Columbus, OH 
Brent Hambrick Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: A.Mutt Hole #C (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 177ft.   3 / 177ft. Par / Distance:
Hole C Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Old Faithful

5+    10/29/2013   10/30/2013
Review By: sion
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like this course, always have. I liked it back in the day (90-91) and like it even more now. I think the best thing about it is that it is always challenging, requiring every shot in your bag to score well. The addition of the A-I 3rd nine added another level of variety to what was already a strong course. This course proves that you don't NEED 700+ foot holes to challenge the players.
Cons: Signage isn't the best, but once you've looped it once or twice you don't need the signs. There are a couple of confusing spots for newcomers...just today I watched a couple in front of me go from 14 to A due to a lack of signage. Of course, you can then loop through the letters and come back to play 15-18 without any backtracking...so maybe that's a plus?
Other Thoughts: This is the course I cut my teeth on...I was first exposed to the game on the Blendon Woods course not far from Hoover Dam, but this is where I learned how hard, challenging, and wonderfully awesome the game of disc golf truly could be. The BHM isn't perfect, but its a top 10% course that requires every shot in your bag.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The best course in Columbus

5+    6/21/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: smokey_debear
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes give you plenty of variety. First half of the course is in the open with some holes close to/in the tree line to add a little challenge. Second half of the course is in a wooded area with some very cool holes. Pro and am tees, nice sized concrete pads for tees. Good mix of long/short, wooded/open, turn right/left. Very well kept/maintained course.
Cons: Grass sometimes gets too tall between mowings. Can be a bit muddy in places back in the trees, but that is standard for most courses in the area. Would be great to have signs at every hole and tee for hole descriptions and directions to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Still consider myself a beginner. This course seems to have a little bit for every skill level. I would recommend this course to everyone from beginners to pros. I consider this my "home course," and come here often because it is one of the best in the area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The best around!

5+    6/2/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: Nasty Nate
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - 27 holes, most of which have both Pro and Am tees
- A wide variety of long and short holes which allows for many varied shots and challenges
- Has many trash cans and benches for your convenience
- A nice practice pin area complete with picnic tables
- Has a porta potty on site
- Is in a beautiful park that is well maintained
- Hosts a number of Pro and Am events
- Doesn't feel too large even though it has 27 holes
- Nice flow to the course
- Convenience store down the street sells discs and has a decent selection
- You'll want to play this course again and again!
Cons: - Some of the OB wooded areas are on rather steep inclines, which can be a problem
- Can be a far drive for people who don't live in the area
- No water fountains! There is only a standpipe that looks like it hasn't functioned in ages.
Other Thoughts: This has long been our favorite course around. It gives you the chance to use all of your discs and there are plenty of holes where you can let 'er rip! The woods are not thick like other area parks, so you can actually get through and find your disc if you shank it. This course is very nice and well maintained so you can always count on a nice day when you play. The people here are always friendly and you can bring your dog as well. With 27 holes you can bet that you'll be challenged and kept occupied time after time. Get out there and throw some discs!
Edit: I decided to give this 4.5 instead of 5 because there are no water fountains at this park. That is the only thing I feel is really holding it back from being perfect.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best in Ohio

5+    6/7/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: ForehandAnhyzer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best course in Central Ohio hands down and perhaps in all of Ohio (as one of the pros told me this past weekend at the BHMO). 27 holes that keep you coming back for more. Beautiful course that is manicured and the lovely pine trees keep everything in check and groovy. Hoover Dam is not a bad looker, either! Lots of fun throws on this course. Holes to air it out on and tricky tree navigational holes as well. Some short, some long. And the pro tees are legit.
Cons: As some have noted, there are about half of the holes in the open and half are wooded, leaning more towards the open (some complain this is boring, but whatever, this is Columbus, Ohio! Not the Sierra Nevada). On holes 15-18, it can be easy to lose discs if you don't spot. Throughout the course, there are sloping ravines OB that you don't really want to get caught in.
In these summer months, it is becoming more and more crowded which leads to more and more... well, I shouldn't have to tell you.
One of the only and biggest negatives is that there is no water available. No fountain or vending or anything. So BYOW. For bathrooms, there is a porto potty at the parking lot which I can tell you I have never used. I may be bitter towards some experiences I have had, but a complaint I have might be the riffraff rednecks that occasionally frequent the park and leave their crappy lifestyle trailing behind them. This includes picking up after them in the parking lot / waiting area / putting area and not looking at them or their offspring crossways. It just gets old dealing with noisy, obnoxious people who pollute everywhere they go.
Other Thoughts: Hoover is my home base. Anyone who discs in Columbus knows that it is the best. I am biased towards it, but with good reason. It is a wonderful course and has all kinds of good fun in store. You cannot go wrong playing Hoover Dam. I'm not gonna rate it a 5 because I know we are not in Northern California or somewhere incredible. But I'll give it a 4.5 (high, I know, but I'm trying to show my love) because it is absolutely the best around and I love it.

Edit: I noticed a lot of people say that holes 10-14 are often closed. Well, I have been playing Hoover for years and years and have never seen those holes closed. It must just be a winter thing because they are never closed whenever I go there. This year, however, I shall find out because I am supremely addicted and am up for discing in any weather.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Some many options!

1    4/28/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: drblam
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: So many places to park, that you can start playing anywhere instead of waiting to tee off on 1. Great mix of open and wooded tees. Easily the best course in columbus!
Cons: Can be crowded, and holes 10 through 14 or 18 are often closed.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Park

1    11/17/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: insaneforchains
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very beautiful course. A good mix of open and wooded fairways. It was pretty cold unfortunately but it is November. There was plenty of trash cans throughout the course as such it was very clean. Great views of the Hoover Dam!
Cons: There were no facilities that I saw. I know for men it is not really a big issue but ladies need a restroom. It was pretty muddy throughout the course as a result of the recent rain.
Other Thoughts: I will definitely be playing this course the next time that I am in Columbus :)

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 BHMO

2-4    9/9/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: Ripper
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This course has a great mix of elevated holes, step down holes, woods, etc.
-Coupled with the West Course this is an awesome venue
-Cool scenery and background
Cons: -Older baskets
-Erosion on allot of the wooded holes
-Allot of just thrown together holes, and a pitch and putt kind course in some aspects.
Other Thoughts: Played this course at the West Side Challenge and really thought that there really was nothing to write home about. Then a few months later I played the Brent Hambrick Memorial. This tournament was the whole reason why really got into disc golf and when I heard about a tournament for Disc Golf that helped raise money for the Leukemia Society I really started to prep for it. Granted I had only been playing for two months and a National Tour Event really shouldn't be your first tourney but I have no regrets. I'll review the Temp Course next but the BHMO East portion of the course is a really fun and well laid out course. Love the History of this course also and at the Hambrick got a run down of everything and it made it even better. The course during the west side challenge was pretty dilapidated, lots of erosion and the grass really didn't look prepped or manicured. That time I probably would have given the course a 3.5 or 3 but the during Tourney play this course is in one word Awesome! Really loved the holes that went down 3 steps. Thought that was an intriguing and somewhat signature portion of the course. The wooded holes were a blast from the longs but forgettable from the shorts, and loved the great mix over the 27 holes. Tourney play truly brought this course alive because thinking after leaving the wooded holes it would get easier as the next few holes were pretty much wide open, but the TD's really made a great risk, reward setup by roping various points of the holes as OB. This course definatly has it's pluses especially when it's prepped for a tourney. The course is spread out and with 27 holes and there is something for everyone as it is split between the first 9 being a Intermediate type of layout, that then goes to a pro level wooded type of layout, and then finally the latter holes are more of a Pitch and Putt beginner layout. The course is a blast and a must play in Columbus if your going through. Highly suggest registering for a tournament with the West Side Temp course installed as they really do work well together and make a huge Disc Golf Venue!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Sick course

5+    6/24/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: SuperG7
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Pro tees and short tees
-LONG bombers from pro like hole 2, 7, 17,18
-Clean cut grass
-Not bad woods to finds discs
-Secluded woods for some holes
-27 holes
-Park rangers are baller as shit and do not care about much extra activities while discin. (Park ranger gave friend his disc he forgot on one of the holes).
-live across the street from the dam
Cons: -Hole 1 and 2 have had no pin for 2 years except they put them back in on 5/26/10
Other Thoughts: Course is in the open for the first 9 holes, the back 9 is mostly all in the woods and the A,B,C holes are a nice mix of wood shots and open shots.

Sick course i play it almost everyday when possible never get tired of the course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Columbus and top course in America

5+    11/22/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: DPOW
Played: 80  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +Great course layout
+Excellent variety (front 9 open, back 9 wooded)
+Pro tees
+Long drives and short drives
+Hyzer shots and anhyzers shots
+Great elevation changes
+The PDGA National Tour Runs through it every year
+Clear flight paths for every hole
Cons: -No water hazards
-Can get really crowded
-Holes 1 & 2 have been closed for way too long now
-Pedestrians/people who don't know what disc golf is can get in the way
-Some new tree placements don't make a whole lot of sense (5 and 18)
Other Thoughts: I'm born and raised in Westerville, Ohio (Annehurst to be exact) and this is by far my favorite course in Columbus. If you are driving through Columbus and you want to play a round on disc golf GO HERE!!!! The fact that the PDGA National Tour stops here annually should be convincing enough to come here, plus Valerie Jenkins, among many other pros, lists it as one of her top five favorite courses.

Although a street pretty much splits the course in half, it doesn't begin to take away from the natural beauty Hoover offers. A combination of tough approaches, up-hill and down-hill putts, and monster drives makes this 27-hole course one of the best not only in Ohio, but America.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    3/31/2009   4/3/2009
Review By: spookytay
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + This course is a good challenge from pro's and normal tees.
+ It's well taken care of
+ There are some good long throwing hole and technical holes.
+ A & B pin placements with regular and pro tees.
+ Hosts several tournaments each year
+ 27 holes to play
+ The front nine is open, and the back nine is wooded, and the back back nine (A-I) is a mixture of both.
Cons: - Gets crowded when the weather is nice, and I've noticed large groups play (more than 4 people)
- Parking can be a problem on the weekends. It gets very busy at those times. Park near the entrance and start at hole 10, park in the main lot, for hole 1, or park in the back or main lot for hole A. The back back 9 (A-I) aren't usually that busy.
Other Thoughts: Most people I know start hole A after they play 14 and then continue on to 15 after hole I, but play it as you see fit. To get to hole 15 from 14 walk through the pine tree forest, to find A, continue forward towards the road, the pro tee is on the left and the regular tee is around to the right.

Join the [link]http://www.columbusdiscgolf.com [/link] Columbus Flyers if you want to meet some people who are more serious about playing and just to meet some great people to play with. Help support our local courses!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.