Frisco, CO
Peak One DGC Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #1 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 307ft.   3 / --   3 / 307ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Denver Trip

1    6/15/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: DGTEXAS
Played: 63  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The views on this course are breathtaking! I highly reccommend playing this course simply because of that. The course is challenging with a variety of different shots. I wouldnt say that this is a tough course, but it's not easy.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I'll be back!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quality Old School Disc Golf

5+    6/14/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: TeeDoubleU
Played: 60  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me disclose my bias: I picked up disc golf in Missoula, Montana, so for me mountain disc golf is disc golf. That said, when I first played Frisco 13 years ago after playing lots of park courses on the front range, it was a dream! I loved the way every hole felt like it was completely isolated from the rest of the world, I loved the thick forest and the smell of the trees, and I loved the layout and challenge. As has been lamentably noted often enough in other reviews, the disastrous pine beetle plague did serious damage to the forests of Summit County in the middle part of the last decade. Peak One wasn't spared, and a lot of dead blue trees had to come out. I was skeptical when I came back to play for the first time after the dead timber got yanked, but after just a couple of holes it became clear to me that the course was, and is still, a delight.
Here's the stuff I like:
1) Insert all the things people say about quality course design here. Diversity, elevation change, good use of topography, intuitive flow, shot variety, doesn't cross itself up, etc. With very few exceptions, it's clear that the course was designed with an understanding of the way people play in mind. For a course so old, it still plays remarkably well even with the tremendous advancements in disc technology.
2) The course has lots of fun quirks. Why not have a teepee, some ski slope signage, and a handful of goofy traditions that can be picked up and embraced simply by striking up a conversation with a local?
3) Great sense of community. This course gets a lot of traffic, which can sometimes be a con, but the players here get it. I've played Peak One a lot, and I've never had anything but good experiences. The regulars know they've got a good reputation and they'll go out of their way to uphold it.
4) It's pretty. Not kind of pretty; insanely pretty.
5) The tee boxes and baskets are in good shape. Sometimes well-used courses are terribly beat up, but everything here is in good working order.
6) There are tons of variables. To me, a cruddy course is one where you know, within a stroke or two, what you're going to shoot before you even walk on to the first tee. If there are no variables in play, there's no reason to keep showing up. Peak One doesn't have that problem. Winds picking up and dying down on the same hole, irritatingly placed trees, and sometimes forgiving/sometimes not roughs will give you significant swings in scores.
Cons: Building and maintaining disc golf courses is hard. As always, I offer my gentle critiques with a spirit of respect and appreciation to everyone who has busted their back to make the course happen.
That said, here are some things that could be better.
1) I'm a sucker for nice signage. I think it adds so much to a course to have attractive signs that artfully communicate the details of each hole. Good tee signs are like appetizers that whet the pallet for what comes next. For such a beautiful course the signage is inadequate. With so many regulars playing, I'm sure most people on the course at any given time could play the thing blindfolded, but even for the old vets I think better signs would improve the experience.
2) Erosion is a problem on some holes. This isn't the best for safety or for maintaining the land. Some type of erosion control/retaining walls will probably be needed moving forward.
It's a compliment to the course that this is an issue.
3) It's busy. If you know that's part of the deal, it's no big thing, but if you aren't used to waiting to play this will be a very different experience than you get on most courses.
Other Thoughts: Tips:
1) Label your discs. There's a decent chance you'll lose one, and a great chance you'll get a call back the same day if you've got your name and number on all your plastic.
2) Pack water. It's a long trek and there's nowhere to rehydrate along the way.
3) Bring the full bag. You'll need all your shots and probably some discs you haven't even thought about using in ages.
4) Let people play through. There are some locals who cruise through this course. Don't rush your own experience by hurrying on their account; instead pull up a seat, soak in the views, and say hello as you let them pass. The extra time will only make the experience better.
5) Take time to say hello. There's a great DG community here and it'd be a pity not introduce yourself.

Summit County is a great place to be in the summer and Peak One makes it even more attractive for those of us who enjoy this sport. At over 15 years old, this course is inching toward becoming a Colorado classic. It's certainly among the very best free mountain courses in the state.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Still the best in Summit County...

5+    6/7/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: tuckermans143
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 24.6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I first visited this course in 2001 it was, at the time, easily one of the most difficult/challenging courses in the country & despite my dozen or so rounds that week I was unable to score below +5. Frustrating.

Fast forward now to 2012 & it's been my home course for 3 years. Yes, it's significantly more OPEN, however it's only moderately easier. The challenge starts as soon as you step on to the pad that doesn't seem to lead anywhere! Most of the time your drives will soar above the canopy only to disappear into a sea of deep rich pine. These scraggly pine love to WWF your disc & will block you like a last second March Madness in-bounds pass at every opportunity. Don't be afraid to either walk up a bit or better yet, hang out at the first tee or practice basket until a local meanders by & ask if they'll 'caddie' you through your first round. Most folks up here are so damn friendly & proud of this course that they'll gladly have you along, you just may have to listen to: "Maaaaaaaan, you shoulda seen this hole before all the damn beetle kill..." once or twice...per hole. Just the same, if you're shy, I'll be posting descriptions for each hole under tips after I finish here...

The rest of the reviews cover the pure, stunning vista as well as the fun & funky chairs. Can you spot the Mushroom Rock? Our "40" hole is a one footed putt from the 'tongued' stump after hole 8 down to the lowest stump in the dip before hole 9's tee. Land on it & you win!

The biggest Pro though is the crew that's been making upgrades over the past two years. Water management has created a 'hazard' on hole two that's helped to eliminate some other wet spots after rain. Most holes have alternate pin placements now & knowing where the basket is can be a fun & exciting even for locals.

Bring your big bomber arm as well as your delicate finesse fingers. You WILL need an over head shot at least once per round! Have fun & don't forget to giggle.

Cons: Errant drives can easily lead to hours of searching, I strongly recommend avoiding blue & tye dyed discs for the Frisbee Monster, (think Cookie Monster but looking more like a collection of pine needles), will surely consume your plastic forever. Also white discs can be a nightmare as well because they look like every other rock on the ground.

Don't be fooled by the 'puddle' on hole 2, it will eat your disc too.

Personally I don't consider this to be a Con, but the winds can be eXtRa-ordinary up here. They can be very challenging & easily take a simple hole to a blow up in a heart beat. Keep your disc low on gusty days.

Not sure if this belongs as a pro or con but in this mountain community, you're seemingly expected to pack out what you pack in as there are only both trash & recycling bins at hole one & at the parking lot. There are recycling bins at hole 8 for your empty bev containers.

Alas there's an endless supply of cigarette butts for me to gather each round & given the dry conditions this year we'd all DEEPLY appreciate it if you'd make sure you're butts are completely out if you're going to litter. Don't worry, I'll keep picking them up.

Finally, yes, it gets busy. Not as bad as a major tourney can or some of the denser populated areas back east for sure but still it can be troublesome. There are random packs of 'one-disc-wonders' who will inevitably loose 30% of the discs in the group per throw. These same sort of dopes will also inevitably end up behind you once they figure out how to let you play through, only to throw up on you as you're putting on the next hole. Please. Feel. Free. To. Educate. These pups still need training.

To avoid the madness here's a couple tips:
- if you can get out for your first round before 3:30 you should be good. I've been starting around 8:00 lately & by the time I finish my second round between 11 & noon there are already a healthy half dozen groups out there, if not more.
-Tuesday is Random Doubles League night, kicking off at 5:30, Thursday is Bag Tag night also at about the same time. Add this to the standard post work crowds & it can be a 3-4 group logger jamb at many holes.
Other Thoughts: This is still in my opinion on of the top ten courses in Colorado. The altitude keeps it cool all the time, you'll barely see a temp above eighty all summer, but the sun can still be intensely brutal so be sure to have a good sunscreen to keep from gettin' crispy.

Main Street Frisco is a great place to find dinner & suds after & the local's spot would be The Moose Jaw. I'm the cat with the crazy handle bar mustache...see ya out there.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/23/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course layout. Lots of bench and garbage cans. Good tee pads and good baskets. A variety of shots. Technical ones and huge long distance ones.
Cons: Wish there were some more technical holes. Can get crowded.
Other Thoughts: Wish I got play it before they did the logging.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A High Altitude DG Adventure!

2-4    9/25/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: markjfun
Played: 61  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although not the absolute pinnacle of Colorado mountain-style disc golf courses, Peak One DGC still earns recognition as a spectacular offering to the sport. The lakeside path to hole #1 starts from the parking lot of Peninsula Recreation Area, a very generous public "play space" where skaters, cyclocross riders, fisherman, boaters, hikers and their friends are all out pursuing their facorite hobbies just minutes from downtown Frisco. After many of the region's pine trees were recently clear-cut in the aftermath of the beetle kill, the fairways have widened up and the course plays more openly. For beginners and newcomers, this is assumably a good thing, but old school discers will surely miss the tight and technical nature of its original design.

Like you'll find at most highly-rated mountain courses, the benches are made of unique recycled materials - in this case, old 2-seater ski lift chairs that compliment Frisco's "ski town" theme. Short wooden sign posts displaying the hole length and par numbers (for both amateurs and pros), are easy to spot at each of the spacious cement tees. Three holes play near enough to the south leg of Dillon Reservoir to offer sweeping vistas of the gorgeous Frisco valley. Although you're near the water on a couple tees, you'll never be throwing toward or alongside the shore, so losing plastic here would require some serious blundering. Although there are not dual tees, the holes are mostly challenging enough for advanced players, and now that the fairways are wider, beginners can have a good time too. Most of the tees start from the edge of the forest or a small clearing and play to a pin tucked around a dogleg or behind some manicured trees.
Cons: Most players will inevitably have to jog ahead from more than half of the tees to get a visual on the basket. If you don't like switching up the direction of your shots to get around trees, this isn't your type of place. A little more elevation change would add some excitement and spice things up a bit.
Other Thoughts: A portable restroom is usually in the parking lot near hole #1 during the summer months. There are a couple waste receptacles along the way, but count on packing out your trash if it has been busy because they fill up often. Somewhere around hole 8, a smoker's hut made of various materials provides shade and seating. Free overnight tent and car camping is available about 5 miles up Miners Creek Road #1000 (see US Forest Service web site for more info). General course maintenance is excellent. If you're passing through on I-70 or spending time in Frisco, make the worthwhile stop here for rewarding round of 18 at Peak One DGC.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Becoming A Gem Again

2-4    8/21/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sits on a beautiful mountain lake. There is still a fair amount of trees despite being hit hard by beetle kill. There is a very good variety of hole length and type. The course makes knowing different shots a huge advantage. There is good use of elevation. There are some unique holes. The fun factor on this course was much higher than I expected. There are some really nice facilities in the Frisco Peninsula recreation area. There is a nice big sign by the baseball field with information about the course. Navigation is fairly straight forward. There are some awesome benches, my favorite of which are the old chair lift benches.
Cons: The trees are not quite what they should be to be a true mountain course but it is working on getting back to be that way. There is also a lack of elevation change in comparison to typical mountain courses. Signs and distances do not always seem that accurate. There is the occasional traffic from either bikers or hikers. The only indication that there is a course in the area from a road or parking lot are a few signs and the practice basket, but it really is back there.
Other Thoughts: I went up to play this course for the first time at the tournament that was held for the first time in about five years. I really would have loved to see this course back then before the beetle kill. It was apparently even tighter and thick before. As it is right now it is fairly easy to score well on this course. I really enjoyed the holes that played by the lake and wish, to a certain extent that they would have made more use of the lake. There are no real shots to have any risk of going in the water so you can leave the water discs at home. It appears as though the entrance to the recreation area has been redone when they also built the day lodge. More people should stop to play this course, it is well worth the visit and will only get better as the trees continue to grow back.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 True Rocky Mountain Disc Golf!

1    7/13/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I first want to start off and say that this course is the most picturesque and breathtaking that I have ever played. The pictures do no justice on here! With that being said, let's talk about the actual course design and amenities:

- The amenities are quite excellent here. You can tell the locals really care about this course. Nice concrete teepads, wood stump tee markers/signs, benches (and I love the ski-lift chairs), and trashcans/recycling bins. I love how the baskets and signs are adorned with rock climbing and craft brew stickers!

- Right off I-70

The course design:

- The terrain is what you'd expect in the high Colorado mountains: rocky, full of evergreens, great mountain vistas, and some elevation changes. I couldn't get over how easy it is to NOT lose a disc here. Maybe it's due to the beetle damage; who knows. Either way, I didn't even come close to losing a disc here despite some blind shots.
- Course navigation is extremely intuitive and it's easy to get around the course without a map.
- Nice array of doglegs (both hyzer and anhyzer), as well as some blind shots. Not to mention some holes that require a good overhand game to get over the tall pines.
- Front nine are more open, while the back nine utilize the pines more and provide some slightly more technical throws.
- I also like hoe a lot of the holes play near the lake but don't pose an immediate hazard.
- I think the views of the mountains should go without saying; but even in July, it's nice to play amid snow-capped peaks!
Cons: - Can get very soggy, especially after thunderstorms, as I experienced the night before
- Shots can be very blind. Even though the possibility of losing a disc is kind of low, bring a spotter.
- If you're not used to the altitude, you may get winded. I usually play about 1,000 feet above sea level, so playing here was a little more tiring than normal.
- With the exception of hole #15, there are no real challenges in terms of distance. Most holes are in the 250-320 range.
- Wish there was another water hazard playing near the reservoir.
Other Thoughts: Bring a friend, a camera, and even a picnic basket. This a great hike a well as a DG experience. This a true gem in the Rockies, and it may just be one of the most fun courses I've ever played. There are plenty of camping and other recreation opportunities on the peninsula; take advantage of them all!

Notable holes:
#9: plays over a small section of the Dillon Reservoir into a grove of pines. A slight water hazard! Awesome.
#12: Excellent view of the mountains. You have to throw down a fairway that is lined with trees/rocks on either side.
#17 - Great uphill shot that requires a strong arm to par.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/15/2010   7/20/2011
Review By: GDisc
Played: 55  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Course nestled deep into the Rockies!.....This course will tranquilize you with it's Setting and Atmosphere.....Great Tee Pads and Baskets w/Good Signage.......Poses Technical, Bomber and Hazard shots.....
Cons: As any Mountain course, it is a bit hard to navigate due to it being in the Mountains! Not too much bad to say about this one!
Other Thoughts: The surrounding area is fantastic and if you are within a 200 miles of this Course it is worth the stop......BackCountry Brewery is in the area and is a Must Stop (Best Ale I've had in America!)....Make sure to check out the surrounding area because everything about this part of the Rocky Mountains is a Must do!!! Great Times on a Great Course in a Great Area!!!..

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Moutain Course

1    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: Tricky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hard to find a lot to complain about when you're playing disc golf right next to the beautiful Lake Dillon and surrounded by 14,000ft mountains.

The course had yellow baskets, which is great for people who are new to the course. They are easy to spot once you know where to look.

Requires a good amount of shots, though it does favor the forehand, which seems backwards from most courses. This course prefers the lefty or RHFH.

Distances on every tee pad and the pads are concrete! I always love to play on concrete tee pads.
Cons: There are no signs pointing you to the next tee pad, but luckily (though at times un-luckily) enough the course is busy so following the group in front to the basket position isn't to bad.

Distances were off.

Beetle kill has forced the park to remove a TON of trees, thus making some of the holes wide open, when they were in the woods.

Course is super busy late in the day and weekends with younger kids who aren't fully caught up on golf etiquette, and the language can be quite vulgar at times, which could pose problems for families with young children.

Other Thoughts: I would of loved to played this course when the trees were all there and the course wasn't super busy. It does provide you with some birdie chances, but then requires you to keep the pace on the next few holes.

I wasn't blown away by the course as much as I was by the view.

I am going to go back during the weekdays in the morning to see if it's as busy, and will update if I find some times where there aren't quite as many people!

With all that being said, I think a few additions to the course and some of the trees growing back in, this will be and is a nice course. If it is kept clean and treated well, it can only improve if they start to plant some more trees.

I would also like to see some older vets of the game out playing to help teach the younger crowd (like myself, I'm 26) the rules of the game and some etiquette.

3/5 stars from me only because of the difficulty to locate some baskets and a few other small details.

But it is a mountain course and that makes up for a lot!!!!

Happy 4th!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Mountainous Course

2-4    6/12/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 99  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great mix of distances on the holes with distances ranging from about 200 feet all the way up to a 600+ foot hole.
-Good mix of shots with lots of trees, some uphills and downhills, some more wide open holes and even one hole that throws over an inlet of the Dillion Resevoir. Many of the holes are well designed and challenging (though quite a few of the holes like to dogleg right)
-Pretty easy course flow to follow
-Signs at each teepads give you the distance of the hole and the pro and am par.
-The baskets are in good shape
-The course is well maintained and there is not a lot of really rough rough to lose a disc in.
-Concrete teepads
-Unlike many of the ski area courses in the surrounding area, this course is free to play.
Cons: -This course gets extremely crowded with lots of large groups of people with many not willing to let smaller groups play through
-The beatle kill epidemic has taken a lot of trees off of this course, which I feel has made it a little easier
-Parts of the course can hold water during spring melt off
-The teesigns don't show a layout of the current hole. On some courses this would not be a problem but on many of the holes the basket is not visible from the teepad so it can be very hard to know where you are throwing at on some of the holes the first few times you play the course
-One of the holes I believe it was hole 11 was missing a basket and instead just had a stick in place of the basket
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course with quite a few well designed holes that provide a good variety of different shots. The crowds and a few flaws are keeping it from a four disc rating, but it is definitely worth a trip up to play if your enjoy playing mountainous courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.