Wooster, OH 
Freedlander Park Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #17 (Taken 8/2011)
4 / 171ft.   4 / 348ft.   3 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Nice Beginner-intermediate level course

1    12/26/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: reanthon
Played: 39  Reviewed: 8
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy to follow with signs on each basket pointing to the next tee

- Good variety of distances from 138 ft to 378, but can be reasonably played as par 3s

- Nice shot variety - forcing both forehands and backhands to be played consistently well.

- Multiple tee pads on the longer hole allows the course to appeal to a wide range of players

- Grounds are well maintained
Cons: - Missing Tee signs on atleast half the holes and boards marking the natural tee box on a few.

- Holes #11-15 are uninspired and play uncomfortable close to pavilions and picnic tables

Other Thoughts: Freedlander remains a fun course with something for everyone despite its current state. A few years back, I had a "Gentleman's Disk Golf Tournament" here before my wedding, and even people that had never tossed a disk before seemed to enjoy it. Intermediate and advanced players will want to opt for the longer tees and play everything as a par 3. The nice thing about this course is that most holes seems to have a clearly defined "fairway", but still has enough trees and/or topography to keep things interesting.

Holes #1-6 play through the woods and have a great variety of distances, preferred routes to the basket and topography. Holes #7 and 8 are long and play along a gravel road along the back of the park to transport you to the back 9. Hole #9 plays about 160' over Freedlander lake from the long Tee, but the real danger is bouncing a disk off of one of the multiple trees guarding the pin and back into the lake.

Holes #11-15 are lackluster and zigzag through the moderately wooded picnic area. Hole #16 is a thickly wooded, down hill righthander with no obvious route to the basket. Holes #17 and 18 return to the woods and are two of my favorite on the course. #17 plays through the woods and over a creek, before turning right and going uphill and #18 is a short, blind uphill shot through the woods.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Weeds Batman!

5+    8/26/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 43  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of Parking and pavilions with grills. Highest quality pavilions I've ever seen with sunken concrete stairs and nice slanted roofs.
- Bring the family! Very nice playground, the pool is huge and has a diving board. There is basketball & volleyball. Multiple baseball fields to practice your bombs in. Drinking fountains at the bathrooms.
- Eye-catching Disc Golf sign by the water on Hole #9
- There are a few holes with multiple tees
- The natural tees are in decent condition, still fairly level, but some can be hard to locate
- Baskets are in great condition and well labeled
- Very nice Next Tee Signs on nearly all the baskets!
- The Flow is not bad, but it's not good either. Hole #1 and hole #18 are far from each other, however, the course does flow from hole to hole well. I suggest parking at Hole #18 so when you finish the course you can chill at the pavilions and visit with friends and consider doing another round ;)
- The forest is beautiful and very thick but not too thick for a disc golf course. It rides that line perfectly.
- Low to medium traffic for disc golfers
- There are bathrooms by Hole #1 & by Hole #15's basket & also inside the Pool area
- There are trash cans and the course is very clean
- The lawns are kept mowed very well and there is some excellent maintenance of the fairways with mulching and clearing of brush.
- Great variety of distances & elevations & tree challenges. You will need your entire bag of tricks!
- Holes #9-12 provide you with a water obstacle to test your abilities. Hole #9 long tee goes directly over the pond!
Cons: - Weed eating during the Summer season is nearly nil. Holes #1, 2, 16, 17 & 18 are nearly Unplayable without a spotter because the natural growth becomes so substantial in the fairways. The risk vs. reward factor becomes too much to deal with.
- There is a walking path and small roads weaving around the back 9 and there can be some heavy traffic by bikers and cars and everything else. I've personally had to wait a lot for walkers and have had to take the long way to holes because of parked cars. This actually is the main reason that I don't come to this course more because I just detest dealing with the frustration of having so many parked cars in my way.
Other Thoughts: - The course could use a few more places to sit. I do not count this against my course rating though.
- This course is fairly challenging overall but a recreational player should not have much trouble scoring in the 60's.
- There are a few holes that are extremely challenging, most notably Holes #4, 8, 13 & 17. Out of those I would say that #17 is the most challenging. It's a tight downhill fairway to start with and you throw over the bridge (small water obstacle) and then it's a tight path that weaves back and forth to an uphill blind basket. This hole can be very frustrating if you find yourself in some of the rough to the right of the basket.
- My favorite hole is hole #9! Love throwing across the water and I dread it at the same time.
- This is really is a great course, very beautiful and fun, but it is just a bit disappointing when the back 9 is full of parked cars and picnic-go'ers. It's not a course you need to travel long distances to try, but if you are in the area this is a MUST play course. I highly recommend hitting this course in the Fall or Winter!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Quirky

1    4/6/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Wild mix of thick and moderately wooded shots over the whole course.
~Long and short tee options, with the shorts geared toward novices.
~Plenty of risky shots earning birdie opportunities.
~Elevation changes throughout the entire 18 holes.
~"Next Tee" arrow signs on top of baskets help with navigation.
~Nice park and the course throws many aspects your way creating for a tight, technical game plan.
Cons:
~Had trouble navigating in some areas even with a printed course map.
~Some of the tee areas are tough to locate, many tee posts/signs are missing.
~Natural tee pads are in bad shape, some toe boards are partially buried.
~Quite a few holes play along a noisy highway, taking away from the quiet park setting.
Other Thoughts:
This surely is a quirky course that I found enjoyable. Some solid tee pads, permanent signage and general clearing/grubbing could do wonders for this place. The layout is great, with the only exception being the distance between Hole 1 and 18 (I recommend parking at 18 and walking down to 1). First section winds through a fairly dense wooded area requiring modest and precise throws. Out of the woods and across a pond, up along the park edge by the highway with the final section crossing along an elevated ravine area with plenty of mature trees. The short tees all seem very short for consistent players, this should be helpful for those new to the sport, while the long tees present a solid challenge. The entire hike kept me entertained. Thumbs up for the challenging course layout, but the existing tee conditions and difficulty of navigation have a tremendous effect on the overall score.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/21/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -nice park with lots of amenities
-well maintained
-plays threw hilly park with elevation changes
-plenty of trees for obstacles but easily played
-well marked paths, no chance of getting lost
-if you get of the fairway, not to big of a deal
-nice mulched paths
Cons: -mosquitos
-heavily played
-not near the main highway
Other Thoughts: when i played there it was fairly busy and had to wait on a couple holes to throw, also the bugs were kind of bad but not to big of a deal if you have some off. didn't get to play the full 18 as it was beginning to get dark when we got to this course. will deffinatly be back to get the whole course in next time im in the area

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Technical Course

1    9/11/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: Mike C
Played: 62  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -An enjoyable set of 18 holes featuring a decent variety of lines and elevation changes put into play. 6, 14, 16, 17 and 18 were my favorites.

-Large next tee signs on top of every basket, and multiple tees for most of the course.

-The first half plays through some woods, while the second half plays through a wooded park. It adds to the variety having the two different settings.

-Shooting from the shorts especially, there are some fun ace runs. Almost hit #5.

-Plenty of benches and restrooms, plus a few water fountains.
Cons: -The natural teepads are in disrepair, and some of them are simply dangerous. Threw from the side of them on a few holes.

-While it's a fun course, it felt a little short and easy. I deuced nearly half the course my first time out. Also, none of the holes really stood out and impressed me, with either how excellent or horrible they were. The whole course felt good but nothing left too strong of an impression on me.

-One or two confusing turns. Wasn't always sure where the short and long tee for each hole was.

-Hole 1's tee and 18's basket are pretty far apart.
Other Thoughts: I played this course in early fall and I had a good time. The weather was perfect and the course wasn't muddy. The scenery throughout the course was pleasant and relaxed.

This is a fun course but it's just as long of a drive or longer for me as it is to get to Dover, Canton or Massillon's course, so it's not one I'll play very often. If I lived nearby I'd be happy to have this as my home course, but I have better courses closer to me so there's not much motivation for me to go back.

I'd recommend playing it if you live nearby or are ever in the area. It's a good course, but not quite a destination course like the others I mentioned.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fear the Rooster

1    7/3/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Large "next tee" signs on top of baskets.
Cons:
Tees are natural, marked by in-ground boards, and some are quite rough and/or rutted.. Many thick bushes and much undergrowth, mostly early and late, could generate much disc search and some loss. Interacts with some walking paths and pavilions. A bit wet at #16's midpoint.
Other Thoughts:
If you like them on the short and tight-side of things, this is the course for you. The first 1/3rd of the course is short, fairly flat, quite tight, requiring gentle turns through mid-sized trees supported by lots of bushes and undergrowth. 7 & 8 have you throwing straight down a fairly broad walking path, defined by larger trees on both sides. After cross-pond shot #9, you then play a few longer holes, where some moderate elevation change, large hardwoods, and less brush, are your challenges. 16 & 17 merge and magnify the previously-seen features of the course so far - more length, more turns, more elevation change (cross ravine), large and small trees, loads of brush, also - to form probably the most difficult holes on the course. Number-18 finishes shorter than the previous two, but over the ravine, uphill, and plenty of trees to avoid.

The tee signs were a mixed bag - vertical posts at most long tees, but not all - vandalized, or just not installed yet? Also, only about half the signs had the hole/distance/flightpath information - the others were blank.

Favourite hole: #9. Throwing across a pretty fishing pond, with a gazebo way to your left, was very pretty, and the trees near/behind the basket meant you didn't have to worry about over-throwing.

Least favourite hole: #4. Low canopy early, thick line of trees 150' ahead of you, tons of brush just behind these trees makes you wonder how you're supposed to attack this hole with digging through brush over half the time.

Don't come here if you like them open and long, but if you're eager for a tight challenge - short and thick early, longer and larger at the midpoint, and best-of-both-worlds at the end, come on by for a round.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wooooster

1    4/14/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: mobster
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2010
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Technical wooded course with some defined fairways between the trees. A decent variation of hole-types to use different shots on. Baskets are in good shape and the next tee signs are great. Bridges and stairs to help get across some streams/ditches. Pond comes into play on a few holes.
Cons: Some of the worst natural tee-boxes I've seen. Some of the holes look like they were just tossed in between some trees. A lot of tee signs are missing. Course can get confusing if you don't have a map. Long walk from 18 to 1 if you park by hole 1. Course can be very swampy and soggy in a few places.
Other Thoughts: Course really seems neglected right now with the brush overgrowing everywhere. With a little work this course can become better. The park is nice with a swimming pool and playground.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

tree banger club captin

5+    12/24/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 55  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some of my favorite holes are in this wooded 18 holes. Front 9 is a blast to play. Technical shots through small cuts in trees make this course challenging yet rewarding. (like when you hit it perfect through the windows between trees). Back nine has good changes in elevation, a little longer and more open then the front nine.

Signs on top of baskets show direction of next t pads (every course needs this). Baskets are nice and in good condition.

Not windy. Fun putting situations (putting directly uphill, around or between trees). Ace opportunities. Two tee's on most holes. Mulch fairways. One alternate pin location that makes #15 a very difficult parr 3 (an up hill 400 footer w/ basket protected by trees).

Long tees are marked by small orange flag during tournaments. Also, three "open" temp holes are added to provide a total of 21 holes. If these holes were permanent this course would get another half star.

Never really busy with disc golfers. Park is used for other things and may get busy, but the disc golf course is not used often.

Hole #9 alone is worth a trip. Classic over the pond shot to pin raised slightly on a hill. The only true grip-it and rip-it shot on the course. Everyone should play the long tee on this hole!!!
Cons: Lacks any open bomb shots. Trees. No concrete t-pads. Some drainage issues. Some hole signs missing or vandalized. Trees. Easy to lose disc in pond or in brush. Park goers sometimes parked in fairway (on back nine only). Hole 18 ends no where near hole 1. Trees. Tee markings are buried yellow pieces of wood, sometimes hard to see or covered..... and the TREES make it difficult to judge where deflections go.

Outside of the mulch fairways, there is heavy over growth, thick brush and lots of trees. A bad drive can put you in a rough position to save parr as the rough is very "rough" here on nearly every hole. Hitting early wood will make for a looonggg day. My advice is to stay on the fairways as much as possible even if it requires to take a little off your throws.

Annoying dogs from houses along holes #7, #8. Watch out for bees!!

No practice basket.
Other Thoughts: Wayyy more fun to play in the winter, you can actually see the baskets!

Great for experienced players to sharpen accuracy. A challenge to most.

Be ready for a hike in the woods.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Cluster-Fuxxx!

5+    4/9/2014   10/11/2009
Review By: ValcoNation
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have a better understanding of disc golf since I wrote my first review for Freedlander Park years ago. I deleted my entire review from 2009.

This 18 is a beginner course. Not much else can be made of this course. But I will name the few Pros it has to offer....

-Great baskets
-Elevation changes on most holes, with baskets on hills (4,7,9,11,16,17.)
-LeBron James
-Super nice park*
-
Cons: I'll do my best to be concise on the cons.

-Teepads are the worst I've ever seen

-Signage is almost non-existent. Vandals have taken most.

-Course upkeep - there is none!

-.Traffic - this course above all others I've played at is placed in the most highly trafficked park I can imagine to put a course in. I/everyone ceases to play during peak spring/summer/fall months. I'll elaborate on a few of these nuisances,

1.) The annual Trout Derby!
-Yes it's fun to teach kids how to fish. But is it necessary to fill the pond with hungry trout and have a "derby" that shuts down the course for a weekend? You decide.

2.) Runners.
- I have no problem with youths running around for the betterment of their health! But, since the middle school is directly down the "road," freedlander park is the natural stomping ground for teens of all ages to run directly in the paths of most of the holes! (That's what their coaches tell them to do)

-Straight walkers-
-Although it sounds like nitpicking, try playing at freeds multiple times a week. The entire course is made from old walking paths. These such paths have been there much longer than the course. 5 minute waits are not uncommon on any hole. Patrons will stand in the middle of holes even if you make them aware of what's going on! Even if there isn't a trout derby, there may be many people fishing witch can ruin 4 holes.

-Vehicles-
-Not to mention hole 1 where people park directly on top of the teepad, I'll focus on the back nine. From 10-16 there are asphalt roads running through the park/disc golf course. Winter months this isn't a factor, the roads are blocked off and there is no traffic to speak of. Butttttttt.... when spring hits the flood gates open! Literally and figuratively, they actually open gates. And although there are no signs saying Parking/No Parking, people park everywhere. I'm talking 9-16 unplayable. I've hit 20 or so vehicles, I feel no remorse because they are parked illegally.

-Softball Shits-
-When I was a younger gentlemen there used to be 2 soccer fields and 1 baseball field in the middle of freeds. Now there are 3 "Softball" fields in the middle of the course. This is totally legit in my book...... But, what comes with teeny bop massive 3 softball field tourneys? Oh yeah, all the little girls smaller bros and sisters! What would any young girl or boy do when they are bored of watching dumb girl softball (before the game even starts)? For some reason they migrate into the woods surrounding the "softball fields" and play. When they play, they pick your disc up, when your disc is picked up you lose patience, when you lose patience you don't disc. (Go up to my Vehicles section to understand the full wrath of these "Softball" matches.)


Other Thoughts: To be honest I absolutely love the course! But If you're not used to dirt-crater teepads and tight fairways you won't have fun. I recently brought an Open player here and he stopped keeping score ending up with at least 13 over. And he is much better than I. Simply put, this course is a great beginner's course, good for practice all day long! Other than that, it sucks!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 just not quite there

2-4    6/14/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: Technohic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good use of elevation changes
-good use of trees making bad shots punishing
-Amenities such as bathrooms and benches available
-Nice risky shots around water
-signs on top of basket pointing to next hole
Cons: -teepads are natural, which wouldnt be that bad if they all had the tee signs to at least give you something to look for beside a board on the ground.

-Tee signs when present were nice, but most missing or blank

-Trees making for a challenge is fine but the tall weeds, thorns and grass throughout has little afect on your throw and becomes just a nuisance to navigating through the course

-Lacks a signature hole or some sort of shot with a "wow" factor.
Other Thoughts: I originally had a horrible review written for the course as far as wording but this course is really missing something. Overall, I think it is pretty well designed but it could use a couple of holes that just really define the course and stick out in your memory.

A little cleaning out of the brush that has no affect on the game but poses for annoyance walking around could help, along with some sign upkeep and/or some concrete tees.

A decent course for the most part

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.