Georgetown, KY 
Georgetown College Share
Uploaded By: Andrew G.   (Taken 5/2012)



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Georgetown College- FRONT 9

1    5/7/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: Andrew G.
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: -Reasonably well lit; playable AT NIGHT!
-Well groomed, it is a private college campus
-No waits, rarely crowded with players
-Urban landscape, no woods to lose disc in
-Lots of eye candy if you are a male ;)
-Maps provided in the student center (I have uploaded a scan of the map under "Links/Files")
Cons:
-short, simple holes
-watch out for buildings, cars, pavement, pedestrians
-very difficult to navigate
-few holes have real tee pads, markers, or signs

Other Thoughts: This is a simple course built around a private college campus to give the students something to do. It lacks many features of a legitimate dedicated course. I would not recommend planning your day around visiting this course. However, if you are in the area with nothing better to do, try it out. Also, if you find yourself really craving a game after dark, the Front 9 is workable at any hour of the night.

I have uploaded a scan of the course map under Links/Files.



 Locals only

1    11/11/2011   11/11/2011
Review By: zud00
Played: 116  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *It has baskets, I found 9 of them.
*Some signs giving distance and pointing you in the direction of the next hole.
*College campus is nice
Cons: *Navigation-very difficult.
*Buildings, cars, students, faculty can become obstacles
Other Thoughts: This course is your typical collge campus course; probably installed by students for the students. I didn't have any probelm finding the first tee, but the second tee was nowhere to be found, so I just teed off towards a basket I thought was basket 2. After completing that hole, I threw towards another basket, but realized it was basket for hole 9 once I got there. Hole three is in the opposite direction of which hole 2 plays.
After walking around for about 30 minutes trying to find the rest of the course, I found the basket for hole 8 and walked backwards the rest of the course to the tee for three.
This course is a disaster for out-of-towners. I didn't even try to find the other 9 holes, imagining they would be even more difficult to navigate.
I'm sure it could be a fun course if you are a local or go to school here, but for those who are trying to add to their course count, I would not suggest going out of your way for this one.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/24/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: Damoser
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you live in Georgetown it's the only course in town. So it's a good place to practice putting if you don't have your own catcher.
Cons: Like other post, not all holes have tee pads or signs. Being an amateur I hesitated on most holes worrying about hitting either cars or possibly windows if a bad shot was thrown.
Other Thoughts: Front nine has a few turns but nothing challenging. Back nine has a turn on 16 while others are all straight shots. Map can be found in the Cralle center bottom floor.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 who did this???

1    7/13/2008   6/12/2009
Review By: Part-Time Ninja
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There's a basket to throw at. Other than that.....nothing Re-do this park
Cons: Bad lay-out ,....Its a mess. front and back 9 not near each other. Re-do this park.
Other Thoughts: Re-do this park. Re-do this park.Re-do this park.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing college course

1    7/17/2008   2/3/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9 is a cute little course in and out between the buildings.
Cons: This is NOT an 18 hole course. There are 2 separate 9 hole courses. You have to drive from one half to the other. Lack of tee signs, flow, hard to navigate on both 9's. Front 9 is busy with people walking around campus. Back 9 is mostly up and down a big open field. Sometimes you are just guessing which tee to use and which basket to throw at.
Other Thoughts: I was very disappointed as I have played some excellent college courses, but this was not one of them.

The student workers at the student center were very helpful in hunting us down a map, or we never would have made it to hole #2!

I would skip it, or play it once at most, but don't expect too much.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Twice was enough...

2-4    7/1/2005   11/21/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good upshot & putting practice. You can practice at night because the front 9 is on campus and lighted.
Cons: 1 - You basically need to drive from the Front 9 to the Back 9
2 - You are not allowed to play the back 9 some parts of the year. (I never got to play the back either visit)
3 - Few holes were clearly marked.
4 - Difficult to play when school is in session because of the foot traffic that's in the way.
Other Thoughts: If you are a student there and want some practice then great. If not then I don't see any reason to make a trip there.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Work in Progress...Maybe?

7/17/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets were all in good condition.
Cons: The back 9 was some of the most miserable disc golfing experience I have ever had. The recreation area where the back is located has tremendous potential. But there are no tee pads. We obtained a map but that didn't help. Some tees had posts to designate that they were tees but there were no numbers. Some holes had no tee markers.
Other Thoughts: You pretty much design your own course on the back nine. If you don't mind spending 10 minutes to look for an area that might be the tee and then making up your own tee based on an unhelpful map, then give it a shot. The front nine was short, but still fun and played through the quaint little campus. The front is the only reason the course receives one disc.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.