Columbus, OH 
Blendon Woods Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: A.Mutt Hole #5 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 189ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Bland in Woods

5+    1/11/2015   1/21/2015
Review By: Derek B
Played: 125  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Protection from wind
2) Mid range/putting practice
3) Ace runs
4) Concrete tees
5) Excellent signage
6) Quick round if short on time
7) Great practice area with 3 practice baskets
8) Good course to bring your family
9) Highlight hole: 6
Cons: 1) Too short
2) Asphalt around baskets
3) Too easy
4) Too many similar shots
5) Pay to play
Other Thoughts: The course, as the name suggests, is in the woods. The holes have very well defined fairways with very few obstacles in the fairways to shoot around. Most of the holes are around 200' and there are lefty and righty-favored holes, but most holes allow for a variety of shots to get there. The most challenging hole on the course is hole 6 imo...I think it's over 250', curves slightly to the right and goes uphill. This is probably the hardest hole on the course to birdie, especially if you're a RHBH thrower. It used to be a little harder, but multiple trees came down during a storm a few years back.

The course is usually in good shape; i.e., debris, thorns, briars are gone. They recently replaced the signs (which now have different hole distances than the old signs!?) and they are nice, although I don't know that the course really needed new signs because it's very easy to navigate and to find the targets.

With the course being so short and wooded, this is a good one to play if you are short on time, want some protection from the wind, want to get an ace, and/or want to practice your putting and mid range game. If you're looking for a more challenging round, go to the Brent Hambrick Memorial which is less than 10 minutes away.

I entitled this review "Bland in Woods" for a reason. It doesn't have any defining features that make it stand apart from any other course and most of the holes are easy. If you're skilled with a putter, you could get by with just bringing this disc to the course and still shoot a -10 round shooting all par threes. Further, the targets have a ring of asphalt around them, which only serves as trampoline for your discs to bounce 30-40' away from the basket. On top of this, they charge you money to play here, which makes it even more unattractive.

Even with the negatives, this course still has value. It's a great winter course. It's a great training area for beginners and/or more experienced players that want to hone their midrange and/or putting game, and if you're hankering for an ace, this is the place to come. Just don't expect to encounter too much challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Throwback course in big metro area

1    1/1/2015   1/4/2015
Review By: jscincy1
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very long concrete tee pads
-Some of the best signage I have ever seen at a course
-Asphalt greens. I know why would eating plastic be a pro? Shot placement! If you miss running at it and get a bad skip of the greens it's going from carding a 2 to a 4
-Best use of what it had land wise that I have seen
-A very beautiful park
Cons: -The course is really small and close to other fairways
-Tee pads are way to close to the last hole.
-Given the low laying nature of some holes I imagine tough to play after rain.
Other Thoughts: I was really surprised by this course. Stopped in for a cold weather round with a friend due to its length. Now I am excited to see the course after the trees and brush grow back up as a warm up round for Hoover!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A good course for beginners

2-4    4/20/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: kafbucks
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good long concrete tees, full 18 hole course, fairways are kept clean and well maintained, the holes are on concrete circles, the course is fantastic for beginners and the course is easy to navigate through.
Cons: some holes have really steep hills on the rough making it easy to lose your disc like i did last time, if your an intermediate player the course may seem to easy, or too short (for example one hole is around 250 ft and its a par 4) there are thorn bushes everywhere in the rough that made it a little difficult to get my disc out of without cutting my hand, and the course cost $1.50 to play through it once, or $4.50 to play as many times as you want, the chains on some of the holes seemed a little rusted, and not too much variety in the holes.
Other Thoughts: Over all the course isn't bad, it's just really short, so it's perfect for beginners who want to learn the game. For intermediate to pro players however I'd steer toward other courses. But for what the course is its not terrible. Take that however you want.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nearly Riskless Traditional

2-4    10/27/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 235  Reviewed: 220  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Blendon Woods is a really nice park on the northeast side of Columbus, Ohio, about 2-3 miles south of the Brent Hambrink course at Hoover Reservoir. The park has lots of family outdoor activities and a bunch of really nice hiking trails. The disc golf course is obviously a 1980's style course with holes ranging from 146 to 285 feet in length, with most of them being ace run/ birdie bash opportunities for all Intermediate level players and above. What that means is that the course is well established, popular with casual to Recreational level players, and you really won't need a map to find the next tee, as thousands have beat in the paths for you.

There are nice, new(er) DGA baskets out there (including multiple practice baskets near the kiosk at the start, which also has a course map), which catch your shots extremely well. The nice concrete tees are definitely good for the shortness of the course, and there is some really nice landscaping raising the 16th tee. There are plenty of benches and trash cans, and it seems to be fairly well tidied up for such a popular course. The fairways are situated apart from other park activities, so you won't see many non-players near your throws.

The shots feel as if they tend to favor left to right turns, and even when you can't see the basket immediately from the tee, you'll only have to walk a short distance ahead to pick them out. The main thing about this course is that it is extremely forgiving. It may once have been tighter, but I felt as if every fairway was now pretty easy to manage. The greens pose no serious risk of a bad shot at an ace or a deuce winding up giving you a four. In all, this is an enjoyable little course to work on your short game. Memorable holes were probably 5 (a short, tight hook anny - rhbh) just past a marshy bottom rough, that I almost aced, and maybe 18, which plays slightly uphill, and requires a decently controlled fade to the pin position just out of view on the left.
Cons: The 80's had a lot of asphalt 'greens' at the basket, and Blendon still has these, offering you skip-aways, plus wear and tear on baseline plastic. But they have upgraded the tees to concrete (a while back). There are a number of places where the next tee is in line with, and only 40-50' past the previous basket. Wild casual chuckers could wind up in parallel fairways, as the course design favors 'out, back, out' sets of three holes at a time. The fairways on holes 16 & 17 seemed as if they might be prone to holding water and might be muddy days after rain. And there were a lot of times where I came to a new hole, and thought, "oh, this one's just like that last one, and the one two before..."
Other Thoughts: There is an honor box at the course entrance asking players to drop in $1.50 per play, or $4.50 all day, to help with the cost of maintenance. Some would put this in the "con's" section, but I thought it was a fair amount for an out of towner checking out the course. The park might want to work with the Columbus club to sell locals a cool bag tag or key chain fob for each season?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ye Olde Blendon

5+    8/12/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: ForehandAnhyzer
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
-Located in a nice park with beautiful green foliage
-A great course to introduce people to disc golf
-Nice putting area with a discatcher and two other baskets
-Will challenge you with many different throws
-Great for an ace race and mid range accuracy
-Would be great for night discing
-Just a beautiful park and course that makes use of many differing factors such as the shots and the topography
-Drink machine and lounging areas
-Well maintained
-Has nice tees and signs, trash cans, benches
-Can play quickly and then head over the Hoover for the bigger action.
-The biggest con for me, personally, is that they strictly don't allow dogs, and they even have two signs telling you that as you walk in! I play with my dog 99.9% of the time and she has become the most important member of our crew, so denying her entrance is enough to turn me away almost for good. This isn't out of spite; my dog discs with us all the time and beyond her just being awesome, we need her there with us. That said...
-The course gets very crowded and it tends to attract the proverbial "chucker."
-This course is more for beginners and subsequently has short holes
-You will probably find yourself bored and wanting to play Hoover and explore other courses if you are trying to advance your game.
-Blendon lost trees I hear from the ash borer, so it is disappointing to see her not as glorious as she used to be, but she is still a beaut.
-It is a short course so you won't need drivers and there are no holes to really air it out on other than maybe 17, and even then you don't have too much room for error.
-It still smells by the watery parts! haha
-Don't go 15 MPH driving up to the place or you are subject to hear about it from the rangers ;)
-The course used to have a disc hut where you would pay but now they just have a donation box that is basically still requiring you to pay (or be subject to moral scrutiny!), but without them making any effort to take your money. I understand they need to maintain it, but the whole box thing strikes me as odd. Plus, you can't buy their sweet wares anymore.
Other Thoughts:
Blendon Woods is a beautiful little park there and it is not far off the beaten path. Hoover is close by, and Sunbury not far either.

I don't really have much to say against Blendon (I know I typed a lot in the cons!). It gets crowded and often the people can be less than courteous.
She isn't as green and dense as she used to be, but the course is still quite nice to walk through and play.

I used to play here all the time when starting disc golf until I outgrew it and wanted to throw Hoover all the time. It is nice to go back and play Blendon, especially as a warm up to Hoover, but with their disallowance of dogs, I just can't see myself ever playing here really.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Steady on Ed, steady on!

2-4    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: RollingStone
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 23.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A basic "Steady Ed" course. Short, fairly tightly wooded shots. Precision rather than raw power will be rewarded here.

Solid place to work on putting, with 3 practice baskets available.

Shelter house and open field make for a nice "driving range" to warm up.
Cons: This seems to be the "beginners course" in Columbus, and etiquette can be lacking, despite plenty of instructional signs at the first tee.

People don't pay the honor box, and maintenance is somewhat lacking consequently. Currently there are no major problems, but I can see where there will be eventually.

Absurd course pars. This course claims to be a par 63, but the longest hole is 284'! I shot a 42 with nothing but a pair of Wizards. There isn't a single par 4 on this course.

Only one set of tees and pin positions. To add more would require a major redesign and if people won't pay, this won't happen.
Other Thoughts: Blendon is a fun course to play at off-peak times. However, on a nice weekend or evening go elsewhere. This course is clearly an older design, and evoked many nostalgic memories when I was playing it. I hope they hire someone to man the booth, so that there can be some money to put into the course. There's a decent amount of brush to clear, and there is enough unused land to add another 9 short holes, or to lengthen and redesign the existing 18.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good for beginners, ace run and mid range practice

5+    3/12/2015   6/12/2013
Review By: Nasty Nate
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2015
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Practice putting area
- Benches and trash cans for your convenience
- Good for the short game and for beginners
- Is close to Hoover so you can warm up here and then play a bigger course
- Drink machine on site
-Water fountain on site
-Picnic tables
-Concrete tees
-Nice signage
-Works most every shot angle you'll need in a round and is great for accuracy
Cons: - No one works there anymore and there is an honor box of a suggested $1.50 for upkeep of the course. This also eliminates the small disc shop that was once there.
- The shortness of the course can get repetitive if you want more challenging play
- Lost many trees due to the ash borer so it is not as woodsy as it used to be.
-No dogs allowed :(
-There is asphalt under every pin so missed putts can chew up your putter
Other Thoughts: Blendon is a decent little course that is good for mid range work and also for introducing people to disc golf. The course offers a few different shot opportunities mostly in right and left doglegs but many of the holes are just short, straight shots through open space. Some trees come into play but for the most part it is not particularly challenging for an experienced player. Blendon is maintained well but hasn't changed at all since I've been playing. Overall, it's fun to play once in a while, but you'd probably want to go across the street to Hoover after a few goes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Fall and Rise of Blendon...

5+    9/7/2014   9/30/2012
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained short course
Great place to practice short game
easy to find discs
Easy to follow, well planned layout.
Cons: If this course were not 5 minutes from my house I'd never play it.

Many trees being removed. Not only does this eliminate a lot of the challenge on this course, but removes much of the privacy and protection between the front 9 holes.

Short, short short. No real chance to stretch your arm. Leave anything longer than a fairway driver at home.

Tons of chuckers and one disc wonders. If you go on a nice day, expect to find a large group slowing traffic and not letting people through. I've run into this issue 3 times in the last two weeks, and now just play elsewere.
Other Thoughts: Deleted original "Other Thoughts" as they do not apply to the course as it sits in 2015.

Edit: I am absolutely heartbroken at the way they are scalping this course. Many trees are being removed, either due to storm damage or Emerald Ash Borer, and the course is quickly becoming too easy to bother playing.

Second edit: They really need to hire someone to collect money for the course. Currently it's over-run with people who have no idea of basic etiquette.

Third Edit: Still more trees are being removed. This will be an open field with baskets about 200' apart if they keep this up. My rating on this course has dropped from a 3.5 originally to a 2 now due to the lack of challenge. Chuckers, one disc wonders, and herd golfers remain a major issue.

Fourth Edit: I hadn't played Blendon in quite some time, but improvements have been made. New signs are being installed and a drinking fountain has been added before hole 9. I'll give Blendon a small bump for the work they're doing, but this is still not a course worth traveling for.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Short 18

5+    7/14/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: NCapo18
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained
-Concrete tee pads
-Maps on every hole
-Lots of benches and trash cans
-In the woods which is nice on a hot day
Cons: -Holes are short, but there are a few long ones.
-Not a lot of shot varieties
-Good practice course and for beginners
-$1.50 to play but is free right now
Other Thoughts: I like to play this course when I play hoover because it is close and you can play a quick round and have time to play several courses in a day. You could use your putter and mid-range throughout the course if you are experienced.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    7/19/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: danthehammer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Signs for every hole w/par and distance
-Layout is easy to follow for first timers
-Great for beginners
-Solid variety of hole types (doglegs, elevation changes, etc.)
-Three practice pins at the start
-Many tee boxes have benches and/or trash cans
-Well maintained
-Scorecards, bathrooms, and water fountains are all available
Cons: -Concrete "greens"
-Very short for experience players
-It's a $1.50 per round (no one has been at the booth this summer, but I still pay)
-Can get crowded
Other Thoughts: Let me start by saying that this is one of my favorite courses that I've played around the central Ohio area and I usually play here once or twice a week.

-It is a short course and for being entirely in the woods it is not overly narrow, so a player with more experience might not find it challenging enough. A couple holes are a little to simplistic, but most have some sort of bend, elevation change, or an obstacle to go around.
-There is a booth for a attendant, although no one has been there this summer, when they get a new attendant they will probably sells and rents discs again.
-With the recent storms in the area all woodied courses around central Ohio have taken some heavy damage, but this course has been cleaned up very well.
-If it wasnt for the concrete greens, which can cause a nice tee or approach to skip off, large crowds, and $1.50 a round I would have given this a 5 rating.

If you have a friend and you want to introduce them to disc this is a great course to do it, it was what got me hooked.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.