Wooster, OH 
Freedlander Park Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #11 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 273ft.   4 / 353ft.   3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Short Tee (mando)



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

5+    5/24/2009   4/21/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2009
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course will be easy to the more advanced players, but definatly intriguing for most. . Very heavily wooded some creeks. One big lake to start the back with a pro tee shot of well over 250 ft over ...the lake. Back 9 consist of trees trees and more trees. Fun course
Cons: Can be very crowded in the summer time. Public pool is part of park .
Other Thoughts: I had to drop my rating on this course. I've been out 3 times this year, and i must say ,each time i go out it seems to get worse. Vandals have destroyed almost all of the tee signs. Some tees have been moved. The overall up keep of the park particularly the back nine seems to have dropped off. Still think this is a fun course but it needs help. An updated map would be nice as well.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Need to be accurate

1    3/21/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: rcracer757
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2009
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: An excellent course to test you physically and mentally. You are mainly weaving throughout the forest. There are select paths for your disc to fly through which will test your accuracy.
Cons: The kids that roam the park with little to no interest in disc golf. They feel as thou it is more interesting in destroying the signs and leaving trash behind.
Other Thoughts: There are some really low wires I am afraid to touch but temping to jump up and grab. If you play here you will see what I mean.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice attention to detail

2-4    12/23/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice tee markers. The signs marking the main (usually the long) tees are easily visible from a distance. The signposts also have pegs to hang your bag which is a welcome feature when the ground is wet or muddy. The 4x4's in the ground provide a nice defined front to the tee box. Additional 4x4's are installed to mark the short tees. I was impressed with how easy most of the short tees were to find despite not being marked on the map. The baskets have wonderful "Next Tee" directional arrows mounted on top which makes this course very easy to navigate. It helps that the course flows well. The course map at the info board is very accurate.

The play on this course is almost completely technical. There are very tight fairways on most of the holes. #8 is a 375' hole with a 15-20' wide, perfectly straight fairway the entire way. The course is pretty well balanced but I think favors LHBH just a bit. The course starts and ends with a short, easy birdie run hole.

Very nice welcome sign as you enter the park (see gallery picture).
Cons:
Many of the tee signs have become the victims of vandals who have removed the nice individual hole maps that include the distances.

It'd be nice if the course map on the info board had the OB rules posted. The only place I found that was on the online scorecard.

Several of the holes (#4 and #16 come to mind) have you standing on the tee pad looking at a mess of trees wondering just how to get to the basket... and I played in the Winter when there were no leaves on any of the trees!
Other Thoughts:
I was lucky, this course wasn't crowded at all when I played (15 degree F, and snow in December). In fact I only saw one other person in the whole park the entire time I played. The course is in a fantastic multi-use park, which could lead to many throwing conflicts in the heavily populated summer months.

There are a lot of fun shots on this course if you go in with the expectation that you're not going to have the opportunity to crush any long bombs. The shot across the water from long #9 is easily reachable, but still imposing. It was very satisfying to weave my drive through the trees and past the creek on #16; but then disheartening to toss a bad upshot and even worse putt to take a '4' on the hole. But that's the type of course this is with certain pin positions, you need more than a good drive to score well.

All the tees are marked with 4x4's in the ground except a long tee for #3 which I'm told is down on the path by #7's tee and is marked by a small orange flag.

I would definitely play this course again.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Technical & fun

1    7/6/2008   7/6/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park, challenging holes. Baskets have pointers to the next tee. Secluded. Lots of trees, skill required. Layout flows intelligently from baskets to next tee.
Cons: OB shots can get lost in the thick growth on some holes. Some signs are missing their map. Lots of muddy areas & creeks framing the narrow fairway/approach drives on the front 9.
Other Thoughts: Very cool course, with plenty, if not all holes that require your game to be "on". Course for the most part stays away from other park-goers, and the scenery is great.

Lots of variation in elevation - you'll throw up & down hills for a good portion of this course. Probably a good idea your first time out to check out for where the baskets are before throwing, especially on the front nine.

Mostly wooded shots/throwing through trees. You'll have an opportunity to use every disc in your bag, but no open holes where you'll be gunning for pure distance.

Most of the holes are technical as opposed to brute strength drives. Not a casual course by any means, but plenty of fun if you know what to expect.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

6/18/2008   6/19/2008
Review By: mreyda
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging course. Lots of very narrow fairways. The course is well marked, and each basket has an arrow pointing to the next tee, which is very helpful especially on this wooded course.
Cons: The rough is very rough. If you miss the fairway, and that is very easy to do, you'll probably have to wade through fairly think brush.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun, but very hard course. If you like narrow fairways and some tight turns, along with some just generally difficult holes, this is your kind of course. Not for a beginner though.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.