San Francisco, CA 
Golden Gate Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Buzzzsaw Hole #15 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 393ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket. (photo by Sam Dosick)



Reviews: 93
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Disc Golf Party!!!

2-4    10/10/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If I was homeless I would live here. There are plenty of spots to set up camp. My first time playing this sweet jungle of a disc golf course was this year's (2013) Safari tournament. The course is great, there are a wide variety of holes that let every style player make a run at those slick metal baskets. There are even a couple holes that make excellent use of the "DEATH PUTT", while you're there you can get a hat or t-shirt with to show that you made the "DEATH PUTT". Tee pads are kept clean and made of this new age technology called concrete. You never have to worry about slipping off the front of one and giving your friends an excuse to laugh at you. While I can read, the tee signs at Golden Gate Park were designed by a genius, even the illiterate could understand where the next basket is and how far they will have to throw to hit that ace. The course design is excellent as long as you are patient and don't mind letting the occasional jogger/biker/dog walker/hippie/transient/Asian recycling lady/man pass by you while you decide which line you are going to take. I was able to play a few extended holes across the street and they were also well designed.
Cons: Crowding is a biggie here, with so many people working on their hipster appearance I could see how disc golf attracts them. On any given day you can see a pack of skinny jeans sipping on Colt 45's moseying around making their way from hole to hole. Luckily hipsters are cool people and will let you play through, the more fortunate might even get a contact high while teeing off. The only other downside as mentioned above are the bystanders. Most will get out of your way pretty quickly, the only exception is the recycling people. They are like raccoons searching though the garbage cans for that tasty morsel we call recyclables. Have no fear though! The locals have trained these thrifty collectors to keep quiet and move away from the tee pad while golfers are teeing off.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and I really enjoyed playing it a couple times. Any and every time I'm in the Bay area I'll make sure I get a round in. The local club and players take good care of the course and make in enjoyable for all. Golden Gate park is a very happening place and I'm glad they included disc golf in their lineup. Hopefully the city will allow the course to expand one day making this a top tiered disc golf destination.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Corey and SpringOne 2GX 2013

1    9/7/2013   9/24/2013
Review By: manglin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in magnificent Golden Gate park. The course is merely 5% or so of the overall park. There are so many other activities in the park.

This course is beautiful; many of the holes have very mature trees. The tees are concrete, in good shape. The baskets are very good. And the signage is good - distances and pin locations shown.

Most holes have 3 or 4 pin locations, and I consider that a good thing. Navigation wasn't too bad considering that was my first time to play the course. I played with a good friend who lives in the area, but hadn't played the course before.

There were some really unique holes: holes 3, 5, 11, 12, & 17 were some of my favorite. Elevation was definitely used in a good way.

The park is maintained very nicely; bushes and trees were manicured nicely. And given lots of traffic - there was little no trash or debris. There were benches and many of the holes.

Wonderful weather year round.
Cons: The combo of layout plus crowd is the #1 drawback here. The GGP is so big; there's so many other people that aren't disc golfers. It's the largest green space in SF - so it's understandable. There were several trails on the course for walkers and bikers who clearly have the right of way.

Aside from lots of people, the hole layout compounds the problem for the actual play of DG. Several baskets are close to another tee, so you had to wait on another group to finish two holes before you can play your one hole.

Neither the crowds nor the layout would be a problem if the other didn't exist.
Other Thoughts: This was a trip to see my friend Corey and attend a conference in Santa Clara the following week.

SF is an interesting and unique city. The course was very fun and fairly challenging. I wanted to play a second time early Monday morning, but it was too wet. The fog and mist has sprayed the course. The course has a sandy, dusty top layer, and when it gets wet is pretty sloppy. I just wasn't prepared for that on my trip.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

When visiting San Francisco...

1    9/13/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: wpifarmer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful park
Concrete tee pads
Multiple pin locations
Very clean
Cons: Can be kind of busy
Fairways go right by other hole tees which can be dangerous
Watch out for other park goers
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely out of the way from Santa Clara where I was recently visiting for business, but is a great place to go play if you ever are in SF doing the tourist thing or killing some time before a redeye flight back home. The course is in the middle of a huge public park complex in SF. It is a very beautiful park and super well maintained and clean. Every hole has at least 3 pin placements that change once a month. The holes are relatively short with no real huge holes. Several of the holes ran pretty close to one another, so you have to pay attention here and call your "fore's". Most holes are under the canopy of the forest. There are lots of trees to hit, but even under the canopy there are no real super tight tunnel shots. This was by far the most aesthetically beautiful course I played during a recent trip to Si Valley. It was also one of the easiest. Maybe the other pin locations are more difficult. None of the holes really stand out, but it was a very nice course to play. Also, being in the middle of a really big city, there are a lot of other people in the park so be careful and respectful to other visitors.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Very fun course.

1    8/11/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a lot of trees and elevation changes but the course is not too technical. The holes are very well thought out with some longer holes that must nevertheless negotiate trees keeping shots from being wide open. Out of 18 holes there are only 2 truly wide open shots (10 and 11) and the latter uses elevation very well.

This course is not repetitive. The holes are unique and you will not be able to get by with just a backhand hyzer here. Practice your forehand and turnover shots.

It is a big plus in my book that this course is on a truly beautiful piece of land with very large trees, but is is also a very well thought out course.
Cons: Just a few nits:

The tee boxes are smallish, especially when the baskets are in the long positions.

Lots of people, but to be expected in a large city where this is the only course around.

Hole 10 fairway runs parallel with a paved walking path that transects the course. There are lots of pedestrians there.

There are some cross play issues but most are taken care of with elevation or protective fencing.
Other Thoughts: I mostly play in Louisiana where we have few courses with significant elevation changes and really nothing like the terrain in GGP. This course has a spectacle aspect for someone like me.

Also, being used to 15' wide, 300' long fairways bordered by impassable underbrush being called "technical" it seems a bit odd to have a course labeled as technical when it feels as open as this course does despite the trees. If a disc bounces off a tree here, you will likely have a perfectly good look at the basket because the course lacks any underbrush to speak of.

Bring a couple distance drivers, at least one that you are comfortable throwing into the wind. If the baskets are in the long position, you will wish that you did.

This review is based on a round in which almost all the baskets were in the long position. I doubt it would change much if the course had been set up to be shorter. This is just a fun course to play and the friendly locals were also a plus.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the City

5+    7/20/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: chosers
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The layout of the course is very well thought out.
There are walking paths between most holes making it very easy to find the next tee box.
The disc golf club that maintains the course does an excellent job of keeping everything in great shape, from paths, to trees to debris.
A great mix of technical shots as well as long open shots are needed with trees, mando's and out of bounds lining some holes.
Cons: It can get pretty stacked up on the tee boxes with some large groups going through, but that's only because it's a really popular course.
Other Thoughts: It's really just an excellent, fun course

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lots of fun

1    5/16/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a very nice piece of Golden Gate Park, full of mature trees and some scattered brush. The majority of the holes here are wooded enough that you really have to hit a line to score well, with moderate punishment for missing most fairways. I liked the variety, the setup I played had a great balance of hole shapes and lengths that called for most of the discs in my bag throughout the round.

There are multiple pin positions, and they looked like they'd change up the course nicely. It seemed like they're changed reasonably often as the wear around the alternate positions was similar to the ones in use when I played. The tee signs are basic, but show the hole layout and distances, and have a nice indicator for current pin position. The tees are older, but in fine shape. A lot of work has gone into the landscaping here, and it really shows.
Cons: There are a lot of safety concerns. Way too many of the holes play right on top of one another. This issue is magnified by how popular the course is, especially with a lot of newer players who tend to miss the fairways more often. A walking path is also in play on a couple holes, and errant shots can find a busy street along one edge of the course.

There isn't a whole lot of distance, that's the only real test lacking here. Navigation is a little funky in spots, I almost skipped holes a few times and there are some awkward walks between holes that could be better marked. If you don't like crowds, play this course on off hours, it's one of the more popular courses I've seen.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course tough but approachable. It's reasonably technical but not overly long or punitive. More experienced players won't need their distance drivers, but it will test a lot of different line shaping skills. I definitely recommend a stop here while you're in the Bay Area, this course is a lot of fun.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Glad I stopped!

1    2/6/2013   2/6/2013
Review By: pfpro
Played: 46  Reviewed: 36
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - felt like I was on a real "golf" course. Some of the dirt areas were raked. All the landscaping, disc golf specific paths (felt like cart paths), etc are awesome. There are benches, tree stumps to sit on at all holes, garbage collection at most.
- pretty good mix of shots, decent elevation use,most holes have some sort of challenging aspect to them (in the layout I played).
- great signs, shows which pin position,direction to next tee, distance.
Cons: - course was a little cramped - I understand this is an urban setting, so relatively speaking, it's a great green space, but could see it being tight. Also, some of the holes cut back to the next teepad, or have cross fairways to get to the next tee. It doesnt always flow in a natural manner. To someone who plays this course all the time, I'm sure it's not noticeable. They have made the most of what they have, I don't have suggestions to improve it.
- there are a few holes where walking paths come into play (as in, you better watch for people, or you might injure someone).
- crowded - played late morning on a weekday, and there were at least 9 groups on the course
- street navigation to course is tricky. If you miss your turn, you can't make left turns on any of the other streets you want to (not a local, please don't hate!)
- to nit pick a little, relatively short course (see other thoughts section)
Other Thoughts: I flew into SFO for business trip that takes me into Sonoma county. Based on reviews, I made this the course to hit, and am glad I did. I brought a coworker who was new to DG, and had a reduced bag. Played a terrible round, but had a good time. This park is great. The few locals I ran across seemed pretty cool. Being from NC, I don't quite agree with the heavily wooded description - but there were a lot of trees to shape your lines around. Don't know if it was the pin layout (they seemed to be mostly Bs) thst was short, I don't think there were any holes over '400 ft (maybe11, don't think it was though). For me to give a 4, IMO, there should be some longer holes. If I lived local, it would be a great home course. If you're passing through, I would whole-heatedly recommend it.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/25/2011   1/5/2013
Review By: DannyThunders
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Huge shots
-Plenty of variety for both handed people here
-Does not feel like a city course , feels like a woods course
-AMAZING locals, had a great time meeting people and playing with them here
-Centrally located in an awesome city
-Very fun shots played in the pines , watch your disc
-Tournament grade course , only one short hole (#2)
Cons: -Hole #10 is kind of boring
-Easy to loose a disc
-Random people walking or jogging through course
Other Thoughts: Awesome course, if you're in SF you MUST PLAY THIS COURSE. Great variety of shots for LHBH / RHBH. Very challenging big shots, hole 12 is a massive left dogleg. Skate shop that sells discs not far away on Geary (Purple elephant) . The locals are great, everytime i played someone would join me and give me great company , will definitely try to play this course again.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/11/2012   11/16/2012
Review By: urwatuh8
Played: 181  Reviewed: 17
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The locals have done a phenomenal job improving and maintaining this course. There's plenty of great ammenities: copious benches and trash cans. The tee signs make everything about the hole clear: the layout, distance, and current and other pins positions. There are at least three pin positions for each hole. The course has been impresively landscaped with walking paths, ledge walls, elevated baskets, and the like. There's also big fence walls to protect many of the tees -- a great idea given the close proximity of some holes, and one I hadn't see elsewhere.

This course is also right in San Francisco, very accessible to a lot of people.
Cons: The course is really crammed in. Many of the holes play right next to each other. There are mandos, OBs, guard fences, etc. to help. But it is both something of a safety concern, and limits the hole design. There isn't enough room to have multiple routes or big epic holes. It also means that many holes feel similar -- either very straight, or a generic dogleg.

The course is also quite crowded. Even on a weekday morning there are plenty of players out. And given the cramped nature of the course, you always need to be alert for errant throws.
Other Thoughts: This course feels like the opposite of many other good California courses, which have awe inspiring scenery but mediocre maintenance. Golden gate park is one of the best maintained courses I've seen anywhere, but fails to inspire awe in the way great courses do.

Because the course is high traffic, there is a lot of work done to reduce erosion. Stay on the walking paths when possible.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Impressive Downtown

1    8/15/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 95  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent and somewhat deceptive balance of technical yet accessible baskets
Great tree coverage for both shade and technicality but not overly treed
Nice distancces between holes and elevation changes for some decent excercise.
Second back nine basket is on a stump that can is deceptively challenging, cost me some strokes.
Cons: A couple baskets are uphill from a major road causing the occasional roller to roll into or across a dangerously busy street(s).
Some annoying overlap on the last baskets of the front 9. This can also cause some backing up.
Seemed to be a very busy course and I'm sure it's often that way but that's not always a con.
Back 9 can get a little confusing. The last baskets have quite a bit of overlap but throwing across some big gaps gets interesting, especially when navigating around the trees.
Throughout the course, many of the baskets are out of view and require scouting if unfamiliar - high flags/markers could help with this.
Other Thoughts: An impressive and variable course. It works as both casual and technical abilites in an enjoyable way. Some minor annoyances that make mistakes a little unforgiving but are easily overlooked on such a fun course. Front and back nine are organized in a way that lets you choose which one or what order you may want to play, more so than most other courses. All in all a great course near downtown SF that I highly recommend hitting up if you can. Great public transit access to and from the course as well.

If for some reason you don't feel this review was helpful, please PM me to let me know what you are looking for in these reviews so I can consider ways to improve my reviews going forward. Thanks!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.