Disc Golf Store
Georgetown, KY 
Georgetown College Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #9 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 206ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Itís a shame, really.

2-4    9/28/2014   9/30/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 176  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Maybe this is 'damning with faint praise', but Georgetown College, just north of Lexington, KY, has some nice, 24 chain DGA baskets that are in set positions on campus. It even has four tee signs that give hole number, distance, etc. (holes 1, 3, 8, & 9), and a post can be found that might indicate the intended location of the 12th tee. So, with 13 holes unmarked, the locals take advantage of the baskets to throw safari rounds on the Orange course (front nine, situated by the fraternity housing), as well as on the Black course (in the open bowl east of the sports complex).

There are now pictures, a couple of maps, and distances indicated here on DGCR, at least for the Orange course, so it can be played with a consistent standard, which would put it squarely in the casual to Recreational player range, since the first nine holes average just under 200 feet in length, and don't demand ultimate precision*. The 'back nine' Black course is laid out for bigger arms (as much as 450' on at least one hole), and demands control and skill judging the elevation. And out there, you'll have much safer play, in a less populated area.
Cons: There are two places with baskets on the Georgetown campus, and neither is really well laid out as a great 'course'. Starting with the more established, Orange front nine, you'll be facing an odd flow from the corner of Jackson & Military Streets, across an open field, and then up to the second basket, reverse back that 'fairway' to hole three across the street, and play in and out, amongst the buildings and (*) all the potential hazards to the public that that entails (see maps). Depending on where you tee off (there aren't any poured tees or markers other than the four mentioned above), you might be able to shape a few of the shots, and have to keep one (hole 3) low and controlled, but you mostly have to be absolutely sure you're not going to hit a coed, because that's no way to say hello.

Once you loop around the 'quad', you'll finish at hole 9 back by the chapel, and straight at a set of picnic tables under the low ceiling branches there, and have a couple blocks walk just to get back to the start at 1. Then, if you're doggedly determined to play the whole 'course', you'll trek (I recommend driving) about 2/3 of a mile to the East to play the Black course 9, er 7 baskets. The football practice field clearly took precedence over the 10th and 18th baskets, but the others are out there, even though maintenance isn't. Even when school is in session, they don't mow the park-like acreage out there, so you may encounter knee-high grasses in the 'fairways', and an absolute mess in the 'rough'. I came across a real disc golfer (Hi, Scot!), who was determined to throw out there anyway. There are no tees, markers, or indication of where you should throw from, so you can use the maps, or just safari, as he does, with his powerful drives. But I promise frustration, as several of the baskets are tucked inside the hedges to the north of the field.

In all, there are a lot more cons here than pros, which is kind of a shame. The sports complex area certainly has the potential for a nice nine hole setup, if the college would consult, let's say, an experienced local like Scot, and commit to a decent set of tees and signs. And mow the darned place once in a while.
Other Thoughts: I returned to Georgetown for a second visit (spaced 18 months apart), with every intention of measuring out the Black course, and was even going to list it as a separate course here on DGCR (because it is one, being separated by a short drive or a very long walk across campus). But the dilapidated state of the 'course' there made me feel this would be a disservice to the DGCR community. The course(s) are really not worth coming in to town to see. The baskets are best viewed as a little diversion and exercise for folks who can't get off campus/out of town often to play a reasonable course (like the half dozen just down I-75 in the Lexington area).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Georgetown College- FRONT 9

1    5/7/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: Andrew G.
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Reasonably well lit; playable AT NIGHT!
-Well groomed, it is a private college campus
-No waits, rarely crowded with players
-Urban landscape, no woods to lose disc in
-Lots of eye candy if you are a male ;)
-Maps provided in the student center (I have uploaded a scan of the map under "Links/Files")
Cons:
-short, simple holes
-watch out for buildings, cars, pavement, pedestrians
-very difficult to navigate
-few holes have real tee pads, markers, or signs

Other Thoughts: This is a simple course built around a private college campus to give the students something to do. It lacks many features of a legitimate dedicated course. I would not recommend planning your day around visiting this course. However, if you are in the area with nothing better to do, try it out. Also, if you find yourself really craving a game after dark, the Front 9 is workable at any hour of the night.

I have uploaded a scan of the course map under Links/Files.



1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Locals only

1    11/11/2011   11/11/2011
Review By: zud00
Played: 119  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *It has baskets, I found 9 of them.
*Some signs giving distance and pointing you in the direction of the next hole.
*College campus is nice
Cons: *Navigation-very difficult.
*Buildings, cars, students, faculty can become obstacles
Other Thoughts: This course is your typical collge campus course; probably installed by students for the students. I didn't have any probelm finding the first tee, but the second tee was nowhere to be found, so I just teed off towards a basket I thought was basket 2. After completing that hole, I threw towards another basket, but realized it was basket for hole 9 once I got there. Hole three is in the opposite direction of which hole 2 plays.
After walking around for about 30 minutes trying to find the rest of the course, I found the basket for hole 8 and walked backwards the rest of the course to the tee for three.
This course is a disaster for out-of-towners. I didn't even try to find the other 9 holes, imagining they would be even more difficult to navigate.
I'm sure it could be a fun course if you are a local or go to school here, but for those who are trying to add to their course count, I would not suggest going out of your way for this one.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/24/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: Damoser
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you live in Georgetown it's the only course in town. So it's a good place to practice putting if you don't have your own catcher.
Cons: Like other post, not all holes have tee pads or signs. Being an amateur I hesitated on most holes worrying about hitting either cars or possibly windows if a bad shot was thrown.
Other Thoughts: Front nine has a few turns but nothing challenging. Back nine has a turn on 16 while others are all straight shots. Map can be found in the Cralle center bottom floor.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 who did this???

1    7/13/2008   6/12/2009
Review By: Part-Time Ninja
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There's a basket to throw at. Other than that.....nothing Re-do this park
Cons: Bad lay-out ,....Its a mess. front and back 9 not near each other. Re-do this park.
Other Thoughts: Re-do this park. Re-do this park.Re-do this park.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing college course

1    7/17/2008   2/3/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9 is a cute little course in and out between the buildings.
Cons: This is NOT an 18 hole course. There are 2 separate 9 hole courses. You have to drive from one half to the other. Lack of tee signs, flow, hard to navigate on both 9's. Front 9 is busy with people walking around campus. Back 9 is mostly up and down a big open field. Sometimes you are just guessing which tee to use and which basket to throw at.
Other Thoughts: I was very disappointed as I have played some excellent college courses, but this was not one of them.

The student workers at the student center were very helpful in hunting us down a map, or we never would have made it to hole #2!

I would skip it, or play it once at most, but don't expect too much.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Twice was enough...

2-4    7/1/2005   11/21/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good upshot & putting practice. You can practice at night because the front 9 is on campus and lighted.
Cons: 1 - You basically need to drive from the Front 9 to the Back 9
2 - You are not allowed to play the back 9 some parts of the year. (I never got to play the back either visit)
3 - Few holes were clearly marked.
4 - Difficult to play when school is in session because of the foot traffic that's in the way.
Other Thoughts: If you are a student there and want some practice then great. If not then I don't see any reason to make a trip there.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Work in Progress...Maybe?

7/17/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets were all in good condition.
Cons: The back 9 was some of the most miserable disc golfing experience I have ever had. The recreation area where the back is located has tremendous potential. But there are no tee pads. We obtained a map but that didn't help. Some tees had posts to designate that they were tees but there were no numbers. Some holes had no tee markers.
Other Thoughts: You pretty much design your own course on the back nine. If you don't mind spending 10 minutes to look for an area that might be the tee and then making up your own tee based on an unhelpful map, then give it a shot. The front nine was short, but still fun and played through the quaint little campus. The front is the only reason the course receives one disc.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.