San Francisco, CA 
Golden Gate Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 239ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign: Note pin position indicator dial



Reviews: 92
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    3/1/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful setting. In one of the most beautiful parks in the world which is in one of the most beautiful cities in the world.
-Very well maintained
-Nice large tee pads
-great signs
-Top notch technical holes
-has some nice elevation change
-Friendly locals
-good flow
-easy to navigate
-Some great downhill holes
-very well thought out holes with nice basket placement
-Love the paths that are created with logs on the fairways directing you to the basket
-has some nice dog legs
Cons: -Gets very crowded, especially on weekends. I don't recommend playing this course on a weekend. My buddy and I ended up waiting 20+ minutes just to tee off on a couple of the holes.
-Some holes are a little ontop of one another. This wold be almost impossible to avoid however given the amount of space the course designers had to work with
-Would be awesome if this course could take you out of the trees into some wide open bomber holes
-An uphill hole would be nice
Other Thoughts: -World class destination course. A must play in Northern Cali.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and challenging

1    11/22/2009   2/23/2010
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2011
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The disc golf park is situated within the beautiful Golden Gate park right in the midst of urban San Francisco. The course is very well-maintained with nice signage and equipment and boasts several pin placements on each hole which create unique shots (not just longer shots) off the tee. It mostly plays through moderately to heavy woods but many holes offer several options off the tee, something that is often lacking from tightly wooded courses. The large elevation changes are utilized well with up/downhill shots, fast greens, and tricky basket placements.

I think one of the best things about this park is that the design is such that it will challenge players at all skill levels. Gold to silver level caliber players will be looking for tough birdies on most, if not all of the holes out here, its more about hitting the right line through tight woods and touch on fast greens that the top players will have to worry about. Most holes are well within the reach of even modest arms, but there are a couple of holes where bigger distance is necessary for a birdie. Lower silver to beginner level players will still be challenged hitting lines off the tee and then likely face further challenge in trick shots and approaches for pars. True beginners may find the course a bit too tough off the tee, so be warned - birdies aren't going to fall in your lap here. As mentioned earlier, all of the holes that I played were par 3 but there were only a couple "gimme" birdie holes out there which made each birdie on the tougher holes quite memorable.

While the holes are somewhat tight and next to each other, tree coverage for the most part keeps you separated from other golfers but truly errant throws or bad kicks will land you on an adjacent fairway.

As mentioned before, I checked out the multiple pin positions on each hole and I would guess (because I've only played here once) that they would add some really nice variety to the course. They aren't just longer versions of the same shot, in many cases they completely change the route off the tee. The baskets, tees, and fairways are all in great shape - you can tell people really care about this course.
Cons: I absolutely loved the design, the only thing I felt was missing from the course to make it truly a championship caliber or 5 disc course was the absence of par 4 or 5 holes. Space limitations probably prevent this from becoming reality and the designer(s) have done an excellent job. Despite the exclusively par 3 design, it really is a superb course and worth the trip even for the most veteran course reviewers/players.

Busy - Even early in the morning on a weekend day (around 8am) the course had bunches of both casual and regulars out on it which made for somewhat slow going. My guess, along with mentions from other reviewers, is that the course is packed on fair weather days.

Navigation - Only a slight con because there are a couple sections, especially towards holes 14-18 which pose problems to navigation but check the tee sign before moving on to the next hole because it will often give you an indication of where you should be heading next.

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course!

1    1/31/2010   2/1/2010
Review By: SuperSac916
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Gorgeous course, good for practicing highly skilled shots. All holes have signs and at least 3 different tee placements. A very hilly course with plenty of elevations challenge.
Cons: So many trees you might go crazy. Tee boxes slightly small and surrounding area usually muddy. Some tee boxes hard to find but friendly local will point you in the right direction. Holes cross alot and are narrow so watch for flying discs and please yell four when you throw a disc at me.
Other Thoughts: Had an awesome time and shot just over par my first time at the course. So I feel lucky because my friend who is way better player than me hit every tree in that forest.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/6/2010   1/7/2010
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.4 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun challenging hole design throughout the course.
Solid use of the available elevation changes.
The cool variety of trees with a pretty solid canopy creates a nice secluded feel in this large park near busy streets.
Great tee pads with nice surrounding box enclosures.
Beautiful tee signs with permanent pin location indicators.
Three pin positions on just about every hole add variety.
Fun for all levels of play, nothing too hard but very few easy birdies even for high-level amateur players.
Solid baskets.
Safety nets are a nice addition on a fairly high danger course.
Cons: Course can get very crowded, even playing on a weekday in January I saw 3 separate groups of 6 holding up traffic.
Lots of fairway overlap and some of the C positions were downright scary to throw at with any groups nearby.
Just a few of the holes feel very luck based with trees everywhere and no real strategic lines.
A number of holes where there are numerous trees or bushes within 15 feet of the hole adding to a rather fluky feel to a few holes.
Some tricky navigation areas where some next tee signs might help out.
Other Thoughts: Golden Gate Park is a very fun disc golf course, not overly challenging or hard to walk it's a great course for all abilities, which you definitely see on most days. Honestly the course is a real mixed bag, many of the holes standing alone really feel like a top notch course, then other places on the course feel like two holes could just be combined. If anything it feels like the course would have fit about 14 or 15 holes perfectly but of course everyone always wants that 18 hole number. What I did really like was how professional the course felt, the signs and pads as well as minor navigational signs were very cool, the defined walking paths and overall lack of extraneous brush had a very clean feel to the whole course. If you're stopping in the inner bay area I'd definitely reccomend stopping at Golden Gate Park, but if you only have enough time for one course passing through I'd probably have to advocate making the trip to the more secluded Stafford, or famous De Laveaga courses.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic!

1    11/26/2009   1/3/2010
Review By: Peanut
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Unbelievable play in the middle of a city.
Challenging course with many different kinds of shots necessary.
Cons: There was a bit of trash around the tees. As it was a bit crowded, there is plenty of time to clean up the area, but no one seemed to. That being said, it was not THAT trashy and considering it was in the middle of a large city, I was impressed.
Other Thoughts: If you are anywhere near SF, you have to come play this course!. I can't wait to come back!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Times

5+    12/31/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: djjeremiahj
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out tee pads
Centrally located in city
varying and challenging holes.
Cons: Can be crowded at times.
no immediate public facilities or vendors
Most holes are a "drive" then "putt" distance (precision based course. very few open "bomber" holes.)
Other Thoughts: FREE!
Well laid out for a small piece of land in a park. Great views of the city, ocean and park.
ZERO poison oak or ivy.
Well maintained by players and park services.
Challenging for all skill levels. Beginner friendly.
Very possible to play with 2-3 discs for travelers.
Very fun experience and great way to spend a day in the park. If you DG, and come to SF, it's a must play.

Can be accessed easily by the Muni #5.

Dogs OK!

Bring water, snacks etc. No immediate vendors.

Rest rooms are located across road in large meadow.

Drinking Fountain: End of 10 (on street) - Corner of Crossover & Fulton @ bus stop. Has separate dog fountain.

Closest food/drink: 2 Blocks - Corner of 28th & Balboa. (Small Deli, Alcohol, etc... takes Credit Cards, cheap $1 hot dogs...). 28th Dead Ends at #3 Teepad

Course does a figure 8, with 9 holes circling back to #1, #10-18 circles back to same area. (on average day, 9 holes take 90 minutes, in mornings or "slow" days, entire course can be played in 2 hours - on weekends & school holidays course can be crowded, but most groups let solos and couples "play through").

Nov-March (winter) : Course gets dark from 5pm-6pm
Summer: course gets dark from 6:30-8:00

weekly tournaments
- Tuesday Afternoons (4:30) - "flip for doubles"
- Sunday AM (8:30???) - Singles (Ace Pool)


7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Big City Bliss

1    12/14/2009   12/17/2009
Review By: Valktastic
Played: 66  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Creative and challenging layout that rewards accuracy
- Good use of elevation, obstacles, and terrain
- GREAT tee pads and benches
- Signs at each hole with indicator wheel to tell you the basket position
- Multiple basket positions,
- Big field across the street for warm up
- Natural shade canopy from the large eucalyptus trees
- Really nice laid back people willing to direct visitors
- Nice to have a course in the city
- In a really nice large park and a beautiful beach is just up the road
Cons:
- Some fairway overlap and backtracking (13-17). Take the map and scorecard I linked below.
- Could be crowded, but you are in a crowded city. We went on a weekday morning and it was fine.
Other Thoughts: Here is a map and scorecard that is really helpful on some of the holes that backtrack or crossover. http://www.sfdiscgolf.net/Ima...scorecard.pdf

If you enter the coordinates from this site in a GPS or online map it will take you right to the first tee.

Some reviews complained about finding 10. To find 10 just go up the paved walkway by the first tee and you cant miss it.

No food or drinks close by so pack it in. If you are in SF on vacation, the course, park, and area are absolutely great. Easy to make a day of this area and not as touristy as the popular "tourist" sites in San Fran. You can step into this park and escape the busy city.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice woods course...in the city!

1    11/25/2009   12/7/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great woods course in the middle of San Francisco. Mach 3 baskets are in great condition, and the tee pads are some of the best i've seen. Signs at tees are attached to stumps and seemed accurate. Multiple pin positions are always a plus for the locals. Course flows well and navigation is fairly easy. Marked paths on most holes help in figuring out where to throw and where the next tee is. Fairways are wooded, but there are generally well-defined flight paths and a couple of open holes as well. Playing in the woods in the middle of a big city is a fun experience. From the first-timer to the pro, all levels of disc golfers can appreciate this course. This part of the park seemed to be used almost exclusively for disc golf and the course is free to play! I was trying to find the first tee and a friendly player showed me where the first few holes were and gave me a map. One of the best free courses i've played.

Cons: Fairly busy on a weekday morning.
Other Thoughts: A must play for anyone in the area. This is a fun and beautiful course in a great location.
After hole 11 turn around and walk back toward the 11th tee and up the hill to the right to find the 12th tee. The 12th basket is up the ravine to the left, and to find the 13th tee walk to the road and turn right.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great all around dg course

5+    5/7/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: DutchViking
Played: 46  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting for disc golf. Located in Beautiful Golden Gate Park (largest city park in the Country, I believe) park is beautiful and has many other attractions.
This piece of land is absolutely perfect for disc golf with trees, hills, well defined fairways and very little underbrush or very thick rough.
Many lines to throw to the basket, this is one of the courses best quailties. Trees act as canopy to keep you covered and cool. Great concrete tee pads, baskets, and signage. Many basket positions. Very well maintained. Free to play and park. Seats and garbage cans at every tee, with some brooms at the more dusty holes. No Poison Oak. Great locals who will help you find the next hole or show you a flight route you weren't expecting. Two 9 hole loops which both go back to parking lot. Creative shots needed with only a few wide open holes.

This course is very well maintained, no poison oak, and just beautiful. I love this place!
Cons: Sometimes crowded, making the course congested. Back nine has some navigation issues, design. Driving there can be a little tricky, make sure you have directions or you will get lost in this huge park
Other Thoughts: Great location to be San Francisco's first dgc. This course is great fun, good for beginners as well as advanced players due to the many. Bottom Line this course is a blast for players of all skill levels! Must play if you are near SF!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 DG in SF

2-4    11/14/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2009
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Some of the sickest teepads I've ever seen
-Lot's of trees
-Lot's of birdies
-Lot's of terrain
-Lot's of the extras that makes courses great like benches and multiple pins etc.
Cons: -Sometimes I felt that the holes were throw and hope. I remember one hole where you are standing on the sidewalk and throw str8 into a grove of trees without any obvious routes to the pin. I dunno, I guess some see that as a pro, but I like being able to see what the designer wanted you to do when I stand on the tee box.
-The layout gets a bit crammed up towards the end of the front 9 which normally wouldn't matter, but I played it in a tournament and felt like I was always on edge to be ready to cover my important parts due to overlapping fairways.
Other Thoughts: Good course, great locals, definately worth a stop if your there. A ton of money was dropped on this course and it shows. They really have something to be proud of there.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.