Wooster, OH 
Freedlander Park Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #1 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 213ft.   3 / 213ft.   3 / 425ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Holy Weeds Batman!

5+    8/26/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 43  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of Parking and pavilions with grills. Highest quality pavilions I've ever seen with sunken concrete stairs and nice slanted roofs.
- Bring the family! Very nice playground, the pool is huge and has a diving board. There is basketball & volleyball. Multiple baseball fields to practice your bombs in. Drinking fountains at the bathrooms.
- Eye-catching Disc Golf sign by the water on Hole #9
- There are a few holes with multiple tees
- The natural tees are in decent condition, still fairly level, but some can be hard to locate
- Baskets are in great condition and well labeled
- Very nice Next Tee Signs on nearly all the baskets!
- The Flow is not bad, but it's not good either. Hole #1 and hole #18 are far from each other, however, the course does flow from hole to hole well. I suggest parking at Hole #18 so when you finish the course you can chill at the pavilions and visit with friends and consider doing another round ;)
- The forest is beautiful and very thick but not too thick for a disc golf course. It rides that line perfectly.
- Low to medium traffic for disc golfers
- There are bathrooms by Hole #1 & by Hole #15's basket & also inside the Pool area
- There are trash cans and the course is very clean
- The lawns are kept mowed very well and there is some excellent maintenance of the fairways with mulching and clearing of brush.
- Great variety of distances & elevations & tree challenges. You will need your entire bag of tricks!
- Holes #9-12 provide you with a water obstacle to test your abilities. Hole #9 long tee goes directly over the pond!
Cons: - Weed eating during the Summer season is nearly nil. Holes #1, 2, 16, 17 & 18 are nearly Unplayable without a spotter because the natural growth becomes so substantial in the fairways. The risk vs. reward factor becomes too much to deal with.
- There is a walking path and small roads weaving around the back 9 and there can be some heavy traffic by bikers and cars and everything else. I've personally had to wait a lot for walkers and have had to take the long way to holes because of parked cars. This actually is the main reason that I don't come to this course more because I just detest dealing with the frustration of having so many parked cars in my way.
Other Thoughts: - The course could use a few more places to sit. I do not count this against my course rating though.
- This course is fairly challenging overall but a recreational player should not have much trouble scoring in the 60's.
- There are a few holes that are extremely challenging, most notably Holes #4, 8, 13 & 17. Out of those I would say that #17 is the most challenging. It's a tight downhill fairway to start with and you throw over the bridge (small water obstacle) and then it's a tight path that weaves back and forth to an uphill blind basket. This hole can be very frustrating if you find yourself in some of the rough to the right of the basket.
- My favorite hole is hole #9! Love throwing across the water and I dread it at the same time.
- This is really is a great course, very beautiful and fun, but it is just a bit disappointing when the back 9 is full of parked cars and picnic-go'ers. It's not a course you need to travel long distances to try, but if you are in the area this is a MUST play course. I highly recommend hitting this course in the Fall or Winter!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/21/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -nice park with lots of amenities
-well maintained
-plays threw hilly park with elevation changes
-plenty of trees for obstacles but easily played
-well marked paths, no chance of getting lost
-if you get of the fairway, not to big of a deal
-nice mulched paths
Cons: -mosquitos
-heavily played
-not near the main highway
Other Thoughts: when i played there it was fairly busy and had to wait on a couple holes to throw, also the bugs were kind of bad but not to big of a deal if you have some off. didn't get to play the full 18 as it was beginning to get dark when we got to this course. will deffinatly be back to get the whole course in next time im in the area

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Technical Course

1    9/11/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: Mike C
Played: 60  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -An enjoyable set of 18 holes featuring a decent variety of lines and elevation changes put into play. 6, 14, 16, 17 and 18 were my favorites.

-Large next tee signs on top of every basket, and multiple tees for most of the course.

-The first half plays through some woods, while the second half plays through a wooded park. It adds to the variety having the two different settings.

-Shooting from the shorts especially, there are some fun ace runs. Almost hit #5.

-Plenty of benches and restrooms, plus a few water fountains.
Cons: -The natural teepads are in disrepair, and some of them are simply dangerous. Threw from the side of them on a few holes.

-While it's a fun course, it felt a little short and easy. I deuced nearly half the course my first time out. Also, none of the holes really stood out and impressed me, with either how excellent or horrible they were. The whole course felt good but nothing left too strong of an impression on me.

-One or two confusing turns. Wasn't always sure where the short and long tee for each hole was.

-Hole 1's tee and 18's basket are pretty far apart.
Other Thoughts: I played this course in early fall and I had a good time. The weather was perfect and the course wasn't muddy. The scenery throughout the course was pleasant and relaxed.

This is a fun course but it's just as long of a drive or longer for me as it is to get to Dover, Canton or Massillon's course, so it's not one I'll play very often. If I lived nearby I'd be happy to have this as my home course, but I have better courses closer to me so there's not much motivation for me to go back.

I'd recommend playing it if you live nearby or are ever in the area. It's a good course, but not quite a destination course like the others I mentioned.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Need to be accurate

1    3/21/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: rcracer757
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2009
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: An excellent course to test you physically and mentally. You are mainly weaving throughout the forest. There are select paths for your disc to fly through which will test your accuracy.
Cons: The kids that roam the park with little to no interest in disc golf. They feel as thou it is more interesting in destroying the signs and leaving trash behind.
Other Thoughts: There are some really low wires I am afraid to touch but temping to jump up and grab. If you play here you will see what I mean.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice attention to detail

2-4    12/23/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice tee markers. The signs marking the main (usually the long) tees are easily visible from a distance. The signposts also have pegs to hang your bag which is a welcome feature when the ground is wet or muddy. The 4x4's in the ground provide a nice defined front to the tee box. Additional 4x4's are installed to mark the short tees. I was impressed with how easy most of the short tees were to find despite not being marked on the map. The baskets have wonderful "Next Tee" directional arrows mounted on top which makes this course very easy to navigate. It helps that the course flows well. The course map at the info board is very accurate.

The play on this course is almost completely technical. There are very tight fairways on most of the holes. #8 is a 375' hole with a 15-20' wide, perfectly straight fairway the entire way. The course is pretty well balanced but I think favors LHBH just a bit. The course starts and ends with a short, easy birdie run hole.

Very nice welcome sign as you enter the park (see gallery picture).
Cons:
Many of the tee signs have become the victims of vandals who have removed the nice individual hole maps that include the distances.

It'd be nice if the course map on the info board had the OB rules posted. The only place I found that was on the online scorecard.

Several of the holes (#4 and #16 come to mind) have you standing on the tee pad looking at a mess of trees wondering just how to get to the basket... and I played in the Winter when there were no leaves on any of the trees!
Other Thoughts:
I was lucky, this course wasn't crowded at all when I played (15 degree F, and snow in December). In fact I only saw one other person in the whole park the entire time I played. The course is in a fantastic multi-use park, which could lead to many throwing conflicts in the heavily populated summer months.

There are a lot of fun shots on this course if you go in with the expectation that you're not going to have the opportunity to crush any long bombs. The shot across the water from long #9 is easily reachable, but still imposing. It was very satisfying to weave my drive through the trees and past the creek on #16; but then disheartening to toss a bad upshot and even worse putt to take a '4' on the hole. But that's the type of course this is with certain pin positions, you need more than a good drive to score well.

All the tees are marked with 4x4's in the ground except a long tee for #3 which I'm told is down on the path by #7's tee and is marked by a small orange flag.

I would definitely play this course again.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  

6/18/2008   6/19/2008
Review By: mreyda
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging course. Lots of very narrow fairways. The course is well marked, and each basket has an arrow pointing to the next tee, which is very helpful especially on this wooded course.
Cons: The rough is very rough. If you miss the fairway, and that is very easy to do, you'll probably have to wade through fairly think brush.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun, but very hard course. If you like narrow fairways and some tight turns, along with some just generally difficult holes, this is your kind of course. Not for a beginner though.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.