Muscatine, IA 
Fuller Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscMo Hole #4 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 140ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The course has been cleaned up and looks good!

2-4    7/8/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenic park, that will take you up and down steep hills, across small wooden bridges, all while traversing through the woods.
Trash Cans throughout the course, as well as restrooms and a bulletin board at the start
Heavily wooded, rolling terrain, Narrow winding fairways, A few open field fairways at the start.
Concrete Tee's, Nice tee signs with Map, Distance, and pin location indicator.
Alternating pin placements. There is a coin on the pole below the Sign. Red on one side, Blue on the other. Whichever side is up, is what position the pin is in.
The park is isolated to Disc Golf only. Non player interference should be extremely minimal.
Winding fairways require finesse and accuracy. The course has plenty of Doglegs, Risk/Reward shots, and trees to work tight lines around.
Navigation was fairly easy. There is
18 is definitely the Signature hole, as well as a great finishing hole. FWIW, there are a number of other holes that could qualify for signature.
Well balanced of left/Right handed shots. No real bias to one or the other. On most holes, one position may favor righties, and the alt will favor lefties.
Long distance runs, Ace Runs and average distance finesse runs are all found here
I played with a friend, and he told me that the course has really been cleaned up and cleared out. It's playing a lot cleaner than it used to.
There is a pathway after 10 that leads to the parking lot for a quick round. (FYI, it's spits you out into the middle of the 18th fairway. So look over your shoulder before walking out.)
Cons: I could see this course becoming treacherous after a hard and/or lengthy rain. Between creek beds and hills to climb, it could become real sloppy.
Parking may be an issue on busy days. Not sure what the protocol is for parking in the grass.
I've heard from locals that this course can become a jungle when it hasn't been trimmed or maintained.
Other Thoughts: For those coming up from the South, Fuller Park is a convenient stop on the way to the Quad Cities. Just walking through this course is a neat experience, and being able to play Disc Golf here is Fantastic. It winds through the woods, offering up various blind shots, dog legs, risk/rewards, and long open field drives. It may not be beginner friendly, in that some of the shots require accuracy at long distances.

For those that have not played here in a while, I was told that the cleanup has made a drastic improvement in the course's playability. As of this review, the only other time I played here was in the winter, when the brush was minimal and the snow was plentiful. So I am relaying what I've been told from local friends. If you are planning a trip to the QC, consider adding this to your wish list. I look forward to more rounds here in the future!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 disc bender

1    7/16/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: iblanchard
Played: 193  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Most of the course plays through the woods which require a variety of skill shots which include going left, right and praying you can hit a small gap.
-Very good signs. Map of course at the beginning, tee pad signs with detailed maps and distance. There are also many signs to guide you to the next hole which eliminate any navigation fears.
-Many of the holes are birdieable, but you still have to execute your drive through the trees and make your putt.
-Its right off the bypass and is easy to find.
-Didn't have much trouble finding discs off the fairway
Cons: -Prairie grass is tall and thick on 17. A spotter would be a good idea.
-No way to tell which pin placements to go by on some blind shots except by scouting. Example 7 has a pin to the left and a pin to the right.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course. I love playing on courses that allow me to use my imagination on how to approach my shots instead of obvious lines. Most of the pin placements were the longer of the two. Even with the long tees it was still a quick play. If someone has accuracy issues they may want to avoid this course until they improve their game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Technical

5+    6/18/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Mscmatt
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: long shots mixed with technical shots,very challenging for new and old players, concretes tees, very easy to navigate
Cons: after spring the plant growth is brutal and it makes it a nightmare to find misplayed discs, vandals have destroyed some of the posts around the course
Other Thoughts: this is my hometown course and i have played it numerous times over the last couple years, i havent seen as many people playing as usual probably due to the growth of weeds

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Woods

2-4    3/29/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: xsjunkie
Played: 31  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tee Pads
-Great Signs showing pin placement and white poles to direct the golfer to the next hole
-lower branches trimmed up
-Thick layer of wood chips on fairways
-Protected pins and blind corners on some holes
-Great course to play when its windy.
-Tight narrow fairways
Cons: -Not a good beginner course
-Some holes are long for the par assigned
-Garbage everywhere! Need more trash cans
-Prarie Grass on number 17 is brutal, spotters needed
-Dense rough in the summer months much of which is Multiflower Rose (thorns). Wear long pants, and plan to lose some plastic.
-Tight narrow fairways
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. We play this one often in early spring and into the fall. I noted today that there has been a lot of downed wood cleaned up and chipped into the fairways. It's still early to tell, but it looks like the lower branches on a lot of trees have been trimmed up and the course looks clean. Well, besides the trash all over the ground from lack of trash receptacles. Over all, very challenging.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Much better

5+    10/18/2010   9/21/2009
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course dedicated to DG. Playground next to course. Walking path along side of park. Open shelter. Bathrooms during summer months. Small paved roundabout parking lot. Course sign with scorecards and map.

Nice tee signs with all needed information. Large tee pads. Creek comes into play on a few holes. Good use of elevation, usually comes into play near creek holes, noticeable on a few of the pin placements. Some hidden pins. Variation of long and short holes. Wooded course with a few open holes. Most of the wooded holes have very tight fairways. Multiple pins (they seem to switch them once a year).
Cons: Maintenance of the course is lacking. Seems that this course is only paid attention to twice a year, spring and fall. Those are the best times to play as the undergrowth isn't overgrown. Point being that the fairways shouldn't be as thick as the rough.

Prairie grass on hole 17 as an obstacle, just not a fan.

Excess trash at times. Would like to see a few more trashcans.
Other Thoughts: A couple of holes to note: Hole 4 is a great entrance into the woods. If the pin is in the short location, it is located at the bottom of the very steep hill, with the creek just beside it. Good opportunity for an Ace. Pin in the long position, it is located back up the hill on the other side, with no direct line as the trees line the fairway. Hole 18 is a fantastic hole worth writing home to mom about. The tee starts back in the trees, throwing through a tight opening about 50' - 75' up the fairway. The hole then drops down to cross the creek over a nice wooden bridge. The pin on the short location is just to the left after the creek 25' or so, in the long position the pin is 50' up and to the right of the bridge.

Looks like the pins are switched once a year. Half of the holes in the long and the other in the short.

I like coming here if I am in town. Kids can play on the playground when I warm up, and they like coming with me when I play and running through the wooded holes. They are my little spotters.

I am updating my review. I like this course as well as any other of the 4 disc courses I have played. The city and others have done a great job cleaning the course up, and maintaining it. Some of the overly tight fairways have been just slightly opened up over the last couple years, not by any means making holes easy, but giving the players a fair chance as long as the lines are hit.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tight but fair

1    9/7/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: Gflap
Played: 322  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is within a nice city park however it is almost totally separate from park activities except for holes 1,2,3 and 18. Concrete tee pads with tee signs with descriptions of holes and their distances. Most holes with 2 pin placements. White posts noting pathway to next tee. Disc catcher baskets. Good variety of holes with a creek in play. Also, good use of elevation. Many "blind" pin placements add to the challenge.
Cons: Some very dense rough on about 1/2 the holes. Extremely narrow fairways on holes 16 and 17 with 5-6 foot grass on both sides. Hole 14 is a brutal double S fairway in tight woods with the long pin placement ( about 550 feet )
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed this course as I prefer nook and cranny type courses. Doesn't look as if this course gets much play as wooded fairways did not seem worn down from foot traffic, which is fine with me as this means less termites (casuals) in the way. It took about 2 and 1/4 hours to play as a single. Suggest playing with 2 or 3 others as a spotter would make for easier navigation.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.