Columbus, OH 
Brent Hambrick Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: A.Mutt   (Taken 4/2009)
Practice basket next to parking lot and hole 1.



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Best in Columbus

5+    10/5/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent Shot Variety
Very Well Maintained
Always Expanding
Beautiful
Great mix of Wooded/Open Shots
Great for both Novice and Advanced Players
Cons: Crowded
Holes down by the Dam can be Buggy
Wind
Other Thoughts: Columbus Ohio and it's surrounding area is a great place place to live if you like Disc Golf. We have lots of great courses but this one is the best.
It has every kind of shot a Disc Golfer could want and they are always looking to add on more. The only problem with this course is it can be overcrowed.
Hole 16 is my favorite, and hole 17 always kicks my ass
On a side note, this course easily has the highest percentage of hot girls I have ever seen on a Disc Golf course

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Versatility

5+    9/14/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 172  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent versatility. This course has all the shots. From the longs, you will use most of the discs in your bag. Good mix of hyzer, anny and strait shots. Good mix of long and short holes. Good mix of tight and open holes. The park is somewhat small, but gorgeous. The course is always well manicured and clean. Home of the BHMO. One of the elite NT's.
Cons: The course gets slammed on beautiful days. If the weather is perfect you need to get there early or you will be waiting for pads.
Other Thoughts: I love this layout. The course just has all the shots. I play some courses where I only need a back hand throw and a versatile driver with a putter. Not here. This course will challenge any level of player.

The course is broken into a distinct front and back nine.

The front nine is open. Generally easier to get your deuces here. The back nine is tight and wooded. Many various hazards, including a deep ravine to the right side of a few holes. Several of the baskets are blind.

The difference between the short tee's and long tee's are also considerably different form front to back nine. In the front, you may get new angles on some holes, but mostly, you just add distance and minor additional hazards. In the back, the longs are like an entirely different course. They will test your patience. Very narrow gaps where placement is more important than distance. The rough can be very unforgiving.

There are nine additional holes that break off after 14. They loop around a separate part of the park and bring you back to 15. These holes are OK. Personally, I would rather get a couple rounds in from the original course, than take the time to play these 9. If you haven't played them, give'em a go. However, I find they lack the style and design of the initial 18.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of variety

1    2/15/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park that seemed mostly devoted to disc golf, with lots of elevation changes and a mix of open areas and dense woods. Many of the holes had good uses of elevation to add some interest and challenge, especially on the more open holes. I liked the mix of longer open holes where elevation and wind along with tricky basket placements provided the challenge along with technical woods holes. The wooded holes called for shot shaping and accuracy, and punished errant shots with ravines and dense trees.

There was a really nice variety of long and short holes throughout the course, that called for a nice variety of different shots. It felt like many different shots were necessary to score well here, with lots of right and left turning holes mixed in with the straight shots. The wooded holes were varied between really tight narrow fairways and more open and longer woods shots.

There were nice concrete tees on every hole, and multiple tees on many of the holes that add a nice option for tougher or easier shots on the holes. There were nice tee signs for the holes with the hole layout and distance that made the course easy to follow and navigate for the most part. The park is nicely maintained, and very scenic with little trash and well-kept fairways. There is a nice practice area near the beginning of the course.
Cons: There were a couple weird spots in terms of navigation. Between 9 and 10 the walk is not well marked, and we had to ask a local player where to go. The new 9 holes are a great addition, but also aren't obvious if you don't know where they are. The alternate pin positions were nice, but it wasn't obvious which position each hole was in.

I played on a cold day with lots of slushy snow on the ground, and there were still a bunch of people out playing. I could easily see the course getting crowded on a nice warm day, and making it so that there were waits throughout the round. The people we ran into were all friendly and helpful, though the weather made it so that it was mostly diehards out playing, so I can see there being more of an issue with inexperienced players in the summer. There were some spots where roads were in play, and occasionally we had to wait for traffic to clear before we could play a hole.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with enough variety to interest just about any player. The signage and the open holes make it pretty beginner friendly, though there are plenty of places to lose discs in the woods. More experienced players will find lots of different challenges here, and I can see why there are successful tournaments held here.

This is a great course, and well worth the stop if you're anywhere near the area. I would recommend playing this course to just about any level of player, the alternate tees give lots of options for different skill levels.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    4/5/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2009
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Large variety of holes both distance wise and obstacle wise
+ 27 challenging holes
+ Multiple pin positions often utilized
+ Very well maintained for a free course
+ Clear signage makes the course easy to navigate, save for 2 transitions
+ Nearby Duke and Duchess/Marathon is a handy place to grab something to drink and discs if you need them.
+ The majority of us locals are friendly
Cons: - During peak playing hours in the spring and summer it will likely be severely over crowded forcing long waits at every tee pad
- It can be hard to know where to go after holes 9 and 14
- The signs while very nice, aren't all that accurate a representation all of the time with placements. But close enough that its no biggie.
- Many spots through out the course get vandalized. Columbus Flyers do a good job cleaning up this for the tournament though.
- During the peak park hours you'll likely have to park far from hole one in the back ... but this can be good because when you do find a spot at the back of the park you'll realize how much less crowded A-I is
- It is a multiple use park so you do have to keep a heads up for non-golfers on the course.
Other Thoughts: ** Holes 1 and 2 are now back open for play and a few challenges have been added to hole 5. There are 5 new trees that have been planted amongst the other trees that were already there. The basket is now raised up on a pyramid shaped platform so the base is now 5 feet off the ground.

This is the course that made me fall in love with Disc Golf. It is minutes from me and I have gone to it too many times and played too many rounds here over the years to possible have any idea at a count. So please understand this review will be thorough(long winded). I've also done my best to avoid homeboy bias and rate more on how I think others would perceive it. To me this course will always be among the best of the best.

Very open front 9 that requires a fair amount of arm and a good balance of mostly straight and anhyzer throws. (assuming you're throwing rhbh) Basket placements help make these holes challenging.

The back 9 can be hard to spot if you don't see a group go in front of you and are new to the course. After hole 9 you have to walk across the park road to a wooden walkway that leads you to 10. The back 9 is far more dangerous territory for your plastic as its in the woods and for a while next to a deep ravine. Trust me, I speak from experience, you don't want to go looking for discs in the ravine. After hole 14 it can be confusing again as to where to go. If the basket is in the far position you can see a tee pad not far from it and it seems logical to go there. But this is actually Hole A for the aux 9. You need to turn back after the basket and walk through the perfectly lined trees. I've heard people say they have a hard time finding 18. After you finish 17 and walk out of the woods and across the road there are two tee pads in sight as you walk towards the parking lot and the basket is at the top of the little hill by hole 1.

A through I is a great extra 9 with a good mix of tight woods holes, big open holes, and anny holes with OB road next to you. It is often significantly less crowded than the original 18 and is in better condition over all.

This is a tournament course which hosts the BHMO annually. So as a local I don't enjoy how jam packed it gets leading up to the tourney. But it brings in so many crazy talented players that even just going to watch is worth the time.

Even more other thoughts:

Watch out for fishermen walking up hole 1, though most seem to understand its a DG course, walk wide and look out.

Because of its location next to the resevoir if its a windy day the hole 2 gets a lot more challenging.

There are good number of holes that the basket placement means you'll get punished if you miss.

If you end up losing a disc in the ravine the best course of action to find it is to keep someone on top of the hill looking out for it and directing a searcher in the ravine. Also most discs that have been found in the ravine in my presence have been further then were expected. So be sure to extend your search perimeter a good 25 feet past how far you think it could have gone.

There is a porta-potty at the parking lot by 1 if you didn't use the bathroom at the gas station.

This review is from playing short tees. The pro tees add a significant amount of extra distance and challenging lines.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    3/31/2009   4/3/2009
Review By: spookytay
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + This course is a good challenge from pro's and normal tees.
+ It's well taken care of
+ There are some good long throwing hole and technical holes.
+ A & B pin placements with regular and pro tees.
+ Hosts several tournaments each year
+ 27 holes to play
+ The front nine is open, and the back nine is wooded, and the back back nine (A-I) is a mixture of both.
Cons: - Gets crowded when the weather is nice, and I've noticed large groups play (more than 4 people)
- Parking can be a problem on the weekends. It gets very busy at those times. Park near the entrance and start at hole 10, park in the main lot, for hole 1, or park in the back or main lot for hole A. The back back 9 (A-I) aren't usually that busy.
Other Thoughts: Most people I know start hole A after they play 14 and then continue on to 15 after hole I, but play it as you see fit. To get to hole 15 from 14 walk through the pine tree forest, to find A, continue forward towards the road, the pro tee is on the left and the regular tee is around to the right.

Join the [link]http://www.columbusdiscgolf.com [/link] Columbus Flyers if you want to meet some people who are more serious about playing and just to meet some great people to play with. Help support our local courses!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hoover

5+    11/5/2008   12/3/2008
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Requires all Shot Types
Both Open and Wooded Holes
Easy to Navigate
Pro and Am Tees at Most Holes
Multiple Pin Positions
Benches at Nearly Every Hole
Ample Parking By Hole 1 and Hole H
Practice Basket
Beautiful Views of the Dam
Well-Maintained
27 Holes
Basket are in Decent Shape
Big Tee Pads (A Couple Tees Excluded)
A Variety of Distances
Cons:
Can Get Crowded
Baskets Are Rarely in Posted Position
Some of the New Nine (A-I) Have Very Short Tees
Holes A-I Can Get Very Swampy
Pin Positions Aren't Changed Very Often
Other Thoughts:
Brent Hambrick Memorial (locals refer to this course as Hoover) is the premier course in the Columbus, OH area. The course is very well maintained, with trash cans, and benches throughout the course. Being one of the better courses in the area, if not the best, this course can get really crowded at times. There is parking available near the first tee, but it can fill up on busy days. There is additonal parking located near the basket for #9 and near the back of the park by the new nine.

The front nine are mostly open holes, trees can come into play on a couple shots. Wind can also be a huge factor on the front nine of this course. Wind can come off the parking lot and over this hills and create a lot of trouble if you aren't careful.

Overall the course is fairly easy to navigate. The only exceptions to this that I can think of is heading to Hole 10 from 9. Once you finish up 9 look across the road at the woods. You should see a small trail leading into the woods, this is the path to Hole 10. Once in the woods the holes are once again easy to navigate. Another issue some people can have is with the new nine, A-I. When we play we add them into the middle of our round. After hole 14 when you come back out of the woods, hole 15 is to your left through the pine forest. We cut out to the right and play A. After we play the new nine, A-I, we head back to 15 and finish out the original 18.

This course can be very challenging for any skill level. The short tees provide good distance and challenge for the recreational to imtermediate players, while the long tees are for the more advanced and pro players. I would recommend that anyone who is in the are check out this course. If possible, I would visit early morning or during the week to avoid the large crowds. As usual please use the trash cans and keep this place nice and clean and enjoy your round.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

  A great place to play!

1    7/28/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2009
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I enjoyed a good a day of golf. The course is well laid out and well maintained. With dual baskets it can have a very different look when the baskets are changed. It adds to the variety and makes you think before throw. This course has some very technical shots, especially the one where you throw down a tree lined ally about 10 feet wide and it hooks left at the end. It also has some nice open areas for long drives for a great grip and rip.

My favorite basket was 4. I really enjoyed trying to putt the unusual basket placement. It is on a man-made terrace on the side of the hill.

It was a nice day to play and the course was busy but because of the size of the course and the 9 newer holes it did not seem crowded.

The position of the practice basket gives alot to work with when practicing.

The locals I encountered were very helpful.
Cons: It really helps to have someone show you around. Not all of the holes are well marked. With two tee and two basket positions and several blind shots you are not always sure where the basket is positioned.

Several drives go along roads that are well used. Be especially careful when driving 7, 15, 17, & 18.
Other Thoughts: This course will leave you a better player.

I will always remember this course and will play it again when in the area.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good all-around course

1    10/5/2008   10/5/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-maintained course, fairly easy to navigate, great scenery and the back nine has some great holes in the woods.

Excellent concrete tee pads, and clean, easy to read tee signs with maps.
Cons: Sometimes navigating was difficult -- I never found hole 18. Front nine a bit of back-and-forth. Course was a bit busy, but a wide range of ages & types -- good for the sport.
Other Thoughts: Overall a solid course. The front nine was a bit lackluster, but once you got into the back nine things started to improve dramatically for the course.

Back nine has a good mix of skill requirements. The new nine holes (A to I) had some great wooded technical shots.

Some nice wooded technical shots; nothing too challenging, just the right amount to require a bit of finesse. A few potential Ace holes on the back nine.

The additional nine (hole A to I, or 19-27) didn't feel tacked on, and there were some great wooded technical shots that I really enjoyed throwing. The last few were open shots, no monster bombs but a chance to get some distance in.

Park had a decent amount of parking, and the parking lot was right by hole 1. Hole 18 for the most part looped back to the lot (at least according to the map -- I couldn't find the actual tee or basket), as did the additional back nine.

Park is east to access, course is easy to find once you are in the park.

No concession stand or water fountain that I could see. Porta-Potty in the parking lot.

Locals were friendly. Course was quite busy, with a good mix of player types. I think the park was multi-use, but everybody there seemed to be playing dic golf!

The additional nine is a short walk past the main parking lot. I almost missed it, thinking the course was 27 holes but it's more of an 18-hole original course with an additional back nine. I really liked the wooded technical holes on the added back nine. Short, but tricky. Almost got my first Ace on one of them!

If you are in the area, definitely worth checking out. Some holes might be a bit tough for novices, but nothing outrageous. If I lived in the area, it would definitely be on my main course list.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Hoover Reservoir

1    5/14/2008   8/30/2008
Review By: worthdan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: best course in area (my opinion). nice location that's pretty easy to get to. good mixture of wooded, open, long, and short holes. pretty easy to navigate for the first timer. all around good atmosphere
Cons: pretty busy. the first 9 or so holes are kind of crammed together and fairways are pretty close to each other.
Other Thoughts: good course but kind of a let down to me. i heard great things about this course, but when i played it i didn't think it had anything on most of the michigan coursed i've played. it is the best course i played in the columbus or dayton area though. also my review is just for the main set of 18 holes, i didn't get a chance to play the extra ones.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/22/2008   8/27/2008
Review By: Behace
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.6 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is amazing. The front nine is open but can be challenging. The back nine is through the woods. Unlike most of the courses out there it seems like this course was planned and then the park was placed around it. While the back nine is through the wood it is difficult to loss a disc because of the trees that were planted and how they were planted, they are all lined up in straight lines and they are the type of trees that have a branches only at certain spots. There are multiple tees for each hole and some holes have multiple pin positions. It also has a good mix of longer and shorter holes.
Cons: It can be crowded.
Other Thoughts: New holes have been added since the last time I have played but if they are like the original holes this course would deserve a 5 out of 5. It is a very fun course to play.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.