Center Point, IA 
Fross Park Share
Uploaded By: bizauer Hole #2 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 276ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Small town rec course

1    5/26/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Small rec course that plays around a park
Perfect for beginners and Non-Disc Golf friends and family
Some longer distance shots
Concrete Tee Pads
Very easy to navigate. (Billboard w/map at the start)
Well Maintained Park, regular upkeep, everything is in good condition
Close to the interstate and Wildcat Bluff. *Nice Playground equipment, for those who may be traveling along 380 and have some children. They can play on the equipment while you get in a quick round.
Cons: Too small to have any major cons. It is what it is. A small town rec course.
Could be crowded from other park activities. (Plays around a soccer field)
No challenge outside of straight open field distance shots
Other Thoughts: This is a small town rec course that plays through a recreation center. Outside of local players, the only draw will be those wanting to add another notch in their played list. You probably already know whether you want to play here or not. My friend and I had about an hour of light left after playing Wildcat Bluff, so we decided to spend it playing here. It was fun and we had a good time.

It's actually quicker to drive the highway from Urbana, than to get on the Interstate. There's a highway that comes out next to the park and keeps you from having to drive through town. So, it's quick, it's easy and it's fun. If you happen to be nearby, and have some extra time for a quick round, give it a play.

All in all I had a good experience, but it is pretty vanilla. It's a nice little park course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Passable, Open 9

1    9/28/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 55  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Big open park with nice amenities. Bathrooms, water, shelters. Large soccer complex and baseball fields, playground and splash pad.
- Park is well maintained, as are tees and baskets.
- Course flow is easy to follow.
- Nice course sign and map near #1 tee.
- Nice concrete tee pads, sign post just has hole number on it.
- Cool shot on #2 through a little grove of trees, makes you pick your line.
- Mostly avoids other park activities, although it does play along a walking path, and by a shelter.
Cons: - Although the course has a nice sign and map, it's still a little difficult to locate, tucked back into the park a little bit. The parking lot is very large, and it may take a time or two driving up and down the lot looking for a basket or tee that looks like #1.
- No hole lengths or par suggestions listed anywhere.
- Not a lot of variety.
- #7 plays at the very end of the park, right by some back yards. In fact, straight line from tee to basket actually may cross over the back corner of one of them. Any RHBH drive certainly does. Much too close to private property. I'm sure that discs go over the fence all the time. Quite unfortunate.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice set-up for locals. It's wide open, you can throw a bunch of discs as it's probably never busy. Good use of space and great addition to this park. Lack of distance markings, and the in-play private property on #7 take a half point off of my rating, unfortunately.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A quick 9

1    3/2/2011   3/7/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. Huge park with shelters, bathrooms, skate park, ball fields, soccer fields, splash pad, playgrounds and plenty of parking.

Open Fields. The course plays along some soccer fields, though there's no big arm holes on the course, a couple of the tee pads line up with the soccer fields and if they're not in use it could be a perfect place to work on field work and practice drives.

Variety. Not a huge variety of shots required, but most holes have multiple lines to practice different shots. There's a decent number of obstacles to keep things a bit interesting, some OB add challenge, a decent variety of distances, though the final holes are wide open big arm holes.

Access. Not far off the freeway for a quick 9 hole round.

Tees. Level concrete tee pads for each hole.

Signage. A sign at each tee pad shows hole # and distance to pin.

Navigation. Simple and straightforward to follow.

Beginner friendly. Would be an ok place to practice and learn the game, especially with a practice field on site.

I don't foresee this park attracting huge crowds.

Baskets. All new and in good shape, no practice basket available.

Well maintained. A lot of work has gone into this park, everything seemed well kept and clean.
Cons: Other users. If the Soccer fields were in use, the course would be pretty much unplayable, a walking trail also weaves through the course.

Rather boring. The limited number of obstacles (mostly trees, a bathroom building comes into play) keep the course interesting for about one round.
Other Thoughts: A decent quick 9 not far off the freeway, If I was passing by and only had time for a quick 9 I'd stop by, otherwise I'd spend my time at Wildcat or in Cedar Rapids.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    3/1/2011   3/2/2011
Review By: 1RatBastard
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Close to home, otherwise I wouldn't waste my time. Park grounds are well kept. Restrooms are never very far away since the course circles the soccer fields. Course flow is easy to follow.
Cons: No snow removal on the parking lot or tee pads. Appears the DG course was an afterthought to the park. Course is wide open, flat, and contains very few obstacles.
Other Thoughts: I will continue to play this with my 7 and 13 year old sons, but will drive a little further to get to better courses if I'm playing alone. Holes range from just under 200 feet to around 450 feet.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.