Grand Island, NY 
Beaver Island State Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #3
3 / 249ft.   3 / 303ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 White Tee

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Very upscale course and surroundings

1    7/15/2015   7/16/2015
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful waterside setting. Fun course to play, even though it's not especially challenging.

Significant distance variation in the three different sets of tees, with good flat concrete tee boxes for the blues and whites, and several of the reds. My son and I played the whites.

Very well-groomed fairways with good tee to basket sightlines in almost all cases. Excellent scorecard provided at the park entrance kiosk. That made it easy to navigate from hole to hole. We showed up close to 6pm, and didn't have to pay the $7 park entrance fee.

Favorite holes:

#1 - Good downhill to get the round started, especially for our default forehand anhyzers: an inviting fade into a wide pocket within a grove of trees.

#5 - Shortest hole from the whites. Target is cut tight beyond the creekside grasses on the right, with more tall grass lining the entire left side of the fairway. One of the few holes to emphasize accuracy off the tee.

#6 - Another unique hole, and second longest on the course. Lots of trees with a challenging alley for the drive. Then there's a thick crossing line of trees and brush to get past in order to set up the approach, with out of bounds on the right to contend with.
Cons: That's a short list of favorite holes. There isn't much in the way of standout single hole features. There are at least 6 wide open holes in the 300-450 foot range. They don't feel exactly the same, but they're similarly unremarkable.

A few of the other holes had frustrating obstacles. I don't like the 10 ft tall brush and related growth that blocks the approach on the 9th. And I don't like the small gap through the brush for 18, especially since masses of mosquitos made their home in the clearing around the basket.

We played in the early evening after a series of strong rains. That probably contributed to the mosquito swarms, and there was lots of standing water. Related issue: the design makes almost no use of Beaver Creek or the Niagara River. That may be an environmental protection requirement from the park officials: I don't know.

The grounds are manicured, but the baskets have seen better days.

Lots of long walks, and they didn't always seem justified. The walk from 8 to 9 covers ground that could have fit a couple of fun options for shots. Add to that the walks from 7 to 8 and 9 to 10, and we chewed up a lot of time to get through that section of the course. After that, 10 and 11 were two of the most blah holes, from a design standpoint, with a random scattering of frustrating tree branches.
Other Thoughts: We visited Grand Island for just one day. There were lots of impressive homes on the scenic route from our kitschy campsite to the park. Seems like a wonderful community for cyclists and walkers. And it's great to have a course within 20 minutes of Niagara Falls. The day after our round we spent a quick morning at the Falls. Absolutely amazing site: a beautiful clear summer day and almost nobody there at 8am.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great challenge

5+    4/12/2015   4/13/2015
Review By: RobA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great scenery
- Three tees, giving the player many options
- Many people thinks its a con, but I think the entry fee is a plus. The state keeps this park meticulously maintained, the grass is always cut and the park is clean. (For those of you who sneak in the back entrance, chip in with your buddies, $10 each, and you can get a whole car load in all summer long)
- Fair OB lines, little chance of losing a disc.
-Co-designed by national known course designer
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: My favorite local course. Open enough to let you use your drivers, with enough obstacles to make placement count on every hole.

Excellent use of the terrain, not only using the sled hill, but also the deceptive side-slopes where good placement is crucial. Just enough trees on each hole to make you think.

This is a different course each time you play due to the wind.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course

1    7/11/2014   7/11/2014
Review By: JZ1491
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: .Good amount of long holes, with a few short finesse shot holes
.Park well maintained- grass cut, no litter, garbage bins at every hole
.Signs for each tee
.Concrete tee pads
Cons: . $7 entry fee per car to park unless you go after 6 pm
. Pars are too easy- for example hole 1 is a par 4 from white and is about 300 or so feet down a hill. I shot 5 under here and have played course including Como, Black Diamond, Angry Apple, and The Ravine and at best shot 5 over
Other Thoughts: .Overall awesome course, my favorite course around and I would definitely play again
. Some discs are sold there at the park building

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    9/22/2013   9/24/2013
Review By: mbenn
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great view, excellent conditions, nice pads, good signs and direction to next hole. Good variety. Clean and well maintained.
Cons: None really.
Other Thoughts: Better use of the woods could have made this course even better.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    7/21/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: Safbo
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 21.5 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Best state park course in the western ny area. Tons of big air. Nice mix of flat and hill shots. Wind coming in off water plays a factor on more than one hole. All in my second favorite local course.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Course is laid out well and tees are marked pretty good.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beaver Island DG

5+    8/23/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: jchoate7
Played: 43  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well mapped out course that brings you around the entire beaver island state park. Very easy to navigate your way through the course (signs on each hole and arrows below the basket to the next hole). Great mix of par 3, 4, and 5's and great elevation changes, especially in the front 9. Brand new multiple concrete teeboxes to include red, white, and blue tees (how patriotic!). The course is long and open and is a great course to really let one rip off the tee.
Cons: This course is very open with only a few holes that actually challenge you to play through a certain designed course "line". Scores well below par here even for an amatuer are common. ***The park also charges $7 per vehicle in the summer (see below).
Other Thoughts: Great course especially those with a long drive off the tee. This course is where I fell in love with the game and is still my favorite course to play to date. The park doesn't only offer disc golf but many other outdoor activities. Some of those activities include; ball golf, boat launch, fishing, picnic areas, beach, walking trails, hunting, sledding hill (on hole 4), and more. The park is a great way to get out and enjoy the outdoors.

***The park does charge you to get into the park however, if you go during the non park hours or park around back behind the park and walk a little ways you can play for free. To park around back, the area is at W Oakfield RD and Comission House Rd for those of you who want to "GPS" it.***

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not perfect, not the greatest, but WOW!

1    5/25/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: eupher61
Played: 95  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 13.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting. Great signage. Challenging due to wind and good design. Park personnel are interested and helpful. Great stamp on discs sold at the office. Did I mention wind? Playing along the Niagra River.... Very very cool! Great use of uninspiring terrain, and very well maintained.
Cons: Single water on course. Is being addressed, but take plenty of refreshment. Not much shade, but time will change that.
Other Thoughts: Must play. Wind is constant, can be a great place to learn your discs' wind characteristics. Play it, then go to ride Maid of the Mists...on a hot day, that will really cool you off!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Such a Great View

5+    2/5/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: BigCam
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing alongside the Niagara River with views of Canada and the City of Buffalo along the way. Great places to stop and rest with garbage cans at every tee. There's plenty of activity from the other park visitors that keep a lively atmosphere. The elevation changes pretty regularly so each hole presents unique challenges.
Cons: The $7 entrance fee per vehicle might discourage some. Others might find the integration of the course within the picnic areas a bit distracting. A recent archaeological dig temporarily closed hole #8, but it has been re-opened as of Feb 5th. Being so near the river can increase the wind speeds just a bit.
Other Thoughts: The disc golf course is just one of the many great features this park has to offer!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/26/2011   12/26/2011
Review By: dyngus
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well Maintained, Concrete pads are always nice, most holes are fairly easy, trash cans and benches at every hole is a huge plus
Cons: Often wet and marshy on certain holes, always extremely windy
Other Thoughts: Mostly open, enough trees to challenge a player, water alongside most holes. Gorgeous course to play, a lot of variance between holes

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    8/23/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: C6H12O6
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Course. Bring your drivers! This course has cement tee pads, benches at every hole, garbage cans at every hole, and two types of tee pads. Scenic views of Niagara river, and the local birds (including the Blue Herons) make this course a great place to visit. The course is fairly open, and has just enough trees to make this course interesting. The park office sells A TON of discs, and many with there custom stamp!
Cons: Some might find this course too open. And water can come into play on some holes if you have a bad drive.
Other Thoughts: Wind is almost always a factor on this course, so be prepared...Also, there is a park fee in the summer time of $7 to enter. You can park outside the park and walk in without having to pay a fee. Just before the park entrance take the service road to the right, directly next to the park about half a mile and on take your first left. You can park on the gravel area near the dumpsters and walk in through the service area of the park. It's that easy!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.