Columbus, OH 
Blendon Woods Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: A.Mutt Hole #18 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / --   4 / 231ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good Exec Course

1    6/20/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: Bohica1010
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well kept and very easy to follow the course. Great to work on your short game.
Cons: Should not be a single par 4 on this course. You can play this course with only a putter.
Other Thoughts: Plays very quick if you want to stop in on your lunch break. Tucked back and out of the way of the rest of the park so you don't have to worry about random people.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

2-4    5/20/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful park with a LOT to do other than disc golf. Multiple shelters/grilling areas, walking trails, and playgrounds. Bring the whole family!

That said, NONE of the other activities interfere with the disc golf course. All you ever see on the course are other disc golfers.

The course itself is made for working on accuracy. I've lost a few discs here trying to pull off a miracle shot because I didn't stay on the fairway. Choose your lines and hit them, and you'll score well here. Leave the drivers at home -- the only time I ever got in trouble was when I pulled a driver out to see if I could park a hole with a shot I don't normally throw.
Cons: Short. This doesn't bother me most of the time, but it's short and people who play it like to throw drivers on 200 ft. holes. You'll find discs flying everywhere, so keep your head up and pay attention.

Narrow. I don't really consider this a con, but some might. If you don't throw it straight, you will be hating life on this course. But it will make you improve your game, and learn to love the array of mids and putters you have (courses like this are the reason I carry five mids and three putters).

Crowded. People love this place, and with good reason. That means it gets used a LOT. You will end up playing through, or letting others play through, a lot.

"Par." I have no idea why any hole on this course is a par 4. I feel guilty carding a "birdie" when I make a 3 on any hole on this course. Play them all as par 3s.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, pure and simple. The challenge is here if you look for it. Big arms can use a putter or two (or three) and challenge themselves. Rec players with even a little experience can work on their midrange game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Coure

1    6/15/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 27  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice, long tee pads and open fairways. The layout was VERY easy to follow. And even though it is pay-to-play, a buck-fifty is a bargain, and at 4.50 all day, can't rally be beat.

The layout, though super short, is fun and pin-placement is solid. I didn't see any holes I'd consider 'dumb'.

This is a great beginner course with the short, relatively wide fairways. It's an easy course for beginners to master.
Cons: If you play much better than a good rec player, you'll get bored quickly. Plus the course with very busy and plays slow with young, beginning player
Other Thoughts: I think I through my putter 95% of the time and only brought out a beat up Roc on a couple of shots. If you're looking to work on your long game, it's not here. Bring a putter and practice your upshots.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Had a great time

1    2/26/2011   2/26/2011
Review By: Mulligan
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I thought this course was a lot of fun.
Yeah, the holes are all pretty short, but they are interesting and give you a good time working at your mid range game.
Plenty of doglegs, shots through the trees, elevation changes, etc.
If you are an experienced player, it affords the opportunity to shoot for some aces.
I took my fiancee to play here, and she got a great confidence boost from hitting many pars and near birds.
This is a fabulous course for the beginner.
Cons: When busy, it can bet backed up quick. We just played around at the practice baskets letting folks get ahead, then had the course to ourselves...
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to try it out in the spring/summer. Only a couple of miles from the Hambick course, so its a no brainer to hit this one up as a warm up round once in awhile!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, for everyone

5+    11/18/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: kcoates
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good Tee Pads and baskets
-Accurate Tee Signs
-3 different practice baskets
-Very well maintained
-Good mix of left to right, right to left shots
-Good for beginners
Cons: -I'm not a fan of the 10 foot diameter concrete "green" around the baskets
-Every hole is short, know that coming in
-Can get very crowded at times, alot of times with people that don't know how to play
-Costs $1.50
Other Thoughts: All in all I really like Blendon Woods. It's not a distance course but pretty technical and you can really work on your form at this course. If you've not played before or you are bringing someone relatively new with you it's a very good course for that.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/26/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: OhioDiscer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2011
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Bench and trashcan at almost every hole. Good use of nature holes. Restrooms near the entrance of the course with a little booth to rent or buy discs from.
Cons: You have to pay 1.50 for a round 4.50 to play all day. This course can be the most crowded in Ohio due to it's small size most of there par 4s are now really par 3s so be aware. This course is really jam packed on the weekends. This is a short course so if your an advanced or pro player you might find yourself a little bored.
Other Thoughts: The very first course I ever played great for teaching newbies.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Starting Course

5+    6/29/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Good start for learning how to drive with shorter holes
- Small pro shop on site, the guys that work there are great and know everything about the course.
-Shelter on site if you run into bad weather.
-Friendly atmosphere, while there are a lot of first-timers a lot of the locals are extremely friendly.
-Can get a quick 45-minute round in on a good day
-Three practice holes, one DISCatcher Pro and two Mach 3s (what is used for the whole course). One Mach 3 has stones for an "Around 9" putting game.
Cons: - $1.50 per round, and $4.50. I recommend avoiding the $4.50 "all day" charge because you think you're going to play more than 4 rounds, but you probably won't.
- Bad course for those who rely on their strong arms, you could spend a while looking if you overshoot the 150-200 ft. holes.
-A little bit on the short side, but as mentioned before this is a more of a beginner- friendly course
Other Thoughts: Although Blendon Woods is rather short, it is extremely well kept and is a great course for fine-tuning your short game and getting your friends into DG. I would definitely bring people here before Brent Hambrick.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Noobs only need apply

1    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 100  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 7.1 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Extremely well-maintained course in a very nice park. Fairways are easier to spot than a dwarf on a basketball court. In fact, if I was a little person, I'd love this course, as it is very short. Baskets are in great shape, not a lot of underbrush so losing a disc is next to impossible. Tee signs on every hole and a little kiosk full of discs and very helpful attendants round up the positives. A little elevation here and there, some dry creeks to play over and nice cement tees.
Cons: Length is a massive con if you don't like every hole being under 200' or abouts. But if you're bringing little ones and rookies along it's a great course because it is really easy and therefore makes for competitive rounds for noobs. The pars assigned to the holes are, in a word, wack. Multiple par 4's which is ridiculous, no hole under 200' should be considered a 4 in my opinion. If I'm racking up eagles, there is a problem. My other big gripe is that every basket sits on a cement slab circle so short putts are going to get needlessly banged up.
Other Thoughts: If you've been playing for any kind of time, you need to bring a putter or two and just have at it. I was expecting a much more wooded course but it's pretty open in that you don't have hardly any trees as obstacles. This is a nice course but I had to low-ball it a little because of the length and the cement around the baskets. The big thing to take away is that this is a beginner's course, and a very nice one at that.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 blendon

5+    2/26/2010   2/28/2010
Review By: kyle420420
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very well set up
-the holes are close together no long walks between holes
-very well maintained
-pro shop on site
-vending machines on site
-plenty of parking
Cons: -pay to play $1.50 a round $4.50 a day
-short
-concrete surrounded the basket
-can be busy at times
- no dogs
Other Thoughts: this course is great for a quick fun game. it will build your confidance in your mid range and putting game. the pro shop has discs for rent. there are three parctice tees one with a around the world type game. close to the freeway.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Fav

5+    11/15/2009   11/25/2009
Review By: shots17
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Diverse holes ranging from open straight shots over gulley to heavy wooded curves around corners. You really get to work on your technical shots through these obstacles. Very easy course to follow even for 1st timers.
Cons: Not free. But cheap. Course can be muddy near rivers. Areas off the beaten path are quite rough. Difficult to locate rogue discs.
Other Thoughts: Laid out very well. Short distances between holes. Good balance between wooded and open areas. Often hole has both features.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center