San Francisco, CA 
Golden Gate Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #14 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 286ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 93
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Golden Gate Experience

1    10/7/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: DrewMillerRH
Played: 96  Reviewed: 10
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful park, giant trees, very well kept, more technical than D. Ton of work goes into this park and into this course. The "cart path" idea via landscape timbers is brilliant, along with the batting cage like backstops to protect tees to close to other fairways or pins.
Cons: The course requires a walkthrough before playing, the flow, undoubtedly a result of limited space within the park, is not intuitative or well marked. I don't consider the course a "see the shot throw the shot" kind of course, walk it to figure out the flow, find the pins, and make sure to get one or two practice throws in before playing for keeps.
Other Thoughts: Once you figure out the flow and pin locations, the course is a great course to play, some really well placed pins (once you find them) and logical lines, fair and challenging. Also, you can tell work goes into the course. I would rate it higher if the signage was clearer and less blind pins.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best/only in SF

2-4    6/10/2008   9/27/2009
Review By: djphilzy
Played: 23  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I like the elevation changes and tight shots. I also love the old growth trees and well draining soil. Golden gate park can eat up a vacation easy with its huge variety of trails and venues. However his course gets most of my attention.
Cons: The crowds are pretty thick at peak times. Fairways tend to cross each other and it is possible to get smacked by a disc. I felt like the last few holes where poorly designed (you throw then walk back to the next tee which is right near the last tee). The trash is pretty bad too. The parks department was out there working every day that I played so I know they try and keep up.
Other Thoughts: I had a guide my first time through. I met some nice locals on later rounds. Its not as cool as De La but its in the middle of San Fransisco and space is at a premium. Given that fact it is an all star course to the locals and if I lived in SF I would play it all the time.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Space

1    7/18/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 17.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's great to walk up to a course for the first time and see a course bulletin board and a layout of the course. Course was in great shape. Baskets are very new and in good shape and the tee pads were all one piece no cracks or broken concrete. Multiple basket locations on each hole. Easy to walk down the path and start on 10 if it looks like the front 9 is crowded. Good course for all level of players.
Cons: There are really only 2 courses in the Bay area this one and Aquatic Park so the park is heavily used. When my group got there we saw 12 people on one waiting to tee off. For a first time some of the tee pads were difficult to find. Some of the lay out is poor with having to back track from one basket to the next tee pad and a few of the holes throw too close together.
Other Thoughts: I would agree with the description of lightly wooded. But this course is far from flat. Lots of elevation changes throwing up and down hill. Golden Gate Park is a great space with lots going on and is in the heart of the Haight district. Many good picture opportunities.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/15/2007   4/15/2009
Review By: sdecker
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 22.6 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Excellent scenery. Pretty convenient to most parts of town.
Cons: Lots of people around even during the week.
Other Thoughts: Liked it overall and would play again if back in the SF area. Played with friends a couple of years ago and enjoyed it. Not the best overall course but not bad, either.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A victim of its own success

1    3/30/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.5 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is laid out on well-worn, rolling terrain through some magnificent old trees. Despite the novelty of the course, the holes do have generous fairways that take a variety of shots to hit. No expense has been spared on the tees, which are nicely equipped with adjustable signs that designate which pin position is in use. I actually like the nets that protect some of the tees, although more may be needed.
Cons: The course occupies part of a very popular park, resulting in many non disc golfers on the course. Furthermore the course itself seemed over-run when I played - with groups of 2 up to groups of 7 or 8 on each hole. This, the general inexperience of the players and the prevalent alcohol use may contribute to some serious etiquette violations on crowded days. I had people throwing into me and the group in front of us while we were waiting at a tee without yelling "fore", people demanding that I throw when the path wasn't clear, trash talk while you're throwing, etc. The vast majority of people on the course were great, but it only takes a few jerks to spoil a round.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course to play, if you can fins a time when it isn't crowded. General playability issues seem to stem from the popularity of the park. Jamming a disc golf course into an area that is already heavily used is bound to lead to difficulties.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little park, has to work around some park regulations.

6/28/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: SmileyMax@aol.com
Played: 39  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.4 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Cons: City has required that for the protection of trees that some nets be put up on a couple of holes. This is understandable, yet in terms of playability very cheesy.

There is also a hold that has a net almost completely covering the left side of the tee. I believe it is for protection of the next tee pad which is fairly close, but it really weakens the hole takes away any shot but a RHBH.... which is sad because it one was one of the cooler holes on the course.

Poison oak on a few holes.

A couple of "prison" shots on holes with no shot at the basket.
Other Thoughts: This course is very well maintained and shows a great amount of effort put into the sport. It is an enjoyable course to play.

However, it shows some of the downfalls of the the game currently as they are having to work around the park regulations and having to "compromise" with what they are giving by the city. I believe they have done a good job with what they have, but it is sad to see the sport being controlled like that. The only real way around this is private... pay to play courses, and that is a whole other debate.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.