Plain City, OH 
Glacier Ridge Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: shadowlord3 Hole #17
4 / --   4 / 174ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Par 3 Ball golf feelůsort of

2-4    4/19/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 159  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Starting its holes in the woods, having 14 alternate tee pads (adding up to 2000 feet to the layout!), and with two pin positions per hole, Glacier Ridge offers an amazing amount of variety, but still lives up to its nickname, "The Wind Machine". The open holes play in what are often windy conditions, along well-mown fairways and greens, with frequent hillocks and gently rolling elevation. With the addition of bridges and walkways over creeks and marshy areas, this course reminds me a great deal of a nice Par 3 ball golf course out there: you hope to ace, but can put your shot on the green for a likely deuce, or get just off into the field grasses for a three.

The woods holes are shorter and tighter, but relatively forgiving if you don't hit your line. There isn't a huge amount of underbrush, and the fairways and paths have been thoroughly graveled to help with the marshy, damp ground underfoot in this wetlands preserve park. I should mention that all the tees are generously sized, level concrete, all the baskets are quality DGA's, each short tee has a nice descriptive sign, the long tees have posts, and there is good kiosk sign at the start where they could add a course map to the other park brochures. And it all looks newer than 2006! Either maintenance is incredible out here, or this course has recently undergone some revitalization.

The holes themselves are relatively easy for the Recreational to Intermediate disc golfer, if you're out for a fun round from the short tees like I was. Most (but not all) of the long tees (100 to 200 feet longer, per hole!) play along the same line, allowing the bigger arms to show off a bit (and punishing us weaker arms: I suspect the difference may be as much as 15 strokes per round). The woods holes require you to hit some really tight lines, and several of the open holes have swampy marsh water, often just off the green, to avoid.
Cons: Though the course flow is mostly intuitive, there are some lengthy walks from basket to tee if you're only playing the shorts. You'll need to look to your right across the path between 5 and 6. There is a moment of confusion when you walk from the 7th basket to the 8th tee, and walk right past the 10th tee.

There isn't much that can be done here, but this course obviously holds water all over, and you'd be surprised how soft the ground gets underfoot, in the woods, especially in the spring.
Other Thoughts: Your first time to the park, your car's Nav system might take you to the Honda Wetlands area of Glacier Ridge, which turns out to be about three miles south on Hyland Croy Road (mine did just that). Make sure you turn into the REAL DG part of the park across from the elementary school, drive past the horse barn and park on the left by the woods.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    5/25/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: EvCal10
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very fun course for all ages with two tee pads per hole for adults and kids. Every time I've played it it has been very well maintained with regularly cut fairways and clear paths from hole to hole. The tee-to-hole diagrams are very accurate and the course is literally right in my grandparents backyard. Also, there is little to no traffic or waiting to throw.
Cons: There is a lot of tall grass on some of the holes resulting in narrower fairways and many ticks so long pants recommended. In some of the more wooded holes there is some poison ivy so once again you should wear long pants.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ticks!

1    5/27/2013   6/7/2013
Review By: Alby_45
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quiet for being close to a city
Nicely laid out
Good design
Cons: Tall grass in the warmer months
Ticks and other pests everywhere
Almost every shot is straight ahead (no dog legs)
Fairway is only 6 feet wide in most places
Other Thoughts: Maybe I'm too used to courses with dog legs and other obstacles, but nearly every shot had to be perfectly straight or I had to go make friends with the ticks in the tall grass to find my disc. Nearly every throw turned into a disc hunt.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice!

1    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very good cement tee pads.
Good hole diagrams at each tee.
Excellent direction between holes.
Fairway grass well maintained.
Gravel path thru wooded holes.
Good mix of woods and open holes.
Pro and amature tee pads.
Cons: No real water holes on the layout.
Flat very little elevation change.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course!
Very well maintained.
High rough, but your not suppose to be in it!
Great flow from hole to hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Scenic

1    6/16/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very pretty and quiet park. After playing packed courses closer to Columbus, this one was a breath of fresh air. With the multiple tee pads the course went from basically a pitch-and-putt course to one where you can really air it out.

The course (when I was here) was in perfect shape, the fairways recently cut and the path through the woods pristine. And I really liked how you start in the woods, hit the open field, then dive back in the woods. Really made the course fun
Cons: Except for the 6 holes in the woods, the course is mostly flat and open which can be boring for those with 900+ ratings. With my sub-900 and less than 2 years of playing, I enjoyed it. But if you get off the fairway, the grass is almost waist high and that can make it quite hard to find your disc
Other Thoughts: When I was here there was a light shower that left a double rainbow over the course which made it quite beautiful. For those that are novice to intermediate, you'll love the course. If you're advanced and beyond, it won't do much for you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Glacier Ridge Disc Golf Course Review -- Buckeye Disc Golf

5+    4/3/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: Buckeye Disc Golf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Check Out our Video Review of Balgriffen Disc Golf Course!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WvTH9nj5yWI
Other Thoughts: Enjoy our Video Review! More to Come!

Subscribe to Us on Youtube! http://www.youtube.com/buckeyediscgolf

Check Us Out at Facebook!
http://www.facebook.com/pages...5178773172398

Follow Us on Twitter!
http://twitter.com/#!/buckeyeDiscGolf

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -nice big park
-very easy to navigate
-no wait to throw
-nice tee's, signs, and baskets
-lots of big arm holes especially from long tees
-some small rolling hills add shot complexity
-a few wooded holes add diversity
-most holes are open but narrowly mowed fairways bring in risk/reward for big drives
Cons: -lots of ticks in the rough
-discs can get lost in the rough
-can get extremely windy on the open holes
Other Thoughts: i have played this course a couple times and always have when i get down that way to play it. there is a nice block of disc golf course along us 33 so if your planning a road trip threw the area, be sure to get in this course, marysville, and bellefountain. all 3 are good and not to far from the highway

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    7/22/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: OhioDiscer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course in my opinion is a well thought out course. One thing is that most of the holes are out of the woods a big thumbs up for me. Great use of multiple tees. It even has some over 400 ft tees.
Cons: The only things I dont approve of are the ticks and playing this course in the summer because of the high grass. Besides that any time of the year I'd go play it. Even winter just not the summer.
Other Thoughts: I always play the practice basket before playing. I really have to say is at any time of the year besides summer this course is a must play

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 mostly open

5+    10/7/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 166  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and short tees

Nice pads and baskets

Practice basket with picnic table (don't jump on the table, you will get a stern talking to! - trust me)

Well defined fairways
Cons: Tick infested rough

Course lacks technical diversity on wide open holes

When the rough is high, discs are difficult to find
Other Thoughts: Hole one throws into the woods. The next couple holes are tight tunnel shots of moderate distance. Hole 4 is the first dual pad hole. Here you shoot back out of the woods. You stay out in the middle of the field until you shoot back in on hole 16. 17 & 18 are tight and wooded.

I like that you start and finish in the woods. It can make or break you. When competing with others, you always know that on the the last couple holes, anything can happen. Though the middle of the course is open, it is strangely interesting. When looking from the road, all you see is multiple baskets strewn across the land, but once engaged, there are subtleties that keep each hole interesting.

The short course is full of deuces and ace opportunities. The longs provide some deuces but your putting had better be in order. A few of the 400+ foot holes allow you to really air it out.

This is a fun course. The design makes great use of the few natural obstacles present in the field. The layout is quick. You can get in a couple rounds in a very short time span.



5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Narrow Fairways

5+    10/8/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: mcmyers640
Played: 40  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Gives you a chance to get in a flow
-First four holes and last three are wooded with narrow fairways and tall trees on both sides. The distance on these is doable.
-If you are looking to practice that 150 to 300 foot approach shot, this is your course.
-if you want to know how your disc will do on windy days, this is your course.
-Pro tees are relatively long. Longest holes are around 450 feet.
-There's a windmill in sight to check the wind speed and direction.
Cons: -There's a reason they call this course the "wind tunnel". Bring your overstable and understable Discs.
-Trees can just get annoying. Even the straightest shot can get punished.
-Get ready to spend 15-20 minutes looking for a disc. There are narrow fairways.
-Bring bug spray, tick repellant, and premium plastic discs.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses. After hole four you can really get into a rhythm. Great course to bring your friends to and just enjoy a day out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.