Fort Stockton, TX 
Ft. Stockton DGC Share
Uploaded By: JediTaz Hole #2 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good West Texas Course

2-4    10/6/2014   10/6/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 75  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a typical "park type" course with a few interesting twists.

For the most part, the course plays across lush mowed grass, with plenty of mature trees to work around. But there is no underbrush or low-growing vegetation to deal with so hitting a tree usually doesn't result in big trouble.

But there are four additional holes (A-D) across Spring Street from Hole 7 that play in an unimproved area and add a different, rougher look to the course. There is also a hole E that plays from a rough hillside above Spring Street and throws across the street, back down to Basket 10. Interesting shot.

All holes (except E) have good level concrete tee pads. Most have the hole number and distance stenciled on them. A few have a simple course map on a small post next to the tee, but not many. There are small benches at nearly every tee, which makes it easier to locate the pads.

Great variety of hole lengths, from 212 feet out to 550. Many holes require shaping your drive through trees, while others let you air it out completely over grass.

The basket on Hole 1 is up on a big mound which adds interest. Hole 15 is the long bomber hole to a basket hidden over a small rise. Hole 16 is almost as long and comes back over the rise to another blind basket. Hole 17 plays slightly uphill to a basket placed among large flat boulders, which add some challenge.

Lots of parking, restrooms, water, trash cans, etc.
Cons: Very little elevation to work with, so not much up or down.

Holes 2 and 12 play directly down the main walking path, with the road alongside and numerous light poles in the "fairway" on 2. Hole 12's basket is right next to a parking area. With the significant pedestrian traffic in the park (I played Monday morning) I had to wait several minutes on both of these holes to throw. And with a car parked within 10' of the basket on Hole 12 I really couldn't drive that hole at all. I think that these two holes are questionable from a safety standpoint.

Some pads and baskets are numbered based on a 23 hole scheme, assuming that Holes A-D are played as 8, 9, 10 and 11. But the available map is numbered differently. So it can be a little confusing for a traveler like myself.
Other Thoughts: This is a multi-use park, with the course playing over the walking path many times. On a Monday morning I had to wait numerous times for pedestrian traffic to clear before I could safely drive. I imagine that this is far worse on a busy weekend.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good, challenging course

5+    8/7/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: JediTaz
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/17/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large variety of holes - from out in the open to hidden within trees, and ant-hill type baskets to tucked away within a rock garden. Many holes have tight OBs with roads and drainage ditches running through. Two holes are blind shots with the basket placed on the other side of a large hill. All the tee boxes are decent, permanent concrete pads throughout the course.

Update: The tee pads have been updated with course numbers and distance to the basket, and short benches have been added to beside a majority of the tee boxes, making it easier to find the next tee pad.
Cons: Numbering and marking of the course needs to be improved. After hole 7, the numbering shifts due to 8-11 being across the road. DGCR says it is a 23 hole course. On some of the runs outside the main park, you have to watch out for mesquite trees and cactus growing in the fairway. Baskets are not brightly marked, so they tend to blend in to the background until you know what to look for. Markers on the baskets that point to the next tee-off are frequently moved around by others walking the park.

Other Thoughts: It is a fun, challenging course. Can be played as either a 22 hole course or an 18 hole, if you skip 8-11 on the southern part of the park, just remember to readjust the numbers. There are two hidden, unmarked tee boxes on the hill near holes 10 and 11 that reuse those baskets for two small cliff shots. Local throwers frequently drive by to see if anyone is playing and are always happy to help guide visitors around the course. Be aware of walkers on the paths. Saturday morning and early afternoon games can get a little noisy as it is the typical cook-out with loud music day. Use the map found in the "Links/files" tab above to navigate the 18-hole course. Local players typically meet Sunday mornings at 10 near the third tee box parking area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

"Best in the area"

1    4/20/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: webman
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 37.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A few of the holes in the older part of the park are nice. Only course in many many miles. But not worth driving more than 10 miles to play.
Cons: Poorly marked in general, layout in new area of park is very difficult to fathom, maybe missing altogether?
Other Thoughts: Better to not play on Saturdays during loud BBQs for the '70s rockers and the church picnics with screaming preachers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ripp

2-4    11/30/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: Todd Ripp
Played: 61  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Every hole is different from the the last. the holes may not be long, but they are very tecnical,creative,and challenging.

Cons: The only con in my mind is the fact that you cant navigate. no signs or markers.end up playing a safari course.
Other Thoughts: We always stop on our way to s. Texas for a driving break. cool course .

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Course

1    8/8/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: SKnight579
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An entire course with nice launching pads, good obstacles and on most of the course plenty of shade. The last few holes are really good distance and make it much more interesting in you can't see the basket from the launch pad.
Cons: Only real con I have is the mis-numbered hole numbers on the pads. It would also help if the baskets had some bright marking on them as some are difficult to see with my poor eyesight from a distance.
Other Thoughts: I love the park in general, great playground equipment for the kiddo to play on while I played Disc Golf. This is only the second course I've played but I quite enjoyed it. Look forward to the next time I'm in Fort Stockton to hit it again.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Entertaining course

2-4    8/2/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: jbartron
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked this course for the fact that there was long holes with good tree obstacles. Each hole was well placed I felt in regard to challenge. overall i would say that this is a good course to enjoy a morning of Disc Golf
Cons: The biggest one I see is that there is no indication where to start the course, what number hole is what and all holes after 7 are numbered wrong. They need a board with a map at whole number one with the pars and distances of each hole. But i guess each course has its problems.
Other Thoughts: I have put together a map of the course and have put it under the links and files page under this courses information. hope this helps in finding out where to begin for passers through the town that want to get a game in. Enjoy :)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Rough Around The Edges But Nice

2-4    4/3/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: BewareOfPenguin
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course design with a variety terrain types and hazards. The predominantly breezy weather of west Texas adds another facet to the challenge of this course. Baskets are in good condition and many have arrows marking the direction to the next tee box. Tee boxes are in good condition as well. The course is relatively compact in a seemingly expansive park. I would venture that there would be room for at least another 9 holes.
Cons: A few of the tee boxes have conflicting hole number information. Many are marked with a number painted on the front of the tee box and a different number on a small marker post. But if you stick to the hole numbers painted on the front of the tee boxes, you can't go wrong. Most holes aren't marked with any par or footage information. Holes #8-11 are located across a street, seemingly outside of the park in a long since unused part of what might have at one time been park property. The baskets can be difficult to spot for players who are accustomed to the yellow band that adorn the tops of DISCatcher baskets.
Other Thoughts: Very nice park that gets quite a bit of nonplayer traffic. A few holes require shots that cross foot trails and play areas. But I feel that the layout of the course is good at avoiding the bulk of areas where people congregate in the park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/22/2008   1/4/2009
Review By: ric86chava@yahoo.com
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Length of holes are about normal. Plenty of trees and grass.
Cons: Too many OB's. There is a dry concrete canal that winds through the whole course and is considered OB which would be okay if it was full of water, but it turns the shot from a tough birdie into a very easy par.
Other Thoughts: Needs some better course design

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.