Columbus, OH 
Blendon Woods Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: A.Mutt Hole #5 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / --   3 / 189ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 my first course

5+    8/20/2009   10/29/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 166  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sexy fairways

Multiple angles

Nice pads and baskets

Pro shop with new and rental plastic

3 practice baskets
Cons: Short

Blacktop surrounds every basket - approx 6 ft radius

Pay to play - I may be reaching here, it is worth more than the $1.50. Hell, I can hardly buy a sports drink for that.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I played, back in 1988. I have been very diligent in rating it appropriately. If I were to rate it according to my personal feelings, it would be a 4.5!

This course has several shots and angles, even though it is short. The longest hole is in the 280 range and the shortest is around 140.

The entire course is within a wooded area of the park. Every hole has woods as the rough on the perimeter, yet every hole has plenty of space to throw. There are some dog legs, rightys, leftys and strait shots.

This is definitely a "beginners" course. Whenever I introduce anyone to the game here in Columbus, I always take them to Blendon. It is fun and challenging for novices. I bring my daughters here regularly. They are 8 and 9 years old. They have a ball throwing their Aviars.

Whenever I want to work on my mid game, and want an ace, I come here solo. I only bring a couple mids and a putter. That's all you need. Still, you truly can shape up your short game at this course. To repeat - for a short course, it is diverse.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This should be the 1st course you ever play

5+    6/10/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Great course to learn Disc Golf
Discs available to rent
Well Maintained
Plenty of ace opportunities
Generous Pars make for low scores and high self esteem
Good variety of shots
Cons: Once you become good at Disc Golf you will want to start looking for a more challenging course

You gotta pay. It's only 1.50 and it's worth it. I'm just not used to paying
Other Thoughts: I played this course a lot when I was just learning how to play. It was fun then and its still fun today, but when I play it now it seems alot easier and smaller.

If you looking to introduce someone new to Disc Golf then this is the place to take em. Every shot on the course is interesting but fairly easy.

Every single hole on the course is wooded but the fairways are wide and cleared out. There are almost no narrow passageways (except hole 5) or tricky obsticles (except for hole 12)

Even if your an advanced player it's good to come back here every now and again just for old times sake

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My Retreat Course

5+    8/21/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Extremely well maintained
+ 3 practice baskets, one with markings for an around the world style game.
+ All technical holes that work your accuracy and control
+ Short fairways are beginner and small arm friendly
+ Generous pars will stroke your ego
+ Able to play 18 in a short amount of time
+ Pro Shop to buy and rent discs
+ Vending machine at entrance for sports drinks and water.
Cons: - Concrete "greens"
- No dogs allowed
- Pro Shop is small
- On weekends large groups new to the game can clog the course.
- The course is compact and thus you really should keep your eyes up for discs heading your way from an errant throw on another tee.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area and want to work on your short game and putting this course is 100% worth the money to play. $1.50 for a round and $4.50 for all day is fair for the upkeep on the course.

This course is also great for introducing people to the game. Short enough they won't get worn out and pars generous enough they shouldn't get discouraged.

All holes are so in reach to anybody more than new to the game, you really only need a putter and a favorite midrange.

A good retreat for when Brent Hambrick Memorial DGC is overcrowded and you need a peaceful round. Although it can be crowded too if its the weekend.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 a good Beginner Course

5+    10/3/2008   4/3/2009
Review By: spookytay
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +a great course for beginners.
+Well taken care of
+small pro shop to buy a limited amount of discs they have available
+easy to walk around on
+has vending machines for beverages
+great practice area with several pins to throw at
Cons: -gets busy with players who play slower than usual (beginners or family)
-baskets are surrounded with black top.
-not free
Other Thoughts: costs $1.50 to play, worth the money for a fun quick round of putter play

I gave it 3.5 stars only because it's such a short course for beginners vs very easy for advanced players. Also, not many holes are that challenging, but it's very well taken care of and very fun to play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Blendon Woods

5+    3/15/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: yakkerm99
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very fun coarse with good changes from hole to hole. Lots of ace able holes. Always well maintained and very nice tee pads.
Cons: The coarse is very short. As a begginer I loved this coarse intell I learned to throw. Great Coarse for begginers and short throwers.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Blendon

5+    11/10/2008   12/3/2008
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 108  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Very Nicely Maintained
Benches and Trash Cans on Every Hole
Ample Parking
Restrooms In Park (Near Turn In for Course)
Easy to Follow
Disc Kiosk to Buy and Rent Discs
Three Practice Baskets
Picnic Area with Grills Beside Course
Soda Machines at Entrance
Water Fountain Near Parking Lot
Cons:
Can Get Very Crowded
Short/Novice or Rec Course
Black Top Around Base of Basket
Closes an Hour before Dusk (Only takes 40 minutes to play.)
Players Have Vandalized Tee Signs and Benches
Other Thoughts:
Good course for what they were given to work with. Short holes but very technical. While there are very defined fairways, most of them are very tight as you play through the woods for pretty much every hole. While the longest hole is just over 280ft each hole is very interesting and different from the hole before.

The course is a pay course but you can see where the money goes to use. The course is always clean and there are trash cans located at every hole. The course also has the great addition of benches at every hole which is really nice for those busy summer days.

Staff in the park and at the course are very friendly and helpful. If you have any questions or need discs, they are more than willing to help you out. The shack at the course entrance sell discs, bags, and other accessories as well as a small variety of snacks.

Do not speed through park. The rangers will pull you over, plus its rude, there are kids in park most of the time.

Edit: Course could use a little work. Vandals have written all over the tee signs and benches, as well as damaged a couple signs. It's very unfortunate, the course use to be in immaculate condition, but really starting to show signs of use over the past year or two.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/24/2007   8/27/2008
Review By: Behace
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very well maintained. It also will give you great work on your midrange and short game.
Cons: It is a very short course. The pins are surrounded by concrete so if you are playing with discs that dont take damage well it can be a pain.
Other Thoughts: This course is decent. While some people count the pay-to-play against it the money is obviously spent to keep the course in great condition. If you are just trying to pad your number of aces, which is stupid, this is a nice course for you. If you want work on short and midrange game this is a good course for you. However if you are looking for some longer holes I would skip this course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

6/30/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: ptsawyer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really like this course, even though it is very short. It is tight, and very well manicured, very technical. Experienced players will score well, but its nice to have a course that shorter throwing players can compete.
Cons: Some will consider it too short, very advanced players may be bored by this course.
Other Thoughts: Over all I would say it is definately worth the money. Its refreshing to play a short technical course once in a while, it seems like "longer is better" is the mantra in most of the new courses I see going in.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

6/15/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good course to learn on, take the family to or just go play with a putter to warm-up and work on your short game. Good facility, beverages and discs on site.
Cons: 1.50$ to play, very short providing no challenge to an experienced player.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 short wooded

3/6/2008   3/6/2008
Review By: LANGDON
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: very nice baskets and even a great putting practice area. nice tee pads, easy to follow
Cons: very short, pay to play

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.