Disc Golf Store
Hays, KS 
Frontier Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #17 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 196ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Both Tees



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Old But Good

2-4    9/7/2014   9/9/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 98  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a challenging little course set in a very nice park in the small town of Hays, KS. The design of the course has to be mentioned as simply amazing at time and really good the rest of the time. Shots range from nice and long and really short. The course tends to dictate what kind of shot you are going to throw and the more different shots you have the better. There are multiple tee pads and pin positions on every holes. There is enough space in the park that they could have 2 separate 18 holes courses. While other amenities may be a little far away, the park does have some very nice features including a the ability to turn this one course into two eighteen hole courses. There is a strong local club that does a great job with the course and setting it up for tournaments was second to none. There are a lot of trees on this course and most of them seem to come into play. Precision is a must on this course as I found out the hard way and did not shoot well..
Cons: Baskets are quite old, some of them definitely should be retired in favor of new baskets. The tee pads felt very short to be when we were playing off the tee pads. Even in the midst of a tournament there was enough park traffic that it become interesting on a couple of times. There is some water that you will not want to go into to retrieve a disc. Regular tee signs were less than ideal. Several baskets were all too close to a tees pad. Occasionally fairways will cross each other. The neighbors on one side are buffalo ranchers.
Other Thoughts: This course was a lot of fun and very challenging all at the same time. I played alternate layouts for this course for a tournament. I wish there was a piece of land like this close to where I live. This is a course worth the stop and time to play it. I believe that in the normal layout hole 1 is over as far West as you can go before not being in the park any longer. The A, B and C holes are able to be played on a regular basis and have permanent tees and baskets. One could either choose to start or to finish on these holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun challenge

2-4    11/2/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 253  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has 2 sets of tees for every hole and there are also alt. pin placements. There is water threat on a few holes, especially on the holes where you tee off across the creek.
There are enough trees to keep this park style course interesting. Several of the holes require line shaping too.
There are long holes and short holes here as well depending on which set of tees you prefer to play.
There are other amenities here: restrooms, playgrounds, etc.
Some of my favorite holes here 5, 11, 16, & 17.
Cons: The biggest cons for me is the lack of signage on the stone markers. There was only one hole that still had the hole layout on a post and it was hard to read. This makes it difficult for the first timer or the out of towner to navigate this course and judge the distance of their shot selection. Obviously scouting ahead could be done but with a little updating that problem could be eliminated.
Lots of beer cans on the ground, some trash cans might alleviate this???
There are a few holes where a road or two comes into play. Also there are a couple of holes where a swing set might get plunked so please look before you rip.
Like others have said there is a smell that is pretty stank about hole 7 or so. I didn't notice when I played here in Nov., but when I first played here in the summer 2 years ago it was pretty ripe.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty nice course even with some of its flaws. Yes the music can be annoying coming from the pool, but how is that the course's fault?
I feel this course has taken a few hits recently. It is a course that will challenge your decision making on some holes and offers risk reward on other holes. If the signage were to be updated I think the reviews for this course would be better. With that said its one of the better courses west of I135. I personally can overlook some of the piddly flaws because the disc golf here is pretty good. And after all isn't that what you came here for in the first place?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

My first DG experience

1    4/28/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: Mangodoc
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.5 Years
Pros: A nice variety of open and wooded terrain.
The creek makes a good water hazard on several holes.
Course layout is easy to follow, mostly because it's so heavily travelled.
Cons: The creek is polluted and nasty.
Grass grows poorly on most of the course, typical for the climate but still a con.
Other Thoughts: As my first DG course, the one that first sparked my interest when I saw FHSU students playing while I was jogging, this course will always hold a special place for me.
The course is heavily utilized, mostly by FHSU students.

 good windy course

5+    7/21/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: templink
Played: 58  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed course follows Big Creek, and shoots over it several times. Incorporates left and right turns, up and over shots, tunnel shots, water shots, short and long, depending upon basket placement. Original and alternate concrete pads on 18 of the 21 tees. Basket positions are changed monthly, offering a nice change for regulars. All baskets are numbered so you know which one is which. Alternate pads change the fairway slightly on some holes, and entirely on others, making multiple rounds like playing a different course. There is a well-cleaned permanent bathroom near hole #1.
Cons: The worst part for those playing the first time would be signage and navigation. There are no signs whatsoever, except a welcome sign pointing to hole #1. I hear there used to be tee signs, but they were vandalized and not replaced. Navigating to next hole without a local guide will be tricky on some holes, and almost impossible from #6 to #7. Course is basically flat - elevation never changes more than 10 feet. Depending upon which way the wind blows, a strong "farm smell" is sometimes present. Near basket for hole #1, vehicles parked to view the bison herd can be in the way. Hole #7 has 3 tees, the original (identified by its post rock) can almost never be used as the fairway crosses a parking lot and playground. Local mentality is "finders keepers," so if you lose a disc on this course, don't expect to get it back. There are no benches or trash bins by the tee pads. Tees for holes A, B and C are dirt, and unmarked.
Other Thoughts: There is almost always a breeze (10 Mph), and often very strong winds (25+ Mph), so bring out your most stable discs. New players will probably lose discs in Big Creek, since there are lots of water shots. Big Creek freezes over in winter, making fewer lost discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Over the river and through the woods

1    8/6/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park
-Wide variety of shots required (Good use of the trees in the park)
-Very memorable shots (especially over the river shots). I loved Hole 11 a shot over the river with some trees leaning into it and if you shoot too high into the river you go.
-Holes varied in length (there were several over 500 hundred feet from the long tees) along with a good mix of holes between 200 and 400 feet.
-The alternate tees give most of the holes a totally different look rather than just adding extra distance to the hole
-Several of the holes have benches on them to rest on
Cons: -Some of the tee pads are pretty much next to the basket before and if the park was crowded you might have to watch for incoming discs
-The signage on all but one of the holes (Hole 7 I believe still has the signage) is missing, which can make it hard at times to figure out where the pin is.
-Navigation between Hole 6 and 7 was a little difficult to figure out and there was no sign pointing the way to Hole 7 (You have to go across the bridge after Hole 6 and then cross over to the other side of the road to find tee 7)
-The course also has a fee safety issues with its design. The long tee of hole 7 plays straight through a parking lot. Several of the holes play right next swings and other playground equipment which could be a problem if children are playing on them
-When we played there was a lot of trash in the park
Other Thoughts: This course has quite a few memorable holes and is quite fun but it does have its flaws. If the signage on each hole was replaced and updated I would definitely raise my score of the course. Overall, if you are passing through Hayes I would suggest a quick stop to play this enjoyable course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/2/2008   6/11/2009
Review By: Sports_Fan_Stan
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A well maintained park. Quite a few signature holes, quite a few where the creek is a factor. My favorite is #15, which can be an easy hole. #15's tee shot is over the creek into a tree-lined fairway. The approach to #15 is usually easy but don't overshoot into the Big Creek. The finish is great, with a final cross-creek shot on #16, then #17 going under the bridge, and #18's basket tucked away in a hollow.
Cons: Some older asphalt tees are in poor shape. However, most holes have newer concrete pads in more difficult positions. Hole#5 can get real muddy. There are numerous roads that are certainly OB during tournament play. A few holes get real close to picnic tables and popular non-golfing areas, be careful!!
Other Thoughts: The course map on this website is the best available. Don't forget you have to cross the bridge after playing #6. The 7th tee is on the levee. The city of Hays has many hotels of all types/qualities. It is a perfect mid-point for long-trips through Kansas. It is amazing that in a vast sea of tree-less plains, this DGC works through a wonderful forest of tall/mature trees.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.