Grand Island, NY 
Beaver Island State Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #15
3 / 312ft.   3 / 447ft.   3 / 575ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 White Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    12/26/2011   12/26/2011
Review By: dyngus
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well Maintained, Concrete pads are always nice, most holes are fairly easy, trash cans and benches at every hole is a huge plus
Cons: Often wet and marshy on certain holes, always extremely windy
Other Thoughts: Mostly open, enough trees to challenge a player, water alongside most holes. Gorgeous course to play, a lot of variance between holes

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course

2-4    3/30/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee-pads at every hole.
-Very beginner friendly with large, mature trees to shoot around.
-There's water, but the risk is fairly low.
-Makes use of what elevation changes they have with a couple downhills, a couple uphills, and a couple sidehills.
-Well maintained state park with bathrooms.
-Great scenery of the Niagara River.
-Not very crowded when compared to many of the other Buffalo courses.
-Plenty af ace/birdie opportunities, but not gimmies.
Cons: -Not very challenging for more experienced players.
-Some of the more open holes can get repetitive
-Current construction in the way of holes 3-5. Don't go in that mud, it'll eat your shoes.
-Some holes play near the road, which I'm not really a fan of.
-A few walks between the holes are tricky. Holes 4-5 require walking around the construction, and over a bridge.
-I played during mud season, but there was quite a bit of ponding on some of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I really had a blast playing this after Chestnut Ridge, which is a much tighter course. It was nice to air some throws out.

I don't want to list it as a negative, but the wind is worth noting. It's pretty constant being right on the river.

Really a great course to bring a new player to. You won't be hurried, and other than <maybe> hole 9, they should run very little risk of getting their discs wet.

Thanks to Simpletwist for showing me around!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Course

5+    10/2/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: justinmd44
Played: 57  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tricky weather, elevation change, and a scenic view of the Niagara River are just some of the highlights of this course. Weather: typically the wind doesn't stop here which can help you learn how to play with a variety of wind conditions. Elevation change: The park's use of elevation change can help you pull off a booming drive down hill or kill your drive up hill. Scenery: I maintain that this is the most scenic course in the Buffalo/Niagara area, with views of the river, inlets, and those Canadians!
Cons: In the long term this course is just far too open. I personally enjoy the challenge of a tighter course (even though I'm no good on tighter courses). The course maybe is pretty open but there are some O.B. lines that can KILL you. I find those lines to be more frustrating than anything; I would rather hit 100 trees than throw one O.B. In the short term this course is disrupted by the state's beaver habitat project (just another way to waste money) so the course plays with two rather unpleasant tee placements. However, the NRDG and park office have done a good job of keeping the course close to its intended layout.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I don't know how...

2-4    2/10/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One very nice elevation drive into an open field. Several grip and rip holes. Watching ice floes in the Niagara River is nice. Having a herd of deer watching me play was interesting as well!
Cons: Very little in the way of technically challenging shots. Mostly flat, although there are a couple of water hazards.
Other Thoughts: There's a course called Lighthouse perhaps 25 miles from this one that is WAAAY better; and if you really want to get technical, go play the Chestnut Ridge course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

nice park, ok disc golf course

1    2/13/2010   2/13/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 55  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very scenic (view over river)
-good wildlife (i understand why it is called the blue heron disc golf course)
-3 tee spots for all levels of players
-just enough trees (no throw and pray shots)
-good open fairways, with basket snuggled in tight area's
-trash and benches on nearly everyhole
-nice signs (see photos)
-although other reviews here say it is windy, the day i went was rather calm
-many holes make you say "oh, this is a cool hole"
Cons: -although there are 3 tee's here they're all very similar, just a slight change in distances. i enjoy courses (deis hill in ohio for example) that the different tee's give you different types of shots not just a change in distance, nearly making the hole completely different.
-basket on hole 3 has a redic lean to it (cost me a birdie)
-baskets are older with slight rust, no real issue just needed to be noted
-the signs here although wonderfully showing distances and hole layout are in craaaazzzzy spots. in some cases you find the sign, read it and then look around for the tees. on hole 18 from the blue tee i would have been furious had my disc hit the sign next to the white tee as it was directly in the throwing lane. Every course i have been to the signs face opposite of the holes, here it is not always the case.
-no real signature holes, would have loved a shot over the river.
-water doesn't come into play unless you have a very poor drive
Other Thoughts: mixed emotions after playing this course. i feel the average 4 star rating is quite high here. but i have to admit i had a good time playing here. this course just needs some work before it gets a 4 star rating. cement tee-pads on all tees, new baskets, better located signage and a practice basket would greatly improve my rating.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Breeze

5+    5/19/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course has a good breeze coming of Niagra river that adds to the courses difficulty. Its a fairly open course but enough trees come into play in the fairways to add moderate difficulty. The white and blue tee's are worth playing.
Cons: Only 2 holes with elavation change. Most of the course is a birdie fest (unless your Campbell who shot a 27 over from the whites).
Other Thoughts: A great opportunity for a picnic near the water after you play.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A great place to play

2-4    8/11/2006   12/1/2009
Review By: jonnieoh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun place to play; lots of variation in scenery, (along the Niagara River), in open fields, in woods. Well designed, unique holes provide a good challenge. Even some elevation changes, (though minor).
Cons: Have to share this popular park with others; picnicers, walkers, bikers, etc. Water holes mean that potential for losing discs is higher.
Other Thoughts: There are some really unique and challenging holes on this course, which make this a fun place to play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.