Plain City, OH 
Glacier Ridge Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / --   3 / 232ft.   3 / 395ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Red Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 I play this one alot

5+    9/20/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park
Plenty of ace opportunities
All around fun course
Low Traffic

Cons: TICKS TICKS TICKS!!
Overly Generous Pars
Not a lot of variety/flat
Did I mention the Ticks?
Other Thoughts: I play this course a lot especially in the summer when Hoover is to crowded. It's really nice but sometimes they let the grass grow to high. (Not a problem though if you can keep it on the fairway). I have really really low scores and high self esteem when I leave there. But all in all it's a nice little place

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Wind Machine

5+    4/7/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: th1sjust1n
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Wonderful park location
-Both open and wooded holes.
-Great tees and signs.
-Nice putting practice area.
-Park offers many other activities worth taking advantage of.
-Very well maintained.
-You will learn how to play windy shots here!
Cons: -May not provide enough challenge to advanced players
-OB areas on some of the non-wooded holes are have pretty high overgrowth.
-Course is almost entirely flat
Other Thoughts: It is named the Wind Machine for a reason! Bring a good headwind overstable disc or two with you when you come.

Much of what other reviewers noted is very true such as the lack of trash cans, thick open rough, and lack of obsticles.

However...

This course is VERY well kept and enjoyable to play. Although not the most challenging or technical it makes for a nice round. This may not be the 'best' course you'll play in central OH, but nothing about it will turn you away. I work fairly close to this course and have had many a' fun round on the ol' Wind Machine.

One final note: I happen to know the guy who says this course is full of ticks. We play rounds quite often. (Yes Rudy...that means you) I personally have never walked off this course with a tick on me. They just like him for some reason! I think any disc golfer who has gone trudging for a lost disc in the woods or in tall rough knows about ticks. They don't just live here.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course plagued by Ticks

2-4    6/27/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: Rudy W
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice area. Park has other activities you may enjoy. Good tee signs. Challenging wind. Varying shots throughout the course. Nice bridges and ravines on some holes.
Cons: Ticks... Ticks... and more ticks. Very short course lacking challenging distance shots.
Other Thoughts: This would be a fun course to play if I didn't have to find 2-3 ticks on my body after each play. Seriously. If you want a short quick round of technical disc golf then give this a visit if you're in the area. If you pick up Lyme disease there's a hospital just a few miles away ;)

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

5+    6/7/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 108  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Very Well Maintained
Nice Concrete Tee Pads
Great Tee Signs
Pro and Am Tees on Most Holes
Two Pin Positions Per Hole
Park Staff Friendly and Helpful
Bullentin Board With Pin Positions Listed
Practice Basket
Ample Parking
Baskets Are In Great Shape
Easy to Navigate
Cons:
Very Little Elevation Changes
Rough Can Eat Discs
Ticks Are A Huge Problem
Too Many Open Holes
Not A Lot of Variety
Other Thoughts:
Course is pretty easy to locate, once you are in the park just look for the bulletin board, first tee is located a few feet away. Before you place check the bulletin board it will tell you which pin placement they are currently using, not that there are any blind holes on the course.

The first 3 holes are played through the woods. They are somewhat technical, but very short which is unfortunate.

Hole 4 starts inside the woods and plays out into the open field. It is very short and the only thing that can be challenging is if it is really windy throwing from inside the woods to the open field can be tricky.

Hole 5 is pretty mundane, just your average straight shot, might go a little left.

Holes 6 and 7 are what I believe to be the two best. For one, they are the only two with any sort of elevation change, but also because the have nice mature trees that provide a bit of challenge and they aren't really short like all of the other wooded holes.

Hole 8 is another one of your straight open shots. If you are playing during the rainy spring months there are a couple small water hazards that are up near the basket, but unless it has been raining a lot they will be dry. If there is water, they aren't deep, a little nasty at times, but you will definitely be able to get your disc back.

Hole 9, open shot.

Hole 10 is another one of the better holes on this course. There is a small creek with a bridge and a very large tree that provided you with some challenge on this one.

Holes 11 through 15 are pretty much all wide open shots. There are a couple more small water hazards throughout, all knee deep at most, only challenges on any of these holes is the wind, which can be rough at times.

Hole 16 starts in the open, but the basket is located back inside the woods.

Hole 17 is back in the woods, from the pro tee this can by far be the hardest hole on the course no matter which pin placement is in use.

Hole 18 starts in the woods, and takes you back out into the open right back at the start of the course.

Overall I would say the course is pretty plain. Nothing memorable, but definitely not a bad course. The park rangers are very friendly and do a great job keeping this place nice, so help them out and use the trash cans.

The layout of the course is not too bad for what they had to work with. There are both wooded and open holes, but there is really no elevation changes and the biggest challenge on this course is the wind. During the summer the course can get pretty hot, so bring plenty of water, once you get out of the woods there is little to no shade so the sun just beats down on you. The course also has a huge tick problem. During the warm spring and summer months you are guaranteed to have at least one on you per round. This course is definitely not the best in the area, but is great if you are short on time or need a beginner friendly course. The course is always windy, its is more of a question of how windy. If it is really windy when you are stopping to pick up your gatorade and snacks at the gas station, then its going to be two or three times worse at this course, if you aren't a fan of playing in wind, I would head to a different course for the day. Like I said this is the course I head to if we have some beginners or an hour or less to get in a round, if I really want to get in a great round, I head to Hoover (Brent Hambrick) or Gordon Holton up in Delaware.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A nice pit-stop

1    3/13/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: timg
Played: 239  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained park with dual tees and multiple pin positions on many holes. Great signage with distances and nice hole maps. It seems the parks department is proud of the DG course and it shows. You'll find which position the pins are currently in on the course bulletin board which is very nice.
Cons: Very little elevation or challenge for the most part. Most holes play in a flat field with mowed fairways bordered by thick rough on either side. The wooded holes were also a bit on the short side. Also, it would be nice if the pro tees had tee signs rather than just wooden posts.
Other Thoughts: The wooded holes play a little too short which eliminated some of the challenge factor associated with those holes. The open holes (which is a majority of the course) derive most of their challenge from length (assuming you're playing from the pro tees). I played during the tail end of winter so the rough wasn't as thick as it probably is in the summer. I can see it becoming a much stronger incentive to keep it on the fairway in the warmer months to avoid trudging through the weeds searching for discs.

I was there on a Friday afternoon and the park wasn't crowded at all. There was only one other guy on the course and a handful of people in the rather large park. Perhaps weekends draw more people in. It's a very serene setting as I believe some of the park is used as a wildlife preserve which made for a quiet, relaxing round in my case.

Despite its shortcomings, I found my round at Glacier Ridge pretty enjoyable. It wasn't particularly memorable as most of the holes are pretty much the same (open field shots) so if you only have time for one course, I'd recommend Gordon Holton about 10-15 minutes away. Overall, I can't say I would drive out of my way to play the course or go to COlumbus specifically to play here but it was a nice DG pit-stop on my way down to the Dayton/Cincinnati area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/6/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: thejrs
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of hole length and pin placement as well as wooded and open(more open though). The land has been well utilized for its natural features including the wind, which can really kick up from time to time. Course par is fair and if your a better golfer they has long tees on most holes. Tee Signs are great and even show you a line to the hole. Bonus Basket by 1st tee with marked distances, excellent for practicing your short game, particularly with the wind kicking up.
Cons: Trash cans are few and far between and not everyone is willing to carry thier refuse till the next. Water features are shown on tee signs but are not really there.
Other Thoughts: Take your own refreshments as there is no visble fountain. This course could raise it's rating by installing some water features where shown, as well as changine the basket placement a little more frequently.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 ticks suck!

3/10/2008   3/10/2008
Review By: chuckynobbs
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice bathrooms i like the bridge the course would be sweet if a river/creek ran through it a couple of holes make things spicey with some thought and work (few more trees in the open field and cut the rough) it would be a much better course
Cons: rough areas are dumb if you don't find the fair way chances are you will find ticks, most holes are straight boring
Other Thoughts: if in the area and with some friends the course is fun if wanting something more go to Marysville or Hoover both are about equidistant from this course

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.