Frisco, CO 
Peak One DGC Share
Uploaded By: markjfun Hole #6 (Taken 9/2011)
4 / 464ft.   4 / --   3 / 464ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 True Rocky Mountain Disc Golf!

1    7/13/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I first want to start off and say that this course is the most picturesque and breathtaking that I have ever played. The pictures do no justice on here! With that being said, let's talk about the actual course design and amenities:

- The amenities are quite excellent here. You can tell the locals really care about this course. Nice concrete teepads, wood stump tee markers/signs, benches (and I love the ski-lift chairs), and trashcans/recycling bins. I love how the baskets and signs are adorned with rock climbing and craft brew stickers!

- Right off I-70

The course design:

- The terrain is what you'd expect in the high Colorado mountains: rocky, full of evergreens, great mountain vistas, and some elevation changes. I couldn't get over how easy it is to NOT lose a disc here. Maybe it's due to the beetle damage; who knows. Either way, I didn't even come close to losing a disc here despite some blind shots.
- Course navigation is extremely intuitive and it's easy to get around the course without a map.
- Nice array of doglegs (both hyzer and anhyzer), as well as some blind shots. Not to mention some holes that require a good overhand game to get over the tall pines.
- Front nine are more open, while the back nine utilize the pines more and provide some slightly more technical throws.
- I also like hoe a lot of the holes play near the lake but don't pose an immediate hazard.
- I think the views of the mountains should go without saying; but even in July, it's nice to play amid snow-capped peaks!
Cons: - Can get very soggy, especially after thunderstorms, as I experienced the night before
- Shots can be very blind. Even though the possibility of losing a disc is kind of low, bring a spotter.
- If you're not used to the altitude, you may get winded. I usually play about 1,000 feet above sea level, so playing here was a little more tiring than normal.
- With the exception of hole #15, there are no real challenges in terms of distance. Most holes are in the 250-320 range.
- Wish there was another water hazard playing near the reservoir.
Other Thoughts: Bring a friend, a camera, and even a picnic basket. This a great hike a well as a DG experience. This a true gem in the Rockies, and it may just be one of the most fun courses I've ever played. There are plenty of camping and other recreation opportunities on the peninsula; take advantage of them all!

Notable holes:
#9: plays over a small section of the Dillon Reservoir into a grove of pines. A slight water hazard! Awesome.
#12: Excellent view of the mountains. You have to throw down a fairway that is lined with trees/rocks on either side.
#17 - Great uphill shot that requires a strong arm to par.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/15/2010   7/20/2011
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Course nestled deep into the Rockies!.....This course will tranquilize you with it's Setting and Atmosphere.....Great Tee Pads and Baskets w/Good Signage.......Poses Technical, Bomber and Hazard shots.....
Cons: As any Mountain course, it is a bit hard to navigate due to it being in the Mountains! Not too much bad to say about this one!
Other Thoughts: The surrounding area is fantastic and if you are within a 200 miles of this Course it is worth the stop......BackCountry Brewery is in the area and is a Must Stop (Best Ale I've had in America!)....Make sure to check out the surrounding area because everything about this part of the Rocky Mountains is a Must do!!! Great Times on a Great Course in a Great Area!!!..

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Moutain Course

1    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: Tricky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hard to find a lot to complain about when you're playing disc golf right next to the beautiful Lake Dillon and surrounded by 14,000ft mountains.

The course had yellow baskets, which is great for people who are new to the course. They are easy to spot once you know where to look.

Requires a good amount of shots, though it does favor the forehand, which seems backwards from most courses. This course prefers the lefty or RHFH.

Distances on every tee pad and the pads are concrete! I always love to play on concrete tee pads.
Cons: There are no signs pointing you to the next tee pad, but luckily (though at times un-luckily) enough the course is busy so following the group in front to the basket position isn't to bad.

Distances were off.

Beetle kill has forced the park to remove a TON of trees, thus making some of the holes wide open, when they were in the woods.

Course is super busy late in the day and weekends with younger kids who aren't fully caught up on golf etiquette, and the language can be quite vulgar at times, which could pose problems for families with young children.

Other Thoughts: I would of loved to played this course when the trees were all there and the course wasn't super busy. It does provide you with some birdie chances, but then requires you to keep the pace on the next few holes.

I wasn't blown away by the course as much as I was by the view.

I am going to go back during the weekdays in the morning to see if it's as busy, and will update if I find some times where there aren't quite as many people!

With all that being said, I think a few additions to the course and some of the trees growing back in, this will be and is a nice course. If it is kept clean and treated well, it can only improve if they start to plant some more trees.

I would also like to see some older vets of the game out playing to help teach the younger crowd (like myself, I'm 26) the rules of the game and some etiquette.

3/5 stars from me only because of the difficulty to locate some baskets and a few other small details.

But it is a mountain course and that makes up for a lot!!!!

Happy 4th!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Mountainous Course

2-4    6/12/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 116  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great mix of distances on the holes with distances ranging from about 200 feet all the way up to a 600+ foot hole.
-Good mix of shots with lots of trees, some uphills and downhills, some more wide open holes and even one hole that throws over an inlet of the Dillion Resevoir. Many of the holes are well designed and challenging (though quite a few of the holes like to dogleg right)
-Pretty easy course flow to follow
-Signs at each teepads give you the distance of the hole and the pro and am par.
-The baskets are in good shape
-The course is well maintained and there is not a lot of really rough rough to lose a disc in.
-Concrete teepads
-Unlike many of the ski area courses in the surrounding area, this course is free to play.
Cons: -This course gets extremely crowded with lots of large groups of people with many not willing to let smaller groups play through
-The beatle kill epidemic has taken a lot of trees off of this course, which I feel has made it a little easier
-Parts of the course can hold water during spring melt off
-The teesigns don't show a layout of the current hole. On some courses this would not be a problem but on many of the holes the basket is not visible from the teepad so it can be very hard to know where you are throwing at on some of the holes the first few times you play the course
-One of the holes I believe it was hole 11 was missing a basket and instead just had a stick in place of the basket
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course with quite a few well designed holes that provide a good variety of different shots. The crowds and a few flaws are keeping it from a four disc rating, but it is definitely worth a trip up to play if your enjoy playing mountainous courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Highcounty Course

5+    8/13/2010   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a Colorado Mountain course requiring a wide variety of shots. It is one of the better maintained mountain courses, providing trash cans and benches in many places as well as spectacular views of the Rockies and lake Dillon. There is minimal sign placement, but the course is very easy to figure out as a first-timer. Frisco has many holes which give the appearance that large stands of trees were removed to create perfect and beautiful fairways. This course requires a large amount of long bombs with a great deal of accuracy. If you go for the bomb without accuracy, losing a disc amongst the trees here can take hours. However, don't think this will get you away from those finesse shots... you still need those on a few holes. This is a long course with a great vibe. Expect to take about two hours, and a desire to play again at the end.
Cons: This course has the ability to get very crowded very quick. You have to pick and choose the time of day which you arrive.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course with a wide variety of longer shots. A few blind shots, and one par 5. A well maintained course (with a bit of trash here and there) that is worth playing.

I also want to note that since I have reviewed it, the course has changed quite a bit. I have a few buddies that went up and played... and they claimed the holes were longer and not as creative, as well as a massive large loss of trees. I cannot testify to this, but what I heard is that the course went from a 4.0 rated course to around a 3.0 rating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/19/2010   10/24/2010
Review By: Oklahoma Outlaw
Played: 97  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 35.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic views!!! There are great views from just about every spot on this course! Just what you would expect from a course in the mountains.

It is set up well. A good shot can take advantage of some of the hole locations. An occasional bad throw won't kill the round.
Cons: It is obvious this course used to be a little tougher. The pine beetles have taken many trees out and have opened up several holes.

The distances listed on the tee signs did not seem to be that accurate.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that I would like to play every time I am in the Breckenridge area. To really enjoy the course, play it more than once to ensure you know the hole locations on the tee.

First timers will probably want to hook-up with some local(s) to be able to follow the layout easily.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/11/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: kevinmzane
Played: 86  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The scenery here definitely made a lasting impression on me. The mountains in the background and the beautiful views of Lake Dillon were incredible. There were also a couple of ski lift benches that added a really nice touch.
There is plenty of parking available here and although I was here on a weekend, it is far from what I would consider crowded. (this could also be due to the fact that I was there in kind of an off season). The course is very easy to find. Before the start of hole 1, there is a practice basket and some open space with enough room to practice some short drives and approaches.
The course was very well maintained and easy to navigate with well groomed fairways, nice cement tee pads, and nice DISCatcher baskets that were all in great shape.
Well laid out and good mix of holes with some short and technical, some straight shots, some hidden baskets a couple long holes and one almost 700' WIDE open bomb. Challenging enough for a well rounded player without being too difficult or overwhelming even for beginners.


Cons: There wasn't as much elevation change as I had hoped for, but there were a few holes where it played really nicely without being extreme so I didn't really feel let down.
Although they did have nice tee signs with hole# and distance, it would have been nice to either have signs with hole maps or at least some indication of where to find some of the baskets without having to walk the hole first.
Although I didn't let the aftermath of the beetles affect my rating (because this is now the permanent condition of the course), I feel it is worth mentioning that it is clear when looking down the fairways at all the stumps from cleared trees that you are likely throwing on a line that would not have existed previously.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun playing this course and look forward to returning in the future. Everyone we encountered on the course and in town was very friendly. I was originally going to pass this course up even though I was staying right up the road in Dillon, but was urged by one of the locals to give it a shot and definitely do not regret it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/28/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: flyraven
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course is in really nice shape, with wide fairways and a few very tricky shots. It's definitely a great beginner/family course.

The scenery surrounding the course is fantastic and the whole Frisco Rec area is just a pleasant place to be on a nice summer day.

Cons: The course can get busy.

Fairway maps would be handy as a few holes are hidden and impossible to see from the tee box


1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Just Plain Fun

1    5/8/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 70  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.9 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The biggest Pro about this course is the stunning scenery surrounding it!! The views are to-die-for.

New tee markers have been added to the course - while the information on the markers hasn't changed, the new ones really blend in well with the feel of the course.

Concrete tee pads on all holes are generously sized and well textured. The ski chairlift benches at a couple of places on the course are a nice touch. The park and course fixtures are all in good repair.

In general, this course is just plain fun to play! There's not a lot of thick rough so getting off the fairway isn't ever a real disaster. Most of the fairways are well-defined and of generous width. Distances ranging from just shy of 200' to over 600' add challenge and variety as do lots of guarded and blind baskets. Navigation was pretty simple once we finally found the first tee.

The stand-out holes here are #1 with its bench-cut fairway and side-hill basket; #8 for its amazing views; #9 for its drive over the Lake Dillon inlet; and #15 for its huge distance and wide open drive followed by a narrow fairway and hidden, guarded basket.
Cons: The very things that make this course really fun are the things that keep if from being a really great course.

Most holes are basically straight, wide, tree-lined fairways which don't really require any true skill beyond decent drive distances and basic disc control. There are a few creative options on some holes with little risk involved.

The many blind baskets that keep the interest level reasonably high are also a pain as there's no indication of direction on the tee signs and not all baskets are placed where you'd expect given the design of the fairway. Basket spotting flags of some type would go a long way to making this more manageable for first-timers (although printing the map may have helped as well).
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for recreational players, families, and tourists to get their fix while enjoying the view. It's really easy going, fun and interesting without being truly challenging or frustrating.

We searched and searched in local stores for discs with some type of Colorado/local type stamp to no avail. Then we headed here and there was a guy in the parking lot pedaling both new and used discs from the back of his van - it appears he may be a pretty regular fixture. He had several local tournament/club stamped discs at really good prices! He's even willing to trade for something you may have in your bag.

The terrain here is an interesting combination of hard dirt, wood chips, and very sharp, very hard rocks, so be prepared for some rough footing and scraped discs.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Challenging

1    6/14/2001   3/26/2010
Review By: souljacker
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really Great Scenery. Wooded, Mountainous, Very Well Marked for easy navigation.

Good variety of shots... some tough long and narrow fairways, and some shorter shorts that require skill and creativity
Cons: A fairly difficult course with lots of opportunity to lose your discs. Not the best choice for beginners, but fun non the less
Other Thoughts:
This course is a bit of monster. It is alot of fun, but can be frustrating when a disc goes astray. A challenging course, but in a great environment and worth playing

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.