Columbus, OH 
Brent Hambrick Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: gcoghill Hole #B
3 / 266ft.   3 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole B Short Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Overrated but still a good course

2-4    5/15/2015   6/9/2015
Review By: zetterbeard
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good signage, distances are clearly marked. Although pictures of the signage are posted only for the extra holes, all 27 have signs similar to those pictured from the extra holes, making them easy to navigate.

-Pin placement appears to change frequently. I played this course twice in a span of a few weeks, and the second time I played it the pins were moved. Perhaps I just got lucky, but it's nice to see they move things around to change it up.

-A few holes are very scenic both with the dam and the woods. A few of the wooded holes have a very steep drop off to one side that is also kind of cool to look at and check out.

-Longer tees make this course much more interesting, especially in the open ones (more on that later). I've played this course four times, and the one time I played from the longer tees it seemed much more interesting than the shorts.

-The course location itself is a plus. It's close to the 270 belt and is easy to get to. If you live in northern or northeastern Columbus, I bet you could get here in about 15 minutes. Even if you live more central, it's nice to have a course of this caliber within 25 minutes.

-The wooded holes are some of the best I've ever played. Good combination of turns, doglegs, and conveniently-located mature trees. Even on the holes that are heavily wooded, there's a defined fairway that you pretty much need to or should follow.
Cons: -It's been said about this course many times but it needs to be said. The open holes are so. darn. open. It's basically like throwing up and down a field, maybe along a tree line here and there, but they're so open. I don't know anything about course design, but if they could have somehow made the open holes more interesting, this course would be amazing, sadly, at least in my opinion, it's a significant blow against this course.

-Partially due to the open nature of the front half of the course, a lot of holes come very close to one another. When you or another group inevitably throws off target, you could be standing in the middle of the fairway of another hole, causing all kinds of unintended backups.

-As also previously stated, the course gets a lot of non-DG foot traffic-- dog walkers, joggers, etc. Unfortunately, similar to Griggs, the path runs alongside a large portion of the course, which may cause you to wait awhile before you can throw.

Other Thoughts: -I rated this course a 3.5 because of how open it is. I love the wooded holes and highly recommend you come play this course so you can play them but, unless you're a complete novice, you'll probably be bored and left wanting more on the first 9 or so holes. Looking at the course map, it looks like you can walk down the path and hop on 10 and do 10-18 and the extra holes, perhaps that's your best bet. It's disappointing to have to suggest that, especially if you're driving in from further then 10 miles, but you may as well throw up and down a soccer field to get the same effect as the first 9.

-I called this course overrated because I think it gets a better reputation than it deserves, partially due to it being on the national tour. That's cool and all, but it doesn't make up for its shortcomings. 3.5 is a fair assessment, in my opinion.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Variety at the Hoover Dam

1    10/4/2014   1/13/2015
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 105  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 3.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brent Hambrick Memorial is a very popular course, evidenced by its hosting a NT and the many crowds that were out when I played even on a cold, rainy day. The course is spread largely throughout the Hoover Dam Park and for the most part is secluded from other park activities. There are plenty of benches, trash cans, parking space, a porta-potty, practice basket, and club/tourney info at the beginning of the course. The course comes right back to the parking lot at the end and passes by it at least one other time.

One of the best aspects of the course is the opportunity to play a variety of different hole types. With 27 holes, the course offers both many open and tightly wooded holes. There are also a few holes that are more moderately wooded in the middle of the course that offer multiple lanes to the basket. Here you will get the chance to throw a bunch of long bombs that test your distance game in the wind, while also getting the opportunity to play thick woods holes that test extreme accuracy. You will use your distance drivers, mids, and putters all off the tee. I also enjoyed how these holes were mixed, playing from open-tight-open-tight etc.

The open holes give different looks, while the wooded holes are unique from a lot of the wooded holes that I have played. The wooded holes are definitely the highlight of the course for me, offering many different challenges to contend with. For example, hole 10 is a turnover shot that has a narrow fairway and steep drop-off potential on the right. Holes C-E are very tight shots among dozens of trees that reward accurate drives kept on the fairway. Finally, hole 16 offers a blind hyzer (RHBH) shot from the open into the woods to a tightly guarded pin. These wooded holes make the course.

There are two tees offered which give a good variety to the different levels of difficulty for the course. The long tees add about 2,500 more feet to the course, so it allows both seasoned and rookie players to enjoy, which is essential for a course in a populated area. The concrete tees were in good shape.
Cons: Simply put, there are way too many open holes for my liking. The wooded holes are great, and it's nice to have the variety between open and tight holes, but over 1/3 of the course are completely holes that are open and flat with not much to contend with other than the wind. The course would be at least disc of a higher rating if there were less completely open holes. Just my personal preference.

Some of the fairways run close together on the front 9, especially holes 5 and 6. There are also times when the basket of one hole lies dangerously close to another hole's tee. This normally wouldn't be too bad, but is a hazard since the course gets crowded and this part of it is open.

The long tees didn't usually have signage, which caused some run-ups to spot the pin. This also is a bad attribute of a very crowded course, since players may not think anyone is directly in front of them, especially in the woods.

There are some long walks and the navigation is confusing at times. It would be nice to have more signs pointing you in and out of the woods.

There is the occasional wait for joggers and cars since the course plays along the road multiple times.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that I would recommend to anyone to play. Its variety allows players of all skill levels to enjoy it and offers some difficulty without being too taxing. Having 27 holes here is a major plus, but the amount of completely open holes really got repetitive for me. If some of these open holes were even slightly more imaginative and challenging, I would definitely bump this course's rating up. Still, it's a course worth checking out for the wooded holes alone and along with Simsbury is head and shoulders above the rest of the courses in the Columbus area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    7/4/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 152  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 15.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The famous Brent Hambrick course offered some great holes and was a fun time. Here are my pros for the course:

1) Anytime you have more than 18 hole its a plus for me (unless the holes really suck). Who doesn't love more disc golf?

2) The course literally offered the most variety you could imagine. The front 9 was pretty flat and open (and a little easy) while the back nine weaved in an out of the woods with very difficult and challenging par 3's and par 4's. The front and back nine were essentially two different courses.

3) In my opinion its always good to have other "things" to do at a disc golf course (don't shoot me) to keep your wife or whomever occupied while playing. This park had some nice amenities besides the park, including Hoover Dam! This park is just not for disc golf and was really enjoyable outside of the course.

4) Navigation was very easy except for one spot after the last temporary hole. I would rate this course a solid 4/5 for navigation but I probably would recommend a sign after the last temporary hole indicating where the next hole is.

5) The course had two distinct set of tees that offered vastly different challenges. The long tees are 2500 feet longer than the short tees which is essentially 100 feet per hole. I value having a short and long tee on every hole because it lets players of different skill sets enjoy the course. In this case the long tees were very challenging while the short tees looked much easier and enjoyable.

6) The course forced you to throw so many different types of shots. There were plenty of opportunities for hyzer, anhyzer and sidearm shots. I love a course with variety on the shot selection and this course offered it.
Cons: While this was an enjoyable course I do have a few cons. This course is a GREAT course but like any course had its faults:

1) It was a great experience to play a course at Hoover Dam but I would have loved for some of the holes to get closer to the dam or even a water hazard. It tantalizes you to be so close and not get to throw a shot around the dam! The course had some good holes but utilizing a water hazard or two could have really added a few signature holes and pushed this course to a 4.0 rating or above. (See below for an opportunity to play some amazing shots around the Dam).

2) Some of the holes on the back nine became a bit repetitive. It seemed like we were throwing a lot of low-ceiling drives in a tightly wooded area to a specific landing zone (from the long tees) and then throwing another shot to the basket. I think one or two of these holes are okay but I don't think a course should have too many low-ceiling shots that are par 4's because I feel its constricting to the course. This is not a huge con but just my personal feeling about having too many low ceiling shots.

3) The course had some very dangerous shots. The drive on hole 3 comes WAY too close to the long tee on hole 4. In fact, I played with a buddy and both of our drives went right over the long tee for hole 4 and we weren't too far away from the basket. A few of the holes on the front nine were too bunched together in my opinion and this is a minor safety concern.

4) The baskets were beginning to show some significant wear. We had a few putts that slid right through the middle of the chains. It didn't take too much away from the course but it is worth mentioning.
Other Thoughts: NOTE: If you have the opportunity to play this course around the 4th of July Holiday weekend it is highly recommended. My buddy and I played this course on July 4th, 2014 and they had the temporary course setup around the dam for the Hoover-Westside Challenge the next day. Combining the Brent Hambrick course with this temporary course in and around Hoover Dam makes for some AMAZING golf. The temporary course had some of the most stunning shots you will throw in disc golf. I would actually rate the temporary course higher than the permanent case. It offered multiple shots involving water hazards and offered multiple shots up and down the dam.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Back Nine

1    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: philio37
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging Pin Locations
Beautiful Park
Well Maintained
Cons: Difficult where the next tee is located
Front 9 is very dull
Other Thoughts: Back Nine is spectacular; back in the woods, but no annoying small trees, narrow throwing lanes, or overwhelming undergrowth. It is very clear and fantastic to play

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Dam Good Time

1    4/18/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 87  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 8.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has everything you want: open bombs, elevated shots, great views, tight fairways through some thick pines...should satisfy you on every level. You will bust out 90% of the discs in your bag. Let's get to it:

Front 9 is WIDE open and plays south of the Hoover Dam. As such, a great bit of wind comes into play here. There are treelines to keep in mind, as well as a few mature trees as fairway obstacles. Signature shot is #2, blasting down a hill with the dam as a backdrop. Nice touch on hole #5 - the pin is raised on a pedastal with steps up the side to retreve your disc from the basket. Some undulating hills fool with your line of sight on #7, and 8 and 9 are wonderful companions in a patch of flatland at the base of the dam's runoff.

The back nine plays on the other side of the main drive up to the parking lot, and runs up the one side of the hill and down the other. (Holes 10-14 were closed as they were rejuvinating the fairway greens, but I was able to walk along the edges of these and get a good feel for them.) This side of the road is where you find out what you're made of. 10-14 are an uphill battle (literally) through slices of pine groves on the left, and a huge ravine on the right. The fairways are large enough in most cases but the terrain is threatening and distracting. The gauntlet continues once you reach the top of the hill - holes 15-17 play through the forest as you head back down and are truly the most challening holes on the original 18. A couple "choose your own adventure" fairways let you take a chance or play is safe, depending on how the rest of your round has gone. You then cross back over the main road and 18 finishes in the field next to #6 - a pleasantly simple hole to end your round.

They have recently added nine bonus holes at the top of the hill after #14, and I recommend playing them. A follows to the right of that main road, and B's pin sends you back into the thickest pine grove I've ever seen. For C, D and E, someone went through with a tree shear and literally cut a fairway through the pines. The stumps are still there so be careful where you step, but if your shot isn't spot on stumps will be the least of your worries. I somehow miraculously pared these three, but If you end up in the trunks good luck on trying to get out - they are that thick. You then cross the road and play holes F through I, which are in a wide open field similar to the front nine. You then pick up #15 and head back down the hill.
Cons: My main complaint with this gem of a course is that while the design of it makes perfect sense, it really pisses me off. It's like you are playing two completely different courses on each side of the road. To the left (1-9, F-I) you have wide open, lazy wanderings that are very fun to play and pardon my bluntness but EASY. On the right (10-18, A-E) you have the taut, difficult shots that require pinpoint accuracy and utmost concentration. All I'm asking for here is a break from the monotony. I understand that the road is there acting as a divider but maybe shoot one or two over it (it's just a park road) to add another dimension to the course. I was shocked that even the bonus holes were split up this way. If you can't change the layout of the holes themselves, maybe reorder the holes? Just a thought. This in no way affects the ambiance of the course, but the stark contrast is relevant. This course could be in 4-star territory if the layout had as much variety as the types of holes proffered.

And speaking of types of holes available, how can you have a course play right next to a dam and not have any water hazards? Like, not even one? At the base of the dam, maybe? Across the stream? SOMETHING! Oh, well.
Other Thoughts: Brent Hambrick is very well maintained, and they even have a memorial tree honoring him on hole #8. Great to see the locals rejuvinating the fairway grass on 10-14, even though it prevented me from playing them. They had caution tape up and signs everywhere explaining why. Hopefully everyone adhers to these so they can reopen this summer.

Good signage throughout, especially on the lettered holes. Please take note of pin placements, especially on the bonus holes at the top of the hill.

A professional atmosphere overall. Would definitely play again. Well done.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely Challenging Course

1    6/15/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 65  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great Tee-pads and easy to follow course. Great course to try hyzer and anhyzer shots. Pin placement is cool as well, didn't have any holes that I thought were boring.

The extra 9 holes are a nice change from the wide-open, wind swept front 9 on the original course.
Cons: The front 9 is wide open and the winds coming off the lake can make shots tricky, sending some shots flying across other fairways.

Lots of folks walking and biking on the edges of the course. It's easy for a shot to get away and take someones head off that's not paying attention.

I also wish the baskets had numbers on them. My first time down the front 9 I was a bit confused as to what basket I was throwing to with the fairways being in the middle of an open field

The new 9 holes are nice, but there's a few through the woods that are very tight, almost crazy tight.
Other Thoughts: Holes 10-14 were closed, so I really only played the front 9. Nonetheless it was great fun (which is what this sport is all about!) and the scenery is super. I stood on the dam and people watched after I played which added a nice end to the day.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Collegiate City...

1    7/29/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Having a view of Hoover Dam (Not THE Hoover Dam from the wild west mind you!) is pretty unique. The nearby area is clean and appears 'safe' which is always nice. The woods holes (The back nine or so) are very fair; and have a nice variety of both shots and flora. Clever usage of rail ties in the front nine to either elevate a basket, or to place one over the edge of a neo-cliff just to make things interesting.
Cons: Although the railroad ties were indeed interesting, the fact of the matter is that until you get to the woodsy portion of the first 18 holes, the rest are largely 'crammed' into one long hill. As such, you need to constantly be aware of who's throwing around you when there's lots of other players tossing simultaneusly.
Other Thoughts: The day my son and I played the place was crawling with college students; so that was really heartening to see so many young folks enjoying the sport. It was also nice to see so many girls playing as the sport definitely could use more ladies tossing discs! Will definitely play this course again when in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but needs work

1    6/6/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: jammydee
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 27 holes is great! 9 holes is never enough!
Good drop-offs on the front 9
Some wickedly wooded holes towards the end.
Short and Long teepads on most holes and multiple pin locations.
Cons: Holes 1, 2, and 5 were down for maintenance when I was there. Course was crowded and some of the teepads are located pretty close to baskets for other holes, leading to lots of cries of "FOUR!!!" After playing Gulley and Monroe down near Cincinnati, I wish there were more variety of holes. For a 27-hole course, I only feel like there were 9 or so unique holes. Many are pretty much just straight ahead or slight right or left. Not much elevation change either, just some rolling of the terrain. Could've made use of the land a lot better. No water fountains so bring some water with you! It's a long trek! This course is also badly in need of some wayfinding signage.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course, but it just feels like it isn't up to its potential. It could be so much better if it was better taken care of. Having 3 holes unplayable right off the bat kinda started the day on the wrong foot. The teepads are pretty nice and don't get me wrong, I'd go back, but I'd rather play others first before I go back and play this one again...

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 hoover dam dgc

1    11/9/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good shot selections and some very unique pin placements. Nice rolling hills with shots both up and down hill. Fairly well maintained with plenty of trash cans around course so i only saw a few pieces of trash around the course.

Cons: Somewhat difficult to navigate your first time threw. When i threw this course, holes 1 & 2 were closed when i was there. Several holes seemed to be wet even though it hadn't rained in the area for several days which suggests there could be some drainage issues. Very busy even during hours most courses would dead
Other Thoughts: Would like to throw this course again, possibly next time with some locals that throw this course well. maybe i'll chack out sunday league here sometime

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hoover

5+    11/5/2008   12/3/2008
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 126  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Requires all Shot Types
Both Open and Wooded Holes
Easy to Navigate
Pro and Am Tees at Most Holes
Multiple Pin Positions
Benches at Nearly Every Hole
Ample Parking By Hole 1 and Hole H
Practice Basket
Beautiful Views of the Dam
Well-Maintained
27 Holes
Basket are in Decent Shape
Big Tee Pads (A Couple Tees Excluded)
A Variety of Distances
Cons:
Can Get Crowded
Baskets Are Rarely in Posted Position
Some of the New Nine (A-I) Have Very Short Tees
Holes A-I Can Get Very Swampy
Pin Positions Aren't Changed Very Often
Other Thoughts:
Brent Hambrick Memorial (locals refer to this course as Hoover) is the premier course in the Columbus, OH area. The course is very well maintained, with trash cans, and benches throughout the course. Being one of the better courses in the area, if not the best, this course can get really crowded at times. There is parking available near the first tee, but it can fill up on busy days. There is additonal parking located near the basket for #9 and near the back of the park by the new nine.

The front nine are mostly open holes, trees can come into play on a couple shots. Wind can also be a huge factor on the front nine of this course. Wind can come off the parking lot and over this hills and create a lot of trouble if you aren't careful.

Overall the course is fairly easy to navigate. The only exceptions to this that I can think of is heading to Hole 10 from 9. Once you finish up 9 look across the road at the woods. You should see a small trail leading into the woods, this is the path to Hole 10. Once in the woods the holes are once again easy to navigate. Another issue some people can have is with the new nine, A-I. When we play we add them into the middle of our round. After hole 14 when you come back out of the woods, hole 15 is to your left through the pine forest. We cut out to the right and play A. After we play the new nine, A-I, we head back to 15 and finish out the original 18.

This course can be very challenging for any skill level. The short tees provide good distance and challenge for the recreational to imtermediate players, while the long tees are for the more advanced and pro players. I would recommend that anyone who is in the are check out this course. If possible, I would visit early morning or during the week to avoid the large crowds. As usual please use the trash cans and keep this place nice and clean and enjoy your round.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.