Columbus, OH
Brent Hambrick Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 180ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 White Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Voyage of the ‘Dammed’

2-4    10/27/2013   10/27/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 147  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 2.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The 'Hoover' course (I'll always call it The Brent Hambrink Memorial) is situated on a beautiful reservoir and plays in a woodland park that's obviously a jewel in this community. The scenery in the area is spectacular and unexpected when you consider Columbus is mostly in a flatlands area of the Midwest. The disc golf course has multiple tees & pin positions, and plays up to a championship caliber level, yet has a design that accommodates the Recreational player as well (…if you want the greatest challenge, play all 27, long, and use tourney OB rules!)

There is a great deal of variety out here, from playing 18 short tees (4700 feet) out to 27 longs (9300 plus), and having open (often windy) shots near the dam all the way through precision shorter holes in the pine and deciduous woods. The design makes good use of the elevations available to create risk/reward greens (like on 3, with its wooded drop-off long, or the terraces on 4 and 8). There are a number of 'loop' opportunities if you have to shorten your round (see map for examples like playing just the letter holes, or adding 6 woods holes, like 15-17, then 12-14, etc.). BHM has holes ranging from 160 to 542 feet in length, and there is a mixture of left to right, right to left, straight, and even S-shaped lines.

Generous, grippy concrete tees are often boxed and mulched where needed, and the landscaping effort for the boxed greens mentioned above is impressive. Baskets are consistent and catch well (and are sometimes creatively set up, like the raised basket on hole 5). There are four parking areas along the length of the course (good for tournament play), plus shelters, bathrooms, trash cans, benches, etc. There is a practice basket just off the 'central' lot. Signage is adequate (could be a little more consistent: I know the Columbus Flyers do an excellent set of signs for the Westside temp course, so I know this is an area BHM can be improved).
Cons: The first thing that comes to mind for me is that there is a safety risk on hole 6 coming back at the 5th tee pad. In fact, you walk pretty much back up fairways after 1, 2, 4, 8, & F. The next is that you'll often need a spotter going ahead if you're playing the long tees in the woods, because you usually can only see the tee in front of you, and not much past the bends. The deep ravine starting to the right of hole 10 is also not immediately obvious. Finally, Some of the distances really don't seem right (is long F really only 375'?, or I - the last letter hole - only 250'?!)
Other Thoughts: The first time I played here was the 2013 King of the Courses challenge, playing all 27 short tees as the third course of a brutal Saturday. By the tenth hour of tournament disc golf, even the younger guys on my card were fatigued, and I was wiped out, so I'm glad I came back with our fall traveling league to give this a better look from the long tees before writing a review. It's a legendary course that hosts a terrific Open every year to challenge the best players out there.

Oh, and if you live anywhere nearby, also keep an eye out for events on the 'Westside' of Hoover Dam!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Premiere Columbus Course

5+    9/2/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: ChuckinDeucesACE
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads. Good signage for each hole except for a few that appear to have been stolen. The front-9's open landscape with with some tall grass that has been shaped into fairways is a nice touch. The back-9 takes place along a ridge and weaves through the woods. The added 9-"letter holes" are a mixture of both open and woods. The woods here are light on the underbrush and not over run with poison ivy, oak, or sumac.
Cons: WARNING!!! Random non-disc golf people walking through the course. They are every where. Also, this is a high traffic course. Tee-off early if you want a nice peaceful round.
Other Thoughts: Next tee signs would be helpful, especially on the back-9.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very nice course with a split personality.

5+    6/14/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: RollingStone
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 22 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All basic amenities are present (Multiple concrete tees, multiple pin positions, adequate parking near the first hole, bathroom facilities, benches, trash cans, etc.)

Nice layout that lets you warm up with 9 mostly open holes before you have to start hitting tight lines on the back.

Fun from the short tees and very challenging from the longs, especially on the wooded holes.

Many shorter tees require different shots than the longs, as opposed to just being moved forward a few feet, so you can work on different types of shots.

A fair number of unique holes and more elevation changes that you'd expect in central Ohio.

Both wooded and open holes.
Cons: Other reviewers have mentioned that holes 10-14 are often closed. I'm glad I'm not local, and won't have to play the course without those holes as 10 and 14 are two of my favorites on this hole.

Multi-use park, so watch out for cars, joggers, dog walkers and bikers on some holes.

Certain holes really need some trees planted to make them more interesting in the future (G and H specifically are BORING holes)
Other Thoughts: This is the course I've played most often in my couple weeks in central Ohio as it and Blendon are the closest courses to the hotel I'm staying at. Overall it's a very nice facility, and shows great upkeep by the Columbus Flyers club. The locals are friendly and willing to let an older guy like me play with them for a few holes. While this is a very nice course, it's still the second best in the area (behind Simsbury Park) and despite it's history just doesn't have the wow factor of other courses I've played around the country. I guess what I'm trying to say is that it's a solid local course, but not a destination course.

Edit: the split personality I mentioned in my review refers to the fact that on the west side of the park road every hole is in the open, and on the east side they're tighter, more wooded holes. Not a bad thing, just strange it worked out that way, and worth a mention.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun at the Dam

5+    9/23/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 155  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a great variety here. Open bombers, tricky greens, ob, short technical holes, tons of elevation, Hoover has it all. There are two sets of concrete tees with good signage. Hole 2 is a fun downhill bomber looking straight at the dam. There a few par 4s here. The elevated pin on hole 5 is nice. It is awesome there are 27 holes here. The two sets of tees make the course very accessible for players of all skill levels. Overall, this is a very fun course.
Cons: Much of the course is very open. They just took out holes 10-14 for the winter. I feel the course could be redesigned and made better. Possibly add more par 4s and 5s, lengthen the course, and have less wide open holes. Some holes I don't really care for. Hole 5 and 6 are repetitive short hyzers. 9 is just an open hyzer. 14 does not really have a good line to the basket making it a tweener hole. Hole G is completely wide open and boring.
Other Thoughts: Site of the Brett Hambrick Memorial NT. After hole 14 play the letter holes and then play 15-18 to finish.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good, solid course

5+    8/20/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: lildragon
Played: 35  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good mix of short and long
- Multiple concrete tee pads
- Multiple pin placements
- Clean and well maintained
- Third 9 helps with congestion
- Nice flow from hole to hole
Cons: - Can get crowded at times
- Holes 10-14 are currently closed for restoration. This puts a major dampener on course flow and playability.
Other Thoughts: Grew up playing this course, its a great example of what a course should be. When all holes are open for play this is a wonderful course to play and learn the different shots you'll need to master.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Glad to be in Ohio

1    7/7/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: kev32650
Played: 57  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good mix of holes righty lefty straight and short and long
-short and long tees on almost every hole
-27 holes (always a plus)
-great tee signs and tee pads
-some of the best greens I've played
-challenges you with lots of shots
Cons: -a few holes especially F, G, H a little boring, just open and a bit of a let down after playing a great course. Think next time I'll start on A.
-no drinking fountains or facilities just a port a john, makes it harder to bring the family to
-holes 10-14 are out of commission. (not necessarily a con cuz they need to keep it looking nice) just a con cuz I wanted to play the whole thing!
-a few long walks between holes, but they made the most of what they had to work with. Mostly F,G,H where I felt that way. (definitely my least favorite part of the course)
Other Thoughts: I have been wanting to play this course for a long time and now that I'm in Ohio full time I'm sure I'll be playing it a lot. Think I'm going back Sunday for doubles. Definitely want to play it again.

I've definitely played better courses, but this one has a lot to offer. I like courses with replay factor and short and long tees and good variety like this course make you want to play it again and again and again.

The greens were awesome on 4, 7, 8 maybe some others that I'm forgetting. Thought I had parked 8 but ended up with a 35 foot straight up hill putt from inside a bush. Then was putting almost straight down to save the 3. Things like that make a relatively open part of the course way more interesting.

Definitely excited to play 10-14 next spring and get the full experience of the course.

17 was my favorite hole so far. Took a 5 on it. I love those long throws through woods. Very good challenge to go back and get a 3 on it.

Also excited to get back and play the longs. I'm sure I will be out there a lot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/31/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: OhioDiscer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well kept 18 hole course. With and extra 9 hole course added after Brett Hambricks death. Good use of pro and short tees. Holes 1and2 are next to the dam pouring water nice view. Some good use of out in the open and nature holes. The back 9 is marked with letters instead of numbers to make course one of a kind.
Cons: This course only needs to do a little branch trimming in the back nine.
Other Thoughts: Go play it or if you have played this course keep playing it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 3 the Hard (fun) Way

1    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 94  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 6.7 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes in a beautiful park. Great variety with an open front 9, a wooded middle 9, and a back 9 that would make a great 9 holer in itself in that it has very finesse oriented, short, wooded holes and some open holes to flex the guns. Two pin placements as well as a short and long tee for most holes. Nice cement tees and signs on every hole, benches, adequate use of elevation and "proper" wooded holes (none of that tractor-cleared path through the woods type of crap). Beautiful reservoir and dam next to course. Good hole variety and length as well, you don't feel like lugging 12+ discs at this course is overkill compared to many others. The front 9 has some nice drop-offs near the basket. Trash cans and a portajohn.
Cons: There is a little confusion on where to go after hole 5, a next tee sign would be great. I would have liked to seen better use of the park's elevation and water, especially the water. I'm not saying have a hole that tees off from the top of the dam (although that would be awesomesauce) but some holes ending near the river/reservoir's edge seem doable. That's it though, great course.
Other Thoughts: Really fun, the 27 holes are a breeze to play through and the extra 9 is nice because they're neat holes and they dump you close to the parking lot for nice flow. As an NC disc golfer, this was what I was expecting in an Ohio course with the nice rolling fields and verdant woods. Definitely a repeat play as it feels like three 9-holes combined into one, a venerable smorgasbord of disc golf pleasure.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Worth the road trip

5+    3/31/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: thebuckeyeguy
Played: 97  Reviewed: 14
This review was updated on 7/24/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is quite simply an above average course. You have everything from open shots to wooded shots, long bombs to short placements, elevation changes (though not too drastic), a bonus 9 holes that wrap around (A-I, starts after hole 14), 3 parking lots, good signs and great tees, plenty of OB challenges...all of the "essentials" that we look for in a good course.
Cons: I wish there were a way for water to come into play. The only problem is that there are no little lagoons or outlets to throw over; all options are really unfeasible. I would like to see 9 more holes put in the woods, either in the ravine along side 10-14 or in the woods beyond G, H, and I. Only restroom is a port-a-john and there aren't water fountains; plan accordingly. Also, the big bummer, due to erosion issues it seems that some holes are often closed. I can't remember the last time that I played this course in its entirety (outside of a tournament).
Other Thoughts: I might have given a higher score if it weren't for Hoover being my home course; unfortunately, playing it often makes me take it for granted. But if you're looking for a disc golf road trip, the Columbus area offers Hoover here, Gordon Holton (technical), and Lobdell (long and strong) as diverse, challenging, and memorable courses that'll make your trip. And we have plenty of warm-up courses, too (Blendon or Griggs), as well as new courses slated for 2010.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I thought about this for a long time

5+    3/21/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2010
17 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: General everyday play this is a great 3.5-4 disc course
During tournaments, when played from long tees, with rope fairways and OB's in play this course moves up to a 4.5

I typically include hole-by-hole descriptions of a course however one of the best attributes about The Hambrick Course is how adaptable it is. It can be played many different ways and will remain fresh after being played many times because of the great time and care given to this course. True disc golf minds get this course ready for a National Tour PDGA Tournament and it shows.

Pros

- Long tees add over 1600 ft and a completely different monster.
- Two tee's and 2 basket placements for most holes
- Holes C, D, and E are beautiful and very technical.
- Multiple basket placements with some on higher or lower levels to make approach shots and putting challenging.
- Great scenic views of the lake and Dam on holes 1-3 and 18, appealing views of the river on hole 8 although it can be a Con see below.
- A very appealing wooded layout with holes 10-17 with lots of mature trees and some beautiful walks through pine tree trails.
- With the wooded portion of the course and the majority of the letter holes you will very rarely play the same shot twice.
- Most of the holes do not play to just one shot or style of play..
- The largest tee pads I have ever played for most holes.
Cons: Cons

- Short tee layout is not challenging for advanced-high level players
- Can be very muddy and does not drain well
- Certain basket placements can result in obstacles coming into play that normally are not. Such as hole 8 when the river is up.
- Holes 5 and 6 are very dangerous and essentially play in several other fairways.
- Holes 1-9 are very simple.
- Not enough holes with open distance. The long tees change this in some aspects, however most drives are in a controlled fashion and can lead to a constricted arm feeling. Everyone once in awhile I like to be able too just bomb away.
- Parking can be a hassle at this course and require you to walk a long way.
- No good restroom facilities. How can a National Tour Course not have a good restroom setup?
Other Thoughts: Memorable things to add:

- I truly love the views and scenery of this course. In Cincinnati you just don't get to walk from one basket to the next tee through a large patch of mature pine trees.
- Hole 15, throw the spike hyzer, thumber etc… don't try the tunnel
- Holes C, D, E are absolutely frustrating and beautiful at the same time for players of all levels
- Real Disc golfers need to ask about OB's and other rules which make this course a lot more challenging on certain holes.
- I really appreciate how diverse in line shaping you need to be to play this course. If you're a RH BH player a FH is a must.
- If the parking lot looks full park somewhere else but don't leave… 27 holes spreads out the local traffic and eliminates wait times.
- A lot of the recreational locals don't play the wooded or letter holes so start there if you want a more personal experience

17 of 21 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.