Disc Golf Center
Miami, OK 
George E. Francis - Riverview Park Share
Uploaded By: eye-ball-sac Hole #15 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 258ft.   3 / 322ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    4/11/2014   4/13/2014
Review By: Stoney J
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes
fun course to play
park for the kids to play in nearby
restrooms
Cons: smell
smell
dear god do not play this course if winds are out of the south/southeast
Other Thoughts: Malodorousness detracts from the positive aspects of this course. Nice course overall.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not quite up to par

1    9/2/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: homeskule87
Played: 37  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long concrete tee pads with good grip.
Park seems to be well maintained.
Not crowded.
The chains are painted yellow and it almost seems to help catch your putts.
Swimming pool, playground and fishing hole for non golfers accompanying you.
Cons: The signage is horrible, on some holes it might be less confusing if they didn't have a sign at all.
The baskets appear to be homemade and are smaller then a typical disc golf basket in diameter.
Holes shoot across roads and parking lots.
Very flat, very repetitive.
The layout is so confusing on holes 11-13.
17 is an aceable hole with a parking lot 10 feet behind.
No technical shots whatsoever.
Other Thoughts: This could be a decent course with a little modification. It seems as if an inexperienced player designed it and makes for a frustrating round. I would rate this course a 2-2.5 if the signs weren't so awful and it had decent baskets.
If you're driving through it would be worth checking out, but I wouldn't make this one a road trip.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Needs more wooded holes

1    6/14/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 253  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tee pads are nice and long and provide for good run up. The holes vary in distance, both long and short. There are a couple of holes that have ace run potential. The park itself is well maintained and the grounds were free from litter upon my visit. There wasn't much disc golf traffic here and the park is very quiet. This course uses what is available the best that can be done. Hole #18 was the best hole, in my opinion, that played along a creek and had a few trees to give you a nice and challenging line.
Cons: Navigation isn't the best I've ever seen. Some of the tee signs aren't very informative and are facing in the wrong direction for the way that the hole plays to add to the confusion. I only remember a couple of the baskets having numbers on them. If they had the numbers on them this might help with the confusion a bit. As stated in other reviews the baskets aren't the best in the world. Some of them were lower than normal and some were bent. I would guess that the mowers have been unkind to the bent baskets. I didn't have any problems with them catching, but I could see where it could be a problem for some.
The sewage smell that everyone refers to was very apparent on hole #1. This course is very wide open and there isn't much variety.
Other Thoughts: There are other amenities here in this park, a playground, and a very nice swimming pool. Maybe after your round you would like to take a swim and cool off. I would like to see some more holes that were technical in nature. I know you can only use what is provided to you but wide open holes do get repetitive after a while. I couldn't help but wonder what kind of holes could have been carved out of the dense trees to the south of hole #18. I don't even know what was in there but it would be a nice change of pace if a few holes were placed in those trees.
If you like a course that is wide open, with a few trees sporadicly sprinkled in here or there, then this course is right up your alley. This isn't a destination course by any means, but if you're in the area and feel the itch to play this course with suffice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated.

5+    8/28/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: airman_miller
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good distance shots, quite a few holes have you keeping low to avoid nailing trees. Really great course to just walk through and play with friends. More of a "hangout" course than a challenge course. One of the few courses in the area where the pad actually points in the direction of the pin. The pins are also highly visible.
Cons: Roads cut across about 3 holes, but can easlily be thrown over unless your disc goes rogue. Course muddy when wet. Pins could use some replacement as some are varying heights and some have angles.
Other Thoughts: There is a decent challenge here, and I think this course is a little misrepresented. I have only smelled anything on this course once, and it was barely noticeable unless you went off course by a decent margin. If the course had new pins it would be given a half star higher. I actually like this course better than the course in joplin, mostly because I do not have to worry about my disc getting jacked up by rocks on every hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Riverview Park...

1    8/15/2010   8/15/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a huge park in south Miami. Nice variety in distances (204-728 ft.) Very open, so you can practice those long distance drives. Tee pads were very nice and textured nicely which gave them excellent grip. Baskets were bright yellow which helped with navigation. Not very busy. We only saw two other groups playing. Navigation was fairly easy if you have the map. Otherwise you could get confused in several places (7 to 8, 15 to 16)
Cons: Flow of the course was very weird. It seemed like there were three mini course and they joined them all together. Baskets had a strange paint on them which made the chains more stiff. The actual basket part of the baskets were too small which made putting a lot harder. Tee signs weren't helpful. The only way you could find which basket to throw at would be looking at the roads on the signs and seeing where the roads were in real life. Very flat and wide open. Accuracy is not really needed here. It smelled like raw sewage around 1, 4, 17, and 18. Trash scattered in a few holes. Water doesn't really come into play when the creek is dry. Most of the holes were pretty boring. There just weren't any fun holes to play here.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a nice course for such a small town. This is a great place to try out a new driver because it's long and wide open and hardly anyone comes here. Don't plan a trip just to come here, go to Joplin instead, but if you live in the area it's a good course to add to your played list. There's a local water park in the same are so you could bring the whole family.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent for a small town course. Needs better orientation.

1    2/15/2010   2/15/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice well kept park with plenty of parking space. Good textured concrete pads. Bright yellow baskets make finding the pin easy to see (provided you know which to aim at). Has a nice mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots. Not a lot of other amenities in the park to interfere with disc golf. Alternate tees marked with flags provide for a different course. Not overlwhelmingly long for newbies, but still has some decent long bomb holes (2 & 13) for advanced players.
Cons: Orientation problems. Needs better signage, as some have hole distances or even hole numbers. On some holes the signs are backwards making you think the hole goes the other way. The diagrams on some of the signs aren't much help. Pins have no hole number markings either except for a couple, one of which was wrong. Park is marshy, muddy, and looks like it would flood easy (in fact I had to break the golden retriever out to get my disc of a pool of ice along Hole 15). At least one place where fairways cross.
Other Thoughts: For a smaller town like Miami, this is a respectable course, but it could use some TLC. I was thinking of giving this course a 2.5, and then I got to the back nine and started getting a bit confused and wasn't sure that I was aiming at the right hole. New signage, perhaps some trees to help define fairways, and some new numbers on the baskets, and maybe I could upgrade this. Not a must play, as McClelland in Joplin is better, but okay for a round if you're in town.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good to Learn On

5+    12/24/2008   8/6/2009
Review By: rolltidegopokes
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well kept clean park. Very open for learning how to throw.
Cons: No challenges, can flood, and if you make a mistake throwing near the river, the wind could take your disc and put it in the drink.
Other Thoughts: If you need to throw and you are here, go throw. It makes a good escape in a pinch when I am at my in-laws.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dont play here

2-4    5/23/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: HyzerHog1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: plays along a cool river, long open
Cons: everything. no technical shots, floods horribly, home-made baskets that are painted yellow(including chains). Fairways cross. If your in the area and want to play this course, make some extra time and drive to a different course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good if you live around there.

1    12/20/2008   12/20/2008
Review By: notrpmp
Played: 91  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park is very neat and clean, short grass, all holes but 1 have tee signs. All holes have concrete tee pads. Most of the tee signs from 9-18 look new. Easy to navigate a couple of holes back track 7 to 8 and 16 to 17 but nothing too terrible considering its wide open if you pay attention you should have no problems.
Cons: Very muddy, can flood when it rains heavy as river swells, suggest a change of shoes and a towell if you play after it rains. Can be heavy with foot and vehicle traffic and considering 3 or 4 holes play over roads and parking lots could be a hassle but i had not to much trouble. The map on the links section of this page is a little off 10, 11, 12 are in the same area now and 13 is the long hole that runs along the river but its easy to find your way around.
Other Thoughts: Every basket was painted yellow with some strange paint that made the chains not as free hanging as baskets with no paint. I cant really tell if it helped with the putting or hurt it. It did help to easily navigate the course being able to see them from a long ways away.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/22/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: phatrinks
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long course, park well kept. Fairly flat w/trees mixed in.
Cons: Baskets are poor. Course can flood.
Other Thoughts: Worth it to play but I prefer Joplin or Neosho a tad more.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.