can be downloaded that takes you through the natural attractions of this reserve.

The DGCR front page description states that there is no pay to play here. However, there is an honor box to help with the upkeep and to help support the sport locally. $2 is the recommended donation.

I highly recommend this course to any and all skill levels. No doubt that it benefits bigger arms, but it has enough of everything else to be fun and challenging for all. Also, as busy as the Columbus courses get, this is a nice retreat. In fact, on perfect weather days, this is about the only course I go to, otherwise I will be waiting behind groups.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Relaxing Course

5+    10/8/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Out of the way/Quiet
Scenic Location
Good mix of long/short shots
Great use of available land
Lots of Elevation Changes
Cons: Not a great mix of open to wooded holes. Most hole are open and kinda the same.
If your not in shape (like me) this course can wear you out
Other Thoughts: I was surprised to see that this course is only 6000+ feet. It feels alot bigger. Be ready for a hike. Lots of big open fairways good for just letting rip. This course is about 45 minutes from where I live, it's not a bad drive but if it was a little closer I would hit it alot more. I definitely recommend this course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Out of the way, great course

5+    7/5/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: th1sjust1n
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Quiet and out of the way course.
-Long course.
-Elevation changes on many holes.
-In and out of woods throws.
-Quality tees and pins.
-Scenic location on nature reserve.
-Low traffic makes for a relaxing round.
-Long open holes as well as shorter wooded holes.
-On site bathroom
Cons: -Some repetitive hole design.
-Not much diversity among open holes.
-Terrible signs.
-Navigating between a couple of the holes can be tough.
-Treelines/woods can be unforgiving because of overgrowth.
-Parking lot is a bit small.
Other Thoughts: As others have stated this course is GREAT for some 'grip and rip' power throws. Many of the holes on the course can support the best toss you can muster. Open fairways on several holes give you some breathing room to really crank on your drive.

Some of the cons that you will find on this course are merely a product of the location. It is remote and in a nature preserve area. This means that you get all the pieces of nature, including the bugs. :) The non-fairway areas can be pretty harsh. Again, nature preserve. People don't just go in and mow and spray everything to death just so you can find your disc when you shank it. Be aware and be ready especially once spring passes. I've personally lost 3 discs there.

The course has defintiely improved year over year. There are all concrete pads now both am and pro. Fairways are better kept and are becoming more grass than weeds now after several years of mowing consistently. Paths between holes and through the woods are better now and easier to travel.

If you play in central Ohio and have not been here yet, just go. Its a great course that you will certainly enjoy.

Update : There are now pamphlets available at the entrance with basic DG info and a score card. Pencils also avaialbe at the entrance. I enjoy this course the more I play it but also find that the (at times) terrible signage is one thing keeping this course from being even better.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Long!!

5+    6/27/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: Rudy W
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Long open course with distinct fairways and punishing woods. Very quiet course in terms of player traffic.
Cons: Did I say punishing woods? Some of the holes are repetitive and lack variety. Needs more trash cans on course.
Other Thoughts: This rating is fair, but if you're in the area don't skip on this course. If you want to test your long throws this is THE place to do it. There will be some memorable moments if you play here. It isn't 18 distinct amazing holes, but it's a great 90 minute experience of disc golf. Concrete dual pads have been added. On-site restroom has been added.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Taking the Scenic Route from Cbus

2-4    5/31/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + location is very scenic and relaxing
+ Pin placement milked every bit of challenge possible on each hole.
+ Cement tee boxes seemed new and were very nice
+ Not a crowded course by any means
+ Close to Columbus but feels far removed
+ Fairways were well groomed and pretty darn open on most holes
+ Distances from tees felt well thought out
+ Scorecards and Maps at course entrance sign.
Cons: - The rough was ROUGH
- Not all transitions between holes were easy to find if you don't have a map or someone to show you.
- Tee signs were just OK when they weren't damaged
Other Thoughts: This course is becoming one of my favorite get-aways. Its just such an aesthetically pleasing place.

Where I think this course succeeds most in its design is the use of the available land. It is true that a good chunk of it feels a tad repetitive. But all the holes are fun and have some kind of challenge to them. I find the pin placements to be well thought out and in a way that makes good usage of the terrain and trees.

I especially appreciate playing on the rolling hills and the few holes that weave through the woods. When I'm there I honestly stop every so often to just admire my surroundings. But much of that natural beauty sucks up discs and when you venture off the fairways the rough gets heavy. Knowing you have to go look for your lost disc here is groan worthy.

I play from the short tees but even those require plenty distance throughout the course. I like that it tests my arm and that the fairways are by and large wide enough to allow for error.

Overall this course is definitely the most relaxing and scenic to play in the Columbus area. Most importantly I have a lot of fun playing here.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Quiet course

5+    5/19/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: mpython77
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course with concrete pads on all tees including pro tees. Very quiet course and I have not once had to worry about people ahead or behind me.
Cons: Not an intensely technical course, there are a couple of tough-ish holes, but playing the first few holes kinda sets the tone for all 18.
Other Thoughts: Don't be surprised if you find one or two cars in the parking lot. There is a porta-john there now which is new this season. There is a donation box, make sure you toss something in there. I mostly like this course because I can take my time and find it very relaxing to play a round. If you find yourself in the area it is worth the stop.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in central....well near central Ohio

5+    4/25/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: spookytay
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.4 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: + This course is a great challenge.
+ Play it in the Spring or Fall to get used to it. In the Summer once things grow in, you'll have a hard time finding a disc if you throw in the woods. but the fairways are very wide, think like football field wide, except for the 7-9 which play in the woods.
+ This course is not as technical as others, but requires throwing good distances. One of my favorites by far.
+ They have concrete pads on all holes now (used to be dirt)
+ The pro tees are very fun to play on for a great challenge.
+ The course isn't really crowded, but more and more people are going out to check it out and it's getting more popular.
Cons: - Not too many...
- It's a drive for many people, but well worth it, for the minimal amount of time it will take to get there if you usually play around Columbus.
- The Summer months are more challenging, due to the growth.
- Prepare to do some hiking!
- The parking lot is small, but usually not a problem, because not too many people go out there.
- If you don't know the layout, going from hole 3 to 4 is kind on hidden and can be confusing. Just get the layout and you'll be fine.
Other Thoughts: Join the http://www.columbusdiscgolf.com Columbus Flyers if you want to meet some people who are more serious about playing and just to meet some great people to play with. Help support our local courses!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.