Elma, WA 
GH Hostel DGC Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #10
3 / 275ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 homemade DG haven

2-4    4/8/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is a fantastic homemade course among several acres of streamlets, hills, trees, and natural springs.
as mentioned by other reviewers, the caretaker was a friendly older man who introduced himself and showed me the layout and flow of the course.
the course forced me to use all my shots and rewarded my accurate throws and punished my wayward ones.
the many OBs make the course competitive and it's clear that much thought and strategy has gone into laying it out.
i greatly enjoyed my time playing here.
Cons: due to the natural springs, the streams, and the Washington weather, this course was extremely muddy. i had to go back to my truck to get my boots on! this would be a big problem during the wet months of the year, and i imagine the ground remains soggy most of the time.
some of the holes share fairways so even with the signage, it takes a round or two to get used to the layout. if it was a busy day, you'd have to be really careful about wayward discs.
the tee pads are gravel, and most were acceptable when i played, but i imagine they take a lot of upkeep to keep the mud down.
Other Thoughts: this was a great course to play.
plan to bring a few dollars to put in the donation bin and the kiosk near hole 1. (suggested $2/round).
wear boots and waterproof shoes if you're coming to play anytime other than the driest parts of the year. there are handy sticks to retrieve your water-bound discs, but much of the course was muddy.
brush up on your OB and Water Hazard rules before coming to play and establish them with your group PRIOR to the start of your round--- because you WILL go OB! but don't worry, it adds to the competitive layout of the course. (don't worry about losing discs, as they all will be easily retrievable)
overall, it was a very satisfying day of disc golf and i'm thankful this course and it's community is near my area!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Drive!

1    1/29/2011   1/30/2011
Review By: tawill7
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thought this course was great, and definately worth the 25 minute drive from Olympia. The first few hole are really short and simple, but once you head down in the valley for holes 5-18, the layout gets tougher and tougher as the round goes on. I played it in the dead of the winter and it was pretty wet, but definately playable. Not a course to air it out on, but definately demands accuracy!
Cons: A few short holes and very easy birdies. Other than that, I have nothing very bad to say at all!
Other Thoughts: Easy to find, easy to navigate around the course, and great signage showing where to throw and where to go! Pretty simple course, but would definately recommend it to anyone in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great little place

1    10/25/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: The_luthers
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: We really enjoyed the course, Jay the owner is a great guy who walked through with us until hole 7 or 8, it is beautifuly maintained and you can tell he takes great pride in it. There are challenging holes (i didnt play my best game) but it was alot of fun. My wife and son also enjoyed the benches he has spread out. The OB is clearly marked, and most of the holes are very well marked as well
Cons: I had a hard time finding hole 12, and there were a few that took a few minutes to figure out what basket went with what tee pad, but it wasnt to bad. The course is also a little more challenging to find and we werent sure if we were in the right place being that when you pull up it does look like a private residence. (we also missed the huge sign you could see off the highway) but no real complaints
Other Thoughts: Its a great little hidden place, and totally worth a stop in!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Elma

2-4    7/19/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: BAKE
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Jay is a Great guy. Love the pin placements, lots of crazy shot out there
well marked holes and a great corse
Cons: Lots of water and hazzerds, cows, tall grass right in the middle of the fairways.
did I say water
Other Thoughts: would love to play out there more

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Groomed for the job

5/10/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well thought out course that is changing to improve the difficulty. You will see new ideas here that most courses don't even try. Don't hit the cows, it is a penalty stroke. The field is set up to add the water into improving the difficulty and rakes are set aside to help retrieve your disc.
Cons: The course could use some more trees but, the owner works with what he's got.
Other Thoughts: The wind is the big kicker on difficulty. The valley adds a different dimension to the game for it is hard to predict what direction the wind is throwing your disc.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.