Disc Golf Store
Columbus, OH 
Brent Hambrick Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
4 / 337ft.   3 / 337ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 White Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Collegiate City...

1    7/29/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Having a view of Hoover Dam (Not THE Hoover Dam from the wild west mind you!) is pretty unique. The nearby area is clean and appears 'safe' which is always nice. The woods holes (The back nine or so) are very fair; and have a nice variety of both shots and flora. Clever usage of rail ties in the front nine to either elevate a basket, or to place one over the edge of a neo-cliff just to make things interesting.
Cons: Although the railroad ties were indeed interesting, the fact of the matter is that until you get to the woodsy portion of the first 18 holes, the rest are largely 'crammed' into one long hill. As such, you need to constantly be aware of who's throwing around you when there's lots of other players tossing simultaneusly.
Other Thoughts: The day my son and I played the place was crawling with college students; so that was really heartening to see so many young folks enjoying the sport. It was also nice to see so many girls playing as the sport definitely could use more ladies tossing discs! Will definitely play this course again when in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/31/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: OhioDiscer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well kept 18 hole course. With and extra 9 hole course added after Brett Hambricks death. Good use of pro and short tees. Holes 1and2 are next to the dam pouring water nice view. Some good use of out in the open and nature holes. The back 9 is marked with letters instead of numbers to make course one of a kind.
Cons: This course only needs to do a little branch trimming in the back nine.
Other Thoughts: Go play it or if you have played this course keep playing it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sick course

5+    6/24/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: SuperG7
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Pro tees and short tees
-LONG bombers from pro like hole 2, 7, 17,18
-Clean cut grass
-Not bad woods to finds discs
-Secluded woods for some holes
-27 holes
-Park rangers are baller as shit and do not care about much extra activities while discin. (Park ranger gave friend his disc he forgot on one of the holes).
-live across the street from the dam
Cons: -Hole 1 and 2 have had no pin for 2 years except they put them back in on 5/26/10
Other Thoughts: Course is in the open for the first 9 holes, the back 9 is mostly all in the woods and the A,B,C holes are a nice mix of wood shots and open shots.

Sick course i play it almost everyday when possible never get tired of the course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but needs work

1    6/6/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: jammydee
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 27 holes is great! 9 holes is never enough!
Good drop-offs on the front 9
Some wickedly wooded holes towards the end.
Short and Long teepads on most holes and multiple pin locations.
Cons: Holes 1, 2, and 5 were down for maintenance when I was there. Course was crowded and some of the teepads are located pretty close to baskets for other holes, leading to lots of cries of "FOUR!!!" After playing Gulley and Monroe down near Cincinnati, I wish there were more variety of holes. For a 27-hole course, I only feel like there were 9 or so unique holes. Many are pretty much just straight ahead or slight right or left. Not much elevation change either, just some rolling of the terrain. Could've made use of the land a lot better. No water fountains so bring some water with you! It's a long trek! This course is also badly in need of some wayfinding signage.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course, but it just feels like it isn't up to its potential. It could be so much better if it was better taken care of. Having 3 holes unplayable right off the bat kinda started the day on the wrong foot. The teepads are pretty nice and don't get me wrong, I'd go back, but I'd rather play others first before I go back and play this one again...

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 3 the Hard (fun) Way

1    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.1 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes in a beautiful park. Great variety with an open front 9, a wooded middle 9, and a back 9 that would make a great 9 holer in itself in that it has very finesse oriented, short, wooded holes and some open holes to flex the guns. Two pin placements as well as a short and long tee for most holes. Nice cement tees and signs on every hole, benches, adequate use of elevation and "proper" wooded holes (none of that tractor-cleared path through the woods type of crap). Beautiful reservoir and dam next to course. Good hole variety and length as well, you don't feel like lugging 12+ discs at this course is overkill compared to many others. The front 9 has some nice drop-offs near the basket. Trash cans and a portajohn.
Cons: There is a little confusion on where to go after hole 5, a next tee sign would be great. I would have liked to seen better use of the park's elevation and water, especially the water. I'm not saying have a hole that tees off from the top of the dam (although that would be awesomesauce) but some holes ending near the river/reservoir's edge seem doable. That's it though, great course.
Other Thoughts: Really fun, the 27 holes are a breeze to play through and the extra 9 is nice because they're neat holes and they dump you close to the parking lot for nice flow. As an NC disc golfer, this was what I was expecting in an Ohio course with the nice rolling fields and verdant woods. Definitely a repeat play as it feels like three 9-holes combined into one, a venerable smorgasbord of disc golf pleasure.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the road trip

5+    3/31/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: thebuckeyeguy
Played: 102  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 7/24/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is quite simply an above average course. You have everything from open shots to wooded shots, long bombs to short placements, elevation changes (though not too drastic), a bonus 9 holes that wrap around (A-I, starts after hole 14), 3 parking lots, good signs and great tees, plenty of OB challenges...all of the "essentials" that we look for in a good course.
Cons: I wish there were a way for water to come into play. The only problem is that there are no little lagoons or outlets to throw over; all options are really unfeasible. I would like to see 9 more holes put in the woods, either in the ravine along side 10-14 or in the woods beyond G, H, and I. Only restroom is a port-a-john and there aren't water fountains; plan accordingly. Also, the big bummer, due to erosion issues it seems that some holes are often closed. I can't remember the last time that I played this course in its entirety (outside of a tournament).
Other Thoughts: I might have given a higher score if it weren't for Hoover being my home course; unfortunately, playing it often makes me take it for granted. But if you're looking for a disc golf road trip, the Columbus area offers Hoover here, Gordon Holton (technical), and Lobdell (long and strong) as diverse, challenging, and memorable courses that'll make your trip. And we have plenty of warm-up courses, too (Blendon or Griggs), as well as new courses slated for 2010.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I thought about this for a long time

5+    3/21/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2010
17 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: General everyday play this is a great 3.5-4 disc course
During tournaments, when played from long tees, with rope fairways and OB's in play this course moves up to a 4.5

I typically include hole-by-hole descriptions of a course however one of the best attributes about The Hambrick Course is how adaptable it is. It can be played many different ways and will remain fresh after being played many times because of the great time and care given to this course. True disc golf minds get this course ready for a National Tour PDGA Tournament and it shows.

Pros

- Long tees add over 1600 ft and a completely different monster.
- Two tee's and 2 basket placements for most holes
- Holes C, D, and E are beautiful and very technical.
- Multiple basket placements with some on higher or lower levels to make approach shots and putting challenging.
- Great scenic views of the lake and Dam on holes 1-3 and 18, appealing views of the river on hole 8 although it can be a Con see below.
- A very appealing wooded layout with holes 10-17 with lots of mature trees and some beautiful walks through pine tree trails.
- With the wooded portion of the course and the majority of the letter holes you will very rarely play the same shot twice.
- Most of the holes do not play to just one shot or style of play..
- The largest tee pads I have ever played for most holes.
Cons: Cons

- Short tee layout is not challenging for advanced-high level players
- Can be very muddy and does not drain well
- Certain basket placements can result in obstacles coming into play that normally are not. Such as hole 8 when the river is up.
- Holes 5 and 6 are very dangerous and essentially play in several other fairways.
- Holes 1-9 are very simple.
- Not enough holes with open distance. The long tees change this in some aspects, however most drives are in a controlled fashion and can lead to a constricted arm feeling. Everyone once in awhile I like to be able too just bomb away.
- Parking can be a hassle at this course and require you to walk a long way.
- No good restroom facilities. How can a National Tour Course not have a good restroom setup?
Other Thoughts: Memorable things to add:

- I truly love the views and scenery of this course. In Cincinnati you just don't get to walk from one basket to the next tee through a large patch of mature pine trees.
- Hole 15, throw the spike hyzer, thumber etc… don't try the tunnel
- Holes C, D, E are absolutely frustrating and beautiful at the same time for players of all levels
- Real Disc golfers need to ask about OB's and other rules which make this course a lot more challenging on certain holes.
- I really appreciate how diverse in line shaping you need to be to play this course. If you're a RH BH player a FH is a must.
- If the parking lot looks full park somewhere else but don't leave… 27 holes spreads out the local traffic and eliminates wait times.
- A lot of the recreational locals don't play the wooded or letter holes so start there if you want a more personal experience

17 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 brent hambrick

5+    9/15/2009   2/28/2010
Review By: kyle420420
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -great layout and use of the land
-good variety of open and wooded holes
-The PDGA National Tour Runs through it every year
-pro and am tees
- multiple pin placements
-27 holes to play
Cons: -severely crowded most of the time
-many none disc golf pedestrians walking or jogging so be carefull of where your disc go
-No water hazards
Other Thoughts: this is a great course but way to crowded. i would definitly recomend this course to any one that is in the area and want to get a good game in.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Columbus and top course in America

5+    11/22/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: DPOW
Played: 80  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +Great course layout
+Excellent variety (front 9 open, back 9 wooded)
+Pro tees
+Long drives and short drives
+Hyzer shots and anhyzers shots
+Great elevation changes
+The PDGA National Tour Runs through it every year
+Clear flight paths for every hole
Cons: -No water hazards
-Can get really crowded
-Holes 1 & 2 have been closed for way too long now
-Pedestrians/people who don't know what disc golf is can get in the way
-Some new tree placements don't make a whole lot of sense (5 and 18)
Other Thoughts: I'm born and raised in Westerville, Ohio (Annehurst to be exact) and this is by far my favorite course in Columbus. If you are driving through Columbus and you want to play a round on disc golf GO HERE!!!! The fact that the PDGA National Tour stops here annually should be convincing enough to come here, plus Valerie Jenkins, among many other pros, lists it as one of her top five favorite courses.

Although a street pretty much splits the course in half, it doesn't begin to take away from the natural beauty Hoover offers. A combination of tough approaches, up-hill and down-hill putts, and monster drives makes this 27-hole course one of the best not only in Ohio, but America.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 hoover dam dgc

1    11/9/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good shot selections and some very unique pin placements. Nice rolling hills with shots both up and down hill. Fairly well maintained with plenty of trash cans around course so i only saw a few pieces of trash around the course.

Cons: Somewhat difficult to navigate your first time threw. When i threw this course, holes 1 & 2 were closed when i was there. Several holes seemed to be wet even though it hadn't rained in the area for several days which suggests there could be some drainage issues. Very busy even during hours most courses would dead
Other Thoughts: Would like to throw this course again, possibly next time with some locals that throw this course well. maybe i'll chack out sunday league here sometime

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.