Disc Golf Store
Columbus, OH 
Brent Hambrick Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 180ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Blue Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very good course.

5+    9/24/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety and several unique holes such as 4 and 8 where the basket is usually set on a hillside below the grade of the hole, and hole 5 with the basket on a pyramid made of railroad ties.

27 hole layout lends itself to an interesting number of ways to play the course.

Multiple and/or pin positions at most holes ensure you won't get bored.

Active local club (Columbus Flyers) who change the pin positions around frequently to help with the point above.

High quality long concrete tees are nicely seasoned and in great shape

Beautifully maintained, and an all around nice walk.

Update 5/5/14, All holes are now open, and word on the street is that there are no plans to "rest" those holes in the winter anymore.
Cons: Often crowded, both with discers and non-discers alike.

Next tee signs are needed, or maps should be provided. There are four points that seem to trip up first time players (transitions from 4-5, 7-8, 8-9 and 14-15). After 4 you turn around, cross the fairway you just played and find the 5th tee. After 7 you go down the hill the 4th basket is on to get to 8. After 9 you cross the road to find hole 10 in the woods. After 14 you go right to play the letters, or take a long walk to the left to play 15.

Occasional rude groups who spend forever looking for discs and don't want to let faster players through.

Occasional idiot walkers, joggers, and people cutting through the course going from one part of the park to another are supremely annoying. If you're going to walk through a disc golf course, don't give people a dirty look if discs land near you.

Closing holes 10-14 every winter destroys the flow of the course. Hopefully the rumors are true, and this practice is a thing of the past...
Other Thoughts: I'm trying out a new rating system based on how far I'd be willing to drive to play a course. I probably wouldn't travel much more than an hour to play BHM, especially if I was only coming for a single round. It is a course I appreciate having within a 15 minute drive, and has become my Columbus mainstay.

I gave the course a 1 point bump now that all holes are open (yes, losing them was THAT important to me!).

This is a better course than Blendon, but can be frustrating when it's overrun with non-discers. Holes 2-9 and 18 are all fairly open and subject to at least some of the cons I mentioned above. Holes 1, 10-17 and about half the "new" nine are tighter holes that require some skill.

If the pins do get pulled from 10-14 again I've found a good alternate workaround is to park further back, play holes A-I, then hole 15, 1-7, and finish up with 18. You still miss out on the best holes of the course, but you do get in your 18, have a good mix of open and tight holes and still have some flow to your round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun at the Dam

5+    9/23/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 170  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a great variety here. Open bombers, tricky greens, ob, short technical holes, tons of elevation, Hoover has it all. There are two sets of concrete tees with good signage. Hole 2 is a fun downhill bomber looking straight at the dam. There a few par 4s here. The elevated pin on hole 5 is nice. It is awesome there are 27 holes here. The two sets of tees make the course very accessible for players of all skill levels. Overall, this is a very fun course.
Cons: Much of the course is very open. They just took out holes 10-14 for the winter. I feel the course could be redesigned and made better. Possibly add more par 4s and 5s, lengthen the course, and have less wide open holes. Some holes I don't really care for. Hole 5 and 6 are repetitive short hyzers. 9 is just an open hyzer. 14 does not really have a good line to the basket making it a tweener hole. Hole G is completely wide open and boring.
Other Thoughts: Site of the Brett Hambrick Memorial NT. After hole 14 play the letter holes and then play 15-18 to finish.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good, solid course

5+    8/20/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: lildragon
Played: 38  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good mix of short and long
- Multiple concrete tee pads
- Multiple pin placements
- Clean and well maintained
- Third 9 helps with congestion
- Nice flow from hole to hole
Cons: - Can get crowded at times
- Holes 10-14 are currently closed for restoration. This puts a major dampener on course flow and playability.
Other Thoughts: Grew up playing this course, its a great example of what a course should be. When all holes are open for play this is a wonderful course to play and learn the different shots you'll need to master.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A little overrated

2-4    7/14/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: danthehammer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Good signs
-Not overly crowded
-Multiple pins
-Multiple places to park
-27 holes (if all are open)
Cons: -Several holes are wide open and straight and the only challenge is length
-Holes 10-14 on the back 9 have been closed for a year as of now
-Several holes are beside roadways that usually have pedestrians
Other Thoughts: I haven't actually played the back 9 here, so I probably shouldn't be writing a review yet, but the fact that 5 holes of the back 9 have been closed for a year now is part of why I wanted to write a review. Many of the holes on this course feel uninspired to me, with little obstacles. Most of the front nine is in a wide open field with few elevation changes after the first two holes. On one hole (I think it's 6) the pin is on a pyramid like structure for some reason, I have no idea why, but it annoys me. The Alpha 9 does offer a few wooded holes that are very narrow and have sharp bends, but once it gets back into the fields the holes are a little to straight forward for my tastes. Personally I prefer courses that are more heavily wooded, but if your are player that prefers long open holes this may be the course for you.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Dam Good Time

1    4/18/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has everything you want: open bombs, elevated shots, great views, tight fairways through some thick pines...should satisfy you on every level. You will bust out 90% of the discs in your bag. Let's get to it:

Front 9 is WIDE open and plays south of the Hoover Dam. As such, a great bit of wind comes into play here. There are treelines to keep in mind, as well as a few mature trees as fairway obstacles. Signature shot is #2, blasting down a hill with the dam as a backdrop. Nice touch on hole #5 - the pin is raised on a pedastal with steps up the side to retreve your disc from the basket. Some undulating hills fool with your line of sight on #7, and 8 and 9 are wonderful companions in a patch of flatland at the base of the dam's runoff.

The back nine plays on the other side of the main drive up to the parking lot, and runs up the one side of the hill and down the other. (Holes 10-14 were closed as they were rejuvinating the fairway greens, but I was able to walk along the edges of these and get a good feel for them.) This side of the road is where you find out what you're made of. 10-14 are an uphill battle (literally) through slices of pine groves on the left, and a huge ravine on the right. The fairways are large enough in most cases but the terrain is threatening and distracting. The gauntlet continues once you reach the top of the hill - holes 15-17 play through the forest as you head back down and are truly the most challening holes on the original 18. A couple "choose your own adventure" fairways let you take a chance or play is safe, depending on how the rest of your round has gone. You then cross back over the main road and 18 finishes in the field next to #6 - a pleasantly simple hole to end your round.

They have recently added nine bonus holes at the top of the hill after #14, and I recommend playing them. A follows to the right of that main road, and B's pin sends you back into the thickest pine grove I've ever seen. For C, D and E, someone went through with a tree shear and literally cut a fairway through the pines. The stumps are still there so be careful where you step, but if your shot isn't spot on stumps will be the least of your worries. I somehow miraculously pared these three, but If you end up in the trunks good luck on trying to get out - they are that thick. You then cross the road and play holes F through I, which are in a wide open field similar to the front nine. You then pick up #15 and head back down the hill.
Cons: My main complaint with this gem of a course is that while the design of it makes perfect sense, it really pisses me off. It's like you are playing two completely different courses on each side of the road. To the left (1-9, F-I) you have wide open, lazy wanderings that are very fun to play and pardon my bluntness but EASY. On the right (10-18, A-E) you have the taut, difficult shots that require pinpoint accuracy and utmost concentration. All I'm asking for here is a break from the monotony. I understand that the road is there acting as a divider but maybe shoot one or two over it (it's just a park road) to add another dimension to the course. I was shocked that even the bonus holes were split up this way. If you can't change the layout of the holes themselves, maybe reorder the holes? Just a thought. This in no way affects the ambiance of the course, but the stark contrast is relevant. This course could be in 4-star territory if the layout had as much variety as the types of holes proffered.

And speaking of types of holes available, how can you have a course play right next to a dam and not have any water hazards? Like, not even one? At the base of the dam, maybe? Across the stream? SOMETHING! Oh, well.
Other Thoughts: Brent Hambrick is very well maintained, and they even have a memorial tree honoring him on hole #8. Great to see the locals rejuvinating the fairway grass on 10-14, even though it prevented me from playing them. They had caution tape up and signs everywhere explaining why. Hopefully everyone adhers to these so they can reopen this summer.

Good signage throughout, especially on the lettered holes. Please take note of pin placements, especially on the bonus holes at the top of the hill.

A professional atmosphere overall. Would definitely play again. Well done.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Park

1    11/17/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: insaneforchains
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very beautiful course. A good mix of open and wooded fairways. It was pretty cold unfortunately but it is November. There was plenty of trash cans throughout the course as such it was very clean. Great views of the Hoover Dam!
Cons: There were no facilities that I saw. I know for men it is not really a big issue but ladies need a restroom. It was pretty muddy throughout the course as a result of the recent rain.
Other Thoughts: I will definitely be playing this course the next time that I am in Columbus :)

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Glad to be in Ohio

1    7/7/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: kev32650
Played: 60  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good mix of holes righty lefty straight and short and long
-short and long tees on almost every hole
-27 holes (always a plus)
-great tee signs and tee pads
-some of the best greens I've played
-challenges you with lots of shots
Cons: -a few holes especially F, G, H a little boring, just open and a bit of a let down after playing a great course. Think next time I'll start on A.
-no drinking fountains or facilities just a port a john, makes it harder to bring the family to
-holes 10-14 are out of commission. (not necessarily a con cuz they need to keep it looking nice) just a con cuz I wanted to play the whole thing!
-a few long walks between holes, but they made the most of what they had to work with. Mostly F,G,H where I felt that way. (definitely my least favorite part of the course)
Other Thoughts: I have been wanting to play this course for a long time and now that I'm in Ohio full time I'm sure I'll be playing it a lot. Think I'm going back Sunday for doubles. Definitely want to play it again.

I've definitely played better courses, but this one has a lot to offer. I like courses with replay factor and short and long tees and good variety like this course make you want to play it again and again and again.

The greens were awesome on 4, 7, 8 maybe some others that I'm forgetting. Thought I had parked 8 but ended up with a 35 foot straight up hill putt from inside a bush. Then was putting almost straight down to save the 3. Things like that make a relatively open part of the course way more interesting.

Definitely excited to play 10-14 next spring and get the full experience of the course.

17 was my favorite hole so far. Took a 5 on it. I love those long throws through woods. Very good challenge to go back and get a 3 on it.

Also excited to get back and play the longs. I'm sure I will be out there a lot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely Challenging Course

1    6/15/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great Tee-pads and easy to follow course. Great course to try hyzer and anhyzer shots. Pin placement is cool as well, didn't have any holes that I thought were boring.

The extra 9 holes are a nice change from the wide-open, wind swept front 9 on the original course.
Cons: The front 9 is wide open and the winds coming off the lake can make shots tricky, sending some shots flying across other fairways.

Lots of folks walking and biking on the edges of the course. It's easy for a shot to get away and take someones head off that's not paying attention.

I also wish the baskets had numbers on them. My first time down the front 9 I was a bit confused as to what basket I was throwing to with the fairways being in the middle of an open field

The new 9 holes are nice, but there's a few through the woods that are very tight, almost crazy tight.
Other Thoughts: Holes 10-14 were closed, so I really only played the front 9. Nonetheless it was great fun (which is what this sport is all about!) and the scenery is super. I stood on the dam and people watched after I played which added a nice end to the day.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 BHMO

2-4    9/9/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: Ripper
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This course has a great mix of elevated holes, step down holes, woods, etc.
-Coupled with the West Course this is an awesome venue
-Cool scenery and background
Cons: -Older baskets
-Erosion on allot of the wooded holes
-Allot of just thrown together holes, and a pitch and putt kind course in some aspects.
Other Thoughts: Played this course at the West Side Challenge and really thought that there really was nothing to write home about. Then a few months later I played the Brent Hambrick Memorial. This tournament was the whole reason why really got into disc golf and when I heard about a tournament for Disc Golf that helped raise money for the Leukemia Society I really started to prep for it. Granted I had only been playing for two months and a National Tour Event really shouldn't be your first tourney but I have no regrets. I'll review the Temp Course next but the BHMO East portion of the course is a really fun and well laid out course. Love the History of this course also and at the Hambrick got a run down of everything and it made it even better. The course during the west side challenge was pretty dilapidated, lots of erosion and the grass really didn't look prepped or manicured. That time I probably would have given the course a 3.5 or 3 but the during Tourney play this course is in one word Awesome! Really loved the holes that went down 3 steps. Thought that was an intriguing and somewhat signature portion of the course. The wooded holes were a blast from the longs but forgettable from the shorts, and loved the great mix over the 27 holes. Tourney play truly brought this course alive because thinking after leaving the wooded holes it would get easier as the next few holes were pretty much wide open, but the TD's really made a great risk, reward setup by roping various points of the holes as OB. This course definatly has it's pluses especially when it's prepped for a tourney. The course is spread out and with 27 holes and there is something for everyone as it is split between the first 9 being a Intermediate type of layout, that then goes to a pro level wooded type of layout, and then finally the latter holes are more of a Pitch and Putt beginner layout. The course is a blast and a must play in Columbus if your going through. Highly suggest registering for a tournament with the West Side Temp course installed as they really do work well together and make a huge Disc Golf Venue!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Collegiate City...

1    7/29/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Having a view of Hoover Dam (Not THE Hoover Dam from the wild west mind you!) is pretty unique. The nearby area is clean and appears 'safe' which is always nice. The woods holes (The back nine or so) are very fair; and have a nice variety of both shots and flora. Clever usage of rail ties in the front nine to either elevate a basket, or to place one over the edge of a neo-cliff just to make things interesting.
Cons: Although the railroad ties were indeed interesting, the fact of the matter is that until you get to the woodsy portion of the first 18 holes, the rest are largely 'crammed' into one long hill. As such, you need to constantly be aware of who's throwing around you when there's lots of other players tossing simultaneusly.
Other Thoughts: The day my son and I played the place was crawling with college students; so that was really heartening to see so many young folks enjoying the sport. It was also nice to see so many girls playing as the sport definitely could use more ladies tossing discs! Will definitely play this course again when in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.