Columbus, OH 
Blendon Woods Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: A.Mutt Hole #15 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / --   3 / 188ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Noobs only need apply

1    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Extremely well-maintained course in a very nice park. Fairways are easier to spot than a dwarf on a basketball court. In fact, if I was a little person, I'd love this course, as it is very short. Baskets are in great shape, not a lot of underbrush so losing a disc is next to impossible. Tee signs on every hole and a little kiosk full of discs and very helpful attendants round up the positives. A little elevation here and there, some dry creeks to play over and nice cement tees.
Cons: Length is a massive con if you don't like every hole being under 200' or abouts. But if you're bringing little ones and rookies along it's a great course because it is really easy and therefore makes for competitive rounds for noobs. The pars assigned to the holes are, in a word, wack. Multiple par 4's which is ridiculous, no hole under 200' should be considered a 4 in my opinion. If I'm racking up eagles, there is a problem. My other big gripe is that every basket sits on a cement slab circle so short putts are going to get needlessly banged up.
Other Thoughts: If you've been playing for any kind of time, you need to bring a putter or two and just have at it. I was expecting a much more wooded course but it's pretty open in that you don't have hardly any trees as obstacles. This is a nice course but I had to low-ball it a little because of the length and the cement around the baskets. The big thing to take away is that this is a beginner's course, and a very nice one at that.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 my first course

5+    8/20/2009   10/29/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 166  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sexy fairways

Multiple angles

Nice pads and baskets

Pro shop with new and rental plastic

3 practice baskets
Cons: Short

Blacktop surrounds every basket - approx 6 ft radius

Pay to play - I may be reaching here, it is worth more than the $1.50. Hell, I can hardly buy a sports drink for that.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I played, back in 1988. I have been very diligent in rating it appropriately. If I were to rate it according to my personal feelings, it would be a 4.5!

This course has several shots and angles, even though it is short. The longest hole is in the 280 range and the shortest is around 140.

The entire course is within a wooded area of the park. Every hole has woods as the rough on the perimeter, yet every hole has plenty of space to throw. There are some dog legs, rightys, leftys and strait shots.

This is definitely a "beginners" course. Whenever I introduce anyone to the game here in Columbus, I always take them to Blendon. It is fun and challenging for novices. I bring my daughters here regularly. They are 8 and 9 years old. They have a ball throwing their Aviars.

Whenever I want to work on my mid game, and want an ace, I come here solo. I only bring a couple mids and a putter. That's all you need. Still, you truly can shape up your short game at this course. To repeat - for a short course, it is diverse.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Blendon

5+    11/10/2008   12/3/2008
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 108  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Very Nicely Maintained
Benches and Trash Cans on Every Hole
Ample Parking
Restrooms In Park (Near Turn In for Course)
Easy to Follow
Disc Kiosk to Buy and Rent Discs
Three Practice Baskets
Picnic Area with Grills Beside Course
Soda Machines at Entrance
Water Fountain Near Parking Lot
Cons:
Can Get Very Crowded
Short/Novice or Rec Course
Black Top Around Base of Basket
Closes an Hour before Dusk (Only takes 40 minutes to play.)
Players Have Vandalized Tee Signs and Benches
Other Thoughts:
Good course for what they were given to work with. Short holes but very technical. While there are very defined fairways, most of them are very tight as you play through the woods for pretty much every hole. While the longest hole is just over 280ft each hole is very interesting and different from the hole before.

The course is a pay course but you can see where the money goes to use. The course is always clean and there are trash cans located at every hole. The course also has the great addition of benches at every hole which is really nice for those busy summer days.

Staff in the park and at the course are very friendly and helpful. If you have any questions or need discs, they are more than willing to help you out. The shack at the course entrance sell discs, bags, and other accessories as well as a small variety of snacks.

Do not speed through park. The rangers will pull you over, plus its rude, there are kids in park most of the time.

Edit: Course could use a little work. Vandals have written all over the tee signs and benches, as well as damaged a couple signs. It's very unfortunate, the course use to be in immaculate condition, but really starting to show signs of use over the past year or two.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

6/15/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good course to learn on, take the family to or just go play with a putter to warm-up and work on your short game. Good facility, beverages and discs on site.
Cons: 1.50$ to play, very short providing no challenge to an experienced player.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.