Alexandria, OH 
Lobdell Reserve DGC Share
Uploaded By: adschmau Hole #12
3 / 230ft.   3 / 384ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

1    6/1/2007   2/13/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Not crowded- you can have the course to yourself. A few decent holes. Some tricky basket locations (though many are hidden and hard to spot for first timers.)
Cons: In the middle of nowhere! The fairways needed mowing when I played it. Signs were iffy at times, small tee areas (but it appears teepads have now been installed).

Hard to find discs that land in the woods. We spent a lot of time looking for discs in the fairway and in the rough.
Other Thoughts: Lots of land. Could use a little refining in my opinion. Many people like this course, but it just didn't appeal to me, probably due to the redundancy.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Controlled Bombing

1    11/9/2008   11/11/2008
Review By: OneBallWonder
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brand new concrete tees finish off what truely is a championship caliber disc golf course. Lots of elevation changes require finesse, while long, relatively open holes require distance as well as precision to avoid woods along both sides of the fairway. Some pin placements very near steep drops, punishing those ace runs that go high.
Cons: Trail from 3's basket to 4's tee is almost invisible. Walk back across 3's fairway, you'll see it.

Fill up your gas tank before you get to the course and bring a snack, as the town of Alexandria offers little in the way of goods and services.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A relaxing round

5/22/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: timg
Played: 243  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.4 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A scenic, secluded and serene course with many elevation changes. The course was well maintained when I played as all the grass was nicely mowed. Also, it looks like concrete tees are on their way judging by the tee pad frames I saw lying around.

You also won't have to worry about waiting at any holes. Crowds were non-existent during my round. I saw a couple of other groups early on but for the most part it felt like I was the only person on the course.
Cons: The signs could use some work, they were a bit difficult to decipher and really weren't all that helpful in figuring out where the baskets were. Also, the first couple of holes had "next tee" signs but were nowhere to be found further in to the course which made finding the next hole difficult on occasion.
Other Thoughts: If you want to play a relaxing round of disc golf, this course would seem to fit the bill. It is very open for most holes with a few challenging wooded holes thrown in for good measure. The course definitely plays long so you'll have plenty of opportunities to give your arm a good work out as well.

I thoroughly enjoyed this course although I do have a preference for more open courses. Throwing over the rolling hills and around the clumps of trees in the narrow fields that seemed to go on and on was a ton of fun.

So.. should you play this course? If you like open courses I couldn't recommend it more. With the addition of concrete tees it will be that much better.

If you're more of a technical player that enjoys being in the woods, Lobdell may not be your cup of tea but I'd still recommend stopping by if you'd like to play a course in a beautiful, natural setting.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

4/19/2008   4/24/2008
Review By: rebeyr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great alternative to Hoover, lots of rolling hills on the open holes, the wooded holes are an adventure, long course
Cons: some of the tees aren't finished but there still is dry dirt there, Some holes are hard to find not sure if we played the 16th or not
Other Thoughts: All in all its a great course it should be finished soon( rest of the tees concrete), if you go play leave a 2 dollar donation for this great course

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bad Idea

6/3/2007   3/12/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: It has 18 holes.....that's about the only thing worth stopping for.
Cons: Redundant holes, a hidden ravine in the woods, poorly groomed, redundant shots, no tee seigns, mosquitoes, redundant shots.
Other Thoughts: You can play the first 3 holes and then leave because you are infor 6 more turns of the same holes. We played some sweet courses last summer but this was the worst. I guess being the worst of the best is not so bad.

4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

8/4/2007   8/4/2007
Review By: Ryno-5 DGT
Played: 169  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Long and fun to play, easy to do well a couple of really cool shots
Cons: Lot of redundant shots, often overgrown

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.