Middlefield, OH 
George Knox Park Share
Uploaded By: JoseCafe704 Hole #5 (Taken 9/2010)
4 / 412ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    8/29/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 78  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: George Knox is a very small park that is dedicated to the 9-hole course. The course is conveniently located less than a minute from 87 behind Tractor Supply. It is always a positive thing to see a small park like this dedicated to disc golf. I appreciate the work of this course in that regard. There is plenty of parking and a pavilion closely located to the first tee.

The course flows very easily from one hole to the next as it circles around the park and back to the parking lot. This course is a VERY quick play - probably taking no more than 20 minutes for even slower players - so it would make a nice course to hit for a quick round on the way home from work. If you live nearby, it is also the kind of course that you can try new discs out on with some of its completely open holes.

The tee signs are in great shape and there are wooden tee markers in the ground in the ground.

The course has a pretty even mix of wooded and open holes, as well as holes that transition from wooded-open and vice versa. I do appreciate how this very simple course has a chunk of holes (1, 5, 7, and 8) that make this kind of transition.

The park was also clean and well-manicured.
Cons: Being in such a small park, there is only so much work that can go into a course to make it exciting. There is nothing too exciting here, as the average hole length is only 286 feet. Also, other than the little hill on hole 9, there is zero elevation.

While the fairways were nicely mowed, the rough in the woods is pretty bad. It is not just thick, but also thorny. The reason this hurts the course's enjoyment factor is that the wooded holes only have <10 foot wide fairways at most points. The length of this course intends for a casual round, but playing through a tight fairway bordered with thick rough is not relaxing.

Because of the tight fairways in the woods, I wouldn't want to take a beginner to play the entire course. However, the open holes would obviously be good.

The fairways cross on a few of the open holes. Shouldn't be a big concern though since this course is probably mostly empty.

Chains are rusting on some of the baskets.

Not necessarily a "con", but the par 4's are inflated.
Other Thoughts: George Knox made for a quick stop in between my rounds at Punderson and Lake Shore. I enjoyed how easy it was to navigate and how I was able to quickly get in, get out, and get on my way. As I mentioned, I appreciate the willingness to add a course to an area like this and I definitely think it is worth having here. It just didn't have much to it being on such a small piece of property. It is nice that it has a mix of wooded and open holes, but would be more enjoyable if it had some holes that were more moderately wooded instead of just super tight and completely open. I encourage players to stop here, however, since it is such a quick round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 9 hole course

1    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
clean course, maintained
decent baskets
mix of open & technical holes
Cons:
short holes
setting is less than ideal
signs could be a bit more detailed
Other Thoughts: Echoing the general sentiment from the other reviewers, this is a decent course, but nothing special and since so close to the much better Punderson State Park course, you're better off playing that one.

I enjoyed my round, but it's nothing worth going out of your way for (as I did). But it's close enough to Punderson that you could play both.

Brall's review covers everything you need to know about this course if you are considering it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Almost perfect

1    4/17/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: SmoothSailor
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a park dedicated solely to the disc golf course. Only 100 yard walk to the front door of Georgio's Pizza and a quick 30 second drive to more than a half dozen other places to eat.

Pulling up the road to the suburb, less than a quarter mile on the right is a parking lot suitable for 5-8 cars (depending on how they're parked) with an immediate entrance to a pavilion with 3 picnic tables and 2 trash cans.

Each hole has accurate tee signs (although some of the distances may have been inflated a bit) and natural tee pads.

The flow of the course from tee pad to basket, and from basket to the next tee pad is great, as a first timer to the course I had no trouble getting around or finding baskets nestled into corners.

The mix of woods and open holes is great, I didn't feel like I was going to get bored playing, although I don't know how many times I'd really like to play it in a row.
Cons: Hole 5 has 2 crossing fairways:
Hole 2 fairway/Hole 5 tee pad & fairway
Hole 6/Hole 5 fairways
The crossing fairways didn't entirely matter during the round I played as there wasn't anyone else on the course, but if there is a busy day at the course it could get interesting to say the least.

There aren't any benches at any of the tee pads, which I guess isn't too bad being <2800ft in length, although it is nice to be able to take a break during a string of casual rounds.

No trash cans except at the pavilion. I saw litter all over the place (more than my trash baggie could carry).
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty under rated for the area. I haven't heard anything good about it, but figured since I already played a few rounds at nearby Punderson DGC, I may as well take a few minutes and see what the gripe is about. Other than the few cons I listed, I feel like this course is great.

Located between a shopping plaza and a suburban community on maybe 12 acres of land, this course serves its purpose of exposing the masses to our great sport while being easy enough to keep beginners interested and upper level players entertained.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 It was clean...

1    2/21/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 43  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Small parking area with a nice pavilion
- Nice entrance and sign for George Knox
- There is a rules of play sign by tee #1
- Great signs at each tee mapping out the hole
- The natural tees are in good condition
- Great baskets in very good condition and they are well labeled
- The park flows nicely from hole to hole and hole #9 ends at the hole #1 and the parking area. Great use of available space.
- Low traffic. You shouldn't be bothered by picnickers or other disc golfers
- Trash can at the pavilion and the park is clean
- No vandalism
- No benches but none are needed with the picnic tables at the pavilion
- The upkeep of the park is good. The grass is well kept.
- Even being small, there are some long distance shots. The wooded shots can be very technical and enjoyable. The wide open areas really let you cut loose and practice you bombs.
Cons: - Single tees
- Could use some signs to next tee
- Scenery has some pretty woods but the overall landscape is dull
- No bathrooms
- Although the wooded fairways can add something extra and fun to the course, there could be some trimming done and some clearing of downed trees
Other Thoughts: - There really nothing else there besides the 9 holes and the pavilion. There is no playground, baseball field, pool or even any water hazards.
- The course does have some challenges. Those closed in wooded fairways can make you really consider your shot.
- The most challenging hole was #1 and #7 was close behind. They both have an open area followed by a small entrance into the woods.
- My favorite hole was hole #1. Nailing that small path opening really feels great!
- This course is definitely NOT a must play course, however, it was worth my Saturday to play two rounds here then another two rounds at Punderson.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Small Course In a Small Park

1    9/17/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: JoseCafe704
Played: 29  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Though the entire course is tightly woven within this small park, good use was made of the land, allowing for several throws in and out of woods. It seems that the main purpose of the park IS the course, which is a rarity. Well mapped tee signs and ease of use is another plus.
Cons: Though the fairways are well defined, with the grass well kept along the entire length of each hole, beyond that, little other maintenance seems to be done. There are several obstructive trees and tree branches that should probably be trimmed away near cages along the course that don't add to the challenge as much as they are just plain in the way. It is still a quick course. If you have to drive any considerable distance to get there, you might as well take the quick drive back west and hit up Punderson's course in Newbury.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.