Plain City, OH 
Glacier Ridge Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: shadowlord3 Hole #13
4 / --   4 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 mostly open

5+    10/7/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 170  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and short tees

Nice pads and baskets

Practice basket with picnic table (don't jump on the table, you will get a stern talking to! - trust me)

Well defined fairways
Cons: Tick infested rough

Course lacks technical diversity on wide open holes

When the rough is high, discs are difficult to find
Other Thoughts: Hole one throws into the woods. The next couple holes are tight tunnel shots of moderate distance. Hole 4 is the first dual pad hole. Here you shoot back out of the woods. You stay out in the middle of the field until you shoot back in on hole 16. 17 & 18 are tight and wooded.

I like that you start and finish in the woods. It can make or break you. When competing with others, you always know that on the the last couple holes, anything can happen. Though the middle of the course is open, it is strangely interesting. When looking from the road, all you see is multiple baskets strewn across the land, but once engaged, there are subtleties that keep each hole interesting.

The short course is full of deuces and ace opportunities. The longs provide some deuces but your putting had better be in order. A few of the 400+ foot holes allow you to really air it out.

This is a fun course. The design makes great use of the few natural obstacles present in the field. The layout is quick. You can get in a couple rounds in a very short time span.



5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

5+    6/7/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 110  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Very Well Maintained
Nice Concrete Tee Pads
Great Tee Signs
Pro and Am Tees on Most Holes
Two Pin Positions Per Hole
Park Staff Friendly and Helpful
Bullentin Board With Pin Positions Listed
Practice Basket
Ample Parking
Baskets Are In Great Shape
Easy to Navigate
Cons:
Very Little Elevation Changes
Rough Can Eat Discs
Ticks Are A Huge Problem
Too Many Open Holes
Not A Lot of Variety
Other Thoughts:
Course is pretty easy to locate, once you are in the park just look for the bulletin board, first tee is located a few feet away. Before you place check the bulletin board it will tell you which pin placement they are currently using, not that there are any blind holes on the course.

The first 3 holes are played through the woods. They are somewhat technical, but very short which is unfortunate.

Hole 4 starts inside the woods and plays out into the open field. It is very short and the only thing that can be challenging is if it is really windy throwing from inside the woods to the open field can be tricky.

Hole 5 is pretty mundane, just your average straight shot, might go a little left.

Holes 6 and 7 are what I believe to be the two best. For one, they are the only two with any sort of elevation change, but also because the have nice mature trees that provide a bit of challenge and they aren't really short like all of the other wooded holes.

Hole 8 is another one of your straight open shots. If you are playing during the rainy spring months there are a couple small water hazards that are up near the basket, but unless it has been raining a lot they will be dry. If there is water, they aren't deep, a little nasty at times, but you will definitely be able to get your disc back.

Hole 9, open shot.

Hole 10 is another one of the better holes on this course. There is a small creek with a bridge and a very large tree that provided you with some challenge on this one.

Holes 11 through 15 are pretty much all wide open shots. There are a couple more small water hazards throughout, all knee deep at most, only challenges on any of these holes is the wind, which can be rough at times.

Hole 16 starts in the open, but the basket is located back inside the woods.

Hole 17 is back in the woods, from the pro tee this can by far be the hardest hole on the course no matter which pin placement is in use.

Hole 18 starts in the woods, and takes you back out into the open right back at the start of the course.

Overall I would say the course is pretty plain. Nothing memorable, but definitely not a bad course. The park rangers are very friendly and do a great job keeping this place nice, so help them out and use the trash cans.

The layout of the course is not too bad for what they had to work with. There are both wooded and open holes, but there is really no elevation changes and the biggest challenge on this course is the wind. During the summer the course can get pretty hot, so bring plenty of water, once you get out of the woods there is little to no shade so the sun just beats down on you. The course also has a huge tick problem. During the warm spring and summer months you are guaranteed to have at least one on you per round. This course is definitely not the best in the area, but is great if you are short on time or need a beginner friendly course. The course is always windy, its is more of a question of how windy. If it is really windy when you are stopping to pick up your gatorade and snacks at the gas station, then its going to be two or three times worse at this course, if you aren't a fan of playing in wind, I would head to a different course for the day. Like I said this is the course I head to if we have some beginners or an hour or less to get in a round, if I really want to get in a great round, I head to Hoover (Brent Hambrick) or Gordon Holton up in Delaware.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A nice pit-stop

1    3/13/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: timg
Played: 243  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained park with dual tees and multiple pin positions on many holes. Great signage with distances and nice hole maps. It seems the parks department is proud of the DG course and it shows. You'll find which position the pins are currently in on the course bulletin board which is very nice.
Cons: Very little elevation or challenge for the most part. Most holes play in a flat field with mowed fairways bordered by thick rough on either side. The wooded holes were also a bit on the short side. Also, it would be nice if the pro tees had tee signs rather than just wooden posts.
Other Thoughts: The wooded holes play a little too short which eliminated some of the challenge factor associated with those holes. The open holes (which is a majority of the course) derive most of their challenge from length (assuming you're playing from the pro tees). I played during the tail end of winter so the rough wasn't as thick as it probably is in the summer. I can see it becoming a much stronger incentive to keep it on the fairway in the warmer months to avoid trudging through the weeds searching for discs.

I was there on a Friday afternoon and the park wasn't crowded at all. There was only one other guy on the course and a handful of people in the rather large park. Perhaps weekends draw more people in. It's a very serene setting as I believe some of the park is used as a wildlife preserve which made for a quiet, relaxing round in my case.

Despite its shortcomings, I found my round at Glacier Ridge pretty enjoyable. It wasn't particularly memorable as most of the holes are pretty much the same (open field shots) so if you only have time for one course, I'd recommend Gordon Holton about 10-15 minutes away. Overall, I can't say I would drive out of my way to play the course or go to COlumbus specifically to play here but it was a nice DG pit-stop on my way down to the Dayton/Cincinnati area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.