Plain City, OH 
Glacier Ridge Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
4 / --   4 / 255ft.   3 / 420ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 White Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun and Scenic

1    6/16/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very pretty and quiet park. After playing packed courses closer to Columbus, this one was a breath of fresh air. With the multiple tee pads the course went from basically a pitch-and-putt course to one where you can really air it out.

The course (when I was here) was in perfect shape, the fairways recently cut and the path through the woods pristine. And I really liked how you start in the woods, hit the open field, then dive back in the woods. Really made the course fun
Cons: Except for the 6 holes in the woods, the course is mostly flat and open which can be boring for those with 900+ ratings. With my sub-900 and less than 2 years of playing, I enjoyed it. But if you get off the fairway, the grass is almost waist high and that can make it quite hard to find your disc
Other Thoughts: When I was here there was a light shower that left a double rainbow over the course which made it quite beautiful. For those that are novice to intermediate, you'll love the course. If you're advanced and beyond, it won't do much for you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Glacier Ridge Disc Golf Course Review -- Buckeye Disc Golf

5+    4/3/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: Buckeye Disc Golf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Check Out our Video Review of Balgriffen Disc Golf Course!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WvTH9nj5yWI
Other Thoughts: Enjoy our Video Review! More to Come!

Subscribe to Us on Youtube! http://www.youtube.com/buckeyediscgolf

Check Us Out at Facebook!
http://www.facebook.com/pages...5178773172398

Follow Us on Twitter!
http://twitter.com/#!/buckeyeDiscGolf

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I play this one alot

5+    9/20/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park
Plenty of ace opportunities
All around fun course
Low Traffic

Cons: TICKS TICKS TICKS!!
Overly Generous Pars
Not a lot of variety/flat
Did I mention the Ticks?
Other Thoughts: I play this course a lot especially in the summer when Hoover is to crowded. It's really nice but sometimes they let the grass grow to high. (Not a problem though if you can keep it on the fairway). I have really really low scores and high self esteem when I leave there. But all in all it's a nice little place

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Wind Machine

5+    4/7/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: th1sjust1n
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Wonderful park location
-Both open and wooded holes.
-Great tees and signs.
-Nice putting practice area.
-Park offers many other activities worth taking advantage of.
-Very well maintained.
-You will learn how to play windy shots here!
Cons: -May not provide enough challenge to advanced players
-OB areas on some of the non-wooded holes are have pretty high overgrowth.
-Course is almost entirely flat
Other Thoughts: It is named the Wind Machine for a reason! Bring a good headwind overstable disc or two with you when you come.

Much of what other reviewers noted is very true such as the lack of trash cans, thick open rough, and lack of obsticles.

However...

This course is VERY well kept and enjoyable to play. Although not the most challenging or technical it makes for a nice round. This may not be the 'best' course you'll play in central OH, but nothing about it will turn you away. I work fairly close to this course and have had many a' fun round on the ol' Wind Machine.

One final note: I happen to know the guy who says this course is full of ticks. We play rounds quite often. (Yes Rudy...that means you) I personally have never walked off this course with a tick on me. They just like him for some reason! I think any disc golfer who has gone trudging for a lost disc in the woods or in tall rough knows about ticks. They don't just live here.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.