Oakland, MS 
George Payne Cossar State Park Share
Uploaded By: WSP420 Hole #2 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great State Park Course

1    8/17/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.4 Years
Pros: -Excellent flow to this course. (Follow the yellow posts from #7 --> #8)
-Tee signs on every hole (with the exception of Hole #8)
-Concrete tee pads > some of the reviews have negative things to say about the size of the tees; I didn't see an issue.
-A multitude of shots: short, long, wooded, open, tight & technical, grip & rip, left & right doglegs, and a few opportunities to get wet.
-Plenty of elevation change.
-Parking available next to Hole #1 and the course loops back around with Hole #18 finishing a couple hundred feet from the first tee.
-Minimal traffic.
-Beautiful park and wonderfully maintained with several scenic views of the lake as you're playing.
-Very friendly park staff and locals.
-Restroom next to Holes #9 / #11
Cons: -No Benches or trash cans
-Tee signs are old and could be replaced. Quite a few are damaged, broken, or uprooted and #8 is missing. They are all still readable and do the job they were intended to do.
Other Thoughts: I truly enjoyed this one! Got some help from a group of local players as I was getting started. The course flows well enough that I didn't really need it, but it's always fun to meet new players. Holes #12-#14 are the most memorable to me, all play by the lake and provide the best views on the course.
This one is worth a day trip! Alternately, you could rent a cabin or bring your tent, because this park offers much more than just disc golf.

 scenic solitude

2-4    8/25/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well manicured--though this is a very rural course that may not get too much play, the state park has the grass cut short and the woods are completely free of any underbrush. This was a very unique feature from any wooded course I have played. Even on an errant drive in woods you could easily shape an approach shot through the bare tree trunks and get back on track (I don't know if this is a good or bad thing, it sure made it easy to par even if your drive was bad.)

Tees--as noted in previous reviews the tees are small (4X8 feet) however, they were installed flush with the ground at the back and have been shored up with what I think is crushed limestone. The result is that the effective tee length is really as long as you want it to be since there is a seemless transition from ground to tee. Best tee installation I have ever seen (not best tees, but best installation).

signs- basic signs routered in dark wood with hole #, distance and a flight path (one sign was missing and on hole 7 the sign shows a flight path turning to the right, but it really turns to the left). Not elaborate signs but more than adequate.

Good hole variety--short, long, left, right, water hazards, wooded, open. #14 is an amazing shot to a narrow peninsula (however, since the lake is at a record low level, the water was nowhere neer any of the holes).
Cons: No multiple tees---there is plenty of room here for another set of tees. Even if they were just some sturdy stakes driven into the ground with some numbers painted on them they would last well on this terrain and with the low traffic levels here. Lots of potential here for alternate layouts.

Other Thoughts: There were a couple hundred discs in the park office, however, they were crazy overpriced. $19 for star plastic, $18 for champion. I did discover that a few discs were priced much lower. I think they must have made a huge price increase and there were some leftovers with their previous prices. I bought a star wraith for $12. I couple years back the state was threatening to close the park. Luckily, the park stayed open, but the restaurant and the pool were closed. I am guessing that this is when the disc prices increased. The problem is that at these prices, anyone who knows what the internet is would be crazy to buy here.
We rented a cabin and spent a weekend here with our families on the lake and on the disc golf course and had the whole place to ourselves--great time. FYI-- cabin 14 is 100 feet from hole 12 where you can start and finish your round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Out of the way but worth the play

1    3/10/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: ricco2623
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery, secluded, and wildlife. Holes are not too difficult yet still require skill to shoot low scores. Hole #1 is bland but with a few exceptions after that is a unique experience. holes playing toward the water, throws through tight gaps, some 400+ holes and oh yea an island type hole. Starting with hole 12-18 is some great finishing holes and a true test of skill, esp. if the wind picks up. Throw in a good pro shop on site and a friendly staff and you have a true disc golf venue.
Cons: None to speak of other than the short tee pads, and it being out of the way. If this course was in an area of disc golf prominence like Memphis, Mobile, or even Tupelo this course would rank as one of the better courses.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the stop

2-4    10/4/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: Dillon_Gourley
Played: 63  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a real nice kept course. Park officials and local golfers keep it in tip top shape.

Concrete tee pads on all holes, tee signs and distances. Bathroom is close, around # 12 or so.

Good mix of shots on a majority of the holes. The front 9 are the more easier holes with # 9 being the exception, it's 444' and the first 200' has to be accurate to get past the trees to land in a field. # 5 is an accurate tunnel shot through a tree line about 15' wide, 40' off the box, the RHBH hyzer is always an option unless the mando between the gap is in affect. # 14 is the peninsula hole with water in front, to the left and behind the hard pin location. There are two pin locations on this hole, the 2nd location is a lot easier and takes the water out of play but an errant shot can still make it's way in the drink.
Cons: Tee boxes are a little short to my likings, only about 5' maybe. Baskets are a little old as this being an old course I think these are the original baskets. Get a lot of spit outs on these single chain baskets. Course is around 9 years old I think. This being a state park 3$ pay to play but don't let that stop you from coming, well worth it. None really cons, just my personal peeves.
Other Thoughts: There is a great local disc golf community that takes care of the park and are into keeping this park in good condition. Park also has a miniature 18 hole putt putt course & has a restaurant for after your round.

The pro shop is the best I've seen in a state park and is even better than most dealers.

Deer roam freely in the park, over the weekend there I saw at least 20 deer, sometimes in groups of 5 or more. They don't run off, you can even bet the does! Never seen anything like this before.

Worth the stop ? Definitely.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    7/7/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: tdortch
Played: 62  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a challenging course. There are lots of nice little tunnel shots and risk/reward shots. #5 and #14 in particular stand out. #5 (when the pad is not underwater, which it currently is not, but some locals told me that it does go under sometimes) is a tight, slightly uphill tunnel shot over water. Granted, this is just a little finger of water, but it's water nonetheless, and the tunnel is pretty small - i'd say it's about 10' tall at most and just a few feet wide, and the whole tunnel is the part that's over the water. Pretty cool. #14 is a brutal shot, even when the basket is in the 'relief' spot that it was in today. The tee box is on one side of an inlet, with the basket on another. The tough part is that the basket also sits on a finger of land that at its narrowest is about 15' wide. Today, the pin was at the wide part - about 25' wide. The other location is at the end of the finger and it's tight! Water on both sides, and a deep dropoff on the back side. Tricky and fun. Most of the other holes on this course also have something or another about them that just makes it fun. Of the 18, maybe 2 are just straight, nothing in the way shots. I really enjoyed it. Don't let the $3 fee scare you off. Pay it and come enjoy a cool little course.
Cons: Not too many. The tee pads are kinda short, but I'm used to really long ones at my home course. I just stood off the back and no big deal. I do think, though, that new players could lose a lot of discs here as the water holes could be hard for them.
Other Thoughts: The course is set in a beautiful park - the lake that surrounds the course is very large and the course is well maintained. Even when you get off the fairway, there is no tall grass or stickers,etc. I'd definitely recommend it! *EDIT* There are tee signs now, and they show distance and a rough drawing of the hole. There are also score cards that have course maps on them. But, they really aren't needed as the course flows very well from basket to next pad. I had no problems at all navigating. There are also hooks to hang bags on at every pad.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/15/2006   9/30/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really fun course to play in a beautiful park with several holes along Enid Lake. There is a great mix of shots from short to long, open and wooded. There is not a lot of elevation change in the park, but a few holes make good use of that little change. There are concrete tee pads and the older model Mach III baskets catch just fine.

It has been a couple of years since I last played this course, but there is also a lodge, with a decent disc selection, bathrooms, and a water fountain. There is also a small restaurant next door with really good food. Like most MS state parks, camping is available.

This course also has an alternate gold layout that is a lot more challenging and just as much fun, but I am not sure if it is still used. The park ranger who designed it has since left the park and they have not had a tournament there in a couple of years. It was designed such that both layouts could be played at the same time if you knew which baskets you were throwing to aim at.
Cons: Being in a MS state park, it is $3 per vehicle to enter, but most MS disc golfers buy the yearly pass for $42, which is good for all state parks in MS.

When the water level is down, some of the open/water holes lose some of their steam and become easy par/birdie holes. I do not recall the course having tee signs last time I was there but the course was not all that difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun to play for all skill levels, especially with the gold layout I mentioned. The water really only comes into play on a few holes and there is plenty of safe landing areas if you can control your disc. The park is seemingly in the middle of no where, but if your just passing through and want to play some disc golf, then I would highly recommend this course. I look forward to playing this course again in the near future and will update my review accordingly.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.