Grand Rapids, MI 
Garfield Park Share
Uploaded By: FoleyT Hole #4
4 / 221ft.   4 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
The 'pole' on the fourth, with the infamous 'stump'



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Little and Loveable

2-4    8/8/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: rbrown87
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Logically flowing course (starting and ending at relatively small parking lot) makes posts and tees easy to see -- fantastic signs as well. Post are well maintained and easy to see.

The perfect course for true beginners, or even kids.

Simple, yet effectively satisfying. A great ego boost for the experienced disc golfer.

Park is clean and well maintained/mowed.

Good for a quick round to loosen up or just have some fun. Practically every shot is an ace run; who doesn't like that feeling once in awhile?

We played in the rain and still found the course more playable than, say, Riverside Park. In fact, after playing it in the rain, I will count on being able to go there when other courses are swamped.

No opportunities to "bomb" a disc.

Can a course be cute?
Cons: No opportunities to "bomb" a disc. Simultaneously not technical.

Course score is a bit ridiculous. With only a few holes more than 100 yards, it would make more sense to make them all par 3's.

Negligible elevation changes.

Holes, as I mentioned, are extremely short. If you're looking for a long, technical course, Garfield Park would be the polar opposite of that.

Occasionally crowded with innocent civilians and children who would rather not be pelted with drivers.

Dirt tee pads will collect water after a rain.
Other Thoughts: If I were rich, I'd donate baskets just for the heck of it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: Adaven
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course uses space very well, the park can be very crowded with non Disc Golfers, but only a few holes pose any problem/delay to your game (Holes one and two). The course is very playable by even first timers. the trees in the park makes for some interesting shots and good pin placement.
Cons: The course uses natural tees that can get very muddy on some of the holes 1 and 10 get the worst. The course uses 4x4's as pins so there are no baskets. The course is short and easy and par is easy to hit for everyone, which can actually be great for newbies. Several of the hole are really close to the road and it can be busy.
Other Thoughts: I hate to rate this course so low, it was the first course I ever played in Grand Rapids and it made me feel like a pro. In fact this is the first course I play after the long Michigan winters to get back into the game. Over the past several years I have posted my personal best at minus 24 (marked par of course). All in all this course is truly great for anyone who wants to start playing and I suggest you take anyone who is learning to this course. When they get better take them somewhere else.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Overlooked Little Gem

1    9/21/2008   9/21/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For an older 'pole course' this is an amazingly interesting and challenging layout. Many mature trees and creative pin placements make for a challenging round and a good way to practice your short game. For a neighborhood park, it was amazingly uncrowded, and despite being a multi-use park, and the fact that a lot of the course winds around the outer rim of the property, I found little interference with other park activities through most of the course. Easy to navigate, and most of the tees and signs seem to be well cared for.
Cons: Dirt tees and poles. A few of the holes come uncomfortably close to either picnic areas, or sidewalks. Distances are short compared to some of the more modern courses, but are of a reasonable variety.
Other Thoughts: Avoided this one for much too long, and was pleasantly surprised at how much fun it was to play. This will definitely be a frequent stop for me in the future.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sweet Little Course Tucked in an Urban Park

1    5/16/2008   8/9/2008
Review By: dandther
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 39.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Several holes are extremely challenging, hard to pull off in a small park setting like this. Number 10 is one of the best designed holes I've ever played, the pole is perfectly placed in a clearing surrounded by huge old trees.
Cons: Many people in the park causing pedestrian hazards. It's easy to put a disc on one of the busy streets surrounding the park, I've got a couple of "road discs" in my bag just for use on those holes.
Other Thoughts: The Eagle Scout redesign helped and hurt the course. Number 3 used to be a 180 degree dogleg. Tee off to the southeast past the big tree, then turn and face Burton Street to reach the pole in the grove of trees. Some of the back nine holes are ruined by the redesign. The old 16, 17, and 18 used the trees perfectly. The new 16, 17, and 18 are simply target practice, the trees are irrelevant.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 not bad

2-4    6/5/2008   6/5/2008
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 142  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Centraly located
- Even though it's a multi-use park there isn't much activity; you don't have to worry about hitting folks
- Good pin placement, uses trees effectively
- Seems like it would be a good place to take the family for an afternoon
Cons: - Very short, only two holes over 300 feet. No elevation changes and no water.
- Not much variety, trees can force you to get creative on a couple of shots, but there's nothing groundbreaking here
- Pole course
Other Thoughts: A local told me that this is the oldest course in the Grand Rapids area - approximately 30 years old? Not much challenge here other than avoiding hitting trees, you can probably get by with just a mid-range. The biggest threat for me was throwing my first shot past the pin while trying for aces. If you're in the area it's worth the stop just for the novelty but don't go out of your way otherwise.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  good layout in an urban setting

5/24/2008   5/24/2008
Review By: surfer-z
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course winds around the outside of the park and manages quite a bit of variety despite the fact that the park isn't very big.

Trees come into play on almost every hole, so it really pays to keep your disc low. Whoever designed the course was intentional about sticking the pins behind or in clumps of trees.

Most of the holes are straight, but there are a few notable doglegs.

There is also nice variety in length.
Cons: Occasionally there are people playing soccer, having a bbq, or lying about with their significant other on parts of the course.
Other Thoughts: Not a difficult course, but it has enough variety to keep you coming back.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.