Alexandria, OH 
Lobdell Reserve DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
4 / 440ft.   3 / 440ft.   3 / 630ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Long Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

2-4    11/27/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 101  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - a good ace run course
- good shot variety
- Holes from 440 to 158
- not to hard to find your way
-a beautiful layout.
Cons: -needs more signs to next tee pads.
-a whole lot of walking between holes.
- wooded holes are all short ones
Other Thoughts: This course is defiantly worth playing if your in the area. The few wooded holes are really short nothing over 200'. It a beautiful place though, makes for a great walk

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: jtiedemann6
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2011
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Variety of shots
Long and short tees
Fairway was mowed
Cons: No tee signs
No course map
Other Thoughts: The course was ok. I wouldn't play it again unless I was in the area. Nothing spectacular, and the lack of signs makes this course's rating drop. Definitely bring bug spray.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Amazing course, though closed

2-4    3/12/2011   3/16/2011
Review By: milesd37
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout, beautiful to walk through...
Cons: Like was said before, could have done more in woods... but I only docked em .5 for that!
Other Thoughts: It's currently closed, due to levy not passing, the Columbus Flyers Disc Golf Club is trying to get it open, we'll see if that will work out

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    3/12/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -All teepads in good condition.
-Calls for many different shots, even one hole that calls for a thumber/spike hyzer.
-Some long distance holes, as well as short technical holes.
-Most holes have pro teepads.
-Baskets are solid.
-Locals are great.
-Water in play.
Cons: -Could've made more use out of the woods, although there are 3 wooded holes.
-The rough is very thick.
Other Thoughts: I only got to play Lobdell twice for the Lobdell Open. The course was well maintained and I look forward to getting another shot at it.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and Never Crowded

5+    9/4/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 152  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Huge Concrete Pro and Am Tees
Baskets are in Great Shape
Benches and Trash Cans Throughout Course
Signs w/Maps at Most Holes
Variety (Hyzer, Anhyzer, and Straight)
Nice Use of Elevation
Never Crowded
Clean Portable Toilet at Start of Course
Not a lot of Technical Shots
Could Have Made More Use of the Woods
Some Tee Signs Missing
Some Benches Broken
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice solid course located on a nature reserve outside the small town of Alexandria. Upon arrival you will find plenty of parking in the gravel lot dedicated to the disc golf course and a clean portable toilet. Be sure to stop and read the signs, check out the sponsors, and leave a donation for upkeep.

From the entrance you can easily spot both the long and short tees for hole one. Most holes throughout the course have both a pro and am tee, as well as signs with the number and distance marked, many of them also have a map of the hole. Some tees signs have been broken or are fading so printing a scorecard with the distances and a course map might be a good idea. There are couple spots on the course that can be tough to navigate, but the map is easy to read and you should have no problems if you have it.

The course itself plays quite nicely, with the lengths and shot type varying. The designers also made good use of the elevation changes requiring both uphill and downhill shots. The course overall is pretty open, but they also used bushes and small patches of trees to create obstacles and provide three pretty tightly wooded holes to add some technical aspects. My only real knock on the course is I feel the could have used the wooded areas to balance out the course a bit more.

Overall this is a pretty nice course, clean, quiet, and never crowded, it's one of my favorites to hit when the courses in Columbus are packed. Both the pro and am concrete tee pads are huge and a great feature of the course. With the huge tees, nice baskets, and beautiful scenery I would definitely recommend this course if you are in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/25/2010   7/7/2010
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: * Has it all! Length, obstacles, elevation, pro and am tees, and no wait like at the Hambrick.

* Hole #1 comes to mind with the 150ft. rock-face that sits behind the basket.

* There are a few ace runs mixed in

* Good mix of left and righty holes

* Length really makes it challenging
Cons: * It is a really long course, and not just the length of holes but the traveling between them as well...

* Not close enough!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/20/2009   3/2/2010
Review By: kyle420420
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Scenic
-Hugh fairways
-Not crowded
-On site bathroom
Cons: -Not a great mix of open to wooded holes
-Some repetitive hole design
-Terrible signs
-Navigating between a couple of the holes can be tough
- No pro shop on site
Other Thoughts: I love this course one of my favorits in the area. it is a long course but i dont mind. it is a great course to bring your dogs and let them run around without worrying about them bothering other people. the course is usaly empty. the parking lot is small but there is never more then 4 cars in it at a time and thats when it is busy. i would recomend this course to people that have a little time and want to play a great course. it is in the middle of nowhere.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sexy course

5+    10/10/2009   10/24/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 195  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 28.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of space to air it out, yet still enough thick rough to make you cautious.

Beautiful land

Secluded, and often quiet. On nice days, there are usually only about a half dozen cars in the lot.

Mild elevation changes, not too extreme - not too flat. Steady rolling fairways throughout.

Nice concrete pads

Long, but still some ace opportunities
Cons: Some signage and bench damage

A bit low on the "technical" scale. In other words, you don't have to shape many different lines, as long as you stay in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course. There are plenty of holes to throw wide open distance shots. There are just enough righty and lefty shots to keep you honest. The holes in the middle that take you through the woods are nice and diverse. They contain the most elevation changes and some tight fairways.

The nature reserve this course is on is absolutely gorgeous. There is actually a numbered audio tour that can be downloaded that takes you through the natural attractions of this reserve.

The DGCR front page description states that there is no pay to play here. However, there is an honor box to help with the upkeep and to help support the sport locally. $2 is the recommended donation.

I highly recommend this course to any and all skill levels. No doubt that it benefits bigger arms, but it has enough of everything else to be fun and challenging for all. Also, as busy as the Columbus courses get, this is a nice retreat. In fact, on perfect weather days, this is about the only course I go to, otherwise I will be waiting behind groups.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Relaxing Course

5+    10/8/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 152  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Out of the way/Quiet
Scenic Location
Good mix of long/short shots
Great use of available land
Lots of Elevation Changes
Cons: Not a great mix of open to wooded holes. Most hole are open and kinda the same.
If your not in shape (like me) this course can wear you out
Other Thoughts: I was surprised to see that this course is only 6000+ feet. It feels alot bigger. Be ready for a hike. Lots of big open fairways good for just letting rip. This course is about 45 minutes from where I live, it's not a bad drive but if it was a little closer I would hit it alot more. I definitely recommend this course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Out of the way, great course

5+    7/5/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: th1sjust1n
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Quiet and out of the way course.
-Long course.
-Elevation changes on many holes.
-In and out of woods throws.
-Quality tees and pins.
-Scenic location on nature reserve.
-Low traffic makes for a relaxing round.
-Long open holes as well as shorter wooded holes.
-On site bathroom
Cons: -Some repetitive hole design.
-Not much diversity among open holes.
-Terrible signs.
-Navigating between a couple of the holes can be tough.
-Treelines/woods can be unforgiving because of overgrowth.
-Parking lot is a bit small.
Other Thoughts: As others have stated this course is GREAT for some 'grip and rip' power throws. Many of the holes on the course can support the best toss you can muster. Open fairways on several holes give you some breathing room to really crank on your drive.

Some of the cons that you will find on this course are merely a product of the location. It is remote and in a nature preserve area. This means that you get all the pieces of nature, including the bugs. :) The non-fairway areas can be pretty harsh. Again, nature preserve. People don't just go in and mow and spray everything to death just so you can find your disc when you shank it. Be aware and be ready especially once spring passes. I've personally lost 3 discs there.

The course has defintiely improved year over year. There are all concrete pads now both am and pro. Fairways are better kept and are becoming more grass than weeds now after several years of mowing consistently. Paths between holes and through the woods are better now and easier to travel.

If you play in central Ohio and have not been here yet, just go. Its a great course that you will certainly enjoy.

Update : There are now pamphlets available at the entrance with basic DG info and a score card. Pencils also avaialbe at the entrance. I enjoy this course the more I play it but also find that the (at times) terrible signage is one thing keeping this course from being even better.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.