Frisco, CO
Peak One DGC Share
Uploaded By: klay Hole #4 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 225ft.   3 / --   3 / 225ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Awesome Highcounty Course

5+    8/13/2010   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a Colorado Mountain course requiring a wide variety of shots. It is one of the better maintained mountain courses, providing trash cans and benches in many places as well as spectacular views of the Rockies and lake Dillon. There is minimal sign placement, but the course is very easy to figure out as a first-timer. Frisco has many holes which give the appearance that large stands of trees were removed to create perfect and beautiful fairways. This course requires a large amount of long bombs with a great deal of accuracy. If you go for the bomb without accuracy, losing a disc amongst the trees here can take hours. However, don't think this will get you away from those finesse shots... you still need those on a few holes. This is a long course with a great vibe. Expect to take about two hours, and a desire to play again at the end.
Cons: This course has the ability to get very crowded very quick. You have to pick and choose the time of day which you arrive.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course with a wide variety of longer shots. A few blind shots, and one par 5. A well maintained course (with a bit of trash here and there) that is worth playing.

I also want to note that since I have reviewed it, the course has changed quite a bit. I have a few buddies that went up and played... and they claimed the holes were longer and not as creative, as well as a massive large loss of trees. I cannot testify to this, but what I heard is that the course went from a 4.0 rated course to around a 3.0 rating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/19/2010   10/24/2010
Review By: Oklahoma Outlaw
Played: 95  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 34.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic views!!! There are great views from just about every spot on this course! Just what you would expect from a course in the mountains.

It is set up well. A good shot can take advantage of some of the hole locations. An occasional bad throw won't kill the round.
Cons: It is obvious this course used to be a little tougher. The pine beetles have taken many trees out and have opened up several holes.

The distances listed on the tee signs did not seem to be that accurate.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that I would like to play every time I am in the Breckenridge area. To really enjoy the course, play it more than once to ensure you know the hole locations on the tee.

First timers will probably want to hook-up with some local(s) to be able to follow the layout easily.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/11/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: kevinmzane
Played: 86  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The scenery here definitely made a lasting impression on me. The mountains in the background and the beautiful views of Lake Dillon were incredible. There were also a couple of ski lift benches that added a really nice touch.
There is plenty of parking available here and although I was here on a weekend, it is far from what I would consider crowded. (this could also be due to the fact that I was there in kind of an off season). The course is very easy to find. Before the start of hole 1, there is a practice basket and some open space with enough room to practice some short drives and approaches.
The course was very well maintained and easy to navigate with well groomed fairways, nice cement tee pads, and nice DISCatcher baskets that were all in great shape.
Well laid out and good mix of holes with some short and technical, some straight shots, some hidden baskets a couple long holes and one almost 700' WIDE open bomb. Challenging enough for a well rounded player without being too difficult or overwhelming even for beginners.


Cons: There wasn't as much elevation change as I had hoped for, but there were a few holes where it played really nicely without being extreme so I didn't really feel let down.
Although they did have nice tee signs with hole# and distance, it would have been nice to either have signs with hole maps or at least some indication of where to find some of the baskets without having to walk the hole first.
Although I didn't let the aftermath of the beetles affect my rating (because this is now the permanent condition of the course), I feel it is worth mentioning that it is clear when looking down the fairways at all the stumps from cleared trees that you are likely throwing on a line that would not have existed previously.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun playing this course and look forward to returning in the future. Everyone we encountered on the course and in town was very friendly. I was originally going to pass this course up even though I was staying right up the road in Dillon, but was urged by one of the locals to give it a shot and definitely do not regret it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/28/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: flyraven
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course is in really nice shape, with wide fairways and a few very tricky shots. It's definitely a great beginner/family course.

The scenery surrounding the course is fantastic and the whole Frisco Rec area is just a pleasant place to be on a nice summer day.

Cons: The course can get busy.

Fairway maps would be handy as a few holes are hidden and impossible to see from the tee box


1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Just Plain Fun

1    5/8/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.6 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The biggest Pro about this course is the stunning scenery surrounding it!! The views are to-die-for.

New tee markers have been added to the course - while the information on the markers hasn't changed, the new ones really blend in well with the feel of the course.

Concrete tee pads on all holes are generously sized and well textured. The ski chairlift benches at a couple of places on the course are a nice touch. The park and course fixtures are all in good repair.

In general, this course is just plain fun to play! There's not a lot of thick rough so getting off the fairway isn't ever a real disaster. Most of the fairways are well-defined and of generous width. Distances ranging from just shy of 200' to over 600' add challenge and variety as do lots of guarded and blind baskets. Navigation was pretty simple once we finally found the first tee.

The stand-out holes here are #1 with its bench-cut fairway and side-hill basket; #8 for its amazing views; #9 for its drive over the Lake Dillon inlet; and #15 for its huge distance and wide open drive followed by a narrow fairway and hidden, guarded basket.
Cons: The very things that make this course really fun are the things that keep if from being a really great course.

Most holes are basically straight, wide, tree-lined fairways which don't really require any true skill beyond decent drive distances and basic disc control. There are a few creative options on some holes with little risk involved.

The many blind baskets that keep the interest level reasonably high are also a pain as there's no indication of direction on the tee signs and not all baskets are placed where you'd expect given the design of the fairway. Basket spotting flags of some type would go a long way to making this more manageable for first-timers (although printing the map may have helped as well).
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for recreational players, families, and tourists to get their fix while enjoying the view. It's really easy going, fun and interesting without being truly challenging or frustrating.

We searched and searched in local stores for discs with some type of Colorado/local type stamp to no avail. Then we headed here and there was a guy in the parking lot pedaling both new and used discs from the back of his van - it appears he may be a pretty regular fixture. He had several local tournament/club stamped discs at really good prices! He's even willing to trade for something you may have in your bag.

The terrain here is an interesting combination of hard dirt, wood chips, and very sharp, very hard rocks, so be prepared for some rough footing and scraped discs.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Challenging

1    6/14/2001   3/26/2010
Review By: souljacker
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really Great Scenery. Wooded, Mountainous, Very Well Marked for easy navigation.

Good variety of shots... some tough long and narrow fairways, and some shorter shorts that require skill and creativity
Cons: A fairly difficult course with lots of opportunity to lose your discs. Not the best choice for beginners, but fun non the less
Other Thoughts:
This course is a bit of monster. It is alot of fun, but can be frustrating when a disc goes astray. A challenging course, but in a great environment and worth playing

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beatles

1    8/17/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: ruzz311
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I took my wife and in-laws for their first round of golf. This is the only time the beetles were actually helpful as it has opened up a lot of the fairways, and theres a couple wide open ones(even the monster 646 ft. hole)
Cons: Beetles... They've made this course about a 2 of 5 in difficulty. Also I was hoping for more of a hike, but got a hilly course at best. Not a lot of shot variety, most are straight with very little dog-legs. The course description says 4 holes with water, but theres only one hole that you drive over, and you only have to drive 30 feet.
Other Thoughts: The surroundings are beautiful, lake Dillon right there with all the sail boats, everyone I ran into on the course was absolutely friendly.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Sweet course

2-4    6/21/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: waynewf
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course! The scenery is beautiful up in the Mountains and right on the lake.
The nice thing about this course is that it has a little bit of length but you don't have to be too powerful to enjoy it.
Very easy to follow as all the holes pretty much follow the path that's laid out in front of you.
Cons: It was a little crowded on the weekend. Waiting normally doesn't bother me, but there were these really annoying kids who asked to play through on everyhole, even though everyone was waiting and eventually they skipped a hole and we waited for them on every hole. Very rude but it was better than having them driving too early on every tee.
Also, all the people who had played this course prio to the beattle infestation couldn't stop talking about how much better it used to be and how many more trees there were. I'm sure it was, but get over it already:)
Overall, these were just individual gripes from a particular round, I can't say much bad about this course.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very nice course that was worth the drive from Denver.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A shadow of its former self...

2-4    7/29/2008   3/6/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great set-up. It sits in a bowl next to Lake Dillon surrounded by mountains. There is water, trees, technical drives and great views. The tee pads, signs and baskets are good quality. It also has character with various regional "art" placed throughout the park such as an old chairlift near hole #5. The course sits at the hub of outdoor adventure in Summit County between Breckenridge, Dillon, Frisco, Keystone and other great mountain resort towns.
Cons: The pine beetle had its way with the trees on this course and as a result hundreds of trees have been cut down. What used to one of the better courses in Colorado has been downgraded quite a bit. The tight winding fairways have been replaced by mounds of wood chips.
Other Thoughts: Even with the beetle kill, the course still has charm and can be challenging. The first half of the course was still pretty well in tact when I played, but you could see trees mark for removal. It is a shadow of it former self, but it is still one of the better courses in Colorado and a must play for any disc golfer vacationing in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pine beetle kills the course

8/8/2008   8/9/2008
Review By: amcnutt
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Scenery. Close to Frisco and I-70.
Cons: Two years ago this course was a 4.5 out of 5! Pine beetle killed the trees. They have been harvested leaving most holes bare. Not the same course it used to be.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.