Columbus, OH 
Blendon Woods Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: A.Mutt Hole #4 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 183ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Bland in Woods

5+    1/11/2015   1/21/2015
Review By: Derek B
Played: 120  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Protection from wind
2) Mid range/putting practice
3) Ace runs
4) Concrete tees
5) Excellent signage
6) Quick round if short on time
7) Great practice area with 3 practice baskets
8) Good course to bring your family
9) Highlight hole: 6
Cons: 1) Too short
2) Asphalt around baskets
3) Too easy
4) Too many similar shots
5) Pay to play
Other Thoughts: The course, as the name suggests, is in the woods. The holes have very well defined fairways with very few obstacles in the fairways to shoot around. Most of the holes are around 200' and there are lefty and righty-favored holes, but most holes allow for a variety of shots to get there. The most challenging hole on the course is hole 6 imo...I think it's over 250', curves slightly to the right and goes uphill. This is probably the hardest hole on the course to birdie, especially if you're a RHBH thrower. It used to be a little harder, but multiple trees came down during a storm a few years back.

The course is usually in good shape; i.e., debris, thorns, briars are gone. They recently replaced the signs (which now have different hole distances than the old signs!?) and they are nice, although I don't know that the course really needed new signs because it's very easy to navigate and to find the targets.

With the course being so short and wooded, this is a good one to play if you are short on time, want some protection from the wind, want to get an ace, and/or want to practice your putting and mid range game. If you're looking for a more challenging round, go to the Brent Hambrick Memorial which is less than 10 minutes away.

I entitled this review "Bland in Woods" for a reason. It doesn't have any defining features that make it stand apart from any other course and most of the holes are easy. If you're skilled with a putter, you could get by with just bringing this disc to the course and still shoot a -10 round shooting all par threes. Further, the targets have a ring of asphalt around them, which only serves as trampoline for your discs to bounce 30-40' away from the basket. On top of this, they charge you money to play here, which makes it even more unattractive.

Even with the negatives, this course still has value. It's a great winter course. It's a great training area for beginners and/or more experienced players that want to hone their midrange and/or putting game, and if you're hankering for an ace, this is the place to come. Just don't expect to encounter too much challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Fall and Rise of Blendon...

5+    9/7/2014   9/30/2012
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained short course
Great place to practice short game
easy to find discs
Easy to follow, well planned layout.
Cons: If this course were not 5 minutes from my house I'd never play it.

Many trees being removed. Not only does this eliminate a lot of the challenge on this course, but removes much of the privacy and protection between the front 9 holes.

Short, short short. No real chance to stretch your arm. Leave anything longer than a fairway driver at home.

Tons of chuckers and one disc wonders. If you go on a nice day, expect to find a large group slowing traffic and not letting people through. I've run into this issue 3 times in the last two weeks, and now just play elsewere.
Other Thoughts: Deleted original "Other Thoughts" as they do not apply to the course as it sits in 2015.

Edit: I am absolutely heartbroken at the way they are scalping this course. Many trees are being removed, either due to storm damage or Emerald Ash Borer, and the course is quickly becoming too easy to bother playing.

Second edit: They really need to hire someone to collect money for the course. Currently it's over-run with people who have no idea of basic etiquette.

Third Edit: Still more trees are being removed. This will be an open field with baskets about 200' apart if they keep this up. My rating on this course has dropped from a 3.5 originally to a 2 now due to the lack of challenge. Chuckers, one disc wonders, and herd golfers remain a major issue.

Fourth Edit: I hadn't played Blendon in quite some time, but improvements have been made. New signs are being installed and a drinking fountain has been added before hole 9. I'll give Blendon a small bump for the work they're doing, but this is still not a course worth traveling for.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Noobs only need apply

1    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 111  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 8.1 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Extremely well-maintained course in a very nice park. Fairways are easier to spot than a dwarf on a basketball court. In fact, if I was a little person, I'd love this course, as it is very short. Baskets are in great shape, not a lot of underbrush so losing a disc is next to impossible. Tee signs on every hole and a little kiosk full of discs and very helpful attendants round up the positives. A little elevation here and there, some dry creeks to play over and nice cement tees.
Cons: Length is a massive con if you don't like every hole being under 200' or abouts. But if you're bringing little ones and rookies along it's a great course because it is really easy and therefore makes for competitive rounds for noobs. The pars assigned to the holes are, in a word, wack. Multiple par 4's which is ridiculous, no hole under 200' should be considered a 4 in my opinion. If I'm racking up eagles, there is a problem. My other big gripe is that every basket sits on a cement slab circle so short putts are going to get needlessly banged up.
Other Thoughts: If you've been playing for any kind of time, you need to bring a putter or two and just have at it. I was expecting a much more wooded course but it's pretty open in that you don't have hardly any trees as obstacles. This is a nice course but I had to low-ball it a little because of the length and the cement around the baskets. The big thing to take away is that this is a beginner's course, and a very nice one at that.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 my first course

5+    8/20/2009   10/29/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 184  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 27 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sexy fairways

Multiple angles

Nice pads and baskets

Pro shop with new and rental plastic

3 practice baskets
Cons: Short

Blacktop surrounds every basket - approx 6 ft radius

Pay to play - I may be reaching here, it is worth more than the $1.50. Hell, I can hardly buy a sports drink for that.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I played, back in 1988. I have been very diligent in rating it appropriately. If I were to rate it according to my personal feelings, it would be a 4.5!

This course has several shots and angles, even though it is short. The longest hole is in the 280 range and the shortest is around 140.

The entire course is within a wooded area of the park. Every hole has woods as the rough on the perimeter, yet every hole has plenty of space to throw. There are some dog legs, rightys, leftys and strait shots.

This is definitely a "beginners" course. Whenever I introduce anyone to the game here in Columbus, I always take them to Blendon. It is fun and challenging for novices. I bring my daughters here regularly. They are 8 and 9 years old. They have a ball throwing their Aviars.

Whenever I want to work on my mid game, and want an ace, I come here solo. I only bring a couple mids and a putter. That's all you need. Still, you truly can shape up your short game at this course. To repeat - for a short course, it is diverse.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Blendon

5+    11/10/2008   12/3/2008
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 126  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Very Nicely Maintained
Benches and Trash Cans on Every Hole
Ample Parking
Restrooms In Park (Near Turn In for Course)
Easy to Follow
Disc Kiosk to Buy and Rent Discs
Three Practice Baskets
Picnic Area with Grills Beside Course
Soda Machines at Entrance
Water Fountain Near Parking Lot
Cons:
Can Get Very Crowded
Short/Novice or Rec Course
Black Top Around Base of Basket
Closes an Hour before Dusk (Only takes 40 minutes to play.)
Players Have Vandalized Tee Signs and Benches
Other Thoughts:
Good course for what they were given to work with. Short holes but very technical. While there are very defined fairways, most of them are very tight as you play through the woods for pretty much every hole. While the longest hole is just over 280ft each hole is very interesting and different from the hole before.

The course is a pay course but you can see where the money goes to use. The course is always clean and there are trash cans located at every hole. The course also has the great addition of benches at every hole which is really nice for those busy summer days.

Staff in the park and at the course are very friendly and helpful. If you have any questions or need discs, they are more than willing to help you out. The shack at the course entrance sell discs, bags, and other accessories as well as a small variety of snacks.

Do not speed through park. The rangers will pull you over, plus its rude, there are kids in park most of the time.

Edit: Course could use a little work. Vandals have written all over the tee signs and benches, as well as damaged a couple signs. It's very unfortunate, the course use to be in immaculate condition, but really starting to show signs of use over the past year or two.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

6/15/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 17.3 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good course to learn on, take the family to or just go play with a putter to warm-up and work on your short game. Good facility, beverages and discs on site.
Cons: 1.50$ to play, very short providing no challenge to an experienced player.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.