Disc Golf Store
Grand Rapids, MI 
Garfield Park Share
Uploaded By: FoleyT Hole #4
4 / 221ft.   4 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
The 'pole' on the fourth, with the infamous 'stump'



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Just to play it

2-4    11/16/2010   4/16/2011
Review By: worldbnice
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: Short quick course to play 18 holes. Nice park to walk in. Not too many hard holes to go with. More than gracious if you actually use the pars listed on the posts. I played it all at par 3.
Cons: Around busy streets, by playgrounds and ballfields, possibility of pedestrian traffic.
Other Thoughts: If you use the pars listed on tee's, you can shoot way under par for this course. Is fairly open so it is a nice beginner course to learn how to play at a post type course.

 Not So Much Fun

1    10/18/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: mambrose
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New Signs, and the last 5 holes are fun
Cons: Some of the Shots are crazy, like on hole 2 or 3, they want you to throw around a building that is way right of you, then back to the left, it makes no sence. there arent really any tees, and you just throw from where ever you want (on alot of holes)
Other Thoughts: it seems like a good place to start out at, but after you get used to parks like riverside and johnson, you prolly wont have much fun here

being in the ghetto is kinda scary aswell as the little kids, im glad i played when it was cold out


Sorry to the people wholove this park, but after playing riverside park 6 days a week this park seems worse than riversides pole course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, challening, small

1    10/18/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: valkyrie
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2010
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Shot selection is great at this course! Also, if your good at controll shots and putting, you will love this course. No spots to loose your disc. Tee Sighns!
Cons: Small, no holes where you can really throw a long drive. Pole Course (i like poles, however i would still call it a con) Also, natural tee pads are not fun.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a fun course as a change from what i normay play. Definatly worth checking out!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: Adaven
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course uses space very well, the park can be very crowded with non Disc Golfers, but only a few holes pose any problem/delay to your game (Holes one and two). The course is very playable by even first timers. the trees in the park makes for some interesting shots and good pin placement.
Cons: The course uses natural tees that can get very muddy on some of the holes 1 and 10 get the worst. The course uses 4x4's as pins so there are no baskets. The course is short and easy and par is easy to hit for everyone, which can actually be great for newbies. Several of the hole are really close to the road and it can be busy.
Other Thoughts: I hate to rate this course so low, it was the first course I ever played in Grand Rapids and it made me feel like a pro. In fact this is the first course I play after the long Michigan winters to get back into the game. Over the past several years I have posted my personal best at minus 24 (marked par of course). All in all this course is truly great for anyone who wants to start playing and I suggest you take anyone who is learning to this course. When they get better take them somewhere else.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 not bad

2-4    6/5/2008   6/5/2008
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 142  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Centraly located
- Even though it's a multi-use park there isn't much activity; you don't have to worry about hitting folks
- Good pin placement, uses trees effectively
- Seems like it would be a good place to take the family for an afternoon
Cons: - Very short, only two holes over 300 feet. No elevation changes and no water.
- Not much variety, trees can force you to get creative on a couple of shots, but there's nothing groundbreaking here
- Pole course
Other Thoughts: A local told me that this is the oldest course in the Grand Rapids area - approximately 30 years old? Not much challenge here other than avoiding hitting trees, you can probably get by with just a mid-range. The biggest threat for me was throwing my first shot past the pin while trying for aces. If you're in the area it's worth the stop just for the novelty but don't go out of your way otherwise.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.