Columbus, OH 
Blendon Woods Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: A.Mutt Hole #1 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 244ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Blendon Review

5+    7/11/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: mack.calhoun
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -short so you can play a couple rounds
-easy for beginners
- 3 practice tees
- free for the summer
- metro park cleans up fast
- clean
-concrete tees
- possible to ace all holes
Cons: -very tight and heavily wooded
-easy to lose discs
-only par 3's
- alot of people
Other Thoughts: great course to play, im not that good so its awesome

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but fun

1    7/6/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: DiscDave
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Well groomed
*Nice use of space
*Lots of trash cans and benches
*Secluded
*Good variety of technical shots needed
Cons: *Really shouldn't be any par 4's
*Not fond of the asphalt "greens" surrounding baskets
Other Thoughts: Even though I've only been playing a little over a year, I thought this course was one of the nicest I've played. The holes are well-layed out and there is no guesswork wondering where the next tee pad is. Most of the holes are surrounded by a nice clearing so even if the fairway is a little tight, you are rewarded at the end of the hole with a clear line of sight for your putt. This is a good alternative to some of the more open courses in the area as all of the holes are wooded. Experienced players will not need more than a mid-range and putter. All in all, a nice course for a quick round. Well worth the $1.50 per round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Exec Course

1    6/20/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: Bohica1010
Played: 46  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well kept and very easy to follow the course. Great to work on your short game.
Cons: Should not be a single par 4 on this course. You can play this course with only a putter.
Other Thoughts: Plays very quick if you want to stop in on your lunch break. Tucked back and out of the way of the rest of the park so you don't have to worry about random people.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

2-4    5/20/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 22  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful park with a LOT to do other than disc golf. Multiple shelters/grilling areas, walking trails, and playgrounds. Bring the whole family!

That said, NONE of the other activities interfere with the disc golf course. All you ever see on the course are other disc golfers.

The course itself is made for working on accuracy. I've lost a few discs here trying to pull off a miracle shot because I didn't stay on the fairway. Choose your lines and hit them, and you'll score well here. Leave the drivers at home -- the only time I ever got in trouble was when I pulled a driver out to see if I could park a hole with a shot I don't normally throw.
Cons: Short. This doesn't bother me most of the time, but it's short and people who play it like to throw drivers on 200 ft. holes. You'll find discs flying everywhere, so keep your head up and pay attention.

Narrow. I don't really consider this a con, but some might. If you don't throw it straight, you will be hating life on this course. But it will make you improve your game, and learn to love the array of mids and putters you have (courses like this are the reason I carry five mids and three putters).

Crowded. People love this place, and with good reason. That means it gets used a LOT. You will end up playing through, or letting others play through, a lot.

"Par." I have no idea why any hole on this course is a par 4. I feel guilty carding a "birdie" when I make a 3 on any hole on this course. Play them all as par 3s.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, pure and simple. The challenge is here if you look for it. Big arms can use a putter or two (or three) and challenge themselves. Rec players with even a little experience can work on their midrange game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Coure

1    6/15/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 64  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice, long tee pads and open fairways. The layout was VERY easy to follow. And even though it is pay-to-play, a buck-fifty is a bargain, and at 4.50 all day, can't rally be beat.

The layout, though super short, is fun and pin-placement is solid. I didn't see any holes I'd consider 'dumb'.

This is a great beginner course with the short, relatively wide fairways. It's an easy course for beginners to master.
Cons: If you play much better than a good rec player, you'll get bored quickly. Plus the course with very busy and plays slow with young, beginning player
Other Thoughts: I think I through my putter 95% of the time and only brought out a beat up Roc on a couple of shots. If you're looking to work on your long game, it's not here. Bring a putter and practice your upshots.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Had a great time

1    2/26/2011   2/26/2011
Review By: Mulligan
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2015
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is always fun.
Yeah, the holes are all pretty short, but they are interesting and give you a good time working at your mid range game.
Plenty of doglegs, shots through the trees, elevation changes, etc.
If you are an experienced player, it affords the opportunity to shoot for some aces or work on technique.
The woods are really nice, and the water fountain at hole 9 or 10 is a welcome amenity.
I've taken my wife to play here a bunch, and she a;ways gets a great confidence boost from hitting many pars and near birds.
As such, this is a fabulous course for someone you're introducing to disc golf, but will still challenge you, too.
Cons: When busy, it can bet backed up quick. Hang out at the practice basket and wait for it to clear out a bit and you're usually good. It tends to move along well, though, so not something that should make you avoid the area.
Other Thoughts: Only a couple of miles from the Hambick course, so its a no brainer to hit this one up as a warm up round once in awhile! In a lot of ways, I find this course more fun and interesting than Hambick anyway. Don't forget! Its pay to play... $1.50 a round or $5 all day.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, for everyone

5+    11/18/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: kcoates
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good Tee Pads and baskets
-Accurate Tee Signs
-3 different practice baskets
-Very well maintained
-Good mix of left to right, right to left shots
-Good for beginners
Cons: -I'm not a fan of the 10 foot diameter concrete "green" around the baskets
-Every hole is short, know that coming in
-Can get very crowded at times, alot of times with people that don't know how to play
-Costs $1.50
Other Thoughts: All in all I really like Blendon Woods. It's not a distance course but pretty technical and you can really work on your form at this course. If you've not played before or you are bringing someone relatively new with you it's a very good course for that.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/26/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: OhioDiscer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2011
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Bench and trashcan at almost every hole. Good use of nature holes. Restrooms near the entrance of the course with a little booth to rent or buy discs from.
Cons: You have to pay 1.50 for a round 4.50 to play all day. This course can be the most crowded in Ohio due to it's small size most of there par 4s are now really par 3s so be aware. This course is really jam packed on the weekends. This is a short course so if your an advanced or pro player you might find yourself a little bored.
Other Thoughts: The very first course I ever played great for teaching newbies.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Starting Course

5+    6/29/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Good start for learning how to drive with shorter holes
- Small pro shop on site, the guys that work there are great and know everything about the course.
-Shelter on site if you run into bad weather.
-Friendly atmosphere, while there are a lot of first-timers a lot of the locals are extremely friendly.
-Can get a quick 45-minute round in on a good day
-Three practice holes, one DISCatcher Pro and two Mach 3s (what is used for the whole course). One Mach 3 has stones for an "Around 9" putting game.
Cons: - $1.50 per round, and $4.50. I recommend avoiding the $4.50 "all day" charge because you think you're going to play more than 4 rounds, but you probably won't.
- Bad course for those who rely on their strong arms, you could spend a while looking if you overshoot the 150-200 ft. holes.
-A little bit on the short side, but as mentioned before this is a more of a beginner- friendly course
Other Thoughts: Although Blendon Woods is rather short, it is extremely well kept and is a great course for fine-tuning your short game and getting your friends into DG. I would definitely bring people here before Brent Hambrick.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Noobs only need apply

1    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 110  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 8 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Extremely well-maintained course in a very nice park. Fairways are easier to spot than a dwarf on a basketball court. In fact, if I was a little person, I'd love this course, as it is very short. Baskets are in great shape, not a lot of underbrush so losing a disc is next to impossible. Tee signs on every hole and a little kiosk full of discs and very helpful attendants round up the positives. A little elevation here and there, some dry creeks to play over and nice cement tees.
Cons: Length is a massive con if you don't like every hole being under 200' or abouts. But if you're bringing little ones and rookies along it's a great course because it is really easy and therefore makes for competitive rounds for noobs. The pars assigned to the holes are, in a word, wack. Multiple par 4's which is ridiculous, no hole under 200' should be considered a 4 in my opinion. If I'm racking up eagles, there is a problem. My other big gripe is that every basket sits on a cement slab circle so short putts are going to get needlessly banged up.
Other Thoughts: If you've been playing for any kind of time, you need to bring a putter or two and just have at it. I was expecting a much more wooded course but it's pretty open in that you don't have hardly any trees as obstacles. This is a nice course but I had to low-ball it a little because of the length and the cement around the baskets. The big thing to take away is that this is a beginner's course, and a very nice one at that.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.