Frisco, CO 
Peak One DGC Share
Uploaded By: klay Hole #13 (Taken 9/2009)
4 / 320ft.   4 / --   3 / 320ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee: Basket straight ahead tucked into tree guards.



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    4/23/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course layout. Lots of bench and garbage cans. Good tee pads and good baskets. A variety of shots. Technical ones and huge long distance ones.
Cons: Wish there were some more technical holes. Can get crowded.
Other Thoughts: Wish I got play it before they did the logging.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A High Altitude DG Adventure!

2-4    9/25/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: markjfun
Played: 69  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although not the absolute pinnacle of Colorado mountain-style disc golf courses, Peak One DGC still earns recognition as a spectacular offering to the sport. The lakeside path to hole #1 starts from the parking lot of Peninsula Recreation Area, a very generous public "play space" where skaters, cyclocross riders, fisherman, boaters, hikers and their friends are all out pursuing their facorite hobbies just minutes from downtown Frisco. After many of the region's pine trees were recently clear-cut in the aftermath of the beetle kill, the fairways have widened up and the course plays more openly. For beginners and newcomers, this is assumably a good thing, but old school discers will surely miss the tight and technical nature of its original design.

Like you'll find at most highly-rated mountain courses, the benches are made of unique recycled materials - in this case, old 2-seater ski lift chairs that compliment Frisco's "ski town" theme. Short wooden sign posts displaying the hole length and par numbers (for both amateurs and pros), are easy to spot at each of the spacious cement tees. Three holes play near enough to the south leg of Dillon Reservoir to offer sweeping vistas of the gorgeous Frisco valley. Although you're near the water on a couple tees, you'll never be throwing toward or alongside the shore, so losing plastic here would require some serious blundering. Although there are not dual tees, the holes are mostly challenging enough for advanced players, and now that the fairways are wider, beginners can have a good time too. Most of the tees start from the edge of the forest or a small clearing and play to a pin tucked around a dogleg or behind some manicured trees.
Cons: Most players will inevitably have to jog ahead from more than half of the tees to get a visual on the basket. If you don't like switching up the direction of your shots to get around trees, this isn't your type of place. A little more elevation change would add some excitement and spice things up a bit.
Other Thoughts: A portable restroom is usually in the parking lot near hole #1 during the summer months. There are a couple waste receptacles along the way, but count on packing out your trash if it has been busy because they fill up often. Somewhere around hole 8, a smoker's hut made of various materials provides shade and seating. Free overnight tent and car camping is available about 5 miles up Miners Creek Road #1000 (see US Forest Service web site for more info). General course maintenance is excellent. If you're passing through on I-70 or spending time in Frisco, make the worthwhile stop here for rewarding round of 18 at Peak One DGC.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Becoming A Gem Again

2-4    8/21/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 95  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sits on a beautiful mountain lake. There is still a fair amount of trees despite being hit hard by beetle kill. There is a very good variety of hole length and type. The course makes knowing different shots a huge advantage. There is good use of elevation. There are some unique holes. The fun factor on this course was much higher than I expected. There are some really nice facilities in the Frisco Peninsula recreation area. There is a nice big sign by the baseball field with information about the course. Navigation is fairly straight forward. There are some awesome benches, my favorite of which are the old chair lift benches.
Cons: The trees are not quite what they should be to be a true mountain course but it is working on getting back to be that way. There is also a lack of elevation change in comparison to typical mountain courses. Signs and distances do not always seem that accurate. There is the occasional traffic from either bikers or hikers. The only indication that there is a course in the area from a road or parking lot are a few signs and the practice basket, but it really is back there.
Other Thoughts: I went up to play this course for the first time at the tournament that was held for the first time in about five years. I really would have loved to see this course back then before the beetle kill. It was apparently even tighter and thick before. As it is right now it is fairly easy to score well on this course. I really enjoyed the holes that played by the lake and wish, to a certain extent that they would have made more use of the lake. There are no real shots to have any risk of going in the water so you can leave the water discs at home. It appears as though the entrance to the recreation area has been redone when they also built the day lodge. More people should stop to play this course, it is well worth the visit and will only get better as the trees continue to grow back.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 True Rocky Mountain Disc Golf!

1    7/13/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I first want to start off and say that this course is the most picturesque and breathtaking that I have ever played. The pictures do no justice on here! With that being said, let's talk about the actual course design and amenities:

- The amenities are quite excellent here. You can tell the locals really care about this course. Nice concrete teepads, wood stump tee markers/signs, benches (and I love the ski-lift chairs), and trashcans/recycling bins. I love how the baskets and signs are adorned with rock climbing and craft brew stickers!

- Right off I-70

The course design:

- The terrain is what you'd expect in the high Colorado mountains: rocky, full of evergreens, great mountain vistas, and some elevation changes. I couldn't get over how easy it is to NOT lose a disc here. Maybe it's due to the beetle damage; who knows. Either way, I didn't even come close to losing a disc here despite some blind shots.
- Course navigation is extremely intuitive and it's easy to get around the course without a map.
- Nice array of doglegs (both hyzer and anhyzer), as well as some blind shots. Not to mention some holes that require a good overhand game to get over the tall pines.
- Front nine are more open, while the back nine utilize the pines more and provide some slightly more technical throws.
- I also like hoe a lot of the holes play near the lake but don't pose an immediate hazard.
- I think the views of the mountains should go without saying; but even in July, it's nice to play amid snow-capped peaks!
Cons: - Can get very soggy, especially after thunderstorms, as I experienced the night before
- Shots can be very blind. Even though the possibility of losing a disc is kind of low, bring a spotter.
- If you're not used to the altitude, you may get winded. I usually play about 1,000 feet above sea level, so playing here was a little more tiring than normal.
- With the exception of hole #15, there are no real challenges in terms of distance. Most holes are in the 250-320 range.
- Wish there was another water hazard playing near the reservoir.
Other Thoughts: Bring a friend, a camera, and even a picnic basket. This a great hike a well as a DG experience. This a true gem in the Rockies, and it may just be one of the most fun courses I've ever played. There are plenty of camping and other recreation opportunities on the peninsula; take advantage of them all!

Notable holes:
#9: plays over a small section of the Dillon Reservoir into a grove of pines. A slight water hazard! Awesome.
#12: Excellent view of the mountains. You have to throw down a fairway that is lined with trees/rocks on either side.
#17 - Great uphill shot that requires a strong arm to par.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/15/2010   7/20/2011
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Course nestled deep into the Rockies!.....This course will tranquilize you with it's Setting and Atmosphere.....Great Tee Pads and Baskets w/Good Signage.......Poses Technical, Bomber and Hazard shots.....
Cons: As any Mountain course, it is a bit hard to navigate due to it being in the Mountains! Not too much bad to say about this one!
Other Thoughts: The surrounding area is fantastic and if you are within a 200 miles of this Course it is worth the stop......BackCountry Brewery is in the area and is a Must Stop (Best Ale I've had in America!)....Make sure to check out the surrounding area because everything about this part of the Rocky Mountains is a Must do!!! Great Times on a Great Course in a Great Area!!!..

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Moutain Course

1    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: Tricky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hard to find a lot to complain about when you're playing disc golf right next to the beautiful Lake Dillon and surrounded by 14,000ft mountains.

The course had yellow baskets, which is great for people who are new to the course. They are easy to spot once you know where to look.

Requires a good amount of shots, though it does favor the forehand, which seems backwards from most courses. This course prefers the lefty or RHFH.

Distances on every tee pad and the pads are concrete! I always love to play on concrete tee pads.
Cons: There are no signs pointing you to the next tee pad, but luckily (though at times un-luckily) enough the course is busy so following the group in front to the basket position isn't to bad.

Distances were off.

Beetle kill has forced the park to remove a TON of trees, thus making some of the holes wide open, when they were in the woods.

Course is super busy late in the day and weekends with younger kids who aren't fully caught up on golf etiquette, and the language can be quite vulgar at times, which could pose problems for families with young children.

Other Thoughts: I would of loved to played this course when the trees were all there and the course wasn't super busy. It does provide you with some birdie chances, but then requires you to keep the pace on the next few holes.

I wasn't blown away by the course as much as I was by the view.

I am going to go back during the weekdays in the morning to see if it's as busy, and will update if I find some times where there aren't quite as many people!

With all that being said, I think a few additions to the course and some of the trees growing back in, this will be and is a nice course. If it is kept clean and treated well, it can only improve if they start to plant some more trees.

I would also like to see some older vets of the game out playing to help teach the younger crowd (like myself, I'm 26) the rules of the game and some etiquette.

3/5 stars from me only because of the difficulty to locate some baskets and a few other small details.

But it is a mountain course and that makes up for a lot!!!!

Happy 4th!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Mountainous Course

2-4    6/12/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 119  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great mix of distances on the holes with distances ranging from about 200 feet all the way up to a 600+ foot hole.
-Good mix of shots with lots of trees, some uphills and downhills, some more wide open holes and even one hole that throws over an inlet of the Dillion Resevoir. Many of the holes are well designed and challenging (though quite a few of the holes like to dogleg right)
-Pretty easy course flow to follow
-Signs at each teepads give you the distance of the hole and the pro and am par.
-The baskets are in good shape
-The course is well maintained and there is not a lot of really rough rough to lose a disc in.
-Concrete teepads
-Unlike many of the ski area courses in the surrounding area, this course is free to play.
Cons: -This course gets extremely crowded with lots of large groups of people with many not willing to let smaller groups play through
-The beatle kill epidemic has taken a lot of trees off of this course, which I feel has made it a little easier
-Parts of the course can hold water during spring melt off
-The teesigns don't show a layout of the current hole. On some courses this would not be a problem but on many of the holes the basket is not visible from the teepad so it can be very hard to know where you are throwing at on some of the holes the first few times you play the course
-One of the holes I believe it was hole 11 was missing a basket and instead just had a stick in place of the basket
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course with quite a few well designed holes that provide a good variety of different shots. The crowds and a few flaws are keeping it from a four disc rating, but it is definitely worth a trip up to play if your enjoy playing mountainous courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Highcounty Course

5+    8/13/2010   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a Colorado Mountain course requiring a wide variety of shots. It is one of the better maintained mountain courses, providing trash cans and benches in many places as well as spectacular views of the Rockies and lake Dillon. There is minimal sign placement, but the course is very easy to figure out as a first-timer. Frisco has many holes which give the appearance that large stands of trees were removed to create perfect and beautiful fairways. This course requires a large amount of long bombs with a great deal of accuracy. If you go for the bomb without accuracy, losing a disc amongst the trees here can take hours. However, don't think this will get you away from those finesse shots... you still need those on a few holes. This is a long course with a great vibe. Expect to take about two hours, and a desire to play again at the end.
Cons: This course has the ability to get very crowded very quick. You have to pick and choose the time of day which you arrive.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course with a wide variety of longer shots. A few blind shots, and one par 5. A well maintained course (with a bit of trash here and there) that is worth playing.

I also want to note that since I have reviewed it, the course has changed quite a bit. I have a few buddies that went up and played... and they claimed the holes were longer and not as creative, as well as a massive large loss of trees. I cannot testify to this, but what I heard is that the course went from a 4.0 rated course to around a 3.0 rating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/19/2010   10/24/2010
Review By: Oklahoma Outlaw
Played: 97  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 35.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic views!!! There are great views from just about every spot on this course! Just what you would expect from a course in the mountains.

It is set up well. A good shot can take advantage of some of the hole locations. An occasional bad throw won't kill the round.
Cons: It is obvious this course used to be a little tougher. The pine beetles have taken many trees out and have opened up several holes.

The distances listed on the tee signs did not seem to be that accurate.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that I would like to play every time I am in the Breckenridge area. To really enjoy the course, play it more than once to ensure you know the hole locations on the tee.

First timers will probably want to hook-up with some local(s) to be able to follow the layout easily.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/11/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: kevinmzane
Played: 86  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The scenery here definitely made a lasting impression on me. The mountains in the background and the beautiful views of Lake Dillon were incredible. There were also a couple of ski lift benches that added a really nice touch.
There is plenty of parking available here and although I was here on a weekend, it is far from what I would consider crowded. (this could also be due to the fact that I was there in kind of an off season). The course is very easy to find. Before the start of hole 1, there is a practice basket and some open space with enough room to practice some short drives and approaches.
The course was very well maintained and easy to navigate with well groomed fairways, nice cement tee pads, and nice DISCatcher baskets that were all in great shape.
Well laid out and good mix of holes with some short and technical, some straight shots, some hidden baskets a couple long holes and one almost 700' WIDE open bomb. Challenging enough for a well rounded player without being too difficult or overwhelming even for beginners.


Cons: There wasn't as much elevation change as I had hoped for, but there were a few holes where it played really nicely without being extreme so I didn't really feel let down.
Although they did have nice tee signs with hole# and distance, it would have been nice to either have signs with hole maps or at least some indication of where to find some of the baskets without having to walk the hole first.
Although I didn't let the aftermath of the beetles affect my rating (because this is now the permanent condition of the course), I feel it is worth mentioning that it is clear when looking down the fairways at all the stumps from cleared trees that you are likely throwing on a line that would not have existed previously.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun playing this course and look forward to returning in the future. Everyone we encountered on the course and in town was very friendly. I was originally going to pass this course up even though I was staying right up the road in Dillon, but was urged by one of the locals to give it a shot and definitely do not regret it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.