Disc Golf Store
Grand Rapids, MI 
Garfield Park Share
Uploaded By: FoleyT Hole #4
4 / 221ft.   4 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
The 'pole' on the fourth, with the infamous 'stump'



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
  Inner-City Disc

5+    2/12/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: jhoover
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: not going to loose discs, unless its into the fall season.

-generally low canopy, good for learning to controll your throws. (#1 #4 #5 #10 #14)


-Poles (sticks) are firm in the ground, no damage to course signs or poles.

-Seasonal bathrooms, and year round running water.

-Takes 45 minutes to play, is a non physical course, and can be played multiple times in one go.

-Never anyone on the course, no waiting.

-Always parking avalible

-Police patrol the area regularly.
Cons: - some people would feel the Stick targets are not true to disc golf, but in an area such as this I would have to guess the metal baskets would not last long.

-many may also be turned off by this area, which is understandable. I lived in the neighhbor hood and can vouch that there are indeed gun shots heard echoing throughout the summer, and police speeding down Burton st regularly throughout the year. Not for the faint of heart.

-There is only minimal elevation change. I think there are only 2 upshots and one shot down a hill.Everything else is flat.

-There are only 2-3 long holes for big arms.

-There are no T pads, only worn grass where many have stood before you.

-after finishing hole 13 you will naturally gravitate toward hole 16 becasue it seems like the natural course flow, but you actually have to turn around 180* and walk back to hole 14. sorta strange, but i will add a map to DGCR to clarify. everytime i have seen other people on this course they go from 13 to 16 and dont even know they skipped 14 and 15. # 14 is the best hole too!
Other Thoughts: -during fall the leaves can get a little intense at times, but the maintained crew is VERY good with cleaning the park, and have normally already started cleaning some portion of the park before it becomes an issue.

-Your best scores will be during the winter months when there are no leaves on the trees.

- Most park goers are aware that there is a disc golf coarse throughout the park, and generally stay out of the way. Only those cutting across the park on their way to the side walk get in the way, but for the most part there is little to no pedestrian traffic.


All in all this is personally my favorite course. I have played Flip, Mason County, even Dela in Cali, and I got to say I think about this course every time I disc.

I am the kind of guy to take a few BUZZZs out and spend the whole day developing my short game at Garfield Park. Every hole is deucable, and there are PLENTY of ace chances. I have aces on #2 #3 #7 #12 #14 (hardest line in the park) #17 #18x2 best score is -12 (PAR 54)

This course will teach you to keep your shots low and snap hard. I can't imagine where I would be if I hadn't had this treasure in my backyard for the past 2 years!

Also I will be taking pictures of every hole when I visit next, as my contribution to DGCR! Maybe even make an overhead map, as there is 1 confusing area that would mess you up the first time you play.

I would give this course a 5 but personal bias aside, it is a honest 3.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 decent inner city park.

1    6/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- course plays around the perimeter of a multiuse inner city park. park is HUGE for grand rapids proper. Surprisingly very little trash or broken glass the day I played.

Teesigns/routing-- decent. the tees tend to point toward the pole. Routing is relatively easy with the exception of finding the pole for #13.

Poles-- all in place and in reasonable condition.

Variety-- maximized in this park. there are mandos (sorta), trees, elevation and is a good time!
Cons: it's a pole course-- I don't think baskets would survive here.

danger-- plays close to some paths, roads... these areas aren't heavily travelled though.

length/pars-- I don't mind forgiving pars but I threw a -25 the first time I played here.. that's a bit rediculous.
Other Thoughts: Course is great and not as shady as I thought it would be. I played a pretty quiet round here without being hassled or leered at. good all around.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Inner city disc

5+    6/13/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: Jbot49506
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park is with in biking distance from my house. It is very easy to navigate, and if you are in a hurry to get in a quick round you can do this course in 25-35 minutes. I find it very enjoyable to play around the perimeter of the park watching everyone else.
Cons: It is a stick course with dirt pads, if you are use to cement tee pads and disc catchers than you will most likely not enjoy the course. The signs seem to be a bit off distance wise. You need to be able to throw quite low in order to do really well at this course.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to park up by the pavilion the tee for hole #1 is just north of there. I feel this course could really be all par 3's. I played this morning and shot 28 under par based on there sticks. This course does make you play low and accurate, if you can not do that then you may have some difficulties. Enjoy this little treasure in the city.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/1/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - An okay 18 hole course
- A good challenge with the many trees, the mando on hole 2, and post setup in a group of trees
- Without the great signs, this course would have been a pain in the butt to play, but it had good stats, and a great map (for the most part)
- Mostly mid-range course, with a few long range (top is about 333ft, which is hole 1)
- Played mostly anhyzer shots, good right turns
Cons: - Posts instead of baskets, gotta change your game to play this
- No cement pads
- Hole 14 was difficult to find, but the setup worked I guess, and it played out well
- No bathrooms
- Can't see posts half the time but once you see it, it is easy to see
Other Thoughts: - Its an okay park, not the best, but it was enjoyable for the most part.
- Back 9 was the best, so I wouldn't mind playing at least the back again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nicer then I would have guessed

1    6/12/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Signs, The park had said it was redone by a boy scout group, and they have some nice looking signs they made.

- Great to work on Mids and putting. There are some actually pretty well made placement of tees.

-The park seems to be kept up pretty well.

-Easy to find your way around and play in less then an hour.
Cons: -Poles, I don't really like poles and I think that is the biggest flaw here.

-It's a park that is multi-use but didn't seem to really come into play besides the first few hole. The road can be in play, but if you are playing smart it shouldn't be anything to go by.

-Natural pads, although some are made on sideways and roads so they kind of are like cement pads.
Other Thoughts: This place is in kind of a bad part of town, but didn't seem to be very noticeable while I was there. If this place had baskets I would probably play it once a week. It's actually a pretty nice course minus no baskets.

It plays very well around the course and has a lot of good shots to go for. They seem to keep this place pretty clean also for the part of town it was in.

I would say if you live in the area give it a try, it is by far not a destination course at all. It's not even a repeater because of the fact that it doesn't have baskets.... but if I lived in walking distance, I would play it every day.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just to play it

2-4    11/16/2010   4/16/2011
Review By: worldbnice
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: Short quick course to play 18 holes. Nice park to walk in. Not too many hard holes to go with. More than gracious if you actually use the pars listed on the posts. I played it all at par 3.
Cons: Around busy streets, by playgrounds and ballfields, possibility of pedestrian traffic.
Other Thoughts: If you use the pars listed on tee's, you can shoot way under par for this course. Is fairly open so it is a nice beginner course to learn how to play at a post type course.

Garfield Park

5+    5/17/2014   10/11/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2014
Pros: The course plays around the outside edge of the entire park. nice course to work on your approach shots and accuracy on putting since you are aiming at a post you don't have the luxury of the extra space where the chains might stop your disc. really hard to lose a disc unless you overthrow a hole or shank it badly and it ends up in the street. can play the entire 18 in less than an hour. tees have nice signs stating where the post is located. hole posts have number engraved at the top of the post as well as the par for the hole listed above. fairly easy to navigate your way around.
Cons: would normally list dirt tee pads as a con but since the holes aren't really that long there is no real need for any other type of surfaced tee pad. The pars listed for this course i would believe are if you actually used a frisbee and not a golf disc. not really in the greatest of neighborhoods. a couple of holes throw across walking paths or next to sidewalks but when i played there was hardly anyone in the park. the post for 18 is only about 10 feet from the parking lot. so don't overshoot the hole if anyone is parked directly behind the post. a couple of holes have fairways the cross each other.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 any errant shot left can hit Burton street on the left of the fairway you have the parking lot and a pavilion that could come into play on the right side of the fairway..
#2 The only hole that doesn't really say it but it is a mando to the right of the building and then back left to the hole. The reason behind it is to avoid the beach volleyball court and what looks like a memorial grave site for who the park is named after.
#3 short hole shooting towards Burton street.
#4 post is over near the corner by the stop light on Madison.
#5 nice little hole with trees guarding the post.
#6 Anhyzer shot around the back edge of the ballfield
#7 straight shot with post just past 4 trees 2 on each side of fairway.
#8 Tee sign may look confusing but blue in this case is for the walking paths not water. shoot over one path post is just before second path.
#9 you shoot across old parking lot area to post near trees by sidewalk and back edge of park.
#10 they want you to shoot from access road to post just left of road.
#11 Shoot from access road again towards 4 big trees near shed post is between the last 2 big trees.
#12 Dogleg left post is tucked in by a clump of trees.
#13 have to shoot almost directly in front of the tee for 14 to get to post.
#14 you are shooting back across the fairway of 13 towards a tree out by the open field
#15 you are shooting back and just to the right of the post for #13.
#16 post is just to the right of the tree line. when i played there was a trash can within inches of the post. you could easily bank your disc off the post and have it land right in the trash can.
#17 straight shot post tucked in by trees.
#18 shooting back towards parking lot. don't overthrow.

All things considered it is not a bad little course. the neighborhood may not be the best but the course itself is in good condition. the sign by the 1st tee said the course was redone as part of a eagle scout project. I think it was done really nicely. just need to adjust pars to take in account for the distance a golf disc can fly. par should be 54 at max.

 Not So Much Fun

1    10/18/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: mambrose
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New Signs, and the last 5 holes are fun
Cons: Some of the Shots are crazy, like on hole 2 or 3, they want you to throw around a building that is way right of you, then back to the left, it makes no sence. there arent really any tees, and you just throw from where ever you want (on alot of holes)
Other Thoughts: it seems like a good place to start out at, but after you get used to parks like riverside and johnson, you prolly wont have much fun here

being in the ghetto is kinda scary aswell as the little kids, im glad i played when it was cold out


Sorry to the people wholove this park, but after playing riverside park 6 days a week this park seems worse than riversides pole course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, challening, small

1    10/18/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: valkyrie
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2010
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Shot selection is great at this course! Also, if your good at controll shots and putting, you will love this course. No spots to loose your disc. Tee Sighns!
Cons: Small, no holes where you can really throw a long drive. Pole Course (i like poles, however i would still call it a con) Also, natural tee pads are not fun.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a fun course as a change from what i normay play. Definatly worth checking out!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 better than nothing??

1    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: Terry C
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2010
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -good practice
-close to other better disc parks in the area
-cant lose a disc
-your disc golfing
- might get exercise running from someone shooting at you.
Cons: -pole course with shabby layout
-bad high crime neighborhood
-no tees
-no baskets
-no signs
-crowded with unsupervised kids running wild. Its the ghetto hangout spot, you will see the local gang bangers and crackheads giving you the evil eye everytime.
Other Thoughts: I would say install baskets but they would all just get stolen imediately. I guess discing anywhere is good but drive a couple miles from here and you got some real good disc parks instead. sorry locals if I hurt your feelings. Any course with no tee pads, no baskets and really honestly unsafe to even be playing disc golf there gets a 1 disc review from me. Honestly dont even waste your time this park sucks. Go to a better park, there are several close by.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.