Columbus, OH 
Blendon Woods Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: A.Mutt Hole #7 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / --   3 / 179ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
A good course for beginners

2-4    4/20/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: kafbucks
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good long concrete tees, full 18 hole course, fairways are kept clean and well maintained, the holes are on concrete circles, the course is fantastic for beginners and the course is easy to navigate through.
Cons: some holes have really steep hills on the rough making it easy to lose your disc like i did last time, if your an intermediate player the course may seem to easy, or too short (for example one hole is around 250 ft and its a par 4) there are thorn bushes everywhere in the rough that made it a little difficult to get my disc out of without cutting my hand, and the course cost $1.50 to play through it once, or $4.50 to play as many times as you want, the chains on some of the holes seemed a little rusted, and not too much variety in the holes.
Other Thoughts: Over all the course isn't bad, it's just really short, so it's perfect for beginners who want to learn the game. For intermediate to pro players however I'd steer toward other courses. But for what the course is its not terrible. Take that however you want.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nearly Riskless Traditional

2-4    10/27/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 160  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Blendon Woods is a really nice park on the northeast side of Columbus, Ohio, about 2-3 miles south of the Brent Hambrink course at Hoover Reservoir. The park has lots of family outdoor activities and a bunch of really nice hiking trails. The disc golf course is obviously a 1980's style course with holes ranging from 146 to 285 feet in length, with most of them being ace run/ birdie bash opportunities for all Intermediate level players and above. What that means is that the course is well established, popular with casual to Recreational level players, and you really won't need a map to find the next tee, as thousands have beat in the paths for you.

There are nice, new(er) DGA baskets out there (including multiple practice baskets near the kiosk at the start, which also has a course map), which catch your shots extremely well. The nice concrete tees are definitely good for the shortness of the course, and there is some really nice landscaping raising the 16th tee. There are plenty of benches and trash cans, and it seems to be fairly well tidied up for such a popular course. The fairways are situated apart from other park activities, so you won't see many non-players near your throws.

The shots feel as if they tend to favor left to right turns, and even when you can't see the basket immediately from the tee, you'll only have to walk a short distance ahead to pick them out. The main thing about this course is that it is extremely forgiving. It may once have been tighter, but I felt as if every fairway was now pretty easy to manage. The greens pose no serious risk of a bad shot at an ace or a deuce winding up giving you a four. In all, this is an enjoyable little course to work on your short game. Memorable holes were probably 5 (a short, tight hook anny - rhbh) just past a marshy bottom rough, that I almost aced, and maybe 18, which plays slightly uphill, and requires a decently controlled fade to the pin position just out of view on the left.
Cons: The 80's had a lot of asphalt 'greens' at the basket, and Blendon still has these, offering you skip-aways, plus wear and tear on baseline plastic. But they have upgraded the tees to concrete (a while back). There are a number of places where the next tee is in line with, and only 40-50' past the previous basket. Wild casual chuckers could wind up in parallel fairways, as the course design favors 'out, back, out' sets of three holes at a time. The fairways on holes 16 & 17 seemed as if they might be prone to holding water and might be muddy days after rain. And there were a lot of times where I came to a new hole, and thought, "oh, this one's just like that last one, and the one two before…"
Other Thoughts: There is an honor box at the course entrance asking players to drop in $1.50 per play, or $4.50 all day, to help with the cost of maintenance. Some would put this in the "con's" section, but I thought it was a fair amount for an out of towner checking out the course. The park might want to work with the Columbus club to sell locals a cool bag tag or key chain fob for each season?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ye Olde Blendon

5+    8/12/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: ForehandAnhyzer
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Located in a nice park with beautiful green foliage
-A great course to introduce people to disc golf
-Nice putting area with a discatcher and two other baskets
-Will challenge you with many different throws
-Great for an ace race and mid range accuracy
-Would be great for night discing
-Just a beautiful park and course that makes use of many differing factors such as the shots and the topography
-Drink machine and lounging areas
-Well maintained
-Has nice tees and signs, trash cans, benches
-Can play quickly and then head over the Hoover for the bigger action.
-WATER!
Cons:
-The biggest con for me, personally, is that they strictly don't allow dogs, and they even have two signs telling you that as you walk in! I play with my dog 99.9% of the time and she has become the most important member of our crew, so denying her entrance is enough to turn me away almost for good. This isn't out of spite; my dog discs with us all the time and beyond her just being awesome, we need her there with us. That said...
-The course gets very crowded and it tends to attract the proverbial "chucker."
-This course is more for beginners and subsequently has short holes
-You will probably find yourself bored and wanting to play Hoover and explore other courses if you are trying to advance your game.
-Blendon lost trees I hear from the ash borer, so it is disappointing to see her not as glorious as she used to be, but she is still a beaut.
-It is a short course so you won't need drivers and there are no holes to really air it out on other than maybe 17, and even then you don't have too much room for error.
-It still smells by the watery parts! haha
-Don't go 15 MPH driving up to the place or you are subject to hear about it from the rangers ;)
-The course used to have a disc hut where you would pay but now they just have a donation box that is basically still requiring you to pay (or be subject to moral scrutiny!), but without them making any effort to take your money. I understand they need to maintain it, but the whole box thing strikes me as odd. Plus, you can't buy their sweet wares anymore.
Other Thoughts:
Blendon Woods is a beautiful little park there and it is not far off the beaten path. Hoover is close by, and Sunbury not far either.

I don't really have much to say against Blendon (I know I typed a lot in the cons!). It gets crowded and often the people can be less than courteous.
She isn't as green and dense as she used to be, but the course is still quite nice to walk through and play.

I used to play here all the time when starting disc golf until I outgrew it and wanted to throw Hoover all the time. It is nice to go back and play Blendon, especially as a warm up to Hoover, but with their disallowance of dogs, I just can't see myself ever playing here really.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Steady on Ed, steady on!

2-4    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: RollingStone
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 22.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A basic "Steady Ed" course. Short, fairly tightly wooded shots. Precision rather than raw power will be rewarded here.

Solid place to work on putting, with 3 practice baskets available.

Shelter house and open field make for a nice "driving range" to warm up.
Cons: This seems to be the "beginners course" in Columbus, and etiquette can be lacking, despite plenty of instructional signs at the first tee.

People don't pay the honor box, and maintenance is somewhat lacking consequently. Currently there are no major problems, but I can see where there will be eventually.

Absurd course pars. This course claims to be a par 63, but the longest hole is 284'! I shot a 42 with nothing but a pair of Wizards. There isn't a single par 4 on this course.

Only one set of tees and pin positions. To add more would require a major redesign and if people won't pay, this won't happen.
Other Thoughts: Blendon is a fun course to play at off-peak times. However, on a nice weekend or evening go elsewhere. This course is clearly an older design, and evoked many nostalgic memories when I was playing it. I hope they hire someone to man the booth, so that there can be some money to put into the course. There's a decent amount of brush to clear, and there is enough unused land to add another 9 short holes, or to lengthen and redesign the existing 18.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good for beginners, ace run and mid range practice

5+    8/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: Nasty Nate
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Practice putting area
- Benches and trash cans for your convenience
- Good for beginners
- Is close to Hoover so you can warm up here and then play a bigger course
- Drink machine on site
-Water fountain on site
-Picnic tables
-Concrete tees
-Nice signage
Cons: - No one works there anymore and there is an honor box of a suggested $1.50 for upkeep of the course. This also eliminates the small disc shop that was once there.
- Is rather small and some holes are very short at around 170 feet and the shots get repetitive.
- Lost many trees due to the ash borer so it is not as woodsy as it used to be.
-No dogs allowed :(
Other Thoughts: Blendon is a decent little course that is good for mid range work and also for introducing people to disc golf. The course offers a few different shot opportunities mostly in right and left doglegs but many of the holes are just short, straight shots through open space. Some trees come into play but for the most part it is not particularly challenging for an experienced player. The course itself is in good shape.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The rape of Blendon....

5+    9/30/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained short course
Great place to practice short game
easy to find discs
Easy to follow, well planned layout.
Cons: If this course were not 5 minutes from my house I'd never play it.

Many trees being removed. Not only does this eliminate a lot of the challenge on this course, but removes much of the privacy and protection between the front 9 holes.

Short, short short. No real chance to stretch your arm. Leave anything longer than a fairway driver at home.

Tons of chuckers and one disc wonders. If you go on a nice day, expect to find a large group slowing traffic and not letting people through. I've run into this issue 3 times in the last two weeks, and now just play elsewere.
Other Thoughts: Third Edit: Still more trees are being removed. This will be an open field with baskets about 200' apart if they keep this up. My rating on this course has dropped from a 3.5 originally to a 2 now due to the lack of challenge. Chuckers, one disc wonders, and herd golfers remain a major issue.

Second edit: They really need to hire someone to collect money for the course. Currently it's over-run with people who have no idea of basic etiquette.

Edit: I am absolutely heartbroken at the way they are scalping this course. Many trees are being removed, either due to storm damage or Emerald Ash Borer, and the course is quickly becoming too easy to bother playing.

Setting aside the fact that there are better free courses in the area, Blendon is a nice place for a quick, enjoyable round. I learned to play years ago on a long field course, and after an 8 year layoff Blendon is the second course I've played. As I'm rediscovering my game I've gone from shooting 8 over pro par to a 3 under today, so I've outgrown the course quickly. On the other hand, the tight, low fairways are a great way to practice precision and work on different types of shots that other courses only require once in a while. To me playing Blendon is like going to the driving range with only my wedges. It's a great way to work on an aspect of my game that might otherwise get neglected.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Short 18

5+    7/14/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: NCapo18
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained
-Concrete tee pads
-Maps on every hole
-Lots of benches and trash cans
-In the woods which is nice on a hot day
Cons: -Holes are short, but there are a few long ones.
-Not a lot of shot varieties
-Good practice course and for beginners
-$1.50 to play but is free right now
Other Thoughts: I like to play this course when I play hoover because it is close and you can play a quick round and have time to play several courses in a day. You could use your putter and mid-range throughout the course if you are experienced.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    7/19/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: danthehammer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Signs for every hole w/par and distance
-Layout is easy to follow for first timers
-Great for beginners
-Solid variety of hole types (doglegs, elevation changes, etc.)
-Three practice pins at the start
-Many tee boxes have benches and/or trash cans
-Well maintained
-Scorecards, bathrooms, and water fountains are all available
Cons: -Concrete "greens"
-Very short for experience players
-It's a $1.50 per round (no one has been at the booth this summer, but I still pay)
-Can get crowded
Other Thoughts: Let me start by saying that this is one of my favorite courses that I've played around the central Ohio area and I usually play here once or twice a week.

-It is a short course and for being entirely in the woods it is not overly narrow, so a player with more experience might not find it challenging enough. A couple holes are a little to simplistic, but most have some sort of bend, elevation change, or an obstacle to go around.
-There is a booth for a attendant, although no one has been there this summer, when they get a new attendant they will probably sells and rents discs again.
-With the recent storms in the area all woodied courses around central Ohio have taken some heavy damage, but this course has been cleaned up very well.
-If it wasnt for the concrete greens, which can cause a nice tee or approach to skip off, large crowds, and $1.50 a round I would have given this a 5 rating.

If you have a friend and you want to introduce them to disc this is a great course to do it, it was what got me hooked.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Blendon Review

5+    7/11/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: mack.calhoun
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -short so you can play a couple rounds
-easy for beginners
- 3 practice tees
- free for the summer
- metro park cleans up fast
- clean
-concrete tees
- possible to ace all holes
Cons: -very tight and heavily wooded
-easy to lose discs
-only par 3's
- alot of people
Other Thoughts: great course to play, im not that good so its awesome

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but fun

1    7/6/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: DiscDave
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Well groomed
*Nice use of space
*Lots of trash cans and benches
*Secluded
*Good variety of technical shots needed
Cons: *Really shouldn't be any par 4's
*Not fond of the asphalt "greens" surrounding baskets
Other Thoughts: Even though I've only been playing a little over a year, I thought this course was one of the nicest I've played. The holes are well-layed out and there is no guesswork wondering where the next tee pad is. Most of the holes are surrounded by a nice clearing so even if the fairway is a little tight, you are rewarded at the end of the hole with a clear line of sight for your putt. This is a good alternative to some of the more open courses in the area as all of the holes are wooded. Experienced players will not need more than a mid-range and putter. All in all, a nice course for a quick round. Well worth the $1.50 per round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center