Elma, WA 
GH Hostel DGC Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #6
3 / 267ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Different in a good way.

2-4    2/14/2010   5/29/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a lot of fun and has a lot of different obstacles including prop cows, water, trees, elevation. The first couple of holes are open and short with man made pieces of wood for obstacles, which adds some selective shot thinking to keep the birdie. The owner Jay was gracious enough to help guide our group on our way even though he was out mowing and maintaining the course. I Like the way the designer used the land he had and even though most of the holes are technical and shorter there are a few longer ones and the course is taken care of. I love water hazards and this course has them without the risk of losing a disc.
Cons: I would say that if you love to air it out this course may not be for you. There is some crossing of fairways that would make running a larger tournament almost impossible. The course gets soggy in the off season but it seems the owners are trying to address this.
Other Thoughts: The grass gets very tall and the course is mowed where the driving fairways are which make it feel like a ball golf course to me which is nice. If it is on your way you owe it to yourself to stop in. There is a place to donate to the course fund and also a couple of loner discs in case you didn't bring your own. Overall quite lovely, but watch out for the freeway right next to it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/19/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: KG_MCDGC
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After the first 3 holes, the course opens up and utilizes the landscape well. Lots of different shots on this course, and tons of well marked O.B. The owner Jay, who is a gracious host, accepts donations for gas and other upkeep needs.
Cons: Well, it is Washington, but when it rains, the waterways and swamps on this course become creeks and ponds. I'm sure there are some locals who play a modified course when this happens.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun to play. There is wind play, trees, wooden cows, and the dreaded O.B. areas, all of which make this course challenging. And if you've never been there before, Jay will give you the tour.

*Update- 3/1/11
Contact Jay about his "Random Flip Doubles" events. The Ace Pot for these events were in the triple digits last year, with plenty of the holes being Ace runs.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Elma

2-4    7/19/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: BAKE
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Jay is a Great guy. Love the pin placements, lots of crazy shot out there
well marked holes and a great corse
Cons: Lots of water and hazzerds, cows, tall grass right in the middle of the fairways.
did I say water
Other Thoughts: would love to play out there more

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Groomed for the job

5/10/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well thought out course that is changing to improve the difficulty. You will see new ideas here that most courses don't even try. Don't hit the cows, it is a penalty stroke. The field is set up to add the water into improving the difficulty and rakes are set aside to help retrieve your disc.
Cons: The course could use some more trees but, the owner works with what he's got.
Other Thoughts: The wind is the big kicker on difficulty. The valley adds a different dimension to the game for it is hard to predict what direction the wind is throwing your disc.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The Most Friendly Private Course!

4/12/2008   4/13/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2008
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The owner, Jay Klemp has spent 10 years clearing his 8 acre property of blackberries, etc. and the last three building a wonderful, little, private 18 hole disc golf course. Jay walked much of the course with me showing me the way. It would be difficult for the first time player. Jay also supplied the course's history and runs a hostel on the property ($20 a night). Or you could camp, Jay seems mighty flexible. Too bad he didn't putt for me! The course starts out with three extremely short (around 200 ft) open holes before crossing through a gate into the main section of the course. Although only four of the holes are more than 300 ft., I found many to be interesting and challenging. There are two throws where you get to throw off a hillside, #5 is a short 223 ft. kind of a touchy, floater, anhyser shot and the other, # 13 is a 279 footer to a basket protected by a grove of alder trees. There is water to contend with on many of the holes. A small stream cuts through the course and a larger, more stagnant looking stream of some description comes into play two or three times. Stay out of it! Jay, who always seems to be looking out for the disc golfer has provided a number of tools for trolling for your discs in the murky depths.
Cons: Because this a private course without the backing of a local disc club, it's lacking a few ammenties such as concrete tee pads, better signage, bag racks. Holes #1, #2, #3 and # 18 are very short. And there is not a hole where you can really air it out. Much of the course can get very flooded in our wet, northwest winter and early spring months.
Other Thoughts: Okay, if you just gotta air it out every other hole, skip this course. But if you're in the area and looking for a friendly fun, disc golfing experience, I would highly recommend it. A donation box is there and Jay asks for a dollar or two for gas and misc. expenses. It's well off my beaten track but I'll be back. And unless you are really hardcore, this is probably a three season course. That is, unless you live down hereabouts, where the next closest decent course is at least an hours drive away. Then you lace up your boots and tee it off all winter! And where was the last course you played where the owner gave you the Gold Star Individual Tour?

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.