San Francisco, CA 
Golden Gate Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #13 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 229ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 97
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fun Times

5+    12/31/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: djjeremiahj
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out tee pads
Centrally located in city
varying and challenging holes.
Cons: Can be crowded at times.
no immediate public facilities or vendors
Most holes are a "drive" then "putt" distance (precision based course. very few open "bomber" holes.)
Other Thoughts: FREE!
Well laid out for a small piece of land in a park. Great views of the city, ocean and park.
ZERO poison oak or ivy.
Well maintained by players and park services.
Challenging for all skill levels. Beginner friendly.
Very possible to play with 2-3 discs for travelers.
Very fun experience and great way to spend a day in the park. If you DG, and come to SF, it's a must play.

Can be accessed easily by the Muni #5.

Dogs OK!

Bring water, snacks etc. No immediate vendors.

Rest rooms are located across road in large meadow.

Drinking Fountain: End of 10 (on street) - Corner of Crossover & Fulton @ bus stop. Has separate dog fountain.

Closest food/drink: 2 Blocks - Corner of 28th & Balboa. (Small Deli, Alcohol, etc... takes Credit Cards, cheap $1 hot dogs...). 28th Dead Ends at #3 Teepad

Course does a figure 8, with 9 holes circling back to #1, #10-18 circles back to same area. (on average day, 9 holes take 90 minutes, in mornings or "slow" days, entire course can be played in 2 hours - on weekends & school holidays course can be crowded, but most groups let solos and couples "play through").

Nov-March (winter) : Course gets dark from 5pm-6pm
Summer: course gets dark from 6:30-8:00

weekly tournaments
- Tuesday Afternoons (4:30) - "flip for doubles"
- Sunday AM (8:30???) - Singles (Ace Pool)


7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Big City Bliss

1    12/14/2009   12/17/2009
Review By: Valktastic
Played: 66  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Creative and challenging layout that rewards accuracy
- Good use of elevation, obstacles, and terrain
- GREAT tee pads and benches
- Signs at each hole with indicator wheel to tell you the basket position
- Multiple basket positions,
- Big field across the street for warm up
- Natural shade canopy from the large eucalyptus trees
- Really nice laid back people willing to direct visitors
- Nice to have a course in the city
- In a really nice large park and a beautiful beach is just up the road
Cons:
- Some fairway overlap and backtracking (13-17). Take the map and scorecard I linked below.
- Could be crowded, but you are in a crowded city. We went on a weekday morning and it was fine.
Other Thoughts: Here is a map and scorecard that is really helpful on some of the holes that backtrack or crossover. http://www.sfdiscgolf.net/Ima...scorecard.pdf

If you enter the coordinates from this site in a GPS or online map it will take you right to the first tee.

Some reviews complained about finding 10. To find 10 just go up the paved walkway by the first tee and you cant miss it.

No food or drinks close by so pack it in. If you are in SF on vacation, the course, park, and area are absolutely great. Easy to make a day of this area and not as touristy as the popular "tourist" sites in San Fran. You can step into this park and escape the busy city.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice woods course...in the city!

1    11/25/2009   12/7/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 94  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great woods course in the middle of San Francisco. Mach 3 baskets are in great condition, and the tee pads are some of the best i've seen. Signs at tees are attached to stumps and seemed accurate. Multiple pin positions are always a plus for the locals. Course flows well and navigation is fairly easy. Marked paths on most holes help in figuring out where to throw and where the next tee is. Fairways are wooded, but there are generally well-defined flight paths and a couple of open holes as well. Playing in the woods in the middle of a big city is a fun experience. From the first-timer to the pro, all levels of disc golfers can appreciate this course. This part of the park seemed to be used almost exclusively for disc golf and the course is free to play! I was trying to find the first tee and a friendly player showed me where the first few holes were and gave me a map. One of the best free courses i've played.

Cons: Fairly busy on a weekday morning.
Other Thoughts: A must play for anyone in the area. This is a fun and beautiful course in a great location.
After hole 11 turn around and walk back toward the 11th tee and up the hill to the right to find the 12th tee. The 12th basket is up the ravine to the left, and to find the 13th tee walk to the road and turn right.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great all around dg course

5+    5/7/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: DutchViking
Played: 46  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting for disc golf. Located in Beautiful Golden Gate Park (largest city park in the Country, I believe) park is beautiful and has many other attractions.
This piece of land is absolutely perfect for disc golf with trees, hills, well defined fairways and very little underbrush or very thick rough.
Many lines to throw to the basket, this is one of the courses best quailties. Trees act as canopy to keep you covered and cool. Great concrete tee pads, baskets, and signage. Many basket positions. Very well maintained. Free to play and park. Seats and garbage cans at every tee, with some brooms at the more dusty holes. No Poison Oak. Great locals who will help you find the next hole or show you a flight route you weren't expecting. Two 9 hole loops which both go back to parking lot. Creative shots needed with only a few wide open holes.

This course is very well maintained, no poison oak, and just beautiful. I love this place!
Cons: Sometimes crowded, making the course congested. Back nine has some navigation issues, design. Driving there can be a little tricky, make sure you have directions or you will get lost in this huge park
Other Thoughts: Great location to be San Francisco's first dgc. This course is great fun, good for beginners as well as advanced players due to the many. Bottom Line this course is a blast for players of all skill levels! Must play if you are near SF!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 DG in SF

2-4    11/14/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2009
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Some of the sickest teepads I've ever seen
-Lot's of trees
-Lot's of birdies
-Lot's of terrain
-Lot's of the extras that makes courses great like benches and multiple pins etc.
Cons: -Sometimes I felt that the holes were throw and hope. I remember one hole where you are standing on the sidewalk and throw str8 into a grove of trees without any obvious routes to the pin. I dunno, I guess some see that as a pro, but I like being able to see what the designer wanted you to do when I stand on the tee box.
-The layout gets a bit crammed up towards the end of the front 9 which normally wouldn't matter, but I played it in a tournament and felt like I was always on edge to be ready to cover my important parts due to overlapping fairways.
Other Thoughts: Good course, great locals, definately worth a stop if your there. A ton of money was dropped on this course and it shows. They really have something to be proud of there.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course!

2-4    11/12/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: Magiken
Played: 44  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2013
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Interesting hole layouts requiring some strategic thinking
Well marked pathways
Shaded
Tee pads are awesome
Markers are also very good
Scenery
Multiple pin locations
Cons:
Can get crowded
A touch confusing on some hole transitions (16-17 in particular) but nothing big. I carried the map on my iPhone to help out.
Other Thoughts:
Question:
Has anyone actually achieved par on #12?
UPDATE 01/2010: Member "Taino" (thankfully) pointed out to me that 12 is a par 3 for the 'pros' and a par 4 for us mortals. So there's hope after all!

Tips:
For those having trouble navigating: Drive down JFK west to the point it lines up with 27th. Then you can't miss the 1st tee next to the big map of the course on the right. The maps on http://www.sfdiscgolf.org help as well.
If you go across the street, there's a huge field where you can warm up and practice throws.

Random Thoughts:
This is a really fun course. We've been here a couple times and as beginners, my girlfriend and I don't throw all that far yet, but at this course it really doesn't matter as the primary objective is to not hit a tree. This means that every shot really becomes more about a strategic throw versus a bomb, which I think makes it a lot more fun. We also got quite a few laughs watching the various pinball action that a tree can produce and the "wow that was going to be a 'good/bad' throw but the tree really made it a 'good/bad' throw" moments.

Bottom line:
It's a beautiful fun course. A "Great job" to the course designers/maintainers. Go check it out!

Update 2013: I've played this course a couple more times this year and the maintenance/improvements are really top notch. The grass is a welcome addition and the clean-up around certain problem areas is really fantastic. I have now bumped up my rating .5 discs.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of potential

1    10/25/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 15.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
excellent tee signs and kiosk/map
some top-notch holes
beautiful scenery
Cons:
some very confusing basket-to-hole transitions
lots of fairway overlap
Other Thoughts: My review of GGP DGC may be biased due to having played both De LaVeaga and Stafford Lake -- which were two of the best courses I have played to date -- just prior to playing this course.

That said, there were some killer holes on this course and we had a great time playing here.

There happened to be a huge concert going on in the park the day we were there, so there were lots of random idiots walking through the course -- even using the logs that ran down the fairways as walking paths. Locals said the course is typically secluded and quiet.

The big downside to this course was the fairway overlap. Nearly half the holes required backtracking, sometimes walking head-on to the tee pad on the next hole. They even had mesh barricades to prevent people from being hit. Poor design here.

Many holes also had quite a trek to the next tee. Quite a few of the holes on the front nine were running along the edge of the park, so you had traffic running constantly while you played. Back nine veered to public areas and pathways quite a bit.

I really loved some of the holes, and there was some great elevation changes on a few holes. When the holes worked, they worked extremely well. When they didn't work, it was pretty frustrating. A shame for a course with so much potential.

Despite the cons listed above, I know I would love to play this course again and if you are a local or in the area you'll be glad you played.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very pleasant suprise...

5+    8/25/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signage, maps, well-marked tees, movable baskets (three options), pleasant surroundings, easy to find. Very easy to follow, with the exception of hole-9-to-hole-10.
Cons: Parking nearly impossible. A major walking path runs through the back 9. Hole 10 is directly along a different major walking path. Can get very crowded.
Other Thoughts: Whoever put in the course in Golden Gate Park did a fantastic job. Great use of terrain, tight shots, big arms can really let go on a few of the holes. Definitely potential for walker altercations, but that's the way it goes. I'd play there almost every day, if I lived nearby; definitely wouldn't get boring.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best/only in SF

2-4    6/10/2008   9/27/2009
Review By: djphilzy
Played: 23  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I like the elevation changes and tight shots. I also love the old growth trees and well draining soil. Golden gate park can eat up a vacation easy with its huge variety of trails and venues. However his course gets most of my attention.
Cons: The crowds are pretty thick at peak times. Fairways tend to cross each other and it is possible to get smacked by a disc. I felt like the last few holes where poorly designed (you throw then walk back to the next tee which is right near the last tee). The trash is pretty bad too. The parks department was out there working every day that I played so I know they try and keep up.
Other Thoughts: I had a guide my first time through. I met some nice locals on later rounds. Its not as cool as De La but its in the middle of San Fransisco and space is at a premium. Given that fact it is an all star course to the locals and if I lived in SF I would play it all the time.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/11/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - gigantic tees
- 3 pin positions per hole
- fun and challenging pin positions
- nice map by tee 1
- not crowded like most California courses
- benches on every hole
- very nice tee signs (with basket position indicators)
- some safety nets in places where an errant shot could cross fairways or hit a group on another tee
- creative layout with the space they had
- every hole is a little bit different
- lots of other fun things to do in Golden Gate Park other than disc golf too
Cons: - no bathrooms or drinking fountains anywhere near the course
- not much parking because you have to park along the side of John F. Kennedy, which is the main road through the park
- some holes don't finish anywhere near the next tee (after 6, you have to walk back down the entire fairway to get to 7's tee, which is right next to 6's) (after 9, you walk up the path past tee 1, for about 400 feet to get to tee 10)(18 back to the cars is a long walk)
Other Thoughts: This course is a great course, no matter your skill level. For the new player, every hole is fun and not overly challenging. For the advanced player the long pin positions and tight lanes make for a challenge each time.

Some holes, especially on the front 9, are very short and won't challenge a skilled player, but are still extremely fun to play.

About 3/4 of the holes are very creative and fun, either in the fairway design and/or pin positions... but the other 1/4 of the holes are more like filler holes, and that's what keeps this course from getting another half disc. (ie: 2, 10, 14)

Golden Gate is definitely worth stopping at if you're headed anywhere near San Francisco. Relative to many of the great courses, Golden Gate is still very young (2.5 years old), and need some more development, but this course will be at the least, above average unless people start to graffiti the signs, etc. Right now, it definitely is in nearly new shape, and that in itself is an experience in disc golf. Play it and you won't regret it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.