Grand Island, NY 
Beaver Island State Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #14 (Taken 7/2010)
5 / 327ft.   5 / 444ft.   4 / 555ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A very solid, enjoyable course

1    7/22/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 118  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three tees on each hole with the red(short) & blue(long) being natural with the white (medium) having concrete tees with good signage
Scenic park by the river with an abundance of wildlife
Clean and well maintained with benches, trash cans, amenities
Mostly open with enough trees and hazards (water, rough, OB) to keep you honest
Available elevation is used sensibly
Course is easy to navigate (maps are available) and design has a consistent flow
Cons: $7/car fee to park (seasonal charge) plus $1 bridge fee to island
A few blue tees difficult to find due to being flat wood planks on ground rather than blocks
Lacks variety (mostly open holes and flat)
Lots of goose poop in spots
Other Thoughts: The course is set in a scenic state park next to the Niagara River which makes for a peaceful, relaxing play. There are very few serious hazards here to upset your game - some thick rough off several fairways with water on others (the river boarders some holes and a pond on others - #9 is the only 'true' water hazard where disc loss probability is high). There were no conflicts w/non-disc golfing park goers, the course was not at all crowded and when I played, the wind was not a factor (other reviewers have made mention of the wind). The baskets were inconsistent in their quality (some seemed older w/rusting chains, others appears brand new) but this did not have an effect on play. No particular hole stood out as a signature and overall played similarly since it's mostly open & flat with no true wooded holes. Nevertheless, Beaver Island is a very enjoyable disc golf course and worth a play if in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 awesome course MUST PLAY

1    6/17/2007   7/25/2010
Review By: urdone00
Played: 123  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 34.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2010
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: awesome course , on a island , next to a big river, maincured course, with multiple tees, state run park, with a little pro/gift shop at the parking lot.. what more can you ask for.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I am a avid disc golfer , when I travel , bring the discs. out of all the courses to pick in this area, I'm glad I picked this one, played 2 rounds both tees.
I will always be willing to pay to play, since you can see where the money is going.(state park user fee).

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  La Isle Grande

5+    6/14/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: Straightpow
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to Navigate, Nice Signs, concrete tees. 2 miles from my place ha and a great view of the niagra river. New baskets on holes 7 and 17 and now a practice Pin is just to the right of hole one.
Cons: Can be a lil swampy here and there. esp at the pin of hole 4.. look out for park police
Other Thoughts: Watch out for metal posts holding up trees on hole 14..

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/12/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 59  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course plenty of elevation change

Detailed signage on every hole

Good mix of open and technical holes. some of the more technical holes have some creative basket placements.

Worth the 6 bucks! bring a few friends and enjoy this beauty!
Cons: Course par is pretty generous. Coming from Rochester, you'll never see a 400 foot par 5.

Last time i was there hole #7 was missing a basket!

white tees have the pads and the signs blue tees are natural and you have to walk to the white to see how far it is, and then walk back to the blues.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorites in Buffalo! its close enough to a couple others which makes it a great stop if you're going out there for the day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Times Had By All

1    5/19/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation makes for a good mix of holes. Great view too. The pars are generous so its a nice one too help make you feel good about your playing if you just starting out. There are trash bags and signs on every hole which makes it nice and clean all the time and the up keep is well done so the grass never gets too high.
Cons: If you play after it rains it can get a little wet on the first few holes but once you get to the higher elevations its smooth sailing from there.
Other Thoughts: Overall great cours the fee to get in i think is well worth this course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant older course - great choice for beginners

5+    3/24/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: ssejhill
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13 Years
Pros: Wide open throws. The course does have a bit of variety and some elevation changes. Holes # 1, 3 and 4 come to mind that you have to be careful about the elevation change and if you play well can be worked to your advantage. This course has no real water hazards (only hole #9 has any real chance of going in the water). Not a technical course and most holes are forgiving if you mess up a drive (or maybe even 2). BIG PLUS for having cement tee pads (at least for the Blue tees), great signage and signs at each basket pointing to the next tee.
Cons: It could use maybe a little more variety. I'm not a huge fan of "woodsy-type" holes but it would definitely increase the technical level a bit if a few holes were made a tad more challenging. Even with holes 16, 17, 18 & 8 having a few trees in play I've survived multiple rounds without any incidents (a true rarity for me, I assure you).
Other Thoughts: The park can get very damp (in late March there were large areas of standing water) for about 2-3 holes. Bring along some more waterproof footwear for a more pleasant round. The park can get a bit busy in the summer, but the course winds itself through areas that don't get overly used by the typical beach and picnic traffic.

 I don't know how...

2-4    2/10/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One very nice elevation drive into an open field. Several grip and rip holes. Watching ice floes in the Niagara River is nice. Having a herd of deer watching me play was interesting as well!
Cons: Very little in the way of technically challenging shots. Mostly flat, although there are a couple of water hazards.
Other Thoughts: There's a course called Lighthouse perhaps 25 miles from this one that is WAAAY better; and if you really want to get technical, go play the Chestnut Ridge course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

nice park, ok disc golf course

1    2/13/2010   2/13/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 52  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very scenic (view over river)
-good wildlife (i understand why it is called the blue heron disc golf course)
-3 tee spots for all levels of players
-just enough trees (no throw and pray shots)
-good open fairways, with basket snuggled in tight area's
-trash and benches on nearly everyhole
-nice signs (see photos)
-although other reviews here say it is windy, the day i went was rather calm
-many holes make you say "oh, this is a cool hole"
Cons: -although there are 3 tee's here they're all very similar, just a slight change in distances. i enjoy courses (deis hill in ohio for example) that the different tee's give you different types of shots not just a change in distance, nearly making the hole completely different.
-basket on hole 3 has a redic lean to it (cost me a birdie)
-baskets are older with slight rust, no real issue just needed to be noted
-the signs here although wonderfully showing distances and hole layout are in craaaazzzzy spots. in some cases you find the sign, read it and then look around for the tees. on hole 18 from the blue tee i would have been furious had my disc hit the sign next to the white tee as it was directly in the throwing lane. Every course i have been to the signs face opposite of the holes, here it is not always the case.
-no real signature holes, would have loved a shot over the river.
-water doesn't come into play unless you have a very poor drive
Other Thoughts: mixed emotions after playing this course. i feel the average 4 star rating is quite high here. but i have to admit i had a good time playing here. this course just needs some work before it gets a 4 star rating. cement tee-pads on all tees, new baskets, better located signage and a practice basket would greatly improve my rating.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Breeze

5+    5/19/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course has a good breeze coming of Niagra river that adds to the courses difficulty. Its a fairly open course but enough trees come into play in the fairways to add moderate difficulty. The white and blue tee's are worth playing.
Cons: Only 2 holes with elavation change. Most of the course is a birdie fest (unless your Campbell who shot a 27 over from the whites).
Other Thoughts: A great opportunity for a picnic near the water after you play.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A great place to play

2-4    8/11/2006   12/1/2009
Review By: jonnieoh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun place to play; lots of variation in scenery, (along the Niagara River), in open fields, in woods. Well designed, unique holes provide a good challenge. Even some elevation changes, (though minor).
Cons: Have to share this popular park with others; picnicers, walkers, bikers, etc. Water holes mean that potential for losing discs is higher.
Other Thoughts: There are some really unique and challenging holes on this course, which make this a fun place to play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.