Columbus, OH 
Blendon Woods Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: A.Mutt Hole #5 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / --   3 / 189ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
  Blendon Review

5+    7/11/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: mack.calhoun
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -short so you can play a couple rounds
-easy for beginners
- 3 practice tees
- free for the summer
- metro park cleans up fast
- clean
-concrete tees
- possible to ace all holes
Cons: -very tight and heavily wooded
-easy to lose discs
-only par 3's
- alot of people
Other Thoughts: great course to play, im not that good so its awesome

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but fun

1    7/6/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: DiscDave
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Well groomed
*Nice use of space
*Lots of trash cans and benches
*Secluded
*Good variety of technical shots needed
Cons: *Really shouldn't be any par 4's
*Not fond of the asphalt "greens" surrounding baskets
Other Thoughts: Even though I've only been playing a little over a year, I thought this course was one of the nicest I've played. The holes are well-layed out and there is no guesswork wondering where the next tee pad is. Most of the holes are surrounded by a nice clearing so even if the fairway is a little tight, you are rewarded at the end of the hole with a clear line of sight for your putt. This is a good alternative to some of the more open courses in the area as all of the holes are wooded. Experienced players will not need more than a mid-range and putter. All in all, a nice course for a quick round. Well worth the $1.50 per round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Exec Course

1    6/20/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: Bohica1010
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well kept and very easy to follow the course. Great to work on your short game.
Cons: Should not be a single par 4 on this course. You can play this course with only a putter.
Other Thoughts: Plays very quick if you want to stop in on your lunch break. Tucked back and out of the way of the rest of the park so you don't have to worry about random people.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

2-4    5/20/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful park with a LOT to do other than disc golf. Multiple shelters/grilling areas, walking trails, and playgrounds. Bring the whole family!

That said, NONE of the other activities interfere with the disc golf course. All you ever see on the course are other disc golfers.

The course itself is made for working on accuracy. I've lost a few discs here trying to pull off a miracle shot because I didn't stay on the fairway. Choose your lines and hit them, and you'll score well here. Leave the drivers at home -- the only time I ever got in trouble was when I pulled a driver out to see if I could park a hole with a shot I don't normally throw.
Cons: Short. This doesn't bother me most of the time, but it's short and people who play it like to throw drivers on 200 ft. holes. You'll find discs flying everywhere, so keep your head up and pay attention.

Narrow. I don't really consider this a con, but some might. If you don't throw it straight, you will be hating life on this course. But it will make you improve your game, and learn to love the array of mids and putters you have (courses like this are the reason I carry five mids and three putters).

Crowded. People love this place, and with good reason. That means it gets used a LOT. You will end up playing through, or letting others play through, a lot.

"Par." I have no idea why any hole on this course is a par 4. I feel guilty carding a "birdie" when I make a 3 on any hole on this course. Play them all as par 3s.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, pure and simple. The challenge is here if you look for it. Big arms can use a putter or two (or three) and challenge themselves. Rec players with even a little experience can work on their midrange game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Had a great time

1    2/26/2011   2/26/2011
Review By: Mulligan
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I thought this course was a lot of fun.
Yeah, the holes are all pretty short, but they are interesting and give you a good time working at your mid range game.
Plenty of doglegs, shots through the trees, elevation changes, etc.
If you are an experienced player, it affords the opportunity to shoot for some aces.
I took my fiancee to play here, and she got a great confidence boost from hitting many pars and near birds.
This is a fabulous course for the beginner.
Cons: When busy, it can bet backed up quick. We just played around at the practice baskets letting folks get ahead, then had the course to ourselves...
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to try it out in the spring/summer. Only a couple of miles from the Hambick course, so its a no brainer to hit this one up as a warm up round once in awhile!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, for everyone

5+    11/18/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: kcoates
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good Tee Pads and baskets
-Accurate Tee Signs
-3 different practice baskets
-Very well maintained
-Good mix of left to right, right to left shots
-Good for beginners
Cons: -I'm not a fan of the 10 foot diameter concrete "green" around the baskets
-Every hole is short, know that coming in
-Can get very crowded at times, alot of times with people that don't know how to play
-Costs $1.50
Other Thoughts: All in all I really like Blendon Woods. It's not a distance course but pretty technical and you can really work on your form at this course. If you've not played before or you are bringing someone relatively new with you it's a very good course for that.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 blendon

5+    2/26/2010   2/28/2010
Review By: kyle420420
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very well set up
-the holes are close together no long walks between holes
-very well maintained
-pro shop on site
-vending machines on site
-plenty of parking
Cons: -pay to play $1.50 a round $4.50 a day
-short
-concrete surrounded the basket
-can be busy at times
- no dogs
Other Thoughts: this course is great for a quick fun game. it will build your confidance in your mid range and putting game. the pro shop has discs for rent. there are three parctice tees one with a around the world type game. close to the freeway.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Fav

5+    11/15/2009   11/25/2009
Review By: shots17
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Diverse holes ranging from open straight shots over gulley to heavy wooded curves around corners. You really get to work on your technical shots through these obstacles. Very easy course to follow even for 1st timers.
Cons: Not free. But cheap. Course can be muddy near rivers. Areas off the beaten path are quite rough. Difficult to locate rogue discs.
Other Thoughts: Laid out very well. Short distances between holes. Good balance between wooded and open areas. Often hole has both features.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This should be the 1st course you ever play

5+    6/10/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Great course to learn Disc Golf
Discs available to rent
Well Maintained
Plenty of ace opportunities
Generous Pars make for low scores and high self esteem
Good variety of shots
Cons: Once you become good at Disc Golf you will want to start looking for a more challenging course

You gotta pay. It's only 1.50 and it's worth it. I'm just not used to paying
Other Thoughts: I played this course a lot when I was just learning how to play. It was fun then and its still fun today, but when I play it now it seems alot easier and smaller.

If you looking to introduce someone new to Disc Golf then this is the place to take em. Every shot on the course is interesting but fairly easy.

Every single hole on the course is wooded but the fairways are wide and cleared out. There are almost no narrow passageways (except hole 5) or tricky obsticles (except for hole 12)

Even if your an advanced player it's good to come back here every now and again just for old times sake

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a good Beginner Course

5+    10/3/2008   4/3/2009
Review By: spookytay
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +a great course for beginners.
+Well taken care of
+small pro shop to buy a limited amount of discs they have available
+easy to walk around on
+has vending machines for beverages
+great practice area with several pins to throw at
Cons: -gets busy with players who play slower than usual (beginners or family)
-baskets are surrounded with black top.
-not free
Other Thoughts: costs $1.50 to play, worth the money for a fun quick round of putter play

I gave it 3.5 stars only because it's such a short course for beginners vs very easy for advanced players. Also, not many holes are that challenging, but it's very well taken care of and very fun to play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.