Disc Golf Center
Columbus, OH
Brent Hambrick Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
4 / 303ft.   3 / 489ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Blue Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Enjoyable Back Nine

1    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: philio37
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging Pin Locations
Beautiful Park
Well Maintained
Cons: Difficult where the next tee is located
Front 9 is very dull
Other Thoughts: Back Nine is spectacular; back in the woods, but no annoying small trees, narrow throwing lanes, or overwhelming undergrowth. It is very clear and fantastic to play

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite, but not awful

5+    9/24/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety.
27 hole layout lends itself to an interesting number of ways to play the course.
Beautifully maintained, and an all around nice walk.

Update 5/5//13, All holes are now open
Cons: Often crowded.
Occasional rude groups who spend forever looking for discs and don't want to let faster players through.

Occasional idiot walkers, joggers, and people cutting through the course going from one part of the park to another are supremely annoying. If you're going to walk through a disc golf course, don't give people a dirty look if discs land near you.

Closing holes 10-14 every winter destroys the flow of the course.
Other Thoughts: I gave the course a seasonal 1/2 point bump now that all holes are open


This is a better course than Blendon, but not as much fun because of the surroundings. Holes 2-9 and 18 are all wide open and subject to the cons I mentioned above. Holes 1, 10-17 and about half the "new" nine are tighter holes that require some skill. Unfortunately, holes 10-14 are closed every October-May. As this means favorite part of the course is now off limits, I find this very frustrating.. I've found a good alternate workaround is to park further back, play holes A-I, then hole 15, 1-7, and finish up with 18. You still miss out on the best holes of the course, but you do get in your 18, have a good mix of open and tight holes and still have some flow to your round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Dam Good Time

1    4/18/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 78  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has everything you want: open bombs, elevated shots, great views, tight fairways through some thick pines...should satisfy you on every level. You will bust out 90% of the discs in your bag. Let's get to it:

Front 9 is WIDE open and plays south of the Hoover Dam. As such, a great bit of wind comes into play here. There are treelines to keep in mind, as well as a few mature trees as fairway obstacles. Signature shot is #2, blasting down a hill with the dam as a backdrop. Nice touch on hole #5 - the pin is raised on a pedastal with steps up the side to retreve your disc from the basket. Some undulating hills fool with your line of sight on #7, and 8 and 9 are wonderful companions in a patch of flatland at the base of the dam's runoff.

The back nine plays on the other side of the main drive up to the parking lot, and runs up the one side of the hill and down the other. (Holes 10-14 were closed as they were rejuvinating the fairway greens, but I was able to walk along the edges of these and get a good feel for them.) This side of the road is where you find out what you're made of. 10-14 are an uphill battle (literally) through slices of pine groves on the left, and a huge ravine on the right. The fairways are large enough in most cases but the terrain is threatening and distracting. The gauntlet continues once you reach the top of the hill - holes 15-17 play through the forest as you head back down and are truly the most challening holes on the original 18. A couple "choose your own adventure" fairways let you take a chance or play is safe, depending on how the rest of your round has gone. You then cross back over the main road and 18 finishes in the field next to #6 - a pleasantly simple hole to end your round.

They have recently added nine bonus holes at the top of the hill after #14, and I recommend playing them. A follows to the right of that main road, and B's pin sends you back into the thickest pine grove I've ever seen. For C, D and E, someone went through with a tree shear and literally cut a fairway through the pines. The stumps are still there so be careful where you step, but if your shot isn't spot on stumps will be the least of your worries. I somehow miraculously pared these three, but If you end up in the trunks good luck on trying to get out - they are that thick. You then cross the road and play holes F through I, which are in a wide open field similar to the front nine. You then pick up #15 and head back down the hill.
Cons: My main complaint with this gem of a course is that while the design of it makes perfect sense, it really pisses me off. It's like you are playing two completely different courses on each side of the road. To the left (1-9, F-I) you have wide open, lazy wanderings that are very fun to play and pardon my bluntness but EASY. On the right (10-18, A-E) you have the taut, difficult shots that require pinpoint accuracy and utmost concentration. All I'm asking for here is a break from the monotony. I understand that the road is there acting as a divider but maybe shoot one or two over it (it's just a park road) to add another dimension to the course. I was shocked that even the bonus holes were split up this way. If you can't change the layout of the holes themselves, maybe reorder the holes? Just a thought. This in no way affects the ambiance of the course, but the stark contrast is relevant. This course could be in 4-star territory if the layout had as much variety as the types of holes proffered.

And speaking of types of holes available, how can you have a course play right next to a dam and not have any water hazards? Like, not even one? At the base of the dam, maybe? Across the stream? SOMETHING! Oh, well.
Other Thoughts: Brent Hambrick is very well maintained, and they even have a memorial tree honoring him on hole #8. Great to see the locals rejuvinating the fairway grass on 10-14, even though it prevented me from playing them. They had caution tape up and signs everywhere explaining why. Hopefully everyone adhers to these so they can reopen this summer.

Good signage throughout, especially on the lettered holes. Please take note of pin placements, especially on the bonus holes at the top of the hill.

A professional atmosphere overall. Would definitely play again. Well done.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely Challenging Course

1    6/15/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great Tee-pads and easy to follow course. Great course to try hyzer and anhyzer shots. Pin placement is cool as well, didn't have any holes that I thought were boring.

The extra 9 holes are a nice change from the wide-open, wind swept front 9 on the original course.
Cons: The front 9 is wide open and the winds coming off the lake can make shots tricky, sending some shots flying across other fairways.

Lots of folks walking and biking on the edges of the course. It's easy for a shot to get away and take someones head off that's not paying attention.

I also wish the baskets had numbers on them. My first time down the front 9 I was a bit confused as to what basket I was throwing to with the fairways being in the middle of an open field

The new 9 holes are nice, but there's a few through the woods that are very tight, almost crazy tight.
Other Thoughts: Holes 10-14 were closed, so I really only played the front 9. Nonetheless it was great fun (which is what this sport is all about!) and the scenery is super. I stood on the dam and people watched after I played which added a nice end to the day.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Collegiate City...

1    7/29/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Having a view of Hoover Dam (Not THE Hoover Dam from the wild west mind you!) is pretty unique. The nearby area is clean and appears 'safe' which is always nice. The woods holes (The back nine or so) are very fair; and have a nice variety of both shots and flora. Clever usage of rail ties in the front nine to either elevate a basket, or to place one over the edge of a neo-cliff just to make things interesting.
Cons: Although the railroad ties were indeed interesting, the fact of the matter is that until you get to the woodsy portion of the first 18 holes, the rest are largely 'crammed' into one long hill. As such, you need to constantly be aware of who's throwing around you when there's lots of other players tossing simultaneusly.
Other Thoughts: The day my son and I played the place was crawling with college students; so that was really heartening to see so many young folks enjoying the sport. It was also nice to see so many girls playing as the sport definitely could use more ladies tossing discs! Will definitely play this course again when in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but needs work

1    6/6/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: jammydee
Played: 45  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 27 holes is great! 9 holes is never enough!
Good drop-offs on the front 9
Some wickedly wooded holes towards the end.
Short and Long teepads on most holes and multiple pin locations.
Cons: Holes 1, 2, and 5 were down for maintenance when I was there. Course was crowded and some of the teepads are located pretty close to baskets for other holes, leading to lots of cries of "FOUR!!!" After playing Gulley and Monroe down near Cincinnati, I wish there were more variety of holes. For a 27-hole course, I only feel like there were 9 or so unique holes. Many are pretty much just straight ahead or slight right or left. Not much elevation change either, just some rolling of the terrain. Could've made use of the land a lot better. No water fountains so bring some water with you! It's a long trek! This course is also badly in need of some wayfinding signage.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course, but it just feels like it isn't up to its potential. It could be so much better if it was better taken care of. Having 3 holes unplayable right off the bat kinda started the day on the wrong foot. The teepads are pretty nice and don't get me wrong, I'd go back, but I'd rather play others first before I go back and play this one again...

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 hoover dam dgc

1    11/9/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good shot selections and some very unique pin placements. Nice rolling hills with shots both up and down hill. Fairly well maintained with plenty of trash cans around course so i only saw a few pieces of trash around the course.

Cons: Somewhat difficult to navigate your first time threw. When i threw this course, holes 1 & 2 were closed when i was there. Several holes seemed to be wet even though it hadn't rained in the area for several days which suggests there could be some drainage issues. Very busy even during hours most courses would dead
Other Thoughts: Would like to throw this course again, possibly next time with some locals that throw this course well. maybe i'll chack out sunday league here sometime

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hoover

5+    11/5/2008   12/3/2008
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 102  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Requires all Shot Types
Both Open and Wooded Holes
Easy to Navigate
Pro and Am Tees at Most Holes
Multiple Pin Positions
Benches at Nearly Every Hole
Ample Parking By Hole 1 and Hole H
Practice Basket
Beautiful Views of the Dam
Well-Maintained
27 Holes
Basket are in Decent Shape
Big Tee Pads (A Couple Tees Excluded)
A Variety of Distances
Cons:
Can Get Crowded
Baskets Are Rarely in Posted Position
Some of the New Nine (A-I) Have Very Short Tees
Holes A-I Can Get Very Swampy
Pin Positions Aren't Changed Very Often
Other Thoughts:
Brent Hambrick Memorial (locals refer to this course as Hoover) is the premier course in the Columbus, OH area. The course is very well maintained, with trash cans, and benches throughout the course. Being one of the better courses in the area, if not the best, this course can get really crowded at times. There is parking available near the first tee, but it can fill up on busy days. There is additonal parking located near the basket for #9 and near the back of the park by the new nine.

The front nine are mostly open holes, trees can come into play on a couple shots. Wind can also be a huge factor on the front nine of this course. Wind can come off the parking lot and over this hills and create a lot of trouble if you aren't careful.

Overall the course is fairly easy to navigate. The only exceptions to this that I can think of is heading to Hole 10 from 9. Once you finish up 9 look across the road at the woods. You should see a small trail leading into the woods, this is the path to Hole 10. Once in the woods the holes are once again easy to navigate. Another issue some people can have is with the new nine, A-I. When we play we add them into the middle of our round. After hole 14 when you come back out of the woods, hole 15 is to your left through the pine forest. We cut out to the right and play A. After we play the new nine, A-I, we head back to 15 and finish out the original 18.

This course can be very challenging for any skill level. The short tees provide good distance and challenge for the recreational to imtermediate players, while the long tees are for the more advanced and pro players. I would recommend that anyone who is in the are check out this course. If possible, I would visit early morning or during the week to avoid the large crowds. As usual please use the trash cans and keep this place nice and clean and enjoy your round.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Good all-around course

1    10/5/2008   10/5/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 45  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-maintained course, fairly easy to navigate, great scenery and the back nine has some great holes in the woods.

Excellent concrete tee pads, and clean, easy to read tee signs with maps.
Cons: Sometimes navigating was difficult -- I never found hole 18. Front nine a bit of back-and-forth. Course was a bit busy, but a wide range of ages & types -- good for the sport.
Other Thoughts: Overall a solid course. The front nine was a bit lackluster, but once you got into the back nine things started to improve dramatically for the course.

Back nine has a good mix of skill requirements. The new nine holes (A to I) had some great wooded technical shots.

Some nice wooded technical shots; nothing too challenging, just the right amount to require a bit of finesse. A few potential Ace holes on the back nine.

The additional nine (hole A to I, or 19-27) didn't feel tacked on, and there were some great wooded technical shots that I really enjoyed throwing. The last few were open shots, no monster bombs but a chance to get some distance in.

Park had a decent amount of parking, and the parking lot was right by hole 1. Hole 18 for the most part looped back to the lot (at least according to the map -- I couldn't find the actual tee or basket), as did the additional back nine.

Park is east to access, course is easy to find once you are in the park.

No concession stand or water fountain that I could see. Porta-Potty in the parking lot.

Locals were friendly. Course was quite busy, with a good mix of player types. I think the park was multi-use, but everybody there seemed to be playing dic golf!

The additional nine is a short walk past the main parking lot. I almost missed it, thinking the course was 27 holes but it's more of an 18-hole original course with an additional back nine. I really liked the wooded technical holes on the added back nine. Short, but tricky. Almost got my first Ace on one of them!

If you are in the area, definitely worth checking out. Some holes might be a bit tough for novices, but nothing outrageous. If I lived in the area, it would definitely be on my main course list.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

6/15/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 224  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 15.9 Years
5 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great design, a featured a-tier tournament is held there, long with a mix of open and woods, great signs and tees, great views.
Cons: Poison ivy is thick and on most holes, can be overgrown, easy to lose a disc.

5 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.